Kino International | Release Date: June 25, 2010
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
15
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
jeremypMar 23, 2011
I get it, it's a metaphor! Lasted thirty minutes hoping to see where it was headed and finalIy gave in to the inner voice yelling "who cares?" Intellectuals will love it, pragmatic realists won't.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
majinuniJun 9, 2011
I love disturbing movies, independent movies, foreign movies--I thought this film was tailor made for me. However, by the end, the gratuitous violence, repeated crassness, and shock after shock after shock had worn me down completely. This isI love disturbing movies, independent movies, foreign movies--I thought this film was tailor made for me. However, by the end, the gratuitous violence, repeated crassness, and shock after shock after shock had worn me down completely. This is a movie with great potential and an excellent premise, and several scenes are very well done. But the movie is so obsessed with being Disturbing (capital D) and Shocking that it feels like you are being repeatedly hit over the head with a sledgehammer. Exhausting! This film is not funny, or entertaining--it is hard work. I much preferred Haneke's Funny Games and even von Trier's Antichrist (though the last also grew monotonous and difficult to watch, I felt it had more artistic merit, and frankly I was less bored). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrDec 12, 2010
A mix between Lynch and Haneke, this disturbed piece of story of manipulation to the highest degree, with very hard and haunting performances by the entire cast, captivates the audience and does not let go. It is not a story for everyone toA mix between Lynch and Haneke, this disturbed piece of story of manipulation to the highest degree, with very hard and haunting performances by the entire cast, captivates the audience and does not let go. It is not a story for everyone to watch, yet if you do it will be one you will want to talk about. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
DKayFeb 4, 2011
Dogtooth is crazy! Literally...About once every 10 minutes I found myself asking the screen, "Are you **cking kidding me?!" Still, I loved every moment of it. Reminded me of how I feel watching [insert any Michael Haneke film here]. And then,Dogtooth is crazy! Literally...About once every 10 minutes I found myself asking the screen, "Are you **cking kidding me?!" Still, I loved every moment of it. Reminded me of how I feel watching [insert any Michael Haneke film here]. And then, once you realize what's actually happening-- my take is the parents are pyscho's who are training their kids like they're dogs because they're not over the death of their first son-- only then can you embrace the genius of the story, the precision of the acting and the realization that now matter how bad your parents were, at least they didn't brainwash you into calling the salt shaker a telephone. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
paultoesSep 11, 2010
this movie is disturbingly funny and ultimately sad, leaving you to ponder what is next for this family of creatures we have come to know. i give props for the courageous performances and for leaving thoughts and ideas that will linger longthis movie is disturbingly funny and ultimately sad, leaving you to ponder what is next for this family of creatures we have come to know. i give props for the courageous performances and for leaving thoughts and ideas that will linger long afterward. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
NicoDaFlagburnaJan 14, 2011
An effective assault on the moral fibres of human mentality, exposing the role of psychology as manipulated, criticizing humans as controlling, society as complicit to acts of social deviance and ultimately presenting the human as imprisonedAn effective assault on the moral fibres of human mentality, exposing the role of psychology as manipulated, criticizing humans as controlling, society as complicit to acts of social deviance and ultimately presenting the human as imprisoned with a natural tendency to question boundaries of existence. The topics of incest, prostitution, homosexuality, domestic abuse and cruelty to animals are intellectual properties highlighting social boundaries which directly reflects the physical boundary the family exists within. Psychologically disturbing and expertly constructed in equal measure making this one of the most valid films of the past decade. 10/10 96/100 Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
arislafJul 8, 2015
Seriously, on of the worst movies ever. Even disaster movie was better.. Avoid it at all costs. Boring, slow action, some sex scenes for fill in, slow talking characters..
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
pinattarDec 26, 2011
this is like no other movie i've ever seen. some parts of the movie lag but the majority of the film is outstanding. its driven by great performances (respect to the actors for taking on their roles) and such a disturbing and unique story. ithis is like no other movie i've ever seen. some parts of the movie lag but the majority of the film is outstanding. its driven by great performances (respect to the actors for taking on their roles) and such a disturbing and unique story. i agree with the other reviews its not for everyone, but those who do watch it will not forget it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jessetaylor25Apr 9, 2011
"Dogtooth" may be the most **** up film EVER. I can't say I'm overly familiar with Greek cinema, but this certainly takes the cake as the best and worst Greek film that I've seen. Rating this movie is difficult because this is either a"Dogtooth" may be the most **** up film EVER. I can't say I'm overly familiar with Greek cinema, but this certainly takes the cake as the best and worst Greek film that I've seen. Rating this movie is difficult because this is either a brilliant sadistic masterpiece or a sheer disaster, I'm still not sure which (although I'm leaning toward the former). Director Giorgos Lanthimos won the Prix Un Certain Regard at the Cannes Film Festival for his ludicrous yet terrifying portrait of a family sheltered from society who know nothing outside the walls of their country estate. The film is so completely in-your-face that even in the most disturbing of scenes it's so hard to even bat an eye. I don't know if Lanthimos drew inspiration from the films of Lars Von Trier, but it certainly seems that way. The ending was weak and I would have loved for there to be more explanation as to why the parents shelter their children so, but it really doesn't matter in the end because you'll be too busy trying to pick up your brain off of the floor. "Dogtooth" is a genuinely original yet completely deranged film that seems like the lovechild of Von Trier and Haneke... and that's not a bad thing at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
wannabecleverAug 18, 2011
I loved this movie. But perhaps you should ignore this review. I just finished watching this fantastically disturbing movie, and I'm giddy. I haven't seen anything so original in such long a long time. I love to be surprised by oddity andI loved this movie. But perhaps you should ignore this review. I just finished watching this fantastically disturbing movie, and I'm giddy. I haven't seen anything so original in such long a long time. I love to be surprised by oddity and ya know, most movie plots just don't do that anymore. Okay, so there was admittedly something missing in the storyline and character development --those kids apparently had no natural born curiousities about life until their late teens? come on! I would've figured out some of their parents' nonsensical teachings at age 3 --but kudos to the screenwriter for showing us a new idea... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
kalamarisJan 17, 2012
An unusual movie with a sick story. I felt mixed feelings when watching it; first the officious father, then the kids' desire to explore the outer world... of course it's not bad, but it's for sure one of the weirdest and most surrealisticAn unusual movie with a sick story. I felt mixed feelings when watching it; first the officious father, then the kids' desire to explore the outer world... of course it's not bad, but it's for sure one of the weirdest and most surrealistic films I have watched. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
Dogtooth is a film where the viewing experience is very much dependent on the sensibilities of the viewer. For myself, I found it quite absurd and ridiculous from the outset and was not shocked (much). I rate Dogtooth up mostly because IDogtooth is a film where the viewing experience is very much dependent on the sensibilities of the viewer. For myself, I found it quite absurd and ridiculous from the outset and was not shocked (much). I rate Dogtooth up mostly because I enjoyed the indie style of shooting, reminiscent of Submarine and Wes Andersen films, which made gave the film a more satirical than disturbing character. After reading other reactions, I wondered whether this is a film that ought to be laughed at or if it ought to induce cringing (at least one scene, in particular does). After thinking about it, I thought that yes, satire ought to be laughed at and the subject matter ought to be seen as quite stupid; horror and fear are not an appropriate response. If anything, horror and fear bolster something that should be opposed. However, having some parts, here and there, that are more serious than funny is also good, since we do not want to just totally laugh off topics that are important. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
LynApr 2, 2011
In retrospect, the word "Hilarious!" on the DVD cover seems like a sadistic joke. The moments of dark, nasty humor in this movie have little resemblance to hilarity; at the same time, you can't look away. I'm not a big fan of allegory, soIn retrospect, the word "Hilarious!" on the DVD cover seems like a sadistic joke. The moments of dark, nasty humor in this movie have little resemblance to hilarity; at the same time, you can't look away. I'm not a big fan of allegory, so feel that dissecting "Dogtooth" as a statement about fascism is overwrought and unnecessary. On its own -- with its nihilistic weirdness so creatively framed and filmed -- it is haunting and thought-provoking. Hated the ending, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jarcMay 9, 2011
This is w/o a doubt one of the most disturbing films I have ever seen. Top 3. I did not find any humor in it at all and there were so many moments when my jaw literally dropped open. But because it stirred such emotions, for me, it wasThis is w/o a doubt one of the most disturbing films I have ever seen. Top 3. I did not find any humor in it at all and there were so many moments when my jaw literally dropped open. But because it stirred such emotions, for me, it was still a great, great film. I would have rated it a ten but the ending was not good, despite the director's reasoning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
POVApr 3, 2011
In order to be irreplaceable, one must always be different? Dogtooth is interesting because its different. Lanthimos created a unique experiment-tale that is based on a very interesting thought ( what you see is what you are, your environmentIn order to be irreplaceable, one must always be different? Dogtooth is interesting because its different. Lanthimos created a unique experiment-tale that is based on a very interesting thought ( what you see is what you are, your environment defines not only your identity, but your choice of words, and what you think they each symbolize, can really mess with your mind). Yes, but beside the 'different' angles, the pastel colors evoking a balmy Greek breeze that chills your spine while watching the surreal and thriller-esque story about a family, what is the point? what is the conflict? It makes me ask, why has there not been one single Greek movie, after Zorbas the Greek, that is merely a good story, well told? Watch to think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
akoolaJun 22, 2011
This movie is exeptional. It's not a movie from which a viewer should seek existential metaphors, but it should be regarded to aesthetically. From that point of view it is nothing short of spectacular!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TLHGSep 25, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is a nice idea behind this movie in terms of context and allegory, and the best part of experiencing the movie is figuring this out during the first act (specially). Once you figured this idea out, it is exciting because it has great potential. Unfortunately, for my style, the movie follows an, emotionless obvious line. Plus, editing, cinematography, and countless filler scenes in this movie are unnecessarily amateurish, making the movie slowww, boring, and distant from the audience. Just a dull, empty experience. The movie does develop a style people into the cult, intellectual movie scene might enjoy. For more pragmatic folks, watch Room or The Skin I Live In instead (a similar captivity motive, but much more involving, interesting, and well thought). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmObsessedNov 27, 2016
Pretty good. Dogtooth may be a little too low key for me personally however I can appreciate its craft as a drama. Three teenagers live in a walled off compound owned by there mother and father and they have no experience with the outsidePretty good. Dogtooth may be a little too low key for me personally however I can appreciate its craft as a drama. Three teenagers live in a walled off compound owned by there mother and father and they have no experience with the outside world. This leads them to be confused about a lot of rather mundane things. They believe cats eat people, sex is a emotionless act and their canine teeth (hence the name of the film) hold magic powers. Dogtooth is darkly funny, well acted and it works as a nice little nihilistic microcosm of humanity. Think nature vs nurture vs art house pretension. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews