Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 25, 2012
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2046 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,855
Mixed:
114
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
rafingal23Jan 14, 2014
Tarantino has done it again! Excellent performance by the cast especially Christoph Waltz who thoroughly deserved his Academy Award. Samuel L. Jackson was essential to bringing humour with his 'Uncle Ruckus' -like performance and the endingTarantino has done it again! Excellent performance by the cast especially Christoph Waltz who thoroughly deserved his Academy Award. Samuel L. Jackson was essential to bringing humour with his 'Uncle Ruckus' -like performance and the ending was the icing on the cake. Thumbs up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
leaderlordJan 16, 2014
One of the best movies I've seen in a while. The effects, story and the characters made me watch it twice. Tarantino underlined very well how black people were treated like dogs which made me sad. Also excluding the sadness, there are manyOne of the best movies I've seen in a while. The effects, story and the characters made me watch it twice. Tarantino underlined very well how black people were treated like dogs which made me sad. Also excluding the sadness, there are many funny and awesome scenes. If you are reading this then watch the movie and thank me later.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidMay 4, 2014
I don't care if you complain about the violence but Django Unchained is one of Tarantino's best. Great Characters and the usual astonishing and creative dialogue from Tarantino's head. Great performances bu the great Christoph Waltz, JamieI don't care if you complain about the violence but Django Unchained is one of Tarantino's best. Great Characters and the usual astonishing and creative dialogue from Tarantino's head. Great performances bu the great Christoph Waltz, Jamie Foxx and a very different role for DiCaprio, DiCaprio shows that he can be a very smart actor as a villain. Django is obviously is in my list of the best films of 2012 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
luken1020Apr 11, 2014
This is a fantastic film. Django Unchained is easily the best film I viewed in 2013. I understand that the film was released in 2012, but I did not see it until 2013. Regardless, this film basically had it all. It did not take it self overlyThis is a fantastic film. Django Unchained is easily the best film I viewed in 2013. I understand that the film was released in 2012, but I did not see it until 2013. Regardless, this film basically had it all. It did not take it self overly serious, but kept the plot going whenever really possible. There were a few scenes that seemed to drag on a little, as that is a common technique of Tarantino, but most lasted an appropriate amount of time. This film managed to pull all of the right emotional strings. It was straightforward and compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
diogomendesAug 25, 2015
Quentin Tarantino, an excellent director, has delivered one of his finest works with "Django Unchained", a bloody and very exciting picture. Really love this movie. It's funny and full of stylish performances. If you haven't seen it, go seeQuentin Tarantino, an excellent director, has delivered one of his finest works with "Django Unchained", a bloody and very exciting picture. Really love this movie. It's funny and full of stylish performances. If you haven't seen it, go see it. It's one of the best 2012 movies.

Final Score: 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ArendelleawesomMay 31, 2014
Wow is all I could just say about this movie after watching it I've never seen a western like this if you are used to Clint Eastwood westerns they will not prepare you for this although this movie is not based on an actual story I feelWow is all I could just say about this movie after watching it I've never seen a western like this if you are used to Clint Eastwood westerns they will not prepare you for this although this movie is not based on an actual story I feel without a doubt that the actions that took place in this film were not irregular practices which makes this movie have an early feel to it this movie was gritty and bloody although I'm fine with and action packed scene or shootout there's parts of this movie that made me cringe and almost brought tears to my eyes something not many movies do and all the actors performances in this movie were amazing especially the villain never have I seen such a despicable character in a movie and it was executed perfectly by Leonardo DiCaprio. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
Filmin müzikleri ve sahneleri çok başarılı, başta Christopher Waltz ve Leonardo di Caprio olmak üzere oyunculuklar ve karakterler olağanüstü, Tarantino'yu zaten biliyoruz her zamanki gibi.Sonuçta uzun ama zamanın ötesinde gerçekten çok iyiFilmin müzikleri ve sahneleri çok başarılı, başta Christopher Waltz ve Leonardo di Caprio olmak üzere oyunculuklar ve karakterler olağanüstü, Tarantino'yu zaten biliyoruz her zamanki gibi.Sonuçta uzun ama zamanın ötesinde gerçekten çok iyi bir film çıkıyor karşımıza. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantDec 22, 2014
Django Unchained is surprising in the fact that it's not just good like i was expecting it was excellent. I think the films message about slavery will hit a wider and more general audience and it's backed by amazing action,story and actingDjango Unchained is surprising in the fact that it's not just good like i was expecting it was excellent. I think the films message about slavery will hit a wider and more general audience and it's backed by amazing action,story and acting from Jamie fox and Leonardo DiCaprio and of course Christopher waltz who steals the whole show. get this movie it is seriously worth it and i'm looking forward to what Tarantino does next Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DavidMuroDec 7, 2014
Apoteósica, excelente, divertida y bestial como siempre es Tarantino. Hacía tiempo que no disfrutaba tanto viendo una película. El guión es bueno, pero las conversaciones en especial son un 10. El papel de Django (Jamie Foxx) y sobre todo deApoteósica, excelente, divertida y bestial como siempre es Tarantino. Hacía tiempo que no disfrutaba tanto viendo una película. El guión es bueno, pero las conversaciones en especial son un 10. El papel de Django (Jamie Foxx) y sobre todo de Christoph Waltz (el mejor de la película a mi entender, de hecho creo que se llevó un Oscar por este papel) es para quitarse el sombrero. También DiCaprio hace un papelón. Si te gusta el cine no te la puedes perder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Undead_UtahDec 27, 2014
Quentin Tarantino pulls, again, what may be another instant cult classic out of the hat.
Another ludicrously good film by the visionary director, with the perfect cast for the job; with Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz & Leonardo DiCaprio at the
Quentin Tarantino pulls, again, what may be another instant cult classic out of the hat.
Another ludicrously good film by the visionary director, with the perfect cast for the job; with Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz & Leonardo DiCaprio at the helm, this grindhouse-style western is by far my favourite movie of 2012. A slew of black comedy mixed with almost cartoon violence make this gory, racially cautious romp one of the best in the acclaimed screenplay writer/ directors portfolio...Buuuutt, it makes me truly wonder whether and when he's going to flop, as with each movie he places the bar higher and higher still, will he still be able to reach it in years to come? Evidently though; He did not flop with this hit.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TributeManJan 18, 2016
That's a **** on that horse, sir!

Czym jest Django? Odpowiedź jest bardzo prosta... Po pierwsze, muzyka. Coś wspaniałego. Tak oryginalnej ścieżki dźwiękowej nie słyszałem od dawna. Pojawiają się na niej utwory, których w życiu nie
That's a **** on that horse, sir!

Czym jest Django? Odpowiedź jest bardzo prosta... Po pierwsze, muzyka. Coś wspaniałego. Tak oryginalnej ścieżki dźwiękowej nie słyszałem od dawna. Pojawiają się na niej utwory, których w życiu nie wyobrażałbym sobie w jakimkolwiek westernie. Idealnie pasują, stwarzają odpowiedni nastrój na początku i końcu scen. Po drugie, zdjęcia. Te także wypadają świetnie. Krajobrazy wyglądają wspaniale, a sceny w pomieszczeniach… No sami to zobaczcie! Po trzecie, aktorzy. Jamie Fox, Christoph Waltz i Leonardo DiCaprio. Tej trójki nikomu nie trzeba przedstawiać. Każdy odegrał swoją rolę po mistrzowsku. Nic dodać, nic ująć.
Moim zdaniem jest to najlepiej ZROBIONY film przez Quentina Tarantino. Jeżeli jakimś cudem jeszcze go nie widzieliście to musicie to nadrobić.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EddyGregsApr 20, 2015
In 1858, bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz (Waltz) frees a slave named Django (Foxx) to help him track down three outlaw brothers. The pair partner up, then conspire to rescue Django’s wife (Washington) from a plantation owner (DiCaprio).

Any
In 1858, bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz (Waltz) frees a slave named Django (Foxx) to help him track down three outlaw brothers. The pair partner up, then conspire to rescue Django’s wife (Washington) from a plantation owner (DiCaprio).

