Django Unchained

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1709 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Django is a slave whose brutal history with his former owners lands him face-to-face with German-born bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz. Schultz is on the trail of the murderous Brittle brothers, and only Django can lead him to his bounty. The unorthodox Schultz acquires Django with a promiseDjango is a slave whose brutal history with his former owners lands him face-to-face with German-born bounty hunter Dr. King Schultz. Schultz is on the trail of the murderous Brittle brothers, and only Django can lead him to his bounty. The unorthodox Schultz acquires Django with a promise to free him upon the capture of the Brittles – dead or alive. (The Weinstein Company) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jan 8, 2013
    100
    What Tarantino has is an appreciation for gut-level exploitation film appeal, combined with an artist's desire to transform that gut element with something higher, better, more daring. His films challenge taboos in our society in the most direct possible way, and at the same time add an element of parody or satire.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 26, 2012
    100
    Like "Inglourious Basterds," Django Unchained is crazily entertaining, brazenly irresponsible and also ethically serious in a way that is entirely consistent with its playfulness.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Dec 26, 2012
    91
    Django doesn't have the razor-sharp chronological complexity of "Pulp Fiction," but it's ably paced. A very funny scene involving a proto-Ku Klux Klan lynch mob and their poorly made hoods nevertheless seems a bit out of place, but there's plenty of well-timed suspense.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Only Tarantino could come up with such a wild cross-cultural mash, a smorgasbord of ingredients stemming from spaghetti Westerns, German legend, historical slavery, modern rap music, proto-Ku Klux Klan fashion, an assembly of '60s and '70s character actors and a leading couple meant to be the distant forebears of blaxploitation hero John Shaft and make it not only digestible but actually pretty delicious.
  5. 80
    Django Unchained doesn't merely hit its marks; it blows them to bloody chunks. It's manna for mayhem mavens.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Dec 12, 2012
    75
    At times more in line with "Blazing Saddles" than the grimly bawdy qualities that define many bonafide oaters, Django Unchained erupts with a conceptual brilliance from the outset that never fully meshes with its clumsy storyline. Nevertheless, it's a giddy ride.
  7. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Dec 12, 2012
    42
    It's not particularly funny or moving and it's terribly self-indulgent. Flamboyance and cartoonishness rule, there's hardly a moment of genuine emotion, and most overtures in that direction are superficial. As a picture ostensibly about love, revenge and the ugliness of slavery, Django Unchained has almost zero subtext and is a largely soulless bloodbath, in which the history of pain and retribution is coupled carelessly with a cool soundtrack and some verbose dialogue. Though it might just entertain the sh.t out of the less discerning.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 346
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    I went to go see this on Christmas Day and since then it has been lodged into my brain and I can't get it out of my head. Very good dialogue,I went to go see this on Christmas Day and since then it has been lodged into my brain and I can't get it out of my head. Very good dialogue, adrenaline pumping action, what's not to like. If you are a Tarantino fan you'll love this movie with every bit of your heart. This is in my opinion the best movie of 2012 and if my opinion does mean anything my favorite movie of all time. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Honestly, by far one of the best films by Tarantino. The story is great, the acting is superb... Basically everything is great! One thing thatHonestly, by far one of the best films by Tarantino. The story is great, the acting is superb... Basically everything is great! One thing that I like about Quentin's movies is the violence, and this film has tons of it! The film completely changed me and I will never forget it! Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Excellent film. I love all of Quentin's movies but they keep getting smarter and more entertaining. While I'm scared to use the wordExcellent film. I love all of Quentin's movies but they keep getting smarter and more entertaining. While I'm scared to use the word "realistic" when talking about this movie, it definitely feels more real than some of his past titles (Kill Bill, Inglourious Basterds). The characters are, as always, extremely entertaining. Quentin always brings the best out of his actors, and maybe that's because he just writes such great characters for them. The theme for the film is vengeance, which is the usual for Tarantino. He follows the Tarantino style as you can expect, but he doesn't fail to throw in a few surprises. He also isn't afraid to stay true to the times with the word **** being thrown into every other line of dialogue. I'm glad he didn't shy away from this because, as someone familiar with history, it wouldn't have felt right. The dialogue is fantastic, the pacing is terrific, the action is spectacular, and overall it's a very entertaining movie. I can tell already that a few racist or ignorant people are leaving bad reviews because the film pokes fun at them, so be weary about bringing anyone like that to see the movie with you. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    great personal story of the main character django. the character felt overpowered and locked on easy mode, when did he become such a hardcoregreat personal story of the main character django. the character felt overpowered and locked on easy mode, when did he become such a hardcore bounty hunter in his short time with dr king. it would have been nice to see him go through some trials. there are a few snooze part like with the bag masks, which had nothing to do with anything and was a waste of time. so the hunter becomes the hunted? would have been nice to see some people coming to collect on django's head. it just had too much of a good guy always wins attitude with cheery music and not enough 'GRIT'. some more variety in action scenes would have been great instead of a dual wielding gun slinger and thats it. more characters to help django in his quest would have been great too. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2015
    8
    To keep it short; Django Unchained is everything Twelve Years a Slave isn't.
    It's much better than what I thought. It goes from hilariousness
    To keep it short; Django Unchained is everything Twelve Years a Slave isn't.
    It's much better than what I thought. It goes from hilariousness to deep bloody **** that no one wants to see.
    The actors and everything is awesome, especially Leonardo DiCaprio and the theme.
    But Jamie Foxx is such a boring actor, like 1/10, meanwhile Samuel L Jackson is 11/10, just freaking hilarious!

    Overall is Django Unchain surprisingly better than my expectations!
    8/10
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    So. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie FoxxSo. DJANGO UNCHAINED. It was, well, pretty good. Not "Oh my GOD" good. Great fun out of the gate; Christopher Waltz is tremendous, Jamie Foxx too (and as ever, great fun spotting all the terrific actors that Tarantino clearly reveres popping up in cameos throughout . And it continues being a blast for about... 2 hrs. Don't want to give anything away, but it all falls apart, and didn't need to be anywhere NEAR as long as it is. I mean, I'm willing to forego plot holes if I'm enjoying the ride (TAKEN, as well as any number of other movies, but that's the first that comes to mind), but the latter 1/3 of this thing just feels like Tarantino lost interest. It's sloppy. No where near what, in my humble estimation is still his masterpiece, the great KILL BILL, Vol. 1. Oh, and as an actor, Tarantino continues to have a bright future as a director. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    I’m surprised how few people seem to be giving this film a negative review based on racism. The black stereotypes in this film areI’m surprised how few people seem to be giving this film a negative review based on racism. The black stereotypes in this film are nauseating. I haven’t seen the film(s?) this was based on, but it seems to me that the value in remaking a thing would be to translate what was good about it while giving mind to what could change. Well, for example, just imagine if Indiana Jones didn’t say, “Good onya Flash Gordon et al., but really you were too dry, we’re gonna load this film up with humor!” But that’s essentially what you have here. Not a dearth of humor, but of human understanding. All of the black characters seemed to reflect Candie’s disgusting lie that black people exist to be servants, except, of course, for Django. He seems to be so contrasted by the idiocy of the rest of the African American characters as to be, in the logic of the movie, infused with the “White Man’s” spirit. Consider the people freed at the beginning and end of the film, they have to be told, “Go now, you are free.” In fact, the men in the wagon continue to sit there through the credits and finally say: “Who was that n-gr?” Thank God that being black and a slave didn’t mean being utterly stupid as this film seems to be saying or we would all be in serious trouble indeed as all the superlative black people gifted to us by history would be erased. I think what is worst for me is that Candie’s bigotry, justified as science in the form of Phrenology, goes completely unchallenged--except in the “Me angry man, you die now” sense. The blame for this falls entirely on Tarantino who should never have created such a racist film. At that scene at the dinner table, I would have relished a pause from the dialogue to bring Sam Jackson on screen to cut into Candie’s skull and show the audience the fallacy of Phrenology. As it is, I think racist people will walk away from this movie feeling empowered with knowledge and reason. Expand

See all 346 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  3. 2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 11, 2012
    Throughout December and January, we'll be aggregating dozens of year-end top ten lists from a variety of movie critics and publications. Find all of their lists here, as well as our composite standings for best movie of 2012.
  4. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.
  5. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.