Django Unchained

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1932 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    It's been a couple of weeks since I've seen it, but the 3 aspects of the film that stick out the most are (1) the length - about 30 minutes could have been shaved out from it - though I do love the extended dialogue sequences featuring Christoph Waltz, and it's a treat to be able to root for him after loving to hate him in Basterds; (2) the humor - the homage to Blazing Saddles with theIt's been a couple of weeks since I've seen it, but the 3 aspects of the film that stick out the most are (1) the length - about 30 minutes could have been shaved out from it - though I do love the extended dialogue sequences featuring Christoph Waltz, and it's a treat to be able to root for him after loving to hate him in Basterds; (2) the humor - the homage to Blazing Saddles with the hood scene is worth the price of admission alone; and (3) a slightly missed opportunity with DiCaprio - for some reason, I felt like I should have despised him more. Yes, he's a scoundrel who does horrible things, but I didn't want him to burn as much as I wanted other Tarantino villains to meet their demise. It's an excellent film, but it doesn't compare to Pulp Fiction, which is also long, but extremely tight in its sequencing. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    I am not a Leonardo DiCaprio fan. But, I thought he gave one helluva performance. I agree with Roger Ebert's review of the movie. In addition to DiCaprio's performance, I really enjoyed Christoph Waltz's performance as well. QT smacks you rwight in the face w/this movie. You will go through a lot of emotions while watching this movie. But, if you are a fan of QT, you should be fine. Don'tI am not a Leonardo DiCaprio fan. But, I thought he gave one helluva performance. I agree with Roger Ebert's review of the movie. In addition to DiCaprio's performance, I really enjoyed Christoph Waltz's performance as well. QT smacks you rwight in the face w/this movie. You will go through a lot of emotions while watching this movie. But, if you are a fan of QT, you should be fine. Don't worry about Spike Lee with all his money. See the movie, then make your own judgement call. It was a very long movie, but that's cool. I thought the last half hour or so moved slowly along. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This movie was awsome, i really liked it and i belive he is a true master. The cast was amazing and all of them created a movie that i was waiting to see for 6 months, definite must see
  4. BKM
    Jan 1, 2013
    7
    Quentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it's certainly not boring. It's also relentlessly tense and manages to maintain that suspense for its entire running time making it an exhausting endeavor. NowQuentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it's certainly not boring. It's also relentlessly tense and manages to maintain that suspense for its entire running time making it an exhausting endeavor. Now if Tarantino would just take all of his considerable talents and make a film that adds up to more than a mere mash up of his numerous geek inspirations. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    So. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres popping up in cameos throughout . And it continues being a blast for about... 2 hrs. Don't want to give anything away, but it all falls apart, and didn't needSo. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres popping up in cameos throughout . And it continues being a blast for about... 2 hrs. Don't want to give anything away, but it all falls apart, and didn't need to be anywhere NEAR as long as it is. I mean, I'm willing to forego plot holes if I'm enjoying the ride (TAKEN, as well as any number of other movies, but that's the first that comes to mind), but the latter 1/3 of this thing just feels like Tarantino lost interest. It's sloppy. No where near what, in my humble estimation is still his masterpiece, the great KILL BILL, Vol. 1. Oh, and as an actor, Tarantino continues to have a bright future as a director. Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    8
    I saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to WaltzI saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to Waltz you kind of forget about Fox some times which is kind of a shame because Jamie Fox is no slouch in this and does a fine job. As a western its a pretty damn good one but my biggest problem with it is the music Now normally one of three things happens with music 1. either it blends in to where you don't notice it 2. It pops out wonderfully to make a scene better or 3. It pops out and just does not fit at all. With Django it falls in to number 3. Tarantino uses a lot of 60s and 70s style music which just doesn't feel right at all and just took me out at times going why is he using this kind of music? It just doesn't fit a western at all. Feels like it would belong more in Jackie Brown or Pulp Fiction That out of the way the story is good and the acting from the other actors is very solid The movie is well worth seeing Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    Good movie. Not amazing, but good. A little too much slow motion that didn't really add anything to the movie. Jamie Foxx was good, but I was hoping for a more charismatic performance from him.
  8. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Just as he struck the Nazis in Inglourious Basterds, Tarantino takes his aim in Django Unchained at Southern slave owners before the Civil War, etching their moral defects into a brutal tale of freedom and intrigue. After the first scene set in an isolated forest where wily German bounty hunter "Dr. Schultz" finds and frees Django in order to lead him to a bounty, the teamed duo embark onJust as he struck the Nazis in Inglourious Basterds, Tarantino takes his aim in Django Unchained at Southern slave owners before the Civil War, etching their moral defects into a brutal tale of freedom and intrigue. After the first scene set in an isolated forest where wily German bounty hunter "Dr. Schultz" finds and frees Django in order to lead him to a bounty, the teamed duo embark on a killing odyssey, jumping bounties, getting rich and facing all of the vile and ingrained implications involved with racist Southern slavery into a series of action-packed vignettes. Some might say Tarantino has offered us just another violent-frenzied exploitation film, but he does so in the best way possible, knowing when and where to tug to make the audience laugh and cringe, and does so with great characters, dialogue and tension. He knows how to do what every great director should know how to do. Expand
  9. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    This film is hilarious with over the top action scenes which Quentin pulls off very well of course like in his previous films. Yes, there is racism and controversial material but so what? It's something different which is what I like! anyway, Django Unchained really steers away from clichés. It's definitely a film I'd want to watch again.
  10. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Well, I was ready for nothing less than a masterpiece, got it in spades... I am amazed at the quackery in the world of critiquing movies professionally. Anyone that has any idea as to what they were in for when they decided to go see this movie, would leave a very happy movie goer. This is classic QT, and as predictable as it may be for some, I sure as hell did not see certain plot twistsWell, I was ready for nothing less than a masterpiece, got it in spades... I am amazed at the quackery in the world of critiquing movies professionally. Anyone that has any idea as to what they were in for when they decided to go see this movie, would leave a very happy movie goer. This is classic QT, and as predictable as it may be for some, I sure as hell did not see certain plot twists coming, and I am damn good at reading plot. Anyhow. This deserves all 10's, it will delight you if you are indeed an individual that can understand and appreciate what it is and why it is so important as a work of art. Otherwise, go back to your Bridesmaids and Twilight flicks. What a joy of a horror it was. Expand
  11. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    Pulpy, funny, extremely violent and well-written. Unfortunately Django fails to deliver the tension obtained in older westerns or even his previous efforts. Still a great watch with some utterly fantastic performances.
  12. Dec 22, 2015
    8
    Django Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. TheDjango Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. The presentation is excellent with the landscape being big and beautiful and the violence being big, dumb, goory, and fun. Its everything a western is and it’s a ton of fun! Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    "Quentin Tarantino has once again proved why he is one of the greatest and most authentic directors making films today, filled with gut-busting violence, Oscar worthy performances and some much comic relief. Django is one of 2012's best movies, by far." A+
  14. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    Tarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I willTarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I will definitely see his next film again for the music, the inventive parley and the dialogue and the eccentricity of his leading role. Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With any filmmaker, there are ups and down. This one is definitely up! Christop Waltz (in another winning performance) plays a dentist-turned-bounty-hunter who strikes a deal with a slave (Jamie Foxx in the title role): help him find his bounty and he'll free Django and help him find his wife. They outsmart all the villains until they finally land at the plantation run by Leonardo DiCaprio. Despite the cruel depiction of slavery, this is Tarantino's funniest film yet (the head bag scene is a classic). The violence leans toward comic book broadness with more blood splatter than guts or cuts Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This movie is not for everyone. My parents hated it because they were expecting a straight-up western they were wrong. If you don't know who Quentin Tarrantino is then this movie is probably going to annoy you. I'm a HUGE Tarrantino fan so I got exactly what I was expecting... The best movie I've watched all year, and the opening was absolutely fantastic. If you like Pulp Fiction, KillThis movie is not for everyone. My parents hated it because they were expecting a straight-up western they were wrong. If you don't know who Quentin Tarrantino is then this movie is probably going to annoy you. I'm a HUGE Tarrantino fan so I got exactly what I was expecting... The best movie I've watched all year, and the opening was absolutely fantastic. If you like Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, or From Dusk till Dawn and you liked the "STYLE" those films had then do yourself a favor and check this awesome movie out now!!! Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    I saw this on Christmas day in a packed theater. Even though the film was 2 hrs 40 minutes time never dragged and people clapped at the end of the film. I'm docking 1 point for excessive violence which at times was WAY over the top. I know QT loves violence in his films but really, I couldn't watch the scene with the dogs or the Mandingo fight. There is also a scene discussing KKKI saw this on Christmas day in a packed theater. Even though the film was 2 hrs 40 minutes time never dragged and people clapped at the end of the film. I'm docking 1 point for excessive violence which at times was WAY over the top. I know QT loves violence in his films but really, I couldn't watch the scene with the dogs or the Mandingo fight. There is also a scene discussing KKK hoods that seems right out of a Mel Brooks movie rather than Tarantino but it was hilarious. For me, Christoph Waltz was the best thing about the whole movie. I hope he and Tarantino continue to do more films together - it's a perfect match. The film may have been written for Waltz as he is a German actor, and speaking German is a key component of the film. There are strong performances from DiCaprio and Jackson as well. Great directors get great performances from their cast. All in all, a great combination of humor and violence, plus a strong depiction of slavery and its atrocities. Expand
  18. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Man, what a movie, WHAT AN AMAZING MOVIE !!! It was like a roller coater ride. I was pumped the entire time. I could feel the adrenaline. Everybody delivered a great performance, especially Jamie Foxx. I hope, for once, the academy will considered a good movie like this.
  19. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    Real film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly the best cast Waltz!
  20. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    The best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. All the actors are perfectly cast. Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz, Leonardo Decaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, and Kerry Washington are all outstanding. I've already seen it twice and I can't wait to see it again when it comes out on blu-ray.
  21. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Django is a beautiful production with perfect acting, cinematography, and sound. I enjoyed myself to a large extent watching it. My only criticism would be the length is a bit much considering how linear the content is. I cannot see a Tarantino movie without amazingly high expectations so he did well, considering.
  22. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Django Unchained was an excellent, surprisingly light and utterly hilarious western from Quentin Tarantino. The movie surprised me at many different junctures and delighted throughout. This was a fantastic film!
  23. May 29, 2013
    7
    Comedy writer Julius Sharpe said on Twitter the other day that he just wanted to 'thank all the people who reviewed "Star Wars" on Netflix. You guys swayed me, I'll check it out.' His point could save us all a whole lot of time. 'Django Unchained' is already a hugely popular movie, and so many, even among those who haven't seen it, are familiar by now with its fairly simple plot. So thisComedy writer Julius Sharpe said on Twitter the other day that he just wanted to 'thank all the people who reviewed "Star Wars" on Netflix. You guys swayed me, I'll check it out.' His point could save us all a whole lot of time. 'Django Unchained' is already a hugely popular movie, and so many, even among those who haven't seen it, are familiar by now with its fairly simple plot. So this time around, I'm only going to point out a few marked ways in which Quentin's seventh film struck me as rather unTarantinian.

    'Django', of course, is still very obviously a Tarantino film. But look, for instance, at how the flash-backs are done with quick fades rather than simple cuts, and how they're shot with different filters 'flash-back' filters. This drains them of most of the immediacy of the flash-backs of his other movies. Or, more accurately, they make them actually feel like flash-backs; the equivalents in his other films were effectively just scene transitions. He also uses music rather flamboyantly this time, often using only small parts of songs, and he uses more of it than usual.

    The camera is also much more active than in previous films. Look at the often flashy way he films the lengthy scene at Candie's dinner table and compare it to the tavern scene in chapter four of 'Inglourious Basterds'. In that scene, the camera is resolutely static throughout, using simple two-shots, three-shots and close-ups. For my money, this helped to make the scene considerably more immersive and suspenseful than the one at Candie's dinner table.

    Compare also the unwavering realism of the nazis and peripheral characters in 'Basterds' with the slave-owners and townsfolk in 'Django', who are frequently exaggerated and played for laughs. For myself, I was a bit disappointed by this decline in realism. I know Tarantino did this to retain the feel of the Spaghetti Westerns he's always loved so much. But one of his greatest strengths has always been his talent for taking lesser genres and accentuating their best elements, while omitting their weaker ones. For most of his movies, this has included maintaining strict realism in the story's environments and supporting characters, but not so much in 'Django"s case.

    Because of its content, the story it tells and its central characters and performances, 'Django' is an excellent, classical tale of a film. It has a couple of plot twists that are stunning. I am told that the Samurai sword-fight sequence in 'Kill Bill Vol. 1' is probably the best ever filmed, and I have no doubt that 'Django"s revolver melee is as good a one as we're ever likely to see. But to an extent that surprised me, the movie lacks the definition of the rest of Quentin's films. I think there are three main reasons for this.

    First, the story is that of a journey, an adventure, and has a fairly set path its makers must follow. Tarantino's stories usually move wherever and whenever they want to, but in each place they visit, they tend strongly to sit firmly down and stay there a good while. 'Django' is more fluid and, except for Candyland, moves through its locales rather speedily.

    The second reason is that after 'Inglourious Basterds', his most restrained and static film yet, I believe Tarantino felt a need to have more fun making his next film, use more music, more comedy (I don't know how long it's been since I've laughed in a theatre as hard as I did when Quentin gets himself blown to smithereens), be more dynamic with his camera, and to finally fully indulge his love of Spaghetti Westerns, a desire which until now he's had to satisfy only in bits and pieces. This is all fine. But I think he set to work with less restraint than was strictly wise this time.

    The third reason is that his editor Sally Menke died a year or so before production began on the film. Sally had edited all of Quentin's films and had long been known as his greatest collaborator. I realize now that such a loss does have its effect on a film. And her replacement, though he was an assistant in the editing of the Kill Bill movies, may not have been an ideal choice.

    I point these things out because so few critics seem to have talked about them, and because together they work to produce a film with fewer marks of its director's craft and brilliance. Obviously 'Django Unchained' is a very strong and enjoyable film with numerous virtues, which delves fearlessly into a subject that's been so widely and wrongly ignored for so long that it now seems in real danger of being largely unknown to many of us. Consider the nauseating case of Arkansas Representative Jon Hubbard who, in a book published last year, wrote that slavery 'may actually have been a blessing in disguise'.

    Quentin spoke with bafflement about the unyielding reluctance of the film industry, and of society at large, to discuss or confront the terrors of thralldom. He said of his movie, 'Let this be the first stone through the window.'
    Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Takes all of Tarentino films and make one great movie...........................................................................................................................................................
  25. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed the movie, but the convoluted scheme and plot really didn't make a lot of sense. It was also horribly predictable but a fun action flick none the less with good acting and cinematography.
  26. Feb 1, 2016
    9
    One of the best movies that I have seen in a very long time. Funny, intense and emotional all in one movie. It was definitely a classic taratino film.
  27. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    Another classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequencesAnother classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequences are sensational from the very beginning but the key component in making this film so great is the two intriguing characters at the heart of it, Foxx and Waltz. Inglorious Basterds was a marvellous movie and I thought that Waltz was the shining light and once again he steals the show. He really is an actor on top of his game under the stewardship of Tarantino and he excels. Compared to other Tarantino outings the film is much more linear excluding less flashbacks. Some will complain about the elements of racism but it's part of what Tarantino is tackling with Django. Foxx proves to be a hit in the lead role and delivers a solid performance. It was a genius piece of casting having Leo DiCaprio as the villain. He is a supreme talent and possibly the finest actor of this generation and once more he is in flawless form as the villain of the movie. As usual Samuel L. Jackson makes an appearance and he, as always, is ever dependable. There's also cameo's from the Director himself, Tarantino and Jonah Hill. Django Unchained is without a doubt one of the best films you'll likely see all year round. It's a must see film and another masterstroke from Quentin Tarantino! It has everything you'd expect from one of his films. The laughs are their in abundance, the actions sequences are superb but there's also the serious issues of racism and slavery at the heart of the tale. And to top it off, there's a stellar cast as always delivering oustanding performances. It is a bit on the long side coming in at just under 3 hours but it's a journey you just have to take all the way through to it's grand stand finish! Make no mistake Django is another work of magic from the maestro that is Quentin Tarantino. Collapse
  28. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Excellent film. I love all of Quentin's movies but they keep getting smarter and more entertaining. While I'm scared to use the word "realistic" when talking about this movie, it definitely feels more real than some of his past titles (Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds). The characters are, as always, extremely entertaining. Quentin always brings the best out of his actors, and maybe that'sExcellent film. I love all of Quentin's movies but they keep getting smarter and more entertaining. While I'm scared to use the word "realistic" when talking about this movie, it definitely feels more real than some of his past titles (Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds). The characters are, as always, extremely entertaining. Quentin always brings the best out of his actors, and maybe that's because he just writes such great characters for them. The theme for the film is vengeance, which is the usual for Tarantino. He follows the Tarantino style as you can expect, but he doesn't fail to throw in a few surprises. He also isn't afraid to stay true to the times with the word **** being thrown into every other line of dialogue. I'm glad he didn't shy away from this because, as someone familiar with history, it wouldn't have felt right. The dialogue is fantastic, the pacing is terrific, the action is spectacular, and overall it's a very entertaining movie. I can tell already that a few racist or ignorant people are leaving bad reviews because the film pokes fun at them, so be weary about bringing anyone like that to see the movie with you. Expand
  29. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This movie handles SO MANY genres at once or in sequence so perfectly that it creates it's own genre. That Genre is Tarantino. It's badass, funny, horrifying and absolutely bloody. If you love Tarantino's work, then this is definitely one of his best, if not THE best movie he's ever produced. Just see this epic movie. It's a goddamn masterpiece.
  30. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Excellent film. The performances from Christoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCaprio, and Samuel L. Jackson were all fantastic and Jamie Foxx did very well also. The dialogue is captivating and it's great seeing DiCaprio as a villain for a change, as well as seeing Waltz as a hero.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Another strong, sparky and bloody entry in the QT canon. Although, creaking under its running time, it's not quite as uproariously entertaining as his last pseudo-historical adventure, "Inglourious Basterds."
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 8, 2013
    100
    What Tarantino has is an appreciation for gut-level exploitation film appeal, combined with an artist's desire to transform that gut element with something higher, better, more daring. His films challenge taboos in our society in the most direct possible way, and at the same time add an element of parody or satire.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 3, 2013
    100
    The film doesn't play it safe, so neither will I. Instead, I'll say that it finds Mr. Tarantino perched improbably but securely on the top of a production that's wildly extravagant, ferociously violent, ludicrously lurid and outrageously entertaining, yet also, remarkably, very much about the pernicious lunacy of racism and, yes, slavery's singular horrors.