Any new Quentin Tarantino release is an event. Like his latest protagonist, Tarantino is a filmmaker Unchained (although, to be fair, he was never really Chained to begin with). He has never exhibited any agenda beyond revelling in a seemingly boundless love of cult cinema and sharing that with an audience whom he never patronises by assuming they know less than he does. So, for good (Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown, Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds) or ill (Four Rooms, Death Proof), his movies, however wide their scope, always come unhampered by studio fussiness and unvarnished by new trends: digital, CGI, 3D — IMAX, even. For a man credited with tearing up the rulebook, he is staunchly traditional.

Another strong, sparky and bloody entry in the QT canon. Tarantino’s 2nd best!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
One of the great strengths of Quentin Tarantino's films is the way his love of cinema permeates every frame. From subtle, throw-away lines and in-jokes to more obvious nods (such as the "old fashioned" Columbia logo at the beginning or theOne of the great strengths of Quentin Tarantino's films is the way his love of cinema permeates every frame. From subtle, throw-away lines and in-jokes to more obvious nods (such as the "old fashioned" Columbia logo at the beginning or the '70s-style opening credits), it wends its way through his productions. Over the course of his career, Tarantino has paid homage to a number of genres; with Django Unchained, it's time for the Western. Of course, the director never does anything in a straightforward manner, so this is also a revenge flick and a somewhat offbeat comedy. Tarantino may be the best working director to take scenes of blood, mayhem, and gore and transform them into moments of hilarity. Pulp Fiction introduced this tendency ("Oh man, I shot Marvin in the face!") and Tarantino has honed it since. Despite the occasional brutality of the material, Django Unchained includes some of the best laugh aloud scenes of any 2012 motion picture, regardless of the genre.

Over the years, we have come to expect things from Tarantino, and he delivers most of them in Django Unchained. There are the high-octane action scenes, which tend to be short and brutal. There's copious gore; when someone gets shot, you can be damn sure he's going to bleed. There's a tendency for the director to thumb his nose at political correctness. We're bound to see female bare feet at some point. And there's a sense of energy and momentum that culminates in satisfying violence. Perhaps the only thing somewhat on the back burner in Django Unchained is Tarantino's penchant for witty repartee and clever monologues. There's a little of it here, but not nearly as much as in some of his previous endeavors. Still, this is very much "a Quentin Tarantino Film" in every sense of the phrase and those who build expectations based on those four words won't be disappointed.

As has been true of past efforts, Tarantino coaxes memorable performances out of his actors. Joining the ranks of John Travolta, Uma Thurman, and Christoph Waltz (among others) is Jamie Foxx. After Ray, Foxx was viewed seriously as a dramatic actor, but he hasn't been given much of note to do in recent years. With Django Unchained, Tarantino provides him a meaty role and he tears into it with relish. He also displays a warm and unique chemistry with co-star Waltz, who is once again great. Leonardo DiCaprio, in a rare supporting role, shows that, despite his heartthrob reputation, he's capable of playing a truly loathsome villain. Samuel L. Jackson, buried under prosthetics and makeup, is recognizable primarily because of his voice and attitude. Tarantino's "reclamation project" (in which he takes a once-popular actor and gives him something interesting to do) is Don Johnson, although his screen time is limited. There are a few notable cameos: Jonah Hill, Amber Tamblyn, Bruce Dern, Tom Savini, Robert Carradine, and Franco Nero (who played the lead character in the unrelated 1966 film, Django).

One of the best things about Tarantino films in general and Django Unchained in particular is that the viewer is never sure where the narrative is going. Tarantino delights in unexpected surprises, some of which are sudden and violent. Consider, for example, John Travolta's death mid-way through Pulp Fiction - I'd wager no one saw that coming. While there's nothing quite that dramatic in Django Unchained, the movie has its moments and the storyline doesn't follow an unbending trajectory. Although it's technically a Western, Tarantino doesn't feel constrained by limits often placed on the genre. He stirs in elements of exploitation/blacksploitation to give Django Unchained a more pulpy, high energy feel. This is a serious movie with some serious things to say about how blacks were treated in the Old South but there's plenty of action to go along with the darker material.

Not unexpectedly, Tarantino inserts himself into Django Unchained in a part that's larger than a cameo and smaller than a supporting role. It's tough to say whether his acting has improved but he tries on an Australian accent that is ridiculously bad. However, the director may be self-aware enough to recognize his limitations in front of the camera and his appearance, distracting as it is, could be designed to be cheesy. Or not. Difficult to say.

Django Unchained may be Tarantino's most uplifting movie to date. Without revealing the ending, I can say it's less nihilistic than that of, say, Reservoir Dogs. Age may not have mellowed Tarantino but at least he can see the value in a little optimism. Django Unchained isn't in the absolute top tier of the director's films; I consider Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, and Inglourious Basterds to be more complete experiences. But this is a fine, accomplished effort and a great way to spend nearly three hours in a movie theater. Most people will leave with a smile and those who don't probably should have gone to see something softer in the first place.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BB_CriticJun 26, 2015
Django is actually the first Tarantino movie I've ever seen, and because of that, it felt completely different from your average movie. It is very stylized and is visually sleek with very memorable performances from Christopher Waltz andDjango is actually the first Tarantino movie I've ever seen, and because of that, it felt completely different from your average movie. It is very stylized and is visually sleek with very memorable performances from Christopher Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio. If you are a fan of Tarantino, you will most certainly enjoy this one. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeingNickDohNov 19, 2015
The movie does capture the 'flavor' of early America; the treatment of blacks as slaves and the major mentalities of white people in their treatment of the slaves. It's definitely one of Tarantino's more historically accurate films, whileThe movie does capture the 'flavor' of early America; the treatment of blacks as slaves and the major mentalities of white people in their treatment of the slaves. It's definitely one of Tarantino's more historically accurate films, while offering the elements that made him who he is today. My only complaint would be perhaps the use of the N word a few extra times more than necessary. Yet, it would of definitely been very commonly used; mainly noting the last scene between Jamie Fox and Samuel Jackson.

