Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 18, 2004
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 244 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
32
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
AndrewH.Jul 10, 2006
One of my friends told me it was the funniest movies he'd ever seen. After I saw it, I realized my friend is stupid. The only good part of the entire movie was Chuck Norris's cameo. Other than that, the whole movie was stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
M.DayeFeb 4, 2006
Faecal, even for a Ben Stiller film. He has really crossed the line from mildly amusing to tiresome and completely uninventive. Not worth any credit.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RodrigoDMay 26, 2009
Probably the worst movie I have ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobH.Oct 29, 2005
Totally Rubbish! Very unoriginal & tacky! Rubiish punchlines, Don't waste your time, go walk the dog or something.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AdamK.Jul 3, 2004
Haha, look, that kid got hit with a ball, right in his face!! Oh my god, that is SOOO funny! What a piece of garbage this movie is. Ben stiller is one joke done 20 times over - over the course of 2 hours. Oh you're a pirate? Guess what, Haha, look, that kid got hit with a ball, right in his face!! Oh my god, that is SOOO funny! What a piece of garbage this movie is. Ben stiller is one joke done 20 times over - over the course of 2 hours. Oh you're a pirate? Guess what, you're not funny. When chuck norris is your best hope for survival, you need to re-evaluate your writer's comedic talents. I was stone faced during this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KelR.Jul 4, 2004
This movie has no witty humor, it's chalked full brainless jokes. When someone gets hit in the groin the first time with a dodge ball it's a little funny, but after 100+ times that's just downright stupid. However, even though This movie has no witty humor, it's chalked full brainless jokes. When someone gets hit in the groin the first time with a dodge ball it's a little funny, but after 100+ times that's just downright stupid. However, even though I thought it was excruciating to watch there was a good amount of laughing going on from other people, so if you like humor without any satire or wit then this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryS.Jul 8, 2004
A perfect example of what's wrong with the American movie industry! What a poor excuse for entertainment! A movie for some adolesencent boys.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Jun 23, 2004
The gym rivalry between Peter LaFleur and White Goodman reminds me of Cheers versus Gary's Old Town Tavern, because LaFleur is very Sam Malone-like. He owns his own business and the clientele are full of average joes (and they're The gym rivalry between Peter LaFleur and White Goodman reminds me of Cheers versus Gary's Old Town Tavern, because LaFleur is very Sam Malone-like. He owns his own business and the clientele are full of average joes (and they're both ladies men) Both Cheers and Average Joe Gym have a uniformed customer; a mailman and pirate respectively. So "Cheers" could be construed as a template for "Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story"; so what? Is it funny? Yes, sort of. When I go to imbecilic comedies, "Zoolander" is the film I use to gauge "quality". Ben Stiller is doggedly amusing at times, but for real dodgeball laughs, check out the geeks in "Freaks and Geeks". Of note, Vince Vaughn's performance belongs in "The Mighty Ducks". He's acting, while everybody else is mugging for the camera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JonWJul 28, 2004
This movie is pretty bad...the comedy is lowbrow - but not lowbrow in a good sense ala "airplane" or "naked gun" (I cant believe I am even using those two hallmarks of comedy in the same paragraph as this movie) Dodgeball has its moments, This movie is pretty bad...the comedy is lowbrow - but not lowbrow in a good sense ala "airplane" or "naked gun" (I cant believe I am even using those two hallmarks of comedy in the same paragraph as this movie) Dodgeball has its moments, all of them are Stillers but ultimately this movie boils down to a bunch of terrible jokes, bad acting, an atrocious script, and an indifferent attitude for the viewer. Not to mention that when Stiller does make you laugh, which he will, it is just recycled material that you have seen a million times before. AN unimaginative, unoriginal bore of a movie. D/D- Save your money and go see Bourne Supremacy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardG.Jul 3, 2004
Alot of people, like movies, just because the saw it, they like the movie just because a certain actor is in it, they like spin. You know what? Those people SUCK. and this movie sucks, it is unfunny and cheesy, I was not looking for and big Alot of people, like movies, just because the saw it, they like the movie just because a certain actor is in it, they like spin. You know what? Those people SUCK. and this movie sucks, it is unfunny and cheesy, I was not looking for and big drama, or Robert deniro stuff, but I wanted to laugh, and this didnt make me laugh. It was very stupid and seemed rushed. It seems like many of you have never seen the comedic "Airplane!" I feel sorry for you, this is what you are left with, and this is what you have to love. I would recomend this for tta rental though, after all Ben stiller fans will see anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarrinMSep 22, 2004
Pure s.... Stiller is average, Vaughn looks like he cant be bothered...that this tops the box office sums up the state of American society...dumb down any further and you would be braindead! Sad waste of two hours of my life I will never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TylerN.Jan 9, 2005
Dodgeball has to be one of the most disapointing movies I have ever seen, even after already having low expectations. The overly cliche "group of losers vs winners" comedy resembles a made-for-tv movie for UPN rather than a theatrical Dodgeball has to be one of the most disapointing movies I have ever seen, even after already having low expectations. The overly cliche "group of losers vs winners" comedy resembles a made-for-tv movie for UPN rather than a theatrical release. I personally can't believe Ben Stiller stooped so low. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
OmarYounisJun 22, 2004
Okay, to the lady who burst out in uncontrollable laughter everytime someone is hit with something: Do yourself a big favor and go buy the american home videos box set. You will wet your pants many times over. I'm sorry, but this movie Okay, to the lady who burst out in uncontrollable laughter everytime someone is hit with something: Do yourself a big favor and go buy the american home videos box set. You will wet your pants many times over. I'm sorry, but this movie was redundant, predictable and cheesy. I laughed out loud once, at the very end, other than that, i smiled a few times, but for the most part I didn't break a stoned-face expression. None of the characters had any depth whatsoever, and often times jokes were dragged on beyond their life expectancy. Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn deserve credit for doing the best you can possibly do with such empty material. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PeteR.Jul 23, 2004
The plot was so ridiculous even Ben Stiller should have been smart enough to reject it. A completely unbelievable script is perfectly fine for a movie this silly, but unfortunately it needs to be funny to back that up. This movie had a few The plot was so ridiculous even Ben Stiller should have been smart enough to reject it. A completely unbelievable script is perfectly fine for a movie this silly, but unfortunately it needs to be funny to back that up. This movie had a few funny moments but was ultimately NOT worth seeing. Obviously the acting is nothing special either. I wouldn't bother going to see it unless it was free. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinR.Jul 31, 2004
Pretty much a cookie cutter sports comedy in which the attempts at laughter are stunningly predictable. The best thing about this movie is that it's over quickly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful