DOA: Dead or Alive

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 167

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KelvinT
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Good, clean fun. Why the heck are people so anal about it? Funny har har all the way. But a sequel is unnecessary; lots of other gimmick videogames to rip apart into lols.
  2. Fcuker
    Jun 29, 2007
    7
    This was one cheesy movie but despite the bad acting the action sequences were well choreographed. Having never played the video game I can safely say that this is probably not a movie for the DOA fans/gaming fraternity. Don't get me wrong a movie is supposed to entertain and DOA does just that but at the end it just felt a little hollow. I was expecting a little more from what This was one cheesy movie but despite the bad acting the action sequences were well choreographed. Having never played the video game I can safely say that this is probably not a movie for the DOA fans/gaming fraternity. Don't get me wrong a movie is supposed to entertain and DOA does just that but at the end it just felt a little hollow. I was expecting a little more from what seemed a long 87 minutes. Still highly entertaining and plenty of eye candy. Expand
  3. Brianna
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I think you're missing the point. This is exactly what I'd expect a movie based on DOA to be. Have you ever even played DOA? I thought this was hilarious. I hope they do a Soul Calibur movie next.
  4. DanM.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    This is an atrociously bad movie. The plot makes barely any sense, elements are introduced, then ignored, and it is just on the whole ridiculous. In short, its a great bad fighting video game to movie transition, up there with its cousins, Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat. It does fall a bit short of the pinnacle of comic to movie transition that is Tank Girl though.
  5. RainyD
    Jan 26, 2008
    7
    It's certainly not as bad as many might imagine.A fun little flick with good action and decent enough acting.
  6. StephenC.
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    I don't know what these guys are talking about. Great movie, wicked action, excellent choreography, great acting, hot babes. I love all of this guy's stuff. Can't wait for a sequel!!
  7. PabloR.
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    Woah. Its not just the hot girls. Its the kick ass action. Dont rate this movie if you haven't seen it. I saw it 2 times! Its good. Cheesey at times. But good.
  8. WilliamT
    Apr 25, 2008
    6
    It's so horrendously silly, shallow and riddled with slow-motion effects FOR EVERY SINGLE FIGHT that you can't help but enjoy it somehow.
  9. AnonymousMoss
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    i haven't played the game so i guess i can't really compare, but i personally loved the movie! the acting was bad yes but i'm a sucker for fighting movies with girls who can actually kick ass as the main character, and i think this movie did an amazing job with that despite the not so great acting.
  10. CalH.
    Jun 13, 2007
    0
    How could you guys not have got this yet. Australia and the UK got it last year and its the worst movie ever. I really mean this, never see this movie. consider yourselves lucky that it took the USA so long to get this film. Avoid at all costs. [Ed: Thanks, Cal]
  11. SanP.
    Jun 15, 2007
    3
    For some reason the trailer looked cool, and since there were hot babes in bikinis fighting each other...I had to see it. But, I was wrong, the story was incredibly flawed, the fight scenes were horrible and the acting by most of the cast was pretty bad. You
  12. JohnB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    1
    I cant even really call this a movie; I'm just surprised some semi-well known people agreed to be in this experiment . If you would consider the first Kill Bill having a 9 or a 10, then this deserves nothing more than a 1, if u want to see the hot girls in the film, just check out some pics of them it will take way less time, I want that portion of my life back!!
  13. Hannah
    Jul 13, 2007
    0
    The worst movie I have ever seen and that was ever made. What a waste of money for that producer. It sucked!
  14. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    Quite possibly the most shallow movie I have ever seen.
  15. Chinz
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    You have GOT to be kidding me. worst movie ever. saw it at a friend's house for her party and holy crap. Just don't. its not hot women and fighting. It is suck(movie) and sucker(whoever is foolish enough to buy this). don't watch it. There is no visible plot or acting either, not even good music. I haven't been this bored since I saw Alone in the Dark.
  16. Feb 2, 2016
    4
    DOA: Dead or Alive pelicua the term was divided as to critical and audience but was aburridisima on the straight, but the rest without comment , besides the good thing was pretty women.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. 80
    Praise be to director Corey Yuen (The Transporter) for delivering one of the year's purest entertainments -- the best butt-kicking PG-13 bikini jiggle fest since the first Charlie's Angels flick.
  2. Free of blood, bruises and visible trauma, DOA revels in its fakery. And though the film presents more exuberant female flesh than hiring day at Hooters, it's strictly for titillation.
  3. 38
    The action has more to do with digital effects than true martial artistry, and is targeted squarely at adolescent boys too young to rent porn and gamers too lazy to yank their own joysticks.