Overall, it is not ultra-violent, but a good amount of violence, and offers a genuine look at American history while most western shows and movies gloss over the shallow mindedness and brutality of the era.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Another classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail acrossAnother classic from the legend that is Quentin Tarantino. He simply doesn't deliver average films and 'Django Unchained' continues his wonderful work. Set in the Deep South and Old West, a freed slave (Jamie Foxx) embarks on a trail across America with a German bounty hunter (Christoph Waltz) to rescue his wife from a charismatic and cruel plantation owner (Leo DiCaprio.) The sequences are sensational from the very beginning but the key component in making this film so great is the two intriguing characters at the heart of it, Foxx and Waltz. Inglourious Basterds was a marvellous movie and I thought that Waltz was the shining light and once again he steals the show. He really is an actor on top of his game under the stewardship of Tarantino and he excels. Compared to other Tarantino outings the film is much more linear excluding less flashbacks. Some will complain about the elements of racism but it's part of what Tarantino is tackling with Django. Foxx proves to be a hit in the lead role and delivers a solid performance. It was a genius piece of casting having Leo DiCaprio as the villain. He is a supreme talent and possibly the finest actor of this generation and once more he is in flawless form as the villain of the movie. As usual Samuel L. Jackson makes an appearance and he, as always, is ever dependable. There's also cameo's from the Director himself, Tarantino and Jonah Hill. Django Unchained is without a doubt one of the best films you'll likely see all year round. It's a must see film and another masterstroke from Quentin Tarantino! It has everything you'd expect from one of his films. The laughs are their in abundance, the actions sequences are superb but there's also the serious issues of racism and slavery at the heart of the tale. And to top it off, there's a stellar cast as always delivering outstanding performances. It is a bit on the long side coming in at just under 3 hours but it's a journey you just have to take all the way through to it's grand stand finish! Make no mistake Django is another work of magic from the maestro that is Quentin Tarantino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 15, 2016
Django Unchained will forever be a 9 even if I loved it so much. Django Unchained is another way to waste a chain on something worth keeping forever and it will never dust away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
My, how nasty that nice young Mr Di Caprio can act. My, how brutal the treatment of slaves in the deep south 150 years ago. My, how violent the films of Mr Tarantino can be. My, knowing all this at the beginning, what a surprisingly enjoyableMy, how nasty that nice young Mr Di Caprio can act. My, how brutal the treatment of slaves in the deep south 150 years ago. My, how violent the films of Mr Tarantino can be. My, knowing all this at the beginning, what a surprisingly enjoyable time I had sinking deep into this mire of humanity. And afterwards I felt excited, like a kid after a great day out, who could do with a good scrub in a hot bath. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PresidentTrumpJul 24, 2017
Quentin Tarantino is another one of my favorite directors. This film captures the realism of the slavery days and stays true to his style. The movie definitely isn't for everyone but for the people that do like it, well congratulations, youQuentin Tarantino is another one of my favorite directors. This film captures the realism of the slavery days and stays true to his style. The movie definitely isn't for everyone but for the people that do like it, well congratulations, you just witnessed a fine Tarantino film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jen_ShardMar 22, 2017
Loved it. I'm a huge fan of Cristopher Waltz and his ability to always play a believable psycho :D I would agree with some users below who said it's somewhat realistic and this just makes it even better. My only minus for the movie is theLoved it. I'm a huge fan of Cristopher Waltz and his ability to always play a believable psycho :D I would agree with some users below who said it's somewhat realistic and this just makes it even better. My only minus for the movie is the riding technique some of the actors were bad at. Not trying to be cocky, but I've recently been to horse riding in Croatia in an adventure park where they taught us ahow to properly ride. Other than this, I would give this movie a 9.4 score :) Definitely worth the watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dragonfly44Jul 19, 2017
One of Tarantino's finest films, Django Unchained. is beautifully directed, beautifully acted and beautifully scripted movie. It's action scenes are nothing short of epic and it still manages to pull off a compelling story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruteforce037Jan 10, 2013
I am not a Leonardo DiCaprio fan. But, I thought he gave one helluva performance. I agree with Roger Ebert's review of the movie. In addition to DiCaprio's performance, I really enjoyed Christoph Waltz's performance as well. QT smacks youI am not a Leonardo DiCaprio fan. But, I thought he gave one helluva performance. I agree with Roger Ebert's review of the movie. In addition to DiCaprio's performance, I really enjoyed Christoph Waltz's performance as well. QT smacks you rwight in the face w/this movie. You will go through a lot of emotions while watching this movie. But, if you are a fan of QT, you should be fine. Don't worry about Spike Lee with all his money. See the movie, then make your own judgement call. It was a very long movie, but that's cool. I thought the last half hour or so moved slowly along. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ArkonBladeMay 19, 2013
I saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on howI saw this movie for one main reason and that would be for Christoph Waltz He was just Amazing in Inglourious Basterds. Yet again he blows away the screen with a captivating performance. The list of actors I can watch and just drool on how great there acting is I can count on one hand and Christoph Waltz would be one of those actors. Jamie Fox who is also very good in this next to Waltz you kind of forget about Fox some times which is kind of a shame because Jamie Fox is no slouch in this and does a fine job. As a western its a pretty damn good one but my biggest problem with it is the music Now normally one of three things happens with music 1. either it blends in to where you don't notice it 2. It pops out wonderfully to make a scene better or 3. It pops out and just does not fit at all. With Django it falls in to number 3. Tarantino uses a lot of 60s and 70s style music which just doesn't feel right at all and just took me out at times going why is he using this kind of music? It just doesn't fit a western at all. Feels like it would belong more in Jackie Brown or Pulp Fiction That out of the way the story is good and the acting from the other actors is very solid The movie is well worth seeing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobDec 22, 2015
Django Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances byDjango Unchained is a big dumb fun western. Tarintino’s passion for the genre comes through as he delivers one of his best films. The film is two and a half hours long but it is so engaging you could care less. The excellent performances by Christoph Waltz, again!, and Leonardo Dicapprio grab your attention engaging you. The heroes are fun and the villains are dripping with evil. The presentation is excellent with the landscape being big and beautiful and the violence being big, dumb, goory, and fun. Its everything a western is and it’s a ton of fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wishmasterFeb 23, 2013
Real film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly theReal film with Tarantino seal, bloody, strong, and reflective of what the black man lived years ago; clear here is changed a little history. Finally, Django is a tough movie with a clever script carried out by good performances mainly the best cast Waltz! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jsowersDec 26, 2012
Django is a beautiful production with perfect acting, cinematography, and sound. I enjoyed myself to a large extent watching it. My only criticism would be the length is a bit much considering how linear the content is. I cannot see aDjango is a beautiful production with perfect acting, cinematography, and sound. I enjoyed myself to a large extent watching it. My only criticism would be the length is a bit much considering how linear the content is. I cannot see a Tarantino movie without amazingly high expectations so he did well, considering. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 9, 2013
Django Unchained was an excellent, surprisingly light and utterly hilarious western from Quentin Tarantino. The movie surprised me at many different junctures and delighted throughout. This was a fantastic film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJun 4, 2013
I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

The director’s usual fast paced dialogue,
I can think of very few, if any, directors that have as unique a style as Quentin Tarantino and within 30 seconds of Django Unchained it is immediately clear you are watching one of his movies.

The director’s usual fast paced dialogue, bloody action sequences and ability to successfully mix comedy and drama to create truly memorable scenes are all on show here. Add in exceptional performances from a talented cast that includes Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio and deserved Oscar winner Christopher Waltz, as the dentist turned bounty hunter, and you have an example of the filmmaker at his very best.

