Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 4, 2016
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1583 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,369
Mixed:
163
Negative:
51
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Justcool777Nov 4, 2016
To some, it is an explosion of impeccable animation, CGI, and special effects. To some a hearty movie enjoyed by the family. But to me, this is all that story-telling should be. Marvel never ceases to elevate their standards even to aTo some, it is an explosion of impeccable animation, CGI, and special effects. To some a hearty movie enjoyed by the family. But to me, this is all that story-telling should be. Marvel never ceases to elevate their standards even to a character that doesn't have much fame and appeal to some folks out there.

Throughout the movie, you'll find yourself engaged with the light humor they've added especially the limitless action and thrill that comprise every scene, not to forget the gigantic smear of imagination on the side of the plate.

Unlike any other movie, this one you would want to watch on the big screen. The motive is yours but I urge you for the experience of it all. You won't ever regret your dollars spent.
Expand
23 of 36 users found this helpful2313
All this user's reviews
7
RathaelNov 5, 2016
DOCTOR STRANGE REVIEW

Doctor Strange is here. This is one of the most unique Marvel properties, and the first MCU Property that Marvel had to go full magic with. Lot of the other characters that should have been using magic in the MCU has
DOCTOR STRANGE REVIEW

Doctor Strange is here. This is one of the most unique Marvel properties, and the first MCU Property that Marvel had to go full magic with. Lot of the other characters that should have been using magic in the MCU has not really done so, and was always able to be explained through science and technology. That buck stops here with Doctor Strange, first magical character to grace the Marvel Cinematic Universe. And it is brought to life by one of the most talented actors in Hollywood right now. And for the most part it works, it is entertaining and fun and that's great but it doesn't really go above that factor.

This is going to be strange sounding but Doctor Strange to me seems almost like a remake of Iron Man, with another skin over it, there are a ton of similarities between the two movies which I am not going to spoil here, but they are not hard to see. Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange is really good and really manages to bring the wonder to the character even though his American accent is a bit hard to stomache at times, it does not detract from his performance as Stephen Strange. And this is not his fault, but with the screenplay he was given, he had to channel another Marvel hero quite a bit, which at least for me was a bit detracting. Without spoiling anything that wasn't already seen in the trailer, Stephen Strange is a doctor that gets thrust into world of magic after an accident, and this is where he meets the Ancient One played by multi talented Tilda Swinton. And she is also more than capable of carrying her part even though the character of Ancient One in the comic books is an elderly Asian guy, that does not detract from the mission she had in the movie.

Other characters in this movie involve Mads Mikkelsen of Hannibal and James Bond fame as the pseudo-villain of the movie which rejected the Ancient One's training and is trying to create a cult of his own, and again with what he was given he was alright but not much was given to him to do. Entire threat that Doctor Strange needs to face throughout the movie are like five or ten magical users, and the movie again does an Avenger trope of hey lets beat up on the minions until we get to the main boss. Problem is there never really seems to be a much of a threat here. Chiwetel Eijofor is also in this movie as Mordo, and well again he was not really given much to do, he is a trainer for Strange, and a guardian for him.

This movie was directed by Scott Derickson of Sinister fame (or infamy) for others, and I was really hoping he would bring that visual flair that he brought to Sinister, not so much make it a horror movie, but for the movie have that feeling of impending darkness and dwelling of doom from time to time. And I don't know if this was intentional or not, but when we were supposed to be coming to those parts movie actually turned to another movie from another franchise back in 1997 which I will not name but it does involve Bats and Birds (*wink wink*). And I found that a bit distracting.

Visually movie looks great with use of magic and some of the fights are spectacular to watch. I have not seen the movie in 3D, and part of me wishes that I did and the other part is very very glad I did not, as a lot of the scenes are very Inception like, but in a sense it is Inception to the nth degree where the confusion can set into place, and lot of it looks like you are watching a movie through a Kaledioscope, which looks beautiful don't get me wrong, but prolonged exposure can give you headaches!

And more thing that is worth mentioning is costume design in this movie is phenomenal and they could not have made Doctor Strange's cloak and full costume any better!

There are 2 post credit scenes that I won't spoil, but one of them I sure you can guess what it is, if you are familiar with the comics at all.

Overall movie is enjoyable watch, its not nearly the best Marvel movie and is far from being the worst one as well, if you can overlook the similarities between this and the other Marvel movie that proceeded it, you might be able to enjoy the story little bit more than me. Just make sure you understand that is in origin story and same with any origin story, there is a ton of exposition where they try to bombard you with information you may or may not need to have. Visuals are fun to watch, even sometimes distracting, and movie is definetely worth watching for Cumberbatch's and Swinton's performances which are alone worth price of admission. Just get past his American accent.

2.75 out of 4
Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Nov 4, 2016
The latest offering from the MCU, Benedict Cumberbatch takes on the titular role quite well I must say. He makes great and humorous use of his character which is always nice to have in a Marvel film. The rest of the talented supporting castThe latest offering from the MCU, Benedict Cumberbatch takes on the titular role quite well I must say. He makes great and humorous use of his character which is always nice to have in a Marvel film. The rest of the talented supporting cast with the likes of Chiwetel Ejiofor, Rachel McAdams, Mads Mikkelson, and Tilda Swinton were all fun to watch as well. In addition, we're presented with what's easily Marvel's trippiest film yet! The effects are dazzling and truly a sight to behold, but admittedly did get a bit too colorful and all over the place at times for my liking. Overall, in terms of the MCU it's certainly no game-changer and while I enjoyed Civil War earlier this year significantly more, this is still what I'd consider to be a fun and entertaining addition that makes me look forward to seeing Cumberbatch return in the next Avengers film. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
familyguyNov 4, 2016
Wonderful movie with all the action and VFX will blow your mind. Benedict 's acting also really good and . One again Marvel recipes for super Heroes movie had success. But sadly weak vigilante seem like still their weakness
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
6
PeterAlexanderDec 11, 2016
This movie is undoubtedly strange, but entertaining in its pure absurdity. The film has issues developing characters, particularly the villains, but Benedict Cumberbatch plays Doctor Strange expertly. The film strives on its mystery, thusThis movie is undoubtedly strange, but entertaining in its pure absurdity. The film has issues developing characters, particularly the villains, but Benedict Cumberbatch plays Doctor Strange expertly. The film strives on its mystery, thus rendering the final act somewhat disengaging in comparison to what it could have been. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
SSH83Nov 10, 2016
Aside from them plot holes and rushed character development for the black guy... this was good entertainment. Great visual effects that definitely trump the Quicksilver sequence and watching Cumberbatch's transformation from doctor toAside from them plot holes and rushed character development for the black guy... this was good entertainment. Great visual effects that definitely trump the Quicksilver sequence and watching Cumberbatch's transformation from doctor to sorcerer was good fun. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
WaelNov 12, 2016
Sitting through Doctor Strange was a fantastic experience. Marvel brings to the screen a new superhero it has never evoked before and it doesn't disappoint at all. The story of the arrogant neurosurgeon turned into a mystical superhero mightSitting through Doctor Strange was a fantastic experience. Marvel brings to the screen a new superhero it has never evoked before and it doesn't disappoint at all. The story of the arrogant neurosurgeon turned into a mystical superhero might sound cliché, but with strong performances from Benedict Cumberbatch (damn, he truly killed it, but then again, he always does, doesn't he?) and Tilda Swinton, and outstanding visual effets and cinematography backing it up, the story really builds and takes twists and turns and comes to a totally rational and applausable conclusion. Though one of the main flaws is that Rachel McAdams should've appeared more throughout the scenes, watching this film was very enjoyable and pleasurable. Waiting for the next Marvel release! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Agent314Nov 5, 2016
There's not much more to add to the superlatives slung at this Marvelicious movie. Fun, engaging, lighthearted in all the right places...but serious and introspective upon reflection. To all this I would add that the violence is restrainedThere's not much more to add to the superlatives slung at this Marvelicious movie. Fun, engaging, lighthearted in all the right places...but serious and introspective upon reflection. To all this I would add that the violence is restrained and appropriate for younger viewers. There's surgical blood and shadowed silhouettes of a grisly end, but on the whole it's just barely in PG-13 territory. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoNov 5, 2016
"Doctor Strange" was an amazing, fantastic, and incredible movie, the embodiment of this mystical character in the comics, was very good and I liked the performances of Cumberbatch, McAdams, Ejiofor, Wong, Mikkelsen and why not ?, the"Doctor Strange" was an amazing, fantastic, and incredible movie, the embodiment of this mystical character in the comics, was very good and I liked the performances of Cumberbatch, McAdams, Ejiofor, Wong, Mikkelsen and why not ?, the Swinton, excelled, the cameos of Thor and teacher Stan Lee, great, the story was entertaining and spectacular, this proves to me, as one of my favorite Marvel and why not the year, BvS, Civil War and Suicide Squad, were in the past, the new trend in the world of comics fandom now, Doctor Strange. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
thoodeeNov 5, 2016
First movie I've seen worth seeing in 3D. And not that the story wasn't good, but the effects alone make the movie worth watching. Overall it was a very fun, unique movie with a very interesting premise and the areas the franchise could takeFirst movie I've seen worth seeing in 3D. And not that the story wasn't good, but the effects alone make the movie worth watching. Overall it was a very fun, unique movie with a very interesting premise and the areas the franchise could take Dr. Strange in the future range from horror to fantasy which get me excited for a sequel. The movie however doesn't come without some faults. I was hoping for just a little more depth to each of the characters and wished Dormammu brought a little more of the horror element out of the movie. Other than that the movie was solid, and I definitely recommend it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyNov 5, 2016
Doctor Strange yet again shows how Marvel Studios has been taking some of their most bizarre comic book characters and turning them into great movies. The movie has good writing with enough serious notes while still full of laughs. The actionDoctor Strange yet again shows how Marvel Studios has been taking some of their most bizarre comic book characters and turning them into great movies. The movie has good writing with enough serious notes while still full of laughs. The action and effects are really great, adding a unique flavour never seen before in a Marvel movie. And the casting choices are solid as well, with all the main characters giving good performances. I wish Mads Mikkelsen's character could have been fleshed out a bit more, but other than that its a well done superhero movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Martial Arts fantasy. Benedict Cumberbatch's days as a surgeon are ruined, leading him to spiritual training in the Far East and a contest between good and evil forces. Starts well. But then becomes bogs down in mumbo jumbo and set pieceMartial Arts fantasy. Benedict Cumberbatch's days as a surgeon are ruined, leading him to spiritual training in the Far East and a contest between good and evil forces. Starts well. But then becomes bogs down in mumbo jumbo and set piece fights. The special effects are impressive and the cast put in good performances. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
JcondicNov 27, 2016
As a Marvel movie it doesn’t stray far from their typical formula. Humour, drama and action all mixed in safely. As usually the villain feels under developed with the exception of Loki and Bucky in previous marvel films. The Sequel shouldAs a Marvel movie it doesn’t stray far from their typical formula. Humour, drama and action all mixed in safely. As usually the villain feels under developed with the exception of Loki and Bucky in previous marvel films. The Sequel should have a better villain with Mordo. The film is entertaining and the visuals are fantastic but everything is safe and you always know it will turn out okay. The fact that Strange can turn back time and reset worries me for future marvel films where if they decided to kill a character, strange will reverse with marvel having a big “Gotcha” moment. In the end Strange is on the upper end of Marvel films with Winter Soldier and Guardians of the Galaxy. But if the marvel films don’t start evolving and taking risks it’ll be safe to say they will become more and more forgettable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
dspratlinNov 19, 2016
What’s it about?

A former surgeon with damaged hands named Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) becomes a powerful sorcerer under the tutelage of a mystic known as the Ancient One (Tilda Swinton). Rachel McAdams, Mads Mikkelsen, and
What’s it about?

A former surgeon with damaged hands named Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) becomes a powerful sorcerer under the tutelage of a mystic known as the Ancient One (Tilda Swinton). Rachel McAdams, Mads Mikkelsen, and Chiwetel Ejiofor co-star in this entry in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

What did I think?

A highly polished affair featuring possibly the most impressive visual effects I've seen in the MCU so far, Doctor Strange checks off most of the boxes. The performances are top notch, the often difficult transition of magic onto the big screen is well-handled and Marvel’s penchant for ever-present humor is, of course, still on show. The storyline is a bit too simplistic for my tastes but that’s the danger of an origin story combined with a need to dumb-down complex concepts. Still, Doctor Strange is a worthy addition to the ever-burgeoning MCU and will entertain for a few hours.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DirigiblePulpDec 14, 2016
Perfectly enjoyable fun. Sound familiar? Doctor Strange being a
different kind of hero doesn't really excuse most of this film's
conventional plotting. There's a much more interesting film in here, one in which Mads Mikkelsen isn't the main
Perfectly enjoyable fun. Sound familiar? Doctor Strange being a
different kind of hero doesn't really excuse most of this film's
conventional plotting.

There's a much more interesting film in here, one in which Mads
Mikkelsen isn't the main villain (yet) and getting in the way of the
hero's journey and in which Tilda Swinton is even more ambiguous. Her obvious parallels to Stephen are perfectly apt and yet not allowed enough time to breathe and spin. It's all a last minute reveal and then a call to arms because plot and all is well because plot.

A lot has been made of the "trippy" special effects, and I guess they
are compared to the traditional visuals employed in these types of
movies. But let's not get carried away. Besides the travels through
space and mind it's mostly buildings moving around like they're in
Inception.

I didn't buy the last end credits scene. Useless and not earned. I'm
sick of hero's with photographic memories. Let the hero be exceptional on their own merits. Action scenes could be less choppily edited. But still, it's fun in ways other recent Marvel movies haven't been.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonNov 24, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The decade old formula of these Marvel movies is starting to wear a little thin these days to be honest but it's hard to deny that Doctor Strange does still makes for an entertaining couple of hours for Super Hero fans. Some of the scenes, such as the one where everything around the protagonists is moving backwards in time, are absolutely spectacular and there is as ever plenty of comical and light hearted moments. Maybe we'll one day see a movie that truly does something different but for now this is what we have and I can't imagine to many people will be disappointed with what they see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DuffladNov 16, 2016
Doctor Strange is a Marvel film that's following their post-Avengers formula. There's a love interest that feels forced, which drains storytelling from the main plot. There's also extremely awkward, cheesy humor that's obviously used toDoctor Strange is a Marvel film that's following their post-Avengers formula. There's a love interest that feels forced, which drains storytelling from the main plot. There's also extremely awkward, cheesy humor that's obviously used to garner reactions from really young and really old people. Though these moments are more frequent than I'd like, it isn't particularly intrusive. The visuals are incredible. If you want to see a prime example of visual effects this year, check out Doctor Strange. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Nov 8, 2016
At this point anything with the name Marvel attached to it, is box office gold, as is evident by their latest film, Doctor Strange. The Doctor is perhaps one of the least known out of all of their characters, yet he is still pulling in hugeAt this point anything with the name Marvel attached to it, is box office gold, as is evident by their latest film, Doctor Strange. The Doctor is perhaps one of the least known out of all of their characters, yet he is still pulling in huge numbers. The big question is whether or not the film lives up to the hype, and I can honestly say, I'm not really sure. Dr. Steven Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) is a world renowned surgeon, who is badly injured in a car accident. When modern medicine fails him, Strange starts looking for alternative treatments and finds a bizarre ancient group, that claims they can teach him how to heal himself, and do a whole lot more. The big appeal of this movie, at least for me was the special effects. I knew the effects would be good, but Marvel really out did themselves this time. I watch close to three hundred films a year, and I'm not often impressed by special effects, but the effects in this movie really blew me away. That being said, this is just one of those film you have to shell out the extra money to see in 3D. It's a completely different experience in 3D and you really will be amazed by some of the things they can do. As for the story, it really is the same thing that Marvel keeps doing over and over again. I've really enjoyed the Marvel films and while they are all unique in their own way, the underlying theme always seems to be the same. Someone gets hurt, they lose the girl they love, they find someone or a group of someones who help make them extraordinary, then they fight the bad guys and in the process get the girl. It's a formula that is in every single one of their films and it's getting a little tiresome. The bottom line, Doctor Strange is pure Marvel. What I mean by that is, it's the expected story, with unique traits specific to this character, a Stan Lee cameo, a cast full of superstars, two scenes after the credits, and perhaps the best special effects you'll ever see. If you're a fan of these films, you won't be disappointed by Doctor Strange. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobNov 9, 2016
Cumberbatch does a fantastic job as the title character. The plot is action packed, Fast paced and plenty interesting to watch. There's no real major flaws to it other than the often hit n miss humor.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
mrmonsterNov 11, 2016
This is pretty much everything I would have wanted...scratch that, have wanted from a Doctor Strange movie for years. It had great special effects, great acting, and a great plot, along with plenty of jokes, as all Marvel movies do.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MaxsonNov 13, 2016
Marvel picked the perfect actor for Doctor Strange,because Benedict Cumberbatch was born for the role. I watched the film last night, and I was blown away with the visuals/CGI effects. This is one of best looking Marvel films, probably theMarvel picked the perfect actor for Doctor Strange,because Benedict Cumberbatch was born for the role. I watched the film last night, and I was blown away with the visuals/CGI effects. This is one of best looking Marvel films, probably the best looking one so far. The story has a decent pace to it, but the introduction with Doctor Strange felt rushed. I was a bit disappointed with the villain, even though the fight scenes were great, I still wanted more from the villain. Doctor Strange is very unique, and different compared to the previous Marvel films. Being different in this case is totally fine, something I want to see more from Marvel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 25, 2016
Structural familiarity aside, Marvel's "Doctor Strange" does manage to serve up enough innovative visual tricks and concepts to keep the audience members in its pocket. And, after witnessing the film's incredibly well-constructed third act, IStructural familiarity aside, Marvel's "Doctor Strange" does manage to serve up enough innovative visual tricks and concepts to keep the audience members in its pocket. And, after witnessing the film's incredibly well-constructed third act, I can say the overall experience left a big smile on my face. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeFeb 26, 2017
When a science person was the chosen one in the spiritual world!

You would have not expected it from this director if you had seen his previous films. This was based on the Marvel comics that I haven't touched. So basically I had high
When a science person was the chosen one in the spiritual world!

You would have not expected it from this director if you had seen his previous films. This was based on the Marvel comics that I haven't touched. So basically I had high expectation to witness another side of Marvel universe with another set of (super)heroes. And surprisingly, it was very entertaining, nothing like other Marvel's heroes/story, except the possession of superpower to fight evil forces.

Firstly, Benedict Cumberbatch in the lead in a Marvel film, I did not think it would work. All I knew is he was a great sidekick, but that image has changed here. He was wonderful, definitely I'll be looking forward to its sequel as they had confirmed at the end. The theme wise, it is similar to most of the superhero tales, but some new concepts were added to it, I mean the superpower and that's what made it so unique.

Just like 'Thor', this film as well had taken the spiritual believes only for the basic platform. The rest of the developments are the clear mix of fantasy (illusion) and science. So it means the film is for theists and atheists. I am one of those who did not like 'Inception', which I think an ordinary action film with multiple layers. But this one was so awesome and it is for the people like me who think 'Inception' failed.

Visually spectacular. I regret missing it out in digital 3D. Its Academy Awards nominee in the category of Best VFX tells the story. There will be a tough contest, even I'm up for 'Jungle Book', but I won't be sad if this wins. The success story of Marvel continues. Not everybody reads comic books, but film goers are the majority. So adaptations like this are people like me. Let them keep coming, I love this format better. This film is not just for the youngsters, but old, families, as well as kids can enjoy, so I hope you won't miss it.

8/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
travellynJan 10, 2017
TThe effects are mind blowing the acting is perfect the paste and narrative work and along with marvel balance of humour cool action and high stakes this one delivers the marvel formula with some new material to go with it all while buildingTThe effects are mind blowing the acting is perfect the paste and narrative work and along with marvel balance of humour cool action and high stakes this one delivers the marvel formula with some new material to go with it all while building up to something els and not forgetting that it has its own fitting ground Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FelipeDGNov 18, 2016
As all Marvel movies, it could've been better, even though, after Loki, Kaecilius had the best developing process of the whole Marvel movies universe, but, unfortunatelly, it doesn't exploit Mads Mikkelson's full potential. The plot wasAs all Marvel movies, it could've been better, even though, after Loki, Kaecilius had the best developing process of the whole Marvel movies universe, but, unfortunatelly, it doesn't exploit Mads Mikkelson's full potential. The plot was reasonably good. Benedict Cumberbatch, once again, at his best. It's quite safe to say this Marvel's finnest work until now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantNov 13, 2016
A fun rollercoaster ride with a hefty dose of metaphysical teachings that actually get things right. Those who like some substance with their fluff will certainly enjoy this well-executed fusion of meaningful teachings with a rollicking goodA fun rollercoaster ride with a hefty dose of metaphysical teachings that actually get things right. Those who like some substance with their fluff will certainly enjoy this well-executed fusion of meaningful teachings with a rollicking good time. Admittedly, the fight sequences go on a little long at times, there are some pacing issues in the last 45 minutes and Chiwetel Ejiofor's hammy overacting becomes progressively tedious as the story unfolds, but a well-written script, superb special effects and fine performances by all of the other principals make this worthwhile viewing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TheMetacritiqerNov 6, 2016
It is, as I predicted, the best Marvel movie since Iron(pronounced I-Ron) Man 3. The past ones were made bad by excessive numbing action and lack of any real danger(can you think of any major character thats died?) among other things. But DrIt is, as I predicted, the best Marvel movie since Iron(pronounced I-Ron) Man 3. The past ones were made bad by excessive numbing action and lack of any real danger(can you think of any major character thats died?) among other things. But Dr S's best feature is how visually stunning it is. I like to think of how well classic weird fiction writers would have thought of the dark(actually quite colorful dark dimension. And there are some funny parts in there as well. The best one involves beyonce. Well, I guess I'll have to wait till 2019 till another good marvel movie comes out:Captain freaking Marvel. She's Brie Larson. But thankfully, I'll have DC movies(and other wonderful entertainment.Think Mass Effect Andromeda) to fill the time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DirtyDaveNov 6, 2016
Inception fights scenes are met with gorgeous spell graphics and a strong lead. The clever humor can fall flat sometimes and the side characters are largely forgettable. But it doesn't hold the movie back from being a fun feast for the eyes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
WheelzFourReelzNov 9, 2016
Visually, Doctor Strange is the best Marvel film to date with it's gorgeous and trippy special effects. In terms of storytelling, the film isn't great because of a lot of rushed moments. But overall, Doctor Strange is another enjoyable movieVisually, Doctor Strange is the best Marvel film to date with it's gorgeous and trippy special effects. In terms of storytelling, the film isn't great because of a lot of rushed moments. But overall, Doctor Strange is another enjoyable movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe that is certainly worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
What a spectacular film. I had my doubts as a lot of people because Marvel was taking a risk with this one and oh boy did it exceed my expectations. The movie was surprisingly funny, well paced, and had a great score. It also had fantasticWhat a spectacular film. I had my doubts as a lot of people because Marvel was taking a risk with this one and oh boy did it exceed my expectations. The movie was surprisingly funny, well paced, and had a great score. It also had fantastic acting especially from Benedict Cumberbatch. The action was top notch as expected from Marvel and of course the CGI/Visual effects which were great. Mads Mikkelsen's villain character was very intriguing and interesting, but did feel a little underdeveloped. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RvwFromUpHereNov 7, 2016
Who: Benedict Cumberbatch, Sinead O'Connor, 12 Years a Slave, and the sh*tty version of Hannibal Lecter as, Kaecilius
What: Ant-Man meets Harry Potter meets MC Escher
Where: The consistently amazing Marvel Cinematic Universe When (can I
Who: Benedict Cumberbatch, Sinead O'Connor, 12 Years a Slave, and the sh*tty version of Hannibal Lecter as, Kaecilius
What: Ant-Man meets Harry Potter meets MC Escher
Where: The consistently amazing Marvel Cinematic Universe
When (can I watch again): A couple months
Why: Though this is a traditional Marvel plot, the visuals in this film stand far and above any other contribution to the franchise to date.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Silverscreen91Nov 4, 2016
Dr. Strange is, appropriately enough, a strange movie. It is both something new and yet the exact same thing we've come to expect from Marvel Origin Movies lately.

The story of Steven Strange is one tread upon repeatedly, using what I like
Dr. Strange is, appropriately enough, a strange movie. It is both something new and yet the exact same thing we've come to expect from Marvel Origin Movies lately.

The story of Steven Strange is one tread upon repeatedly, using what I like to call the Marvel Origin Movie Formula: Person has a problem, finds solution via gaining/making powers, training montage of improving those abilities, enter main villain, small fight with villain leading up to bigger fight with villain. There are, however, several points that this movie vastly breaks away from the mold. The first point is the setting. Magic might have been touched upon in Thor, but they go head first into the deep end of using magic in this movie. It helps it to stand out from the other films. Second is the climax. It's a clever change from the usual ultimate battle finale we've come to expect from these films, having Strange use his brain instead of his power to win.

The characters are, unfortunately, total retreads as well. Dr. Strange particularly feels like another Tony Stark. A lot of the character development is easy to see coming, though I have to say there are a few scenes that, again, help to break away from the usual for Marvel. The villain of the picture has a nice monologue that, gasp, gives him character. Not a lot, but it's more than usual for many Marvel movie villains. Unfortunately, he and a particular other villain seem to be cast aside, but thankfully there's a chance left open for both of them to come back rather than just outright crossing them off. There's a touching and interesting scene with the mentor of the film, and it's nice that, in a refreshing change of pace, everyone is willing to call out the main character for his...Stark-ness.

The action in this movie is pretty damn cool, mostly because of said effects being incorporated into it. There is one particular shot in the movie that I think was meant to be the big "HELL YEAH" moment, and I am so very, very glad that it wasn't spoiled in advertising because it made that shot all the more glamorous.

The long and short of the film is this: If you love the Marvel Origin Movie formula, you'll love this movie. If you're getting tired of the formula, you'll be pleasantly surprised with a couple of things in the film and enjoy the new atmosphere made by being immersed in the magical side of the MCU. Strange is a good addition to the MCU, but it's hard to look past the fact that Marvel's kinda stuck in a rut with the formula. Here's hoping Spider-Man and Black Panther will break the mold.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
blawren4Nov 7, 2016
I liked this movie. I was largely unfamiliar with this character, aside from some appearances in Avengers and Spiderman cartoons years ago. The premise is cool, and I see how he would fit well in the MCU. Well worth the cost of admission.I liked this movie. I was largely unfamiliar with this character, aside from some appearances in Avengers and Spiderman cartoons years ago. The premise is cool, and I see how he would fit well in the MCU. Well worth the cost of admission. Really excellent special effects and good potential for other films and crossovers due to the multiverse aspects. Seems well cast Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
FolderMathJun 25, 2017
This movie felt a little strange. The CGI and picture were extremely beautiful, and the landscape bending bent my mind as well. I liked the Ancient One, and I thought her final speech to Strange was brilliant. I didn't like Ejiofor'sThis movie felt a little strange. The CGI and picture were extremely beautiful, and the landscape bending bent my mind as well. I liked the Ancient One, and I thought her final speech to Strange was brilliant. I didn't like Ejiofor's character and Doctor Strange himself. They weren't as fleshed out as they could have been. Doctor Strange's training felt rushed (like he got too good too soon). The romance is minimal, and not well done at all. Maybe I would have liked the movie more if I had read the comic beforehand. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
That-Comic-GuyNov 5, 2016
Doctor Strange, may have strange in the title, but doesn't really step outside the usual Marvel fair, don't get me wrong the film is good and enjoyable. Honestly one of the better stand alone Marvel films recently, but like I said this filmDoctor Strange, may have strange in the title, but doesn't really step outside the usual Marvel fair, don't get me wrong the film is good and enjoyable. Honestly one of the better stand alone Marvel films recently, but like I said this film is the average Marvel film, with some added advantages. First off the best part of the film are it's visuals, the film looks spectacular, especially in it's dimension bending, and reality changing scenes (Recommend seeing the film in IMAX), the performances are all very well done. Bennedict Cumberbatch being a great Doctor Strange, and the rest of the cast doing their parts well enough. The films ultimate flaw is, as I said, it's a little to predictable and average. The action's better than most Marvel movies, but it all feels the same, the villain isn't awful, but like most isn't all that memorable or menacing. Doctor Strange is one of the better MCU films but still has the flaws that the rest of the MCU is plagued with. The performances are good, The Visuals are freaking amazing, but just doesn't have have enough new things to bring to the table to make it really rise up from the MCU Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Shellymon8KNov 13, 2016
Benedict Cumberbatch is the perfect choice for Doctor Seven Strange character. His performance was A1 and same with Tilda Swinton. I really enjoyed Tilda Swinton performance as the Ancient One. Her performance was bad ass! Other castsBenedict Cumberbatch is the perfect choice for Doctor Seven Strange character. His performance was A1 and same with Tilda Swinton. I really enjoyed Tilda Swinton performance as the Ancient One. Her performance was bad ass! Other casts performance was good but I wish the writers pushed them a little bit more. The visuals in this movie is mind blowing and I recommend you to see it in 3D. Mads Mikkelsen performance was good also but the story of the villain decent at finest. Sense of humor is a hit and miss. I mostly safetied most of it. Wow! Doctor Strange really exceed my expectations a lot. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
lucbevibrasilNov 8, 2016
Doctor Strange brings to theaters a different movie from Marvel, and that's good, because the movie manages to escape the sameness that are the films of heroes origins. Above all, the film stands out in its beautiful visual effects and inDoctor Strange brings to theaters a different movie from Marvel, and that's good, because the movie manages to escape the sameness that are the films of heroes origins. Above all, the film stands out in its beautiful visual effects and in great interpretations of its star cast. Benedict Cumberbatch is simply perfect in the role of Stephen Strange, Tilda Swinton is marvelous with her Ancient One and all of her co-stars, Benedict Wong, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Rachel McAdams, this devalued, go well in their roles. Marvel, unfortunately, misses an undeveloped villain again, but Mads Mikkelsen manages to deliver a good performance, nonetheless. In addition, notable is the improvement on director Scott Derrickson, known for horror movies. Overall, Doctor Strange is a fun, charismatic movie that does not disappoint in fight scenes, and proves that the good can still improve. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EdsonCarvalhoNov 6, 2016
Great movie! A lot of fun, drama, action, and absolutely great visual effects! A story well balanced, very good actors, and an astonishing ending. And it gives us hints about what can be done in Avengers: Infinity War. The possibilities are endless!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
superbatNov 14, 2016
Marvel does it again... Doctor Strange is the best comic-book movie of 2016 and probably one of the best of all time. Marvel has finally embraced magic and have used it in this incredible way, the action sequences are just breathtaking andMarvel does it again... Doctor Strange is the best comic-book movie of 2016 and probably one of the best of all time. Marvel has finally embraced magic and have used it in this incredible way, the action sequences are just breathtaking and keep you on the edge of your seat for the whole time. This movie also has engaging dialogue, likeable and relatable character, and one of the MCU's stronger origin stories. If you spend your money on Doctor Strange, you won't be disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JyroJyroSep 18, 2017
The stylish explosion of reality bending visuals in Doctor Strange is truly awe-inspiring, and manages to successfully offset the generic 'world is about to be destroyed' storyline. It's also genuinely funny.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
hawkeye766Nov 8, 2016
I have never read a Doctor Strange comic. There, I said it. I am an enormous comic book fan, but I have never even deigned to pick up an issue. The reason being this; Strange has always been too well, strange for me. His immense, andI have never read a Doctor Strange comic. There, I said it. I am an enormous comic book fan, but I have never even deigned to pick up an issue. The reason being this; Strange has always been too well, strange for me. His immense, and undefinable power has never attracted my interest, and I've often wondered how a "sorcerer supreme" could be the source of any decent storytelling. Well, thanks to Scott Derrickson, I wonder no longer.

While bearing many of the telltale signs of the MCU, Dr. Strange is a rather unique organism. While an orgin story, it is not one of physical strength, or endowment of immense power, but one of magical study. Yes, that's right, magic. Not science we don't understand yet, pure, honest-to-goodness. abra-cadabra, hocus-pocus, magic. Dr. Strange, a self-absorbed medical genius, is confronted with an existential crisis, in which he must humble himself, and learn an entirely new profession. Cumberbatch plays excellently, a man who's entire world comes crashing down upon him, and who must remake himself as a new man.

The love interest, a crucial component of any Marvel origin story, surprisingly turns out to be one of the most compelling parts of the film. Christine, Strange's ex-lover, is there the entire film, not as a romantic counterpart, but as a friend, and several times as a savior. There is love between the two of them, but divergent from the Marvel norm, the kiss at the end of the movie, is one on the cheek.

The movie is though, carried almost solely by its action. This is the most unique and entertaining part of the film. Buildings fold in upon themselves, capes put men in chokeholds, and portals are used as a weapon in combat. But in my humble opinion, the best action sequence s the scene in which while being operated upon, Dr. Strange engages in astral combat with his enemy. It encompasses the movie perfectly. It is brutal and unrelenting, and totally unseen by the world we live in. It is hard to understand, and confusing; the physics of the astral world are left mostly unexplained, and the viewer must figure out for themself what the combatants will or won't pass through. Most of all, its funny. Christine's baffled expressions as objects crash around the room are hysterical.

Like I said before, I had no expectation of enjoying Doctor Strange, but I did, Immensely. Simply because it is so delightfully different. Marvel has realized that in this golden age of comic book movies, a tonal differentiation is required for a movie to be fresh and engaging. This is an excellent call on their part. While Doctor Strange's manipulation of reality as a cinematic technique can be a bit shticky at times, its definitely fun to watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SaintThrogNov 6, 2016
Rex Reed hates it so it HAS to be good. I mean, how do you start a review (a probably well paid "critic's" review, mind you) with a declaration that you already went into the film with the plan to hate on it?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheChosenOne7Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful movie. Few, minor, flaws. High quality Marvel movie as usual. Would recommend. Diffidently one to see in a movie theater. Just look at the user review ratio and that should tell you it's worthwhile. Always going to be those that canWonderful movie. Few, minor, flaws. High quality Marvel movie as usual. Would recommend. Diffidently one to see in a movie theater. Just look at the user review ratio and that should tell you it's worthwhile. Always going to be those that can not be satisfied, but don't let them scare you off from enjoying this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Bigchris27Nov 10, 2016
Yes this may not be the movie of the year or even the best marvel movie this year. That was x men in my opinion. But this was good entertaining fun for the whole family lots of action good heart and humor u can't go wrong seeing this movie goYes this may not be the movie of the year or even the best marvel movie this year. That was x men in my opinion. But this was good entertaining fun for the whole family lots of action good heart and humor u can't go wrong seeing this movie go see it take the family take a date or go alone just see it u won't be disappointed by your choice of seeing it good way to get away from the stress of reality and Christmas rush so much fun and plenty of action Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ZestyCMNov 5, 2016
As with most of the positive reviews, this is a must-see movie albeit not as full-on balls to the walls action as say a movie like Captain America Civil War, but nonetheless deserves to be heard and seen. This one surprised me as there wereAs with most of the positive reviews, this is a must-see movie albeit not as full-on balls to the walls action as say a movie like Captain America Civil War, but nonetheless deserves to be heard and seen. This one surprised me as there were alot of humor in this one. Professional critics have their own opinion about green screen movies and they love throw movies like these into the ground and stomp on it with delight, this is a free country after all, they're entitled to their opinions, when the 1st Amendment Free Speech is taken away from us that's when you'll have to ask yourself which president did you choose to vote for? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
minutemattersNov 6, 2016
Here is the video review link: https://youtu.be/2UhSKzt9mL8

Cumberbatch’s screen presence, Comic timing & inimitable ability to breathe new life into characters, work wonders for Doctor Strange. He perfectly enacts the character’s fall
Here is the video review link: https://youtu.be/2UhSKzt9mL8

Cumberbatch’s screen presence, Comic timing & inimitable ability to breathe new life into characters, work wonders for Doctor Strange.
He perfectly enacts the character’s fall from grace and his eventual rise into a superhero.

Doctor Strange has plenty of action that kept me entertained.
The space-and-time warping and mirrored realities are Superb.

Doctor Strange lines up strong actors who can hold our attention.
Gives the audience almost everything they’d need in a comic book adaptation film
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Nerd4163Nov 6, 2016
Amazing & mind-bending visuals, Good performances, needed more exposition, under-developed villain, a bit formulaic but was fun to watch with great action set pieces. But the movies does a very good job of introducing the mystic arts andAmazing & mind-bending visuals, Good performances, needed more exposition, under-developed villain, a bit formulaic but was fun to watch with great action set pieces. But the movies does a very good job of introducing the mystic arts and multi-dimensions to the MCU and also tells a good origin story one of the unknown characters within a 2 hr time span which is feat of its own. All in all, It was a very good movie but not one of Marvel's best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gimarasNov 6, 2016
Ok guys its not the best movie but a think it is a very dificult to transfer a comic carachter on the cinema so if you are thinking of this movie is very good- SO...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
OskarAndersson2Nov 12, 2016
The cast of this movie plays their roles good, but the one who plays his role so good is Benedict Cumberbatch. And the best thing about the movie is the special effects. One thing I didn't expect is that this movie is so funny. And the 3rdThe cast of this movie plays their roles good, but the one who plays his role so good is Benedict Cumberbatch. And the best thing about the movie is the special effects. One thing I didn't expect is that this movie is so funny. And the 3rd act isn't like every Marvel movie because this movie do the 3rd act differently and I don't want to spoil it. The only grip I have is the villain because his motives is weak. I highly recommend to see this movie in 3D. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
laxdrew2Nov 12, 2016
Doctor Strange was a step in a new direction for Marvel. Marvel went outside the classic superhero theme, and came out with a different (but not necessarily good) story. Benedict Cumberbatch played the role of Doctor Strange very well, butDoctor Strange was a step in a new direction for Marvel. Marvel went outside the classic superhero theme, and came out with a different (but not necessarily good) story. Benedict Cumberbatch played the role of Doctor Strange very well, but there were other problems. The plot was fairly predictable, and CGI graphics were over-used in some scenes. There were a few attempts at comedy, and some (but not all) were actually amusing. Overall, Doctor Strange was a good solid movie. Not Marvel's best, but certainly an entertainer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PerculaNov 14, 2016
Although Doctor Strange ist the visually strongest entry of the Marvel Cinematic Universe so far and the plot is profound, the character treatment disappoints at certain stances.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RewswissNov 13, 2016
VORSICHT DEUTSCH:-) Marvel goes Magic. Nach Guardians of the Galaxy für mich der beste Marvel Film aus dem MCU bisher! Wieder einmal schafft es Marvel trotz seiner althergebrachten Formel einen frischen Film aus dem Hut zu zaubern. Und dasVORSICHT DEUTSCH:-) Marvel goes Magic. Nach Guardians of the Galaxy für mich der beste Marvel Film aus dem MCU bisher! Wieder einmal schafft es Marvel trotz seiner althergebrachten Formel einen frischen Film aus dem Hut zu zaubern. Und das ganz ohne ein Action-Effect Finale wie üblich. Außerdem funktioniert der film auch sehr gut für Filmfreunde die nichts mit dem MCU anfangen können. Zauberhafte Unterhaltung wünscht euer Rewswiss Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NOLAWAYNENov 17, 2016
I couldn't wait for this movie and guess what, it was even better than I expected. Don't miss it. Now I can't wait for the next in what promises to be a landmark franchise. I feel like a kid on Christmas Eve.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
WhovianNov 18, 2016
Marvel already has the perfect formula for their movies and apparently will not change that soon.
Strange Doctor could be much more serious and less formulaic, would be great and one of Marvel's best if the parties with jokes in moments of
Marvel already has the perfect formula for their movies and apparently will not change that soon.
Strange Doctor could be much more serious and less formulaic, would be great and one of Marvel's best if the parties with jokes in moments of tension were cut. Well, putting a joke in the middle of the fight with a villain is totally anticlimax and that's the big flaw of the movie, it's full of them. An exaggerated humor causing the impact of certain scenes to be greatly impaired. It does not give the story the seriousness it needs.
Besides, I do not have many reservations, the villain appears just to be ashamed, but this is already Marvel's custom and does not bother me any more.
The film entertains, but if the third phase of Marvel has started like this, I will not wait much more of it, and even bet here that the note of the next films will be between 6 and 7.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
YourHostEdgeNov 18, 2016
This is a beautiful movie with amazing CGI and breathtaking shots. This is a character story all that is more about Strange's arc that fast paced action. But don't worry there are some trippy epic fight scenes that will make you want to watchThis is a beautiful movie with amazing CGI and breathtaking shots. This is a character story all that is more about Strange's arc that fast paced action. But don't worry there are some trippy epic fight scenes that will make you want to watch them again and again. This is not to say its a perfect movie it has some pacing issues in the third act and a weak antagonist. That being said it's a great world building movie that sets up magic in the MCU and the next one will be even better. On my scale I'd give it an A- Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PanSakhnoNov 27, 2016
Сюжет 7/10 графоний 10/10. Слишком много юмора даже для мурвел, злодей вообще никакой.Сцена с Дормамму спасла этот фильм
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
VirgonoShakaDec 10, 2016
The first thing I think of this movie is probably: "Whoa, look at that backgrounds, look at the colors, look at the effects" and all in all, that is the most impressive thing of it. The effects showcase that this is a different world than inThe first thing I think of this movie is probably: "Whoa, look at that backgrounds, look at the colors, look at the effects" and all in all, that is the most impressive thing of it. The effects showcase that this is a different world than in the other marvel movies, and it makes it a very unique superheroe movie. But in comparison to other ones, the villain is not interesting at all, and the conflict in general is not very exciting,and I wanted to find more about Strange, Wong, or just the objects in the safe houses than seeing the next scene in the conflict. Nevertheless, Good movie, excellent soundtrack by Michael Giacchino, good casting, excellent effects. Fun movie, and marvel continues to impress in their universe. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
alva3901Nov 4, 2017
Doctor Strange, directed by Scott Derrickson, is not only the fourteenth installment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but a film that brings in a whole new perspective of magic and sorcery in the franchise. What you are given is aDoctor Strange, directed by Scott Derrickson, is not only the fourteenth installment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but a film that brings in a whole new perspective of magic and sorcery in the franchise. What you are given is a spectacular tale of a man who defies all odds, to learn the art and craft of magic, who is magnificently played by the great Benedict Cumberbatch. Other than Benedict, the film boasts a stellar cast with the likes of Mads Mikkelsen, Tilda Swinton, Rachael McAdams and Chiwetel Ejiofor, who all play their parts great as well. Accompanied by top-quality visuals, interesting origin stories and one of most fascinating music scores in Marvel history, you are giving one of the better Marvel films in recent memory.

With 2016 slowly drawing to a close, the year of movies hasn't been the most satisfying as major blockbusters haven't been able to reach the heights we wished they would. I have been slightly disappointed with what has come out so far this year, with the likes of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, X-Men Apocalypse and Jason Bourne failing to live up to the hype. I believe Doctor Strange is up there with some of the best this year, which include Captain America: Civl War, Finding Dory, Zootopia, Deadpool and the Jungle Book. Not only do the visuals take your mind away, but it shows that Marvel still has what it takes to make good films (especially with so many superhero movies coming out in the next couple of years). It also proves that Marvel is capable of placing unknown directors with big blockbuster movies, like what they did with James Gunn in Guardians of the Galaxy and Scott Derrickson with this movie. It also sets up the character well for future movies as Benedict has confirmed he will take part in Avengers: Infinity Wars and possibly other Marvel movies.

If I were to make one criticism for the movie, it'll have to be the overuse and forcefulness of humor, especially when the movie started to get more serious. But, it did make the audience laugh in some moments, so it isn't much of a concern. To finish off, we are taken on a visually impressive journey throughout Doctor Strange's world and how he prepares to enter the Marvel Cinematic Universe in a big way.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsJun 4, 2017
I loved this movie. The story was one of Marvel's best. The special effects were the best of all time, and I mean that. The acting was also good. Seriously, the magic felt real. It was amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
HazzaGallaNov 4, 2016
Dr. Strange is certainly a visually stunning movie, in parts. It is by no way a bad movie, but it was a little disappointing. Certain aspects to the story towards the middle and end felt rushed, incoherent and confusing at times even to theDr. Strange is certainly a visually stunning movie, in parts. It is by no way a bad movie, but it was a little disappointing. Certain aspects to the story towards the middle and end felt rushed, incoherent and confusing at times even to the point where certain events happen for the sake of convenience. The cast however is great, the mind bending visuals awesome and the fight scenes fantastic, but I wish more time was spent on developing a longer story. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Nov 4, 2016
Benedict Cumberbatch is Doctor Strange and yes I'm gonna fangirl over this movie a little bit, I just can't help myself. The most enjoyable Marvel movie I've seen in a long time, a great cast all round, particularly from Cumberbatch.Benedict Cumberbatch is Doctor Strange and yes I'm gonna fangirl over this movie a little bit, I just can't help myself. The most enjoyable Marvel movie I've seen in a long time, a great cast all round, particularly from Cumberbatch. Thoroughly enjoyable, great story, beautiful music and although it tries too hard to be funny at times and crossed the line into over the top territory I still loved it. Mads Mikkelsen is just born to play the bad guy in anything and this is no exception, complete with the most fabulous purple and silver eye makeup you'll ever see. The stand out feature of this is clearly the stunning visual effects and if it deserves an award for anything it's that. Highly recommended and as with most Marvel movies you get not one but two end credit scenes Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
5
xplo99Nov 5, 2016
This movie is fun to watch but does git a bit boring due to its cliched story line and character, overuse of so-so CG special FX, and (suspension of belief breaking) nonsensical happenings. The main antagonist is boring at best and theThis movie is fun to watch but does git a bit boring due to its cliched story line and character, overuse of so-so CG special FX, and (suspension of belief breaking) nonsensical happenings. The main antagonist is boring at best and the protagonist is the Medical Doctor version of Tony Stark who uses magic instead of technology. I was hoping for something fresh and new but didn't get it.

All that said, the movie is somewhat entertaining if you have a few bucks to spare and some time to kill. You certainly wouldn't want to skip anything even semi-important to see this movie.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticNov 4, 2016
Marvel just keeps nailing it. Dr. Strange is a whole lot of fun and adds a new aspect to the MCU. Benedict Cumberbatch just inhabits this character couldn't have had better casting. A-
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
zouz123Nov 5, 2016
Benedict Cumberbatch never fails to deliver, and the whole cast is pretty solid. Cool story, fun and visually satisfying movie, with light humor here and there, exceeded my expectations. Definitely enjoyed and recommend it.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 4, 2016
Benedict Cumberbatch is the latest actor to enter the Marvel Universe. He plays an arrogant neurosurgeon who suffers a devastating accident and resorts to mysticism for a "cure." This results in his acquisition of superpowers and a cool cape.Benedict Cumberbatch is the latest actor to enter the Marvel Universe. He plays an arrogant neurosurgeon who suffers a devastating accident and resorts to mysticism for a "cure." This results in his acquisition of superpowers and a cool cape. Unlike many of these flicks, this one doesn't rely on typically destructive physical encounters. Instead there are trippy visual effects and cool superpowers. There are also several tedious scenes of metaphysical mumbo jumbo that stop the pace and a sometimes confusing sense of what's actually happening. Cumberbatch ably handles his character's haughtiness with depth. There's also a touch of humor to keep things from getting too self-important. Overall, it's more original and better than many in the franchise, but it's still somewhat mystifying and overly talky. NOTE: As usual, stay thru the credits for a somewhat puzzling teaser. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
7
MattyiceNov 4, 2016
While Doctor Strange has the same cookie-cutter MCU feel take over at a few points, it was entertaining and mystifying enough to draw me in for the entire ride. The film's two biggest strengths are definitely its acting and cinematography.While Doctor Strange has the same cookie-cutter MCU feel take over at a few points, it was entertaining and mystifying enough to draw me in for the entire ride. The film's two biggest strengths are definitely its acting and cinematography. The CG is fantastic, paranormal, and original, and the cast is top-notch. Despite a familiar general style of origin story, Doctor Strange is a great film that continues Marvel's unstoppable run of creating blockbusters from thin air. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
dannytran555Nov 4, 2016
Amazing effect , Stunning visual, and good performance .Doctor strange is another winner in MCU. If u wonder should i go see this movie the answer is yes

But sadly it still have some flaw : weak vigilante seem still Marvel weakness .
Amazing effect , Stunning visual, and good performance .Doctor strange is another winner in MCU. If u wonder should i go see this movie the answer is yes

But sadly it still have some flaw : weak vigilante seem still Marvel weakness . Anyway still wonderful movie
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
JacobNov 4, 2016
Dr. Strange makes up for its standard story and basic characters by putting Strange and the magic front and center. Bennedict Cumberbatch brings the character of Dr. Strange to life commending a strong performance that I am looking forward toDr. Strange makes up for its standard story and basic characters by putting Strange and the magic front and center. Bennedict Cumberbatch brings the character of Dr. Strange to life commending a strong performance that I am looking forward to seeing in more movies. The magic is well realized leading to breath taking spectacle and creative action scenes that overshadow each other. The result is a fun movie that while nothing groundbreaking like Deadpool or Civil War is a welcome treat this year especially given the lack of fun blockbusters lately see it on the big screen if you can. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
KenmeiNov 4, 2016
A very different movie then the previous Marvel Universe stories, DS almost had more in common with Harry Potter then anything that's come before it with Marvel in the title. Dr. Strange is not a very well known character and it's prob whyA very different movie then the previous Marvel Universe stories, DS almost had more in common with Harry Potter then anything that's come before it with Marvel in the title. Dr. Strange is not a very well known character and it's prob why there was very little hype for this movie. But they did very well for including a very high profile magic user to the MCU and with a good movie. The special FX were very good and I got a feeling of watching Inception at some parts. I've heard this movie is terrific in 3D, if you can stand to watch it like that. There was some weird character development in the movie that felt off in my book but it's a Marvel movie and I don't expect the world here. It'll be interesting to see what his role will be in the later movies, especially with him having a big role, from the looks of it, in the final Avengers movies coming up in a few years. But this movie was fun and good for a joy ride. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
PeabarterNov 4, 2016
I enjoyed this movie! This was one of the few movies that I thought used 3D well. I am not a big fan of 3D. It took it's time developing the main character and wasn't all special effects laden action like most comic based movies. However,I enjoyed this movie! This was one of the few movies that I thought used 3D well. I am not a big fan of 3D. It took it's time developing the main character and wasn't all special effects laden action like most comic based movies. However, I would have liked to see more different kinds of magic. Rather than come up with a large variety of magic spells, they just kept repeating the spells that you had already seen. They should have given Mads Mikkelsen as the villain more screen time. He is a great presence in all of the movies that I have seen him in. I also liked Benedict Cumberbatch as Dr. Strange.

Strange spends most of the movie adjusting to his new role. I'm excited to see the next Strange tale now that he has embraced his role. I think this character has a lot of potential. There are 2 separate additional scenes at the end of the movie. The 1st after the cast credits is only targeted at humor. The 2nd after the film credits sets up the sequel. I'm skeptical about their chosen sequel plot and the character motivations behind it.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
43in2014Nov 5, 2016
Related media: I have watched all of the previous Marvel films but do not know much about Dr Strange.

What's it like?: It's like a good vs evil fight, among wizards, but the twist here, since it has to relate to the modern world and the
Related media: I have watched all of the previous Marvel films but do not know much about Dr Strange.

What's it like?: It's like a good vs evil fight, among wizards, but the twist here, since it has to relate to the modern world and the rest of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, is that the prize is the control of time.

Pros:
1) There are some nice special effects that push beyond what was shown in Inception, but see Cons #2.

Cons:
1) The writing/story just wasn't good enough. Most of the characters' backgrounds and motivations were not properly explained. Most of the magical concepts and their rules weren't clearly explained too. A bit of explanation was offered at the end, but it was too little.
2) The Inception-like special effects, the fractal geometry and the spells graphics were interesting until they were over-used and they became non-events. It also left me confused as to what was going on.
3) Dr Strange did not come off as a likabe person in the end due to his multi-faceted character. I cannot root for him and I cannot root for the film.
4) Scenes involving the ultimate villain were only so-so. The most commonly seen villain was also inadequately covered.

How would the the different age groups rate it?
Children: (The film is not rated for children.)
Teens: Good
Young adults: Good
Medium age adults: Average
Old adults: Poor

Tip: There are two 'post-credit' scenes.

Rating: 3/5 (no half scores). Sorry folks. Save your money and watch it on TV.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
ascedentevilNov 4, 2016
I really enjoyed Doctor Strange. It's well directed, well written and offers some superb acting from the likes of Ben and Co. Mads offers his typical "I'm good at playing evil people" roll and it all falls together quite nicely.
What stands
I really enjoyed Doctor Strange. It's well directed, well written and offers some superb acting from the likes of Ben and Co. Mads offers his typical "I'm good at playing evil people" roll and it all falls together quite nicely.
What stands out the most is the visuals which are unreal and seriously impressive, definitely one to see in IMAX 3D, truly mind bending.
The usual marvel humour follows to boot but is a tad off the mark when compared to others in the franchise.
Well worth a watch.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
NerdConsultantNov 4, 2016
Is Dr Strange good? Yes I would even say that for the most part it is even dam great. It gets its main character down well, the effects are fantastic, the action scenes are really well shot, the cast is really good, the writing is veryIs Dr Strange good? Yes I would even say that for the most part it is even dam great. It gets its main character down well, the effects are fantastic, the action scenes are really well shot, the cast is really good, the writing is very good, I enjoyed myself from start to finish and it felt like it told a complete, yet contained story, yet fitted in with the Marvel Cinematic Universe really well. The only thing that kind of holds it back is the villains, which I feel is another point where Marvel Cinematic Universe hasn’t quite got down outside of the NetFlix series, and Loki of course. The film is a really entertaining ride and I would really recommend you check it out, especially at the cinema since I fear some of it won’t play as well on DVD and Blu Ray. It’s a really great film and what really sells it is Cumberbatch in the lead role. Oh, and if you are going to see it, stick around for the credits, once again, there are 2 post credit scenes. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeNov 4, 2016
Doctor Strange uses a perfectly suspenseful and balanced plan to make its story look new and fresh. It attempts to keep Marvel's audiences once again surprised and fill their faces with big smiles. Then again, I wasn't even hyped for thisDoctor Strange uses a perfectly suspenseful and balanced plan to make its story look new and fresh. It attempts to keep Marvel's audiences once again surprised and fill their faces with big smiles. Then again, I wasn't even hyped for this movie compared to Marvel's previous film Captain America: Civil War being released in the same year this film is released, but even if I wasn't that hyped, Doctor Strange promises to keep Marvel a great place even if you aren't even hyped for a single installment in their Cinematic Universe. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranNov 4, 2016
It's a fun action piece with hit & miss comedy. Benedict Cumberbatch performance is underwhelming along with the rest of the cast. Dr. Strange is a refreshing concept but never really reaches thrilling heights.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
FarhanFirozNov 5, 2016
Marvel brings an another great entry to the MCU. Its well paced , funny , has outstanding performances and a Interesting plot. Marvel has definitely revolutionised the Visuals as its trippy , Jaw dropping and weird . The biggest issue withMarvel brings an another great entry to the MCU. Its well paced , funny , has outstanding performances and a Interesting plot. Marvel has definitely revolutionised the Visuals as its trippy , Jaw dropping and weird . The biggest issue with the movie is that it had way too much exposition. A must see movie in 3D for full experience . Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
shoulderoforionNov 4, 2016
Just saw it in 3D, because it was the showing that wasn't sold out and was at the time I wanted to see a movie, after my eyes got used to the 3D effects it was fine, I liked the movie, it was different & fun, the actors were all great, didJust saw it in 3D, because it was the showing that wasn't sold out and was at the time I wanted to see a movie, after my eyes got used to the 3D effects it was fine, I liked the movie, it was different & fun, the actors were all great, did get the feeling there was a whole lotta cultural appropriation going on tho. Not entirely sure I'd be into another Doctor Strange, but it was enjoyable. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
HMF_47Nov 4, 2016
This is arguably the most character-focused Marvel movie since Captain America: The First Avenger. It also has a very similar narrative structure, since the first half takes its time to fully establish the protagonist, and the second is moreThis is arguably the most character-focused Marvel movie since Captain America: The First Avenger. It also has a very similar narrative structure, since the first half takes its time to fully establish the protagonist, and the second is more dedicated to the larger-than-life threat he has to stop (Batman Begins also comes to mind).

Despite being an arrogant jerk, Stephen Strange is easy to like thanks to a nuanced and charismatic performance from Benedict Cumberbatch. The supporting cast is equally great as well, even though Rachel McAdams doesn't get a lot to do.

Scott Derrickson's direction provides visuals that look like a Steve Ditko comic coming to life, genuinely heartbreaking moments and out-of-the-box action scenes. But I was surprised that the movie wasn't any scary considering the subject matter (alternate dimensions and sorcery) and Derrickson's horror background. The humor is hit and miss (the singer name-dropping was pretty lame), but the actors' delivery gives it more punch.

The movie's biggest problem is that its pacing gets overly fast at times, especially considering there's a lot of information to digest. The second act in particular barely has any moments to breathe.

Doctor Strange stays within the safe boundaries we've come to expect from Marvel, but that doesn't stop it from being a generally satisfying entry in the series.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
idohakerNov 5, 2016
i am going to sum up how great this movie is in 4 words: i came to bargain. i came to bargain. i came to bargain. i came to bargain. i came to bargain.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
utsavbansalNov 7, 2016
Doctor Strange is paradigm shift in vfx. But only focusing on that would be a huge disservice to a movie which is also a good character piece, has an excellent ideological drama, great visual storytelling and what is perhaps the bestDoctor Strange is paradigm shift in vfx. But only focusing on that would be a huge disservice to a movie which is also a good character piece, has an excellent ideological drama, great visual storytelling and what is perhaps the best depiction of magic on screen ever!
There are excellent cameos and lots of humour which is characteristic of any Marvel movie but those looking for more would be treated to an absolutely delightful performance by Tilda Swinton who manages to make a trippy movie even more surreal, and awesome sights you would have never imagined possible.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MattzoneNov 5, 2016
I would give it an "11" for the IMAX effort, but Metacritic is unforgiving in this area. I took my 6 year old to see it today, and it is really well done. Acting is strong on all levels and it is a nice change of pace from "typical" superI would give it an "11" for the IMAX effort, but Metacritic is unforgiving in this area. I took my 6 year old to see it today, and it is really well done. Acting is strong on all levels and it is a nice change of pace from "typical" super hero movies. There is a little language and no nudity (so feel confident about taking your kids). I said it above, and I know it's pricey, but this is a time to budget out an IMAX movie and take a couple of hours out of the day. Nice work cast and crew! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
RobobobNov 10, 2016
Great movie. One of the best casts Marvel has put together. This movie perfectly balances the line of humor and seriousness unlike some Marvel flicks that end up too jokey. I love the atmosphere of this film as the hero trains in the artGreat movie. One of the best casts Marvel has put together. This movie perfectly balances the line of humor and seriousness unlike some Marvel flicks that end up too jokey. I love the atmosphere of this film as the hero trains in the art of magic in a secret school in Nepal. The special effects are original and amazing and almost vertigo inducing when seen in 3D iMax. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CocoaComaNov 6, 2016
I was beyond impressed with this movie! I was hooked the entire time. It reminded me of being on a roller coaster! The concepts and characters are so interesting, and I can't wait for more of Doctor Strange!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Tony1984Nov 23, 2016
A good origin story with just the right amount of engaging characters and an easily followed narrative. Marvel can confusingly over-pack its movies sometimes but not here. Great casting, direction, cinematography and special effects.A good origin story with just the right amount of engaging characters and an easily followed narrative. Marvel can confusingly over-pack its movies sometimes but not here. Great casting, direction, cinematography and special effects. Everything fits well and Cumberbatch's easy humour is right on note. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
BlancheNov 6, 2016
Visually the film was immaculate, couldn't fault it personally. One of the best I've seen in terms of aesthetics. The plot - for the most part - was pretty good. Benedict Cumberbatch was simply a great cast, his acting made Doctor StrangeVisually the film was immaculate, couldn't fault it personally. One of the best I've seen in terms of aesthetics. The plot - for the most part - was pretty good. Benedict Cumberbatch was simply a great cast, his acting made Doctor Strange all the more enjoyable.

The only element which prevents the film from being amazing as a whole, was the uneasy vagueness I felt from certain scenes. This was mainly to do with how some key moments were explained - I felt that at times it was a bit too unclear for my taste making the film slightly convoluted and difficult to follow.

Overall, a very enjoyable film.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Nov 6, 2016
One of best movies of the year, of the action genre superheroes; the humor and action are properly balanced and the SFX excels The Matrix and Inception. Try to watch it on astounding 3D.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
NintendoEverNov 7, 2016
É INCRÍVEL! A fórmula típica dos filmes da Marvel está ali, porém foi dominada pela complexidade do "universo" do personagem. Em alguns momentos lembra Matrix por conta da filosofia. São abordados temas como multiverso, crenças, paradoxos,É INCRÍVEL! A fórmula típica dos filmes da Marvel está ali, porém foi dominada pela complexidade do "universo" do personagem. Em alguns momentos lembra Matrix por conta da filosofia. São abordados temas como multiverso, crenças, paradoxos, analogias... Também contém uma linguagem verbal e visual complexa, é algo bem incomum nos longas da Marvel Studios, já que ela procura simplificar as coisas o máximo possível para torna-las mais viáveis a todos. Na sessão que eu estava teve muitos adultos que "boiaram", agora imaginem as crianças. As atuações de Cumberbatch e da swinton como ânsia foram perfeitas portanto contribuíram bastante. Pela primeira vez a Marvel não fez um filme acessível a todos, não que isso seja ruim, pelo contrário, é ótimo! Porque assim ela pode contar a história do doutor estranho nas telonas de maneira que mantivesse a qualidade das HQs. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
ely4Nov 5, 2016
Overall feeling, its good. Repeatable viewings? not so sure. There are a few things that bother me about the MCU now, it feels like they need to throw in jokes in every scene that gets intense. It just throws you out of the movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
TrevorsViewDec 9, 2016
Meet neurosurgeon Dr. Stephen Strange. He is as egocentric as any politician, yet as clever at his job as any detective. The well-acclaimed British actor Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game, Sherlock) takes the stage in the MarvelMeet neurosurgeon Dr. Stephen Strange. He is as egocentric as any politician, yet as clever at his job as any detective. The well-acclaimed British actor Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game, Sherlock) takes the stage in the Marvel Cinematic Universe to depict one of the cleverest caped crusaders within the franchise. He is certainly a delight as always, but it’s the unusual approach to Doctor Strange that may either paralyze you with amazement or scare you away.

His life at this point is pretty normal: go to work, save a life, have a fight with his nagging coworker/girlfriend played by Academy Award nominee Rachel McAdams (Midnight in Paris, Spotlight), cherry pick the patients he wishes to save, and gloat about the spectacular perfection that is his life. That is, until an uncalled for car crash leaves his hands paralyzed with severe nerve damage.

…Which leads him to Nepal, where an Ancient One is said to be there with knowledge of spiritual healing. It’s not in his comfort zone but hey? What has he got to lose?

So he goes under spiritual training by a cult, receiving far more than he bargained for. Next thing he knows, he is dawned with the abilities to remove his spirit from his material body, create portals in midair, and fly with the powers of a levitating cape, and all in an effort to save the world from an outer demon.

My biggest problem with this highly entertaining (and funny) addition to the MCU is its swaying away from the familiar gadgets and aliens of the previous films and more into an out-of-place exploration of man’s relationship with the occult. It’s not odd to say, especially considering that they do not do a very good job at portraying it.

Normally, if there was a cult such as this one who depend on old spiritual tradition, why are they of all different races around the world? We have one White woman, one Black man, and one Asian, and several others who are from places I cannot possibly pinpoint. It may not matter to you, but this really hurts the film’s believability.

Although I do give director Scott Derrickson (The Exorcism of Emily Rose) credit for telling the story as if it were a real Buddhist or Hindu legend, while at the same time a part of our own modern culture. He does this best through the most obvious yet brilliantly executed way of combining the two: colorful trips through the spiritual universe that wows you off guard, especially when viewed behind 3-D glasses. While not in the infinite realms of the nonmaterialistic universe, Dr. Strange and his comrades fight against the assassins of time and space through showcases of city environments spinning and losing form within itself, as if you’re watching Inception though a kaleidoscope.

Older traditions of Hindu training are also exploited here in the same fashion done by The Matrix: Dr. Strange is thrown to the top of Mt. Everest to test how quickly he can form a portal back to base. It would generate shrieks of joy from all anime fans, but it later turns out to be a missed chance of character development, which leads into this film’s biggest problem…

With something as controversial and delicate as occult practices driving the Marvel Cinematic Universe, I doubt there could be a reasonable way to do something like this under Marvel’s wing perfectly. I do appreciate the risks that they have been taking to be different with each of their films (just compare and contrast Guardians of the Galaxy with Captain America: Civil War for a minute). But frankly, some risks are not worth taking. It was worth it to create the mind-bending kaleidoscopic fight sequences, but when Marvel’s name is attached, I do not believe that it would help with their branding.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
longjetty7Nov 7, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was practically unbearable to watch. First of all, the characters are boring and one-dimensional. Tilda Swinton is the only interesting character, and Doctor Strange himself is so pretentious and unlikeable, I legitimately did not care at all whether he succeeded. As far as the plot goes, it's incredibly basic and poorly written. Basically, Doctor Strange gets in a car accident and has nerve damage in his hands, so he goes to Nepal or whatever and learns magic from the "ancient one" to heal them. But then there's a guy who used to be a student of the ancient one who is searching for eternal life, which I guess makes him a villain, so Doctor Strange tries to stop him. And then there's some evil demon in another universe who wants to destroy our universe, and Doctor Strange defeats him, and then defeats the original bad guy. It's so stupid. Anyway, my biggest complaint with the movie is how they never really explain how the magic works or what the limitations of it are. It seems like they can teleport wherever they want, and turn back time, and look into the future, and do pretty much whatever, which had me constantly wondering why our heroes had any troubles at all. For example, when the one bad guy stole the page out of the book, why didn't the ancient one just teleport the page back? Or make the book go back in time like Doctor Strange did later on? And when Doctor Strange was stuck in that infinite loop in that dark universe, how did he manage to break out of it? What's the point of making such a big deal about getting stuck in an infinite loop if you can just end it whenever you want? That doesn't seem very infinite to me. It was all so silly and confusing, and not really because it was complicated, but because the writers probably didn't think this stuff through.

The one good thing I will say about this movie is that the special effects were pretty impressive. Unfortunately, good effects alone don't make for a good movie, so I still would not recommend this movie to anyone.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
6
MicrOxydeNov 4, 2016
Doctor Strange allows the mind of the spectator to wonder but the movie itself lacks real characters (like almost all MCU characters). Kaecilius, the vilain, portrayed by Mads Mikelsen, is just plain ridiculous. He's one of the less developedDoctor Strange allows the mind of the spectator to wonder but the movie itself lacks real characters (like almost all MCU characters). Kaecilius, the vilain, portrayed by Mads Mikelsen, is just plain ridiculous. He's one of the less developed characters, not only in this movie, but in all the MCU.
Another problem with the movie in the plot. As a whole, it's very, very basic. Dialogue scenes followed by a combat followed by another dialogue scene and so on. It's the basic formula of all late MCU movies but this time it's too much.
The movie does have it's moment. The beginning is very captivating, and Doctor Strange is a good character.
In the end, the movie shows all the problems that the MCU suffers : boring characters and a very basic plot, but the visuals and the beginning of the movie saves it all.
I believe that Marvel should really change their formula by giving their chance to unorthodox directors so that we get more polished movies.
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
7
TheRavingTimesNov 4, 2016
Doctor Strange is a thrilling movie with its breathtaking visuals and effects along with a thrilling origin story of a greedy doctor turning himself into a hero. The plot can be confusing and a lot of the main characters are eitherDoctor Strange is a thrilling movie with its breathtaking visuals and effects along with a thrilling origin story of a greedy doctor turning himself into a hero. The plot can be confusing and a lot of the main characters are either underdeveloped or never seem to have any importance within the plot save for Doctor Strange and the Ancient One. I've also had some issues with some minor plot holes ranging from an untrained wizard fending off one of the world's greatest threats to the time-loop paradox, but overall it leaves a lot of potential for future installments in the MCU involving Doctor Strange. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
roman_emperorNov 7, 2016
Dr. Strange is officially my favorite movie in the Marvel cinematic universe. I felt the humor, the acting was good, and the universe it created just felt right.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
The__ShowmanNov 4, 2016
Age old cinematic formula which is just looping in Hollywood especially in Marvel movies. Its the same story again with better VFX of-course plus Sherlock (Cumberbatch). Age old puns (some people do call it humor, but I don't), beaten toAge old cinematic formula which is just looping in Hollywood especially in Marvel movies. Its the same story again with better VFX of-course plus Sherlock (Cumberbatch). Age old puns (some people do call it humor, but I don't), beaten to death screenplay and Stan Lee (tired of your cameos) makes a stodgy Normal (not anymore Marvel) movie. I believe we need much better movies with good scripts and screenplays.

Just Style NO Substance!!!!
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
GetDaRekM8Nov 4, 2016
As a fan of both franchises DC and Marvel, I like to keep an open mind (no pun intended) when it comes to watching MCU movies and DCEU ones as well. Going into this movie, I’m not very familiar with Dr. Strange as a character so I went to seeAs a fan of both franchises DC and Marvel, I like to keep an open mind (no pun intended) when it comes to watching MCU movies and DCEU ones as well. Going into this movie, I’m not very familiar with Dr. Strange as a character so I went to see the movie with very low knowledge about the character. I came out of this movie surprised about how good it was, everything in this movie from start to finish is amazing. The pacing is extremely well balanced, I didn’t feel a bit of boredom throughout the entire movie, the script writing was excellent and all the humor felt in place. The plot was very good and was explained using a very good story, it didn’t have any boring or uninteresting sub-plots that have no relevance in the movie. The action sequences are very well done, don’t let me get started about how amazing the visuals were. Probably the only downside to this movie is the villain, it’s seems to be a reoccurring problem in the MCU. The villain Kaecilius wasn’t really flushed out like all the other characters in the movie and his motivation was very unclear and was left unexplained throughout the course of the movie. To summarize it, Dr. Strange is an amazing movie with very minimum downsides. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
McGetumsNov 7, 2016
Marvel does it again. Is anyone really surprised.
Time and time again Marvel hits it out of the park while at the same time reminding me why I hate the DC cinematic universe. I’ve waited half my life for superhero movies and I couldn’t be
Marvel does it again. Is anyone really surprised.
Time and time again Marvel hits it out of the park while at the same time reminding me why I hate the DC cinematic universe. I’ve waited half my life for superhero movies and I couldn’t be happier with what Marvel is doing. I mean, wow. They promised something different and they actually delivered and my god, was it beautiful.
Visually Dr Strange was “astounding” Marvel finally brings magic into the MCU and it was unlike anything I’ve seen in a comic book movie. I can’t really even describe it. Shapes, colors, rotating and expanding in infinite loops and sequences, it’s just something you have to “see.” It’s a “go to the theater” type of movie. I might go back and see it in IMAX just cause it was so visually astounding. As great as it was to look at I do have to mention the “fast-cut” editing almost ruined the fight scenes for me, but that’s really my only gripe.
The acting was good, the characters were developed, and it was faithful to the comic. The Villain, Kaecilius, was pretty good too, I mean you could see his point of view and it made sense. Also, I thought Mordo was “good.” Chiwetel Ejiofor is one of my favorite actors and putting him in anything make the movie better. He didn’t have alot to do in Dr Strange, but it was a great way to develop a relatable super villain with depth. I’m glad they treated him right. The ending was so smart and different, just like co screenplay writer C. Robert Carlyle promised. That’s how you fight a god! It reminded me of stories about Greek/Roman gods getting bested by humans or an aesop’s fable. The movie was smart like and very artistic. It’s in my forth place spot for top Marvel movies.

the fast cutting is what keeps it from a perfect score
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
bigjon1958Nov 18, 2016
Great movie, the story line flowed well and was true to the character. The acting was superb – possibly a few award nominations coming. I really can’t think of any flaws with the movie and when it ended and we arrived home, my boys (I tookGreat movie, the story line flowed well and was true to the character. The acting was superb – possibly a few award nominations coming. I really can’t think of any flaws with the movie and when it ended and we arrived home, my boys (I took my 9 and 11 year old sons) immediately googled to see when the sequel will be coming. The characters are well defined – you get to know them well. There is lots of action and when there isn’t action, there is intrigue. What more can I say – the movie kept me/us engaged from start to finish. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKNov 7, 2016
A fun film with an excellent cast. I had had enough of films based on Marvel comics a long time ago, but I wanted to see three of my favorite actors (Benedict Cumberbatch, Mads Mickelsson, and Tilda Swinton) since I trust them not to makeA fun film with an excellent cast. I had had enough of films based on Marvel comics a long time ago, but I wanted to see three of my favorite actors (Benedict Cumberbatch, Mads Mickelsson, and Tilda Swinton) since I trust them not to make dull movies. I was rewarded with a film I thoroughly enjoyed, even with its crazy philosophy and wild (and occasionally cheesy) special effects. My one criticism was that it got a bit too long after a while, and I kept saying to myself “I thought this film was only two hours.” The Easter egg is also a lot of fun, and even witty! I think this is a film I will watch with great pleasure over and over again – even without 3D, which didn’t seem to me to add all that much. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Twist_Of_FateNov 13, 2016
Quite epic,visuals are amazing as they have said,if you haven't seen it you definitely should worth every penny,quite a story line too.The scenes,dimensions and worlds are really detailed
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
dtlNov 5, 2016
It was extremely well done, but not special. It was a beautiful movie, with great special effects, but no pictures I'll keep in my mind. The story was logical and well executed, giving a good amount of characterization and a significantIt was extremely well done, but not special. It was a beautiful movie, with great special effects, but no pictures I'll keep in my mind. The story was logical and well executed, giving a good amount of characterization and a significant understanding of the stakes, without spending any excess time on side trips. The pacing kept the movie moving forwards at all times without sacrificing the individual scenes. The actors personified their characters effectively. It also provides some good hooks for the future in a way that enhances this movie, and without ever feeling like they should have explored them further in this movie.

I will never need to watch this movie again, but it was an extremely nice way to spend a couple hours, and it gives me hope for the future of the character in MCU, and somewhat for the MCU itself.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews