Dogma

Dogma Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The latest battle in the eternal war between Good and Evil has come to New Jersey in the late, late 20th Century. In Kevin Smith's comic fantasia Dogma, angels, demons, apostles and prophets (of a sort) walk among the cynics and innocents of America and duke it out for the fate of humankind.The latest battle in the eternal war between Good and Evil has come to New Jersey in the late, late 20th Century. In Kevin Smith's comic fantasia Dogma, angels, demons, apostles and prophets (of a sort) walk among the cynics and innocents of America and duke it out for the fate of humankind. (Lions Gate Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. It's not every day you get to see a movie that begins in satire and ends in reverence, but then, for Kevin Smith, they may ultimately be the same thing.
  2. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    A tortured testament from a true believer.
  3. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    Has that rarest of qualities in movies that think of themselves as religious. I'm talking about the vision thing. And the ability to make morality entertaining.
  4. Smith has fashioned a complex, contemporary Bible epic on his own terms. By turns crafty and clunky, pious and profane, it's clearly a labor of love.
  5. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Foreman
    63
    Kevin Smith's attempt to combine sketchy low comedy with long-winded theological speculation results in a mostly unfunny and occasionally tedious mess.
  6. Portland Oregonian
    Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    58
    Dotted with real laughs and held together by some solid acting, but it's built of a fairly flaccid narrative and some really amateurish sequences.
  7. 30
    A tediously childish exhibition.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    My third favorite movie of all time. It's a refreshingly intelligent comedy that makes fun of religion without any atheistic agenda. I'm aMy third favorite movie of all time. It's a refreshingly intelligent comedy that makes fun of religion without any atheistic agenda. I'm a Christian, and I didn't find this movie offensive at all (which actually suprised me). If your a Catholic on the other hand...watch with caution. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2014
    10
    One of the most entertaining / humorous films ever made. It is a shame that this movie is nearly unknown. It has an interesting and funny takeOne of the most entertaining / humorous films ever made. It is a shame that this movie is nearly unknown. It has an interesting and funny take on religion but it stays also true to religious teachings. The cast is perfect, all actors did a great job. The plot is the most entertaining material I have seen in years. Bonus: Jay and Silent Bob are in the movie. So the entertainment and laughing is guaranteed. For all religious people that will complain: I am a christian! But I don't believe in hate and hatemonger / preachers of hate. Expand
  3. Riren
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    A movie about religion that will tick off staunch atheists and zealots? Well hey! It's a mix of blasphemy and profanity that are always A movie about religion that will tick off staunch atheists and zealots? Well hey! It's a mix of blasphemy and profanity that are always measured to be just implausible or irreverent enough to be disarmingly funny. There is substance wedged down inside it: defense of individual faith, the lineage of Christ, the hypocrisy of the confident. Silent Bob is a cute reoccuring character in Smith's movies, but why does the director insert himself into his movie about religion, and play a mute? Yet where other religious movies watch like a thesis, this is more like a conversation with a smart and funny friend. And really, there's nothing so useful in spirituality as that. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    7
    An interesting take on religion to say the least. Probably not the most popular movie in Christian circles, Dogma produces an everyday subjectAn interesting take on religion to say the least. Probably not the most popular movie in Christian circles, Dogma produces an everyday subject matter in a original way. The movie did go on slightly too long but I did enjoy seeing a bit of Alan Rickman. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    A pretty funny movie and one I would recommend to anyone who likes Kevin Smiths movies (although it is one I would think most Smith fans haveA pretty funny movie and one I would recommend to anyone who likes Kevin Smiths movies (although it is one I would think most Smith fans have seen by now). A great premise done very well. My only two real problems with this movie is the whole part with the excrimental, which was more just dumb and not so funny and I am a fan Kevin Smith and Jay and Silent Bob but there are times I find Jay very annoying but that mainly depends on my mood I think. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Excremental aside this is a really good movie. Interesting premise and fine comedic performances from the usual View Askewniverse cast. SimplyExcremental aside this is a really good movie. Interesting premise and fine comedic performances from the usual View Askewniverse cast. Simply a good time. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    0
    As soon as I saw Ben Affleck appear, and that was after about 180 seconds, I knew this movie would suck the life out of you. The opening sceneAs soon as I saw Ben Affleck appear, and that was after about 180 seconds, I knew this movie would suck the life out of you. The opening scene is like a cheap home video made by kids. The second scene is a priest presenting a ridiculous statue of Jesus to a small group of reporters. Did noone ever tell the filmmakers that crowd scenes are either to be large, or to be avoided at all costs, because otherwise they look cheap ? Anyway, we know Ben Affleck and Matt Damon are friends, but Matt's career took off, while Ben's did not.
    Another one for the bin of worst movies of all time. How bad can they get ? Unbelievable.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith

    All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith Image
    Published: February 26, 2010
    From "Clerks" to "Cop Out," Kevin Smith has bounced from success to failure. We examine the ups and downs in the career of one of indie film's most legendary directors.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.