Non-Tarantino fans need not apply.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
provit88Jan 10, 2013
Just everything you wait from a QT movie. Blood, guns, violence, deep and long dialogs, humor and stuff - everything entertains you, unless you don't accept the cruel, but still realistic perspective of one of the most nonconformistJust everything you wait from a QT movie. Blood, guns, violence, deep and long dialogs, humor and stuff - everything entertains you, unless you don't accept the cruel, but still realistic perspective of one of the most nonconformist directors. This movie is like taking a breath of fresh air, it's something really new that pops-up among all the mainstream occasional stuff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
hoops2448Feb 26, 2013
Ever since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slaveEver since Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino has shocked audiences into submission with naturalistic dialogue and unnecessary amounts of fake blood and Django is no different. Django tells the story of Django (Jamie Foxx) a rebellious slave freed by a bounty hunter, Dr King Shultz (A sublime Christoph Waltz) who needs his help hunting his next bounty. The two head off in search of this bounty and Django's wife Broomhilda (Kerry Washington) who is a slave at Candyland, a brutal southern plantation run by Calvin Candie (a wonderfully temperamental Leonardo Dicaprio). It's a thrilling film and the only real problems with Django are that it suffers from some pacing issues and has a woeful cameo by Tarantino himself which borders on hilarity but just manages to irritate. In its dialogue the film sparks but in the build up to the violent set pieces the film flounders until suddenly the gunfire breaks out and we are back off to the races. Its a whole lot of stop and start which in some aspects detract from the enjoyment. Ultimately the film is fantastic for the most part with some fine performances by Waltz, DIcaprio, Foxx and Samuel L Jackson who gives a performance that is on par with his in my opinion best performance in the equally wonderful Tarantino flick Jackie Brown. Despite the bleak nature of the film and the shocking imagery used, Tarantino's wit and keen eye for detail save the film from being downright miserable and even give it a happy go lucky feel which is remarkable. Overall Tarantino delivers on everything you expect with flying colours but deep down you may be expecting a little more originality as he plays multiple cards from his own deck but never strives for anything out of the ordinary. A great film by regular standards, an average Tarantino film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 10, 2013
Tarantino's take on the spaghetti western is a fun but uneven film that film fans will enjoy. Great performance by both Waltz and DiCaprio, but a surprisingly disappointing turn by Jamie Foxx by the lead. It too has pacing issues due to itsTarantino's take on the spaghetti western is a fun but uneven film that film fans will enjoy. Great performance by both Waltz and DiCaprio, but a surprisingly disappointing turn by Jamie Foxx by the lead. It too has pacing issues due to its length; Django starts of strongly but got significantly weaker near the end. However, despite its seemingly 'low' ambition as a blaxpotation / western hybrid flick, Django Unchained is the first film I have seen to address the issue of slavery in manner that is believable. It's casual attitude towards maybe the first 'true' portrayal of this 'dark part' of American history. This interesting perspective on this issue raise a lot of the audiences' interests in flipping (or browsing) the historical books, and maybe that's what Tarantino is aiming at. Still one of the better films of this year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
w_underwoodJan 11, 2013
Django Unchained has the same kind of outrageous violence and gore as Inglorious Basterds just in a different setting which if you enjoyed the first time around, you probably will the second time. Christopher Waltz and Jamie Foxx are a greatDjango Unchained has the same kind of outrageous violence and gore as Inglorious Basterds just in a different setting which if you enjoyed the first time around, you probably will the second time. Christopher Waltz and Jamie Foxx are a great duo and DiCaprio was great as Calvin Candie. I was entertained throughout. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SchnappsJan 9, 2013
Django Unchained was great film -- solid, well made and well casted. One of the film's high points -- a usual with Tarantino -- was the character interaction through dialogue. Many scenes came across as overwhelmingly tense due to the actorsDjango Unchained was great film -- solid, well made and well casted. One of the film's high points -- a usual with Tarantino -- was the character interaction through dialogue. Many scenes came across as overwhelmingly tense due to the actors and their stunning performances. However, I would say that this film slightly loses steam in its last half hour. I have heard a lot of criticism about Leonardo Dicaprio's acting but he was stellar in this film, his accent was spot on and he played a perfect villain. Christoph Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio were definitely the film's best actors but Jamie Foxx -- whilst he did a good job -- did not measure up to their performances as much as could be hoped. A great film with a solid story, historical accuracy, practical effects and stunning performances from Waltz and DiCaprio with perfectly scripted dialogue. If you are not one for gore and blood, maybe skip this however, as the last half hour gets a bit messy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJan 22, 2013
My first cinema-going in 2013 is dedicating to Tarantino
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LopsterPopsterJan 5, 2013
Tarantino knew just how to make you laugh, cringe, and cheer all through this movie. Christoph Waltz is so perfect in his role as Dr. King Schultz in his humor and little twinges of psychotic nature that peak through every once in a while,Tarantino knew just how to make you laugh, cringe, and cheer all through this movie. Christoph Waltz is so perfect in his role as Dr. King Schultz in his humor and little twinges of psychotic nature that peak through every once in a while, Jamie Fox portrays the perfect mixture of fear, anger, and pretentiousness, and DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson are just the perfect villains. The movie is a great ride all the way through, and keeps the fun going the whole 2 hours and 45 minutes. The ending to this movie is one of the most satisfying I've seen in quite some time, and the final shootout is unlike anything I've seen. I definitely will see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerDec 29, 2012
Quentin Tarantino is a great director, he can make the most meaningless scene in a movie interesting and memorable, which is sort of how the film starts off.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
cylentstormJun 28, 2013
Yep--another bit of Tarantino gold to add to the collection. Love it. Oh, and Christoph Waltz really shines here--again. From the despicably evil Jew Hunter to Dr. Schultz: bigot-hating bounty hunter--he really lives these characters. ButYep--another bit of Tarantino gold to add to the collection. Love it. Oh, and Christoph Waltz really shines here--again. From the despicably evil Jew Hunter to Dr. Schultz: bigot-hating bounty hunter--he really lives these characters. But then, everyone usually does with Tarantino at the helm. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
seancriswellDec 29, 2012
Not everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django isNot everything in Tarantino's filmography can be as good as Pulp Fiction or Basterds. For me Django falls a little short of those lofty expectations, but a pretty good Tarantino film is better than most movies in any given year. Django is gonna get a lot of comparisons to Basterds because they are both revenge fantasies at their core. While that may not be fair it is natural given the very similar plot arcs. While I still think I would have preferred Bastreds if it had been made second because of two of the best scenes ever put into film, it is hard to say because Django did feel familiar while Basterds felt like something you had never seen before. There is still plenty to love about the movie. As usual this film is very dialogue driven with biting humor and some dark overtones. Nobody in film ever uses dialogue to build tension like Tarantino and there is plenty of that at work here. Performances are great almost across the board, especially Waltz and Dicaprio. Foxx gives a nice, understated performance as Django. My only beef with the performances was surprisingly Jackson. Although I think that is more a product of the character than his performance. If the usual Tarantino stylized violence is your cup of tea, there is enough of it on display here to get your fill. For me this movie goes off the rails just a bit in the final third. I never felt like Tarantino knew how to end this film and it ended uo being the weak link in another very good Tarantino vehicle. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
Superb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for someSuperb casting makes every moment of this film an absolute joy to watch despite its 165 min length. Waltz and DiCaprio steal the show, but the acting is allround exellent. Production design, cinematography, costumes and music (except for some lame hip-hop songs) were all top level! Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BertoDec 26, 2012
While Django Unchained is definitely not a masterpiece, it is an extremely entertaining movie. Jamie Foxx's acting was not top-notch, but I did enjoy, as always, Samuel L. Jackson's performance. The storyline is pretty predictable but theWhile Django Unchained is definitely not a masterpiece, it is an extremely entertaining movie. Jamie Foxx's acting was not top-notch, but I did enjoy, as always, Samuel L. Jackson's performance. The storyline is pretty predictable but the movie does not suffer as a result. The historical setting is perfectly recreated. I found the hyper-exaggeration of violence quite funny at times, more so than in other of QT's movies. I would definitely see it again. 8/10 Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
mathmikeJan 5, 2013
I thought the acting was superb, the editing was done quite well, the style was very interesting, the story was great, and the action and special effects were really good. My only problems with the movie were the soundtrack and the dialogue.I thought the acting was superb, the editing was done quite well, the style was very interesting, the story was great, and the action and special effects were really good. My only problems with the movie were the soundtrack and the dialogue. I don't think that the songs in the soundtrack were necessarily bad I just think a few songs didn't really fit in with the movie and kind of took me out of the immersion. Then, the dialogue, while not bad, wasn't the best. There were some scenes had some good dialogue but the movie as a whole had only decent dialogue which is disappointing especially for a director that has had movies with amazing dialogue. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesDec 26, 2012
It's safe to say this was one of my (and many people's) most anticipated films of the year. And does it deliver? Ehhh. Look it's filled with the snappy QT dialogue and signature violence but the pacing was all over the place. Much like PeterIt's safe to say this was one of my (and many people's) most anticipated films of the year. And does it deliver? Ehhh. Look it's filled with the snappy QT dialogue and signature violence but the pacing was all over the place. Much like Peter Jackson's Hobbit I think Tarantino doesn't like editing. It's really entertaining but it just takes a while to get there. Still one of the year's best films though. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
Sh4rk82May 28, 2013
Western-style movie shown on the big screen with good results. Di Caprio as always very good and all the cast. Successful film, the beautiful American abimentazione end 800
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
snakeoilJan 28, 2013
Fun film. Tarantino does well with this one. I swear you will hear the (N) word more times than leaving a rap cd on repeat. I think maybe that was the point... it loses its shock value after about the 400th time. Enjoyable and worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mazmorrero47Jan 25, 2013
Django Unchained is all about Quentin Tarantino celebrating how cool he is. It has everything you expect from him: cheesy gore, dialogue self-aware of its stupidity, memorable characters and excellent performances. Leonardo DiCaprio, SamuelDjango Unchained is all about Quentin Tarantino celebrating how cool he is. It has everything you expect from him: cheesy gore, dialogue self-aware of its stupidity, memorable characters and excellent performances. Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson and Christoph Waltz are incredible and make you laugh all the time. Unfortunately it's not the case for Jamie Foxx, who lacks charisma and doesn't create a solid character like his scene-stealing co-stars. Of course, Tarantino's self-indulgence gets in the way and the movie ends up being 30 minutes too long. But in the end, Django Unchained is a very enjoyable ride. Just not Tarantino's best. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Jailhouse_McGeeJan 30, 2013
This is not "Pulp Fiction" nor "Inglorious Basterds", but it is as insanely entertaining as you expect. Great performances, crisp and funny dialogue, violent shootouts, cool music, very good camera and cinematography. A spagetti westernThis is not "Pulp Fiction" nor "Inglorious Basterds", but it is as insanely entertaining as you expect. Great performances, crisp and funny dialogue, violent shootouts, cool music, very good camera and cinematography. A spagetti western revenge epic with a modern look. It's the full Tarantino package, so enjoy! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
catcarloJan 29, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JawsLaxerDramaMay 31, 2013
What you have to understand about Tarantino is that he WANTS to see how far he can take it. For those of you who are completely ignorant, (A really horrible word) was used like how we said "dude" back in 2007. I am always impressed and aWhat you have to understand about Tarantino is that he WANTS to see how far he can take it. For those of you who are completely ignorant, (A really horrible word) was used like how we said "dude" back in 2007. I am always impressed and a little mortified when I laugh at some of the quotes in the movie. For example, the before the riot was especially hilarious.
The violence gets old though. That is my only complaint however, and i LOVED Dicaprio, Foxx and especially the charasmatic Waltz. Great movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MispeledStalionDec 30, 2012
This is a legitimately fun film that doesn't skip being generally good. Great humor throughout, jaw-dropping violence, great characters and better performances. That all said, the best parts of this film, for me, was the fact that through allThis is a legitimately fun film that doesn't skip being generally good. Great humor throughout, jaw-dropping violence, great characters and better performances. That all said, the best parts of this film, for me, was the fact that through all the fun, Tarantino still creates a truly despicable villain, cringe-worthy and infuriating moments, and a fantastic atmosphere. Django is the most fun you're going to have in theaters this winter. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
PrimbleshanksJan 6, 2013
Ultimately an enjoyable experience and everything I wanted out of the movie. Fantastic direction and acting from Foxx, DiCaprio, and Waltz make for an incredibly high tension during the scenes at Candieland. In classic Tarantino fashion, theUltimately an enjoyable experience and everything I wanted out of the movie. Fantastic direction and acting from Foxx, DiCaprio, and Waltz make for an incredibly high tension during the scenes at Candieland. In classic Tarantino fashion, the writing, gory action sequences and the revenge fueled plot make it a personally attaching experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ToffenuffJul 5, 2013
I love Quentin Tarantino movies, and this is an excellent one. Amazing acting all around. Characters are memorable and distinct, and as always there is a lot of humor and over-the-top gore and violence. Story is actually pretty good too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveFeb 5, 2013
Quentin Tarantino gives us another trademark film which, whilst acknowledging the spaghetti westerns of the 60's, is also a true original. The film has some great writing and is performed with relish by an enthusiastic cast playing colourfulQuentin Tarantino gives us another trademark film which, whilst acknowledging the spaghetti westerns of the 60's, is also a true original. The film has some great writing and is performed with relish by an enthusiastic cast playing colourful characters in a film full of colour in every sense of the word. Christoph Waltz does a sort of reprise of his 'Inglorious Basterds' character but is much nicer here, and Leonardo Di Caprio cast against type plays Calvin Candie with villainous relish. For the most part this is a fun journey. Tarantino definitely subscribes to the notion that nothing succeeds like excess, and bloody excess at that! The film is audacious, humorous, violent and a lot of the time played with its tongue firmly in its cheek. Music, including some fabulous new songs, is also used to perfect effect. It's also a pleasure to see a bunch of character actors from the 60's and 70's popping up in supporting roles to remind us of how good they were, and still are Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hansel4150Dec 29, 2012
It's Tarantino at his best, again. The day I see a bad Tarantino movie is the day I'll stop seeing 'em. I think this was a great revenge flick. The most you can ask for is to be entertained, and I certainly was.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
grettaJan 10, 2013
Maybe it's just the fact I find most of Tarantino's work to be amazing, but this dude knows what he is doing most of the time. Aside from the organization of this film and its over-editing, Django was one of those movies you want to see moreMaybe it's just the fact I find most of Tarantino's work to be amazing, but this dude knows what he is doing most of the time. Aside from the organization of this film and its over-editing, Django was one of those movies you want to see more than once. DiCaprio gives one of his best performances, and the trademark gore of a Tarantino film was taken to the next level, which I found to be incredibly entertaining. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MajesticUterusJan 25, 2013
A balls-out, overly-long, overly-violent, rollicking good time. Sheer entertainment. I didn't know so much blood could exist in a movie... I sure know now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wisertimeJan 16, 2013
The first 2/3rds of this movie were really good and then it took a wrong turn and became cliche Tarrantino over the top garbage for the most part. The acting, camerawork, cinematography and casting were excellent. Chris Waltz was excellent.The first 2/3rds of this movie were really good and then it took a wrong turn and became cliche Tarrantino over the top garbage for the most part. The acting, camerawork, cinematography and casting were excellent. Chris Waltz was excellent. Quentin was the weakest acting link, but he insists on cameos in all his movies. I will even forgive the uneven shooting locations (ie: california golden hills in Mississippi and Rocky mountains in Tennessee).

There was lots of suspense and built up tension, good dialogue and bits of humor to break the tension. This could have been so much more. It's not a 10, but better than I expected. I was actually going to see Lincoln and it was sold out. I kinda wrote Tarrantino off after Kill Bill, though Basterds was ok, but nothing has been close to Dogs or Pulp.

Despite the complaints, this film stuck with me for days and kept me wanting to talk about it. I expected it to be so so.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
luke_richardsonJan 17, 2013
Although he
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NavQJan 24, 2013
Storyline: Django is a slave with a serious score to settle and is taught to kill and hunt bounty by Dr Schultz. A very stylish, violent revenge flick by Quentin Tarantino who has chosen to go with his usual quirky retro feel with thisStoryline: Django is a slave with a serious score to settle and is taught to kill and hunt bounty by Dr Schultz. A very stylish, violent revenge flick by Quentin Tarantino who has chosen to go with his usual quirky retro feel with this spaghetti western. It works well.

Acting: Jamie Fox was brilliant as Django (The D is silent!) Freeman and hits us with some classic one liners. I have to say Leonardo DiCaprio was on form as the slimy slave fighter Calvin Candie. This performance should get some award recognition. The tension is between Django and Candie is palpable and to me, when they are on screen together make for gripping viewing.

Direction: Quentin Tarantino is in a class of his own when it comes to this type of film even when he puts himself in his own movies. WTF Quentin? Australian? Please stop the acting.

Production: $100 Million to look as if it's a golden oldie? I have mixed feeling about this but it did the job I suppose. He did succeed in getting the look of old classics like "The Good, The Bad and The Ugly". The killings are in a class of there own, realistic and very, very messy.

Conclusion: Tarantino has given us a hyper violent, very funny at times western. Highly Recommended.

Score: 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
holooJan 22, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quentin Tarantino once more provokes discussions and sensation with his pretentious, violence-glorifying work. Besides the usual intensity of brutality visualized in Tarantino's movies, slavery is almost ludicrously staged in Django Unchained. As overambitious slave owner, Leonardo DiCaprio shows how acting may outwit our perception by presenting himself as Francophile plantation owner who does not even have command of the French language. Christoph Waltz is not only inconsistent concerning his profession, but also his role. Formerly a dentist, now a bounty hunter, the German Dr. King Schultz roams the Wild West and seems to transcend from the role of the leading lecturer to the sidekick. By introducing Djamie Foxx ("The D is silent") as Django, Tarantino caps it all off. This is only overtrumped by the bizarre coming together with the original Django protagonist Franco Nero. Nevertheless, with a vast amount of action, surprising twists and a sensational cast, Tarantino's homage of 165 minutes does not seem one minute to long and can easily compensate for the exuberantly visualized violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adamSv94Feb 25, 2013
A great movie that explores one of the most horrible times in our history. "Django Unchained" has Quentin Tarantino's mark all over it no one but him is able to mix humour, action and tragedy in a way like it's done in this movie. MyA great movie that explores one of the most horrible times in our history. "Django Unchained" has Quentin Tarantino's mark all over it no one but him is able to mix humour, action and tragedy in a way like it's done in this movie. My favourite Tarantino-film will always be "Pulp Fiction" but this is his most entertaining movie to date. The only thing that pulls down the overall score of the movie is its lenght it could have been 20-30 minutes shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
thairocks88Feb 27, 2013
Django Unchained's greatest strength has always been Tarantino's greatest strength: An original story! In a time of the prequels, sequels, and adaptions of virtually every single novel that appeared in the last decade, Tarantino is a rarityDjango Unchained's greatest strength has always been Tarantino's greatest strength: An original story! In a time of the prequels, sequels, and adaptions of virtually every single novel that appeared in the last decade, Tarantino is a rarity in film making. The ability to create new characters and settings is a huge undertaking in itself, but to make them work is a whole new ballgame. In every Tarantino film, the audience sees the guilty pleasures of a man that just LOVES making good movies. While the film is adequate in the technical areas such as cinematography and editing, the direction and writing of the film is superb! Django is irreverent, hilarious, violent,and frightening that brings back the audience to a place of pure escapism that movies were attended to do. Each scene and shot is unpredictable and made the audience guess in anticipation of what is going to happen next. Tarantino makes no apologies for what he creates and proves that one does need to sell out to the CGI infested billion dollar movie factory to create an original and entertaining film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJAug 26, 2013
Django Unchained is an example for awesome western movie! I think it's near perfect, but the only thing i hated was that the real action started at the end and the first gangs died too easy! Everything else was great! 7.5 out of 10 is myDjango Unchained is an example for awesome western movie! I think it's near perfect, but the only thing i hated was that the real action started at the end and the first gangs died too easy! Everything else was great! 7.5 out of 10 is my score HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammieteeApr 22, 2013
Django was awesome! Everybody played their parts extremely well and the acting was fantastic. I enjoyed the story and it was very entertaining. Quentin wasn't afraid to do or say anything in this movie and which made it more genuine to theDjango was awesome! Everybody played their parts extremely well and the acting was fantastic. I enjoyed the story and it was very entertaining. Quentin wasn't afraid to do or say anything in this movie and which made it more genuine to the time frame. The final gun fight is definitely memorable. 2 thumbs up for Django, this is definitely a movie I will add to my collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GeologistMay 4, 2013
Tarantino's return is another bold, extremely well acted splatter-fest that intrigues the audience as well as keeping them on the edge of their seats. While it's not his best film since Pulp Fiction, as some others say, Django UnchainedTarantino's return is another bold, extremely well acted splatter-fest that intrigues the audience as well as keeping them on the edge of their seats. While it's not his best film since Pulp Fiction, as some others say, Django Unchained delivered a realistic atmosphere and crowd pleasing shoot-offs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PStakhivMay 21, 2013
Another great work of Quentin Tarantino, great cast, absolutely outstanding acting from Christoph Walts (as a result Emmy and Leo Di Caprio. Interesting plot, but with some flaws in it. Good time overall
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
Stylistically original and delightfully controversial, Tarantino brings us a "Southern" picture, with great characters and dialogue throughout the movie. Part western, part epic, and part revenge flick, Django Unchained does not fit into aStylistically original and delightfully controversial, Tarantino brings us a "Southern" picture, with great characters and dialogue throughout the movie. Part western, part epic, and part revenge flick, Django Unchained does not fit into a niche, and that's what I love about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThefilmnerdJul 2, 2013
Tarantino finally made a western and oh boy it was worth waiting for! It is great, funny and very entertaining all the way through. Christoph Waltz performance is just so amazing, and the movie is almost 3 hours long and i wanted more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeJun 5, 2015
To keep it short; Django Unchained is everything Twelve Years a Slave isn't.
It's much better than what I thought. It goes from hilariousness to deep bloody **** that no one wants to see.
The actors and everything is awesome, especially
To keep it short; Django Unchained is everything Twelve Years a Slave isn't.
It's much better than what I thought. It goes from hilariousness to deep bloody **** that no one wants to see.
The actors and everything is awesome, especially Leonardo DiCaprio and the theme.
But Jamie Foxx is such a boring actor, like 1/10, meanwhile Samuel L Jackson is 11/10, just freaking hilarious!

Overall is Django Unchain surprisingly better than my expectations!
8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mr_NoFaceSep 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Django Unchained was an interesting film i didn't expect it to be as good as it was, its set in Texas in the year 1858 in this time period black people was considerd slaves and they was nothing more at the start of the film when Django gets saved by the Bounty Hunter Dr. King Schultz he buys Django knows what Schultz targets look like, Django offers to help if Schultz repays the favor by helping him find his wife, after they move on and take down these people and get the Bounty Schultz teaches Django how to kill and become a bountry hunter, They get hunted down by a racist group but Django and Schultz set off a trap and ambush them, lets not give anymore spoilers away, this film is so well writen but its not getting a full 10 from me because i just feel its not perfect, but nothing is OH one more thing the D might be Silent but the N shore isn't Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoDec 30, 2015
I am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Django Unchained has to brilliant sections with some of Tarantino's most cinematic direction and cinematography, and even blends some evenI am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjunction with Hateful 8 release. Django Unchained has to brilliant sections with some of Tarantino's most cinematic direction and cinematography, and even blends some even more obvious comedic moments into the mix. The film also provides Foxx and Waltz in two great roles and despite Waltz being the good guy this time you can't help but feel you've visited his character before, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The first act of the film is in some ways kind of like a buddy cop film, with Foxx and Waltz bouncing off each other well and going round together making things right, and then the second act is more focused on the mission of DiCaprio who brings one of his best yet most sinister performances to the screen. The films writing ends it in a blood bath which seems ridiculous but is still enjoyable to watch as an over the top Tarantino film.
8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
flame6000Feb 22, 2014
Django unchained is a violent brutal tale of revenge. Thought this production the acting is consistently engaging and all performers display their characters personalities and the actual raw film making on show here is quite impressive. theDjango unchained is a violent brutal tale of revenge. Thought this production the acting is consistently engaging and all performers display their characters personalities and the actual raw film making on show here is quite impressive. the story is exiting and entertaining at the same time as exploring deeper themes such as slavery. This film is worth a watch . as long as you don't mind excessive violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KayakMar 4, 2014
Tarantino hits home again. I've never really been a fan of Westerns but this is a definite exception. It's definitely too long and I can think of several ways of shortening it, but that gripe is overshadowed by the brutal, dark yet charmingTarantino hits home again. I've never really been a fan of Westerns but this is a definite exception. It's definitely too long and I can think of several ways of shortening it, but that gripe is overshadowed by the brutal, dark yet charming storyline. Waltz is also superb as are all of the main characters and overall, definitely a film well deserving of its praise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJun 27, 2016
The acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour andThe acting was excellent, the action sequences were really well made, the cinematography is amazing and there is plenty of blood. The movie is entertaining and interesting. Once again, Tarantino doesn't disappoint with it's dark humour and bloody violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
awansApr 14, 2014
Django Unchained serves as legendary director-writer Quentin Tarantino’s latest installment of cinematic gold. Chalk-full of the witty dialogue and gruesome violence that Tarantino fans have come to love and embrace, This film stacks the deckDjango Unchained serves as legendary director-writer Quentin Tarantino’s latest installment of cinematic gold. Chalk-full of the witty dialogue and gruesome violence that Tarantino fans have come to love and embrace, This film stacks the deck with notable actors and actresses that are strewn throughout, which only strengthens this movie’s potential and amusement. This film is shot in sort of a sloppy way, with no sense of direction or focus. I can only assume this was done intentionally to increase the sense of overall griminess of the story. While it’s not flawlessly executed (most likely due to Tarantino knack of do things on his own terms) this movie is both thoroughly enjoyable and definitely worth 3 hours of your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BetterOffDead_May 15, 2014
Brilliant movie, when I first heard about this movie I had my doubts about it but when I heard that Tarantino was directing it I knew it would work out... And it did this movie was great, There's some great actors in this and they all deliverBrilliant movie, when I first heard about this movie I had my doubts about it but when I heard that Tarantino was directing it I knew it would work out... And it did this movie was great, There's some great actors in this and they all deliver great performances. The plot is good, even the jokes that they put on thought out this thing fit in well WORTH WATCHING. 8.5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BurnsWEMNov 21, 2014
Definitely a great film. In the middle it got kind of boring but it was so well acted and written that it wasn't bad. Not a big fan of Jamie Foxx but I really enjoyed his performance in this movie. Highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Despite its excessiveness of everything, Django Unchained ulleashes a bold, brutal and important movie for the general public to be aware of and does so under the consise direction of Quentin Tarantino.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SanastusaOct 12, 2015
Quentin Tarantino at his best with impressive dialogue and direct story writing. Enough blood to impress me and hold my attention. Each actor played their parts with such passion its inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoSep 2, 2017
"Django Unchained" was a amazing movie, and this is the first movie of Quentin Tarantino that i have seen,very much action, incredible photography, and marvelous performances, makes this movie, an incredible classic, and I loved a Quentin"Django Unchained" was a amazing movie, and this is the first movie of Quentin Tarantino that i have seen,very much action, incredible photography, and marvelous performances, makes this movie, an incredible classic, and I loved a Quentin Tarantino´s cameo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EduBJul 6, 2017
A very good movie; As always the soundtrack is overwhelmingly sensational; Very good script; Although Django is the protagonist who steals the scene is Christoph Waltz; With a perfect and sensational update; Speechless; Photography does notA very good movie; As always the soundtrack is overwhelmingly sensational; Very good script; Although Django is the protagonist who steals the scene is Christoph Waltz; With a perfect and sensational update; Speechless; Photography does not rescue the western times but it is good; Direction is also good; As I said the soundtrack and really very good; Very good movie .... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BKMJan 1, 2013
Quentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it'sQuentin Tarantino has served up another politically incorrect, self indulgent, overlong and graphically violent joy ride of a film as only he can do it. Django Unchained will likely elicit a myriad of responses from viewers but it's certainly not boring. It's also relentlessly tense and manages to maintain that suspense for its entire running time making it an exhausting endeavor. Now if Tarantino would just take all of his considerable talents and make a film that adds up to more than a mere mash up of his numerous geek inspirations. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
dougreesDec 27, 2012
So. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres poppingSo. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres popping up in cameos throughout . And it continues being a blast for about... 2 hrs. Don't want to give anything away, but it all falls apart, and didn't need to be anywhere NEAR as long as it is. I mean, I'm willing to forego plot holes if I'm enjoying the ride (TAKEN, as well as any number of other movies, but that's the first that comes to mind), but the latter 1/3 of this thing just feels like Tarantino lost interest. It's sloppy. No where near what, in my humble estimation is still his masterpiece, the great KILL BILL, Vol. 1. Oh, and as an actor, Tarantino continues to have a bright future as a director. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
7
skim123Jan 1, 2013
Good movie. Not amazing, but good. A little too much slow motion that didn't really add anything to the movie. Jamie Foxx was good, but I was hoping for a more charismatic performance from him.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
KarthXLRDec 28, 2012
Pulpy, funny, extremely violent and well-written. Unfortunately Django fails to deliver the tension obtained in older westerns or even his previous efforts. Still a great watch with some utterly fantastic performances.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrMar 9, 2013
Tarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film alsoTarantino is no ordinary director: he has a good ear for music and a vivid imagination for making interesting stories with dazzling dialogues and creating iconic characters that you wont easily forget. And to this extend, this film also adheres to these values and even though it is by no means a bad film, it just isn`t of the same high standard that he has set himself so far. I will definitely see his next film again for the music, the inventive parley and the dialogue and the eccentricity of his leading role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Brian_McInnisMay 29, 2013
Comedy writer Julius Sharpe said on Twitter the other day that he just wanted to 'thank all the people who reviewed "Star Wars" on Netflix. You guys swayed me, I'll check it out.' His point could save us all a whole lot of time. 'DjangoComedy writer Julius Sharpe said on Twitter the other day that he just wanted to 'thank all the people who reviewed "Star Wars" on Netflix. You guys swayed me, I'll check it out.' His point could save us all a whole lot of time. 'Django Unchained' is already a hugely popular movie, and so many, even among those who haven't seen it, are familiar by now with its fairly simple plot. So this time around, I'm only going to point out a few marked ways in which Quentin's seventh film struck me as rather unTarantinian.

'Django', of course, is still very obviously a Tarantino film. But look, for instance, at how the flash-backs are done with quick fades rather than simple cuts, and how they're shot with different filters 'flash-back' filters. This drains them of most of the immediacy of the flash-backs of his other movies. Or, more accurately, they make them actually feel like flash-backs; the equivalents in his other films were effectively just scene transitions. He also uses music rather flamboyantly this time, often using only small parts of songs, and he uses more of it than usual.

The camera is also much more active than in previous films. Look at the often flashy way he films the lengthy scene at Candie's dinner table and compare it to the tavern scene in chapter four of 'Inglourious Basterds'. In that scene, the camera is resolutely static throughout, using simple two-shots, three-shots and close-ups. For my money, this helped to make the scene considerably more immersive and suspenseful than the one at Candie's dinner table.

Compare also the unwavering realism of the nazis and peripheral characters in 'Basterds' with the slave-owners and townsfolk in 'Django', who are frequently exaggerated and played for laughs. For myself, I was a bit disappointed by this decline in realism. I know Tarantino did this to retain the feel of the Spaghetti Westerns he's always loved so much. But one of his greatest strengths has always been his talent for taking lesser genres and accentuating their best elements, while omitting their weaker ones. For most of his movies, this has included maintaining strict realism in the story's environments and supporting characters, but not so much in 'Django"s case.

Because of its content, the story it tells and its central characters and performances, 'Django' is an excellent, classical tale of a film. It has a couple of plot twists that are stunning. I am told that the Samurai sword-fight sequence in 'Kill Bill Vol. 1' is probably the best ever filmed, and I have no doubt that 'Django"s revolver melee is as good a one as we're ever likely to see. But to an extent that surprised me, the movie lacks the definition of the rest of Quentin's films. I think there are three main reasons for this.

First, the story is that of a journey, an adventure, and has a fairly set path its makers must follow. Tarantino's stories usually move wherever and whenever they want to, but in each place they visit, they tend strongly to sit firmly down and stay there a good while. 'Django' is more fluid and, except for Candyland, moves through its locales rather speedily.

The second reason is that after 'Inglourious Basterds', his most restrained and static film yet, I believe Tarantino felt a need to have more fun making his next film, use more music, more comedy (I don't know how long it's been since I've laughed in a theatre as hard as I did when Quentin gets himself blown to smithereens), be more dynamic with his camera, and to finally fully indulge his love of Spaghetti Westerns, a desire which until now he's had to satisfy only in bits and pieces. This is all fine. But I think he set to work with less restraint than was strictly wise this time.

The third reason is that his editor Sally Menke died a year or so before production began on the film. Sally had edited all of Quentin's films and had long been known as his greatest collaborator. I realize now that such a loss does have its effect on a film. And her replacement, though he was an assistant in the editing of the Kill Bill movies, may not have been an ideal choice.

I point these things out because so few critics seem to have talked about them, and because together they work to produce a film with fewer marks of its director's craft and brilliance. Obviously 'Django Unchained' is a very strong and enjoyable film with numerous virtues, which delves fearlessly into a subject that's been so widely and wrongly ignored for so long that it now seems in real danger of being largely unknown to many of us. Consider the nauseating case of Arkansas Representative Jon Hubbard who, in a book published last year, wrote that slavery 'may actually have been a blessing in disguise'.

Quentin spoke with bafflement about the unyielding reluctance of the film industry, and of society at large, to discuss or confront the terrors of thralldom. He said of his movie, 'Let this be the first stone through the window.'
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
gromitJan 26, 2013
I enjoyed the movie, but the convoluted scheme and plot really didn't make a lot of sense. It was also horribly predictable but a fun action flick none the less with good acting and cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RickFlairbombedDec 31, 2012
As someone who appreciates Quentin Tarantino's films, I had high hopes for this film, despite its running time (2:45). There were many great things about this film, Christopher Waltz's performance as a fearless bounty hunter, Samuel L.As someone who appreciates Quentin Tarantino's films, I had high hopes for this film, despite its running time (2:45). There were many great things about this film, Christopher Waltz's performance as a fearless bounty hunter, Samuel L. Jackson and Leo Dicaprio both were very strong, but the film just felt overlong. Not to mention excessively gratuitous. Slavery is not a topic to be handled lightly, but there are many scenes in this film that are excessive in their brutality, and in hindsight, simply add to the film's run time without contributing too much in terms of plot development. Enjoyable, while being on Tarantino's lower totem pole of films. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
Ok, so, I liked it. It ran a little too long for my tastes, but it didn't sour the experience overall. What darkened my score was that the film didn't really "unchain" until near the end of it. Now, when it happens, it's beautiful andOk, so, I liked it. It ran a little too long for my tastes, but it didn't sour the experience overall. What darkened my score was that the film didn't really "unchain" until near the end of it. Now, when it happens, it's beautiful and awesome, and you look back on the scene with fondness, but it just takes too long to get to that point in an already lengthy picture. I feel that Django himself was an honest character, and your really rooting for him by the end. All of the actors are great. A lot of the violence will have you going "Ohhh, THAT HURT!" but it's not the most inspired part of the film. Overall, it's a good movie. Is it on the level of Pulp Fiction? No. Not really. It's Tarantino trying to drive home a message, and while he succeeds at it, I feel that his best work is elsewhere. It's another Tarantino revenge story with a strong narrative, but I think his source material was a little TOO massive for him this time. It's a very strong 7 still though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kirkkhJan 5, 2013
Drags on. The plot comes to a clear finish, then drags on for another half an hour. Other than that fine. Not wonderful. Tarantino movies are starting to show their age. What would be "edgy-silly" --is more just silly. Django sorta teeters onDrags on. The plot comes to a clear finish, then drags on for another half an hour. Other than that fine. Not wonderful. Tarantino movies are starting to show their age. What would be "edgy-silly" --is more just silly. Django sorta teeters on being a kids movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
houyarmFeb 20, 2013
It appears to be very appealing and attractive from the far but it is actually very meaningless when I look at it from the inside, like a king without cloth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jan 10, 2013
The movie started out strong on all fronts, but begins to descend into a long-winded story that never really grasped my attention. Still, the movie manages to bring plenty of comedic gore and drama which is unique.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Tara61Jan 16, 2013
Tarantino is getting better with age, that is certain. Django has what Inglorious bastards were missing and that's more developed characters and to be quite honest more likable characters.
I have to admit that only in this movie I realized
Tarantino is getting better with age, that is certain. Django has what Inglorious bastards were missing and that's more developed characters and to be quite honest more likable characters.
I have to admit that only in this movie I realized what talent is Christoph Waltz. The man is a scene thief. He expresses so many emotions with so little and every line is perfectly timed and executed. My greatest concern was the length of the movie, however every one of 165 minutes was entertaining.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 24, 2013
The movie was pretty good. Nothing amazing, but still pretty good. Jamie Foxx and Leonardo DiCaprio truly stole the show, though the faults in the film largely lie in the fact many of the scenes seemed to be random and just thrown together.The movie was pretty good. Nothing amazing, but still pretty good. Jamie Foxx and Leonardo DiCaprio truly stole the show, though the faults in the film largely lie in the fact many of the scenes seemed to be random and just thrown together. In addition (this won't ruin the film), when somebody gets shot, it seems to painfully unrealistic. Not only was the blood coming out in unnatural waves, but it was almost action film esque, which was a turn off for me. However, I'm nitpicking. It was still entertaining and well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CriticViewpointJan 7, 2013
Tarantino could really have made "Django" something rare in which stylish performances could meet an alluring script in the middle of the hard-core Western environments that stay true to its time. Unfortunately, for as much as it pulls you inTarantino could really have made "Django" something rare in which stylish performances could meet an alluring script in the middle of the hard-core Western environments that stay true to its time. Unfortunately, for as much as it pulls you in during its impeccable first half, it takes away in the next with its glacial pacing and its overly-brutal actions sequences. While the performances remain strong throughout, Tarantino's direction does nothing to hold on to what kept my interest in the first place, which was Foxx's transformation from a born slave into a natural bounty hunter. Watching Foxx share the screen with Waltz as they outsmart, outmaneuver and obliterate their targets in the most entertaining way they know how is stunning in its amusement. This is perhaps why I am so disappointed with Tarantino's change of heart somewhere half way through the movie. The lighthearted tone assigned to the characters takes an ultimately darker turn which takes away what made "Django" tremendously fun in the first place. The fight scenes also become downright disturbing half way in as Tarantino strains up the gore to such an extent that the scenes themselves no long seem to be enjoyable. I realize that hardcore Tarantino fans would prefer nothing else, but I am just saying make sure you have a decent stomach. Despite the fact that "Django Unchained" loses a lot of its steam early on, I simply refuse to dislike it because of its robust insight towards the time period, DiCaprio and Waltz's powerful performances and for Tarantino's ability to write an energetic script even if his direction doesn't suit it perfectly. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
vdiaz9Dec 26, 2012
Pros of the film: performances by Waltz and DiCaprio, dialogue, and certain action sequences. Cons: length, overzealous use of gore and dramatic spectacle. "Django Unchained" seems catered to Tarantino's "Kill Bill" fans, which is unfortunatePros of the film: performances by Waltz and DiCaprio, dialogue, and certain action sequences. Cons: length, overzealous use of gore and dramatic spectacle. "Django Unchained" seems catered to Tarantino's "Kill Bill" fans, which is unfortunate if you thought "Inglorious Basterds" displayed the director heading in a better direction. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleMethodJan 1, 2013
While undoubtedly a good film, and not at all crappy holiday filler, I can't hope on the "this is an incredible film" train. I liked it, but found it to be not much more than a good way to spend a friday evening. Not bad at all, but notWhile undoubtedly a good film, and not at all crappy holiday filler, I can't hope on the "this is an incredible film" train. I liked it, but found it to be not much more than a good way to spend a friday evening. Not bad at all, but not great. Christoph Waltz and Leonardo Dicaprio really shine, but that's really the only stand out incredible part of the film. Overall, just good, not great. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
jessjacks1031Jan 28, 2013
You have to be able to watch the whole movie in order to really understand what is going on. I missed the first ten minutes and was confused and had to be caught up. It may be offensive to some who especially don't like profanity. It is alsoYou have to be able to watch the whole movie in order to really understand what is going on. I missed the first ten minutes and was confused and had to be caught up. It may be offensive to some who especially don't like profanity. It is also extremely long and I only recommend if you have the time to take to really put together the characters and plots. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bitterblueMar 11, 2013
An incredibly entertaining film, nothing you wouldn't expect from Tarantino. Great acting by all. The violence is over the top, but that's what you get from Tarantino. Another great soundtrack as well, mixing Western and Hip Hop, my favoriteAn incredibly entertaining film, nothing you wouldn't expect from Tarantino. Great acting by all. The violence is over the top, but that's what you get from Tarantino. Another great soundtrack as well, mixing Western and Hip Hop, my favorite track/scene is with Anthony Hamilton Elayna Boynton's "Freedom." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
R4z3rSep 18, 2013
Django Unchained (the 'D' is silent), is a fun action film. THe film is a bit slowly paced, yet made sure to ensure that the film was still engaging and kept the action moving. I felt it was a bit long winded (2 hours 45 minutes) for myDjango Unchained (the 'D' is silent), is a fun action film. THe film is a bit slowly paced, yet made sure to ensure that the film was still engaging and kept the action moving. I felt it was a bit long winded (2 hours 45 minutes) for my taste, and I felt it could have been sped up a bit without losing anything. The overall plot is simple, Django get's separated from his wife, and this is the story of him trying to rescue her (that's all I can say without ruining anything). While the film focuses heavily on the main characters, Tarentino does a fantastic job of making the story interesting by using secondary characters to his advantage. This adds a lot to the film and makes the film come to life. The movie though isn't as violence focused as some others by him such as Kill Bill (don't worry, there is still plenty of violence), but really takes advantage of humor to make this a bit more light hearted at times. It's important to remember though that this is a fictional movie. There are historical inaccuracies, etc. and this is fine as long as you can look past that.

Parents, this is not for kids. There is a little nudity, some innuendos, lots of violence, blood, and gore, use of the "N" word, concepts such as slavery, alcohol consumption etc. For this reason I'd peg it at 15-18 years old. This obviously will vary depending on the family.

Overall, the audio itself is not the best I've heard with it's DTS HD-MA 5.1 soundtrack. The film's vocals are slightly low on the volume end. The dynamics aren't there and it's a bit of a flat soundtrack. The highs and lows don't occur often. It does have a few dynamic peaks, the surrounds are used pretty well to create a nice, encompassing environment.

The video was good, a bit cold considering the desert and warm environments the characters were in. The blood and shadows were detailed and the shadows had a fantastic detail level with the grime and textures. The film is a bit soft, not as sharp as I would have liked at times but still well detailed. I believe this is an artistic choice, but one that bothered me at times.

Overall I'd recommend it, but it was a bit longer than I would have liked. The characters were well developed and had some good humor at times. If you have the time, go for it, but if you can't stand a long and often violent movie, I would recommend passing on this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews