User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    An unusual movie with a sick story. I felt mixed feelings when watching it; first the officious father, then the kids' desire to explore the outer world... of course it's not bad, but it's for sure one of the weirdest and most surrealistic films I have watched.
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    this is like no other movie i've ever seen. some parts of the movie lag but the majority of the film is outstanding. its driven by great performances (respect to the actors for taking on their roles) and such a disturbing and unique story. i agree with the other reviews its not for everyone, but those who do watch it will not forget it.
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    I loved this movie. But perhaps you should ignore this review. I just finished watching this fantastically disturbing movie, and I'm giddy. I haven't seen anything so original in such long a long time. I love to be surprised by oddity and ya know, most movie plots just don't do that anymore. Okay, so there was admittedly something missing in the storyline and character development --those kids apparently had no natural born curiousities about life until their late teens? come on! I would've figured out some of their parents' nonsensical teachings at age 3 --but kudos to the screenwriter for showing us a new idea... Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    5
    This movie is exeptional. It's not a movie from which a viewer should seek existential metaphors, but it should be regarded to aesthetically. From that point of view it is nothing short of spectacular!
  5. Jun 9, 2011
    2
    I love disturbing movies, independent movies, foreign movies--I thought this film was tailor made for me. However, by the end, the gratuitous violence, repeated crassness, and shock after shock after shock had worn me down completely. This is a movie with great potential and an excellent premise, and several scenes are very well done. But the movie is so obsessed with being Disturbing (capital D) and Shocking that it feels like you are being repeatedly hit over the head with a sledgehammer. Exhausting! This film is not funny, or entertaining--it is hard work. I much preferred Haneke's Funny Games and even von Trier's Antichrist (though the last also grew monotonous and difficult to watch, I felt it had more artistic merit, and frankly I was less bored). Expand
  6. May 9, 2011
    9
    This is w/o a doubt one of the most disturbing films I have ever seen. Top 3. I did not find any humor in it at all and there were so many moments when my jaw literally dropped open. But because it stirred such emotions, for me, it was still a great, great film. I would have rated it a ten but the ending was not good, despite the director's reasoning.
  7. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    "Dogtooth" may be the most **** up film EVER. I can't say I'm overly familiar with Greek cinema, but this certainly takes the cake as the best and worst Greek film that I've seen. Rating this movie is difficult because this is either a brilliant sadistic masterpiece or a sheer disaster, I'm still not sure which (although I'm leaning toward the former). Director Giorgos Lanthimos won the Prix Un Certain Regard at the Cannes Film Festival for his ludicrous yet terrifying portrait of a family sheltered from society who know nothing outside the walls of their country estate. The film is so completely in-your-face that even in the most disturbing of scenes it's so hard to even bat an eye. I don't know if Lanthimos drew inspiration from the films of Lars Von Trier, but it certainly seems that way. The ending was weak and I would have loved for there to be more explanation as to why the parents shelter their children so, but it really doesn't matter in the end because you'll be too busy trying to pick up your brain off of the floor. "Dogtooth" is a genuinely original yet completely deranged film that seems like the lovechild of Von Trier and Haneke... and that's not a bad thing at all. Expand
  8. POV
    Apr 3, 2011
    4
    In order to be irreplaceable, one must always be different? Dogtooth is interesting because its different. Lanthimos created a unique experiment-tale that is based on a very interesting thought ( what you see is what you are, your environment defines not only your identity, but your choice of words, and what you think they each symbolize, can really mess with your mind). Yes, but beside the 'different' angles, the pastel colors evoking a balmy Greek breeze that chills your spine while watching the surreal and thriller-esque story about a family, what is the point? what is the conflict? It makes me ask, why has there not been one single Greek movie, after Zorbas the Greek, that is merely a good story, well told? Watch to think. Expand
  9. Lyn
    Apr 2, 2011
    6
    In retrospect, the word "Hilarious!" on the DVD cover seems like a sadistic joke. The moments of dark, nasty humor in this movie have little resemblance to hilarity; at the same time, you can't look away. I'm not a big fan of allegory, so feel that dissecting "Dogtooth" as a statement about fascism is overwrought and unnecessary. On its own -- with its nihilistic weirdness so creatively framed and filmed -- it is haunting and thought-provoking. Hated the ending, though. Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2011
    4
    I get it, it's a metaphor! Lasted thirty minutes hoping to see where it was headed and finalIy gave in to the inner voice yelling "who cares?" Intellectuals will love it, pragmatic realists won't.
  11. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    Dogtooth is crazy! Literally...About once every 10 minutes I found myself asking the screen, "Are you **cking kidding me?!" Still, I loved every moment of it. Reminded me of how I feel watching [insert any Michael Haneke film here]. And then, once you realize what's actually happening-- my take is the parents are pyscho's who are training their kids like they're dogs because they're not over the death of their first son-- only then can you embrace the genius of the story, the precision of the acting and the realization that now matter how bad your parents were, at least they didn't brainwash you into calling the salt shaker a telephone. Expand
  12. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    An effective assault on the moral fibres of human mentality, exposing the role of psychology as manipulated, criticizing humans as controlling, society as complicit to acts of social deviance and ultimately presenting the human as imprisoned with a natural tendency to question boundaries of existence. The topics of incest, prostitution, homosexuality, domestic abuse and cruelty to animals are intellectual properties highlighting social boundaries which directly reflects the physical boundary the family exists within. Psychologically disturbing and expertly constructed in equal measure making this one of the most valid films of the past decade. 10/10 96/100 Expand
  13. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    A mix between Lynch and Haneke, this disturbed piece of story of manipulation to the highest degree, with very hard and haunting performances by the entire cast, captivates the audience and does not let go. It is not a story for everyone to watch, yet if you do it will be one you will want to talk about.
  14. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    this movie is disturbingly funny and ultimately sad, leaving you to ponder what is next for this family of creatures we have come to know. i give props for the courageous performances and for leaving thoughts and ideas that will linger long afterward.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. 88
    Lanthumos's accomplished and fascinating Dogtooth pushes the notion of parents screwing up their kids into seriously disturbing and darkly comic terrain.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 6, 2011
    60
    Though its elusive character is undoubtedly part of its strength, Dogtooth ends up feeling somehow like a dodge and a sidestep. As a film, it's pure and singular, but it's not quite fully formed enough to be what one could call truly visionary.
  3. Reviewed by: Philip Wilding
    80
    As harrowing as it is humorous, Giorgos Lanthimos' award-winning journey to a family's heart of darkness is unflinchingly detailed, thought-provoking fare.