Lions Gate Films | Release Date: March 26, 2004
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 154 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
9
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
smijatovDec 20, 2010
Dogville is one of the most haunting films I have seen. It stays with your for a long time and makes you question the very nature of humanity. With one of the most impressive acting ensembles, especially in regard to Nicole Kidman, DogvilleDogville is one of the most haunting films I have seen. It stays with your for a long time and makes you question the very nature of humanity. With one of the most impressive acting ensembles, especially in regard to Nicole Kidman, Dogville shows the inhuman side of humanity. Also, being part of Lars von Trier's dogma ideology it is highly minimalist and experimental. If for anything else, it should be watched for its strange visual technique and performances. Very good film, overall. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
babaganush96Oct 8, 2010
Beautiful and inventive. Philosophical and thought-provoking.
Ugly and dull. Boring and mind-numbing.
Both equally justified responses to Lars von Trier's experimental drama Dogville. As the wonderful Bjork once said, you don't know
Beautiful and inventive. Philosophical and thought-provoking.
Ugly and dull. Boring and mind-numbing.
Both equally justified responses to Lars von Trier's experimental drama Dogville. As the wonderful Bjork once said, you don't know anything until you've tasted all the sweets at the sweet shop. Go ahead and watch it. Sure, you may turn it off after the first 15 minutes, you may find the rape scenes overboard and you may find it pompous, but you also might, like me, think it is a fabulous portrayal of human behaviour and a brilliantly made film. Just, like the protagonist Grace, take a chance on Dogville. You may love yourself for it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
KimANov 7, 2007
This is a very strong emotional movie. It is funny how many Americans just don't get it. Maybe they don't have a soul or is is just the mind!? I blame it on their culture and fake Hollywood style ;) Or maybe it is just ignorance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeS.Dec 9, 2005
I thought this movie was brilliant. It subtly exposes the flaws of capitalism via exploitation and greed. The ending is predictable but the haunting message echos long after viewing. I loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GodyPDec 2, 2005
A Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatPDec 24, 2005
To say that I was "reluctant" to watch this movie would be a massive understatement. I exerted a lot of effort in avoiding it as long as I possibly could, but once I was forced to watch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel the critics far To say that I was "reluctant" to watch this movie would be a massive understatement. I exerted a lot of effort in avoiding it as long as I possibly could, but once I was forced to watch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel the critics far over-emphasize the cynicism of this movie and take it as an assault on all things Americana, but I perceived it as a surpisingly funny ultra dark comedy. While I expected it to be slow and depressing, it was actually slow and hilarious. Clearly, it's not for everyone, but if you can laugh at a little misery, then give this film a chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinS.Oct 5, 2005
Brilliant and innovative. One of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I saw it a long time ago. Something that you'll come back to time and time again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicB.Oct 17, 2005
Takes an effort to get into but well worth it. A work of genius!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.GoldFeb 20, 2006
Strong, entertaining, artsy all for a 3 hour film. Features great acting and directing, an interesting, but sad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshC.Jan 14, 2007
From the gooseberries in Ma Ginger's garden to the German Hummels Nicole Kidman's Grace collects throughout her stay in Dogville, everything in Lars Von Trier's "Dogville" is a symbolic gesture of some kind. Narrated by John From the gooseberries in Ma Ginger's garden to the German Hummels Nicole Kidman's Grace collects throughout her stay in Dogville, everything in Lars Von Trier's "Dogville" is a symbolic gesture of some kind. Narrated by John Hurt, this acerbic "illustration" of a small town's curious notions of entitlement unspools as a Christian allegory by way of Mark Twain or Dr. Seuss. Von Trier understands that the root of American aggression is the arrogant elite's subjugation of the culturally underprivileged. The director walks a fine line: Dogville isn't anti-American, but anti-oppression. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TrevorL.Feb 28, 2007
Somewhat long, and at times frustrating. The frustration is erased by one of the most satisfying endings I have seen. It is not a happy ending, but one that immediately feels right. I did find the lack of sets somewhat distracting, which Somewhat long, and at times frustrating. The frustration is erased by one of the most satisfying endings I have seen. It is not a happy ending, but one that immediately feels right. I did find the lack of sets somewhat distracting, which prevented me from giving a higher rating. The acting is all top notch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Oct 31, 2005
Not totally successful in that it drags a bit and has some editing deficiencies, Dogville is still an extremely interesting and startingly original film that understandably garnered mixed reactions from both the critics and the public. Not totally successful in that it drags a bit and has some editing deficiencies, Dogville is still an extremely interesting and startingly original film that understandably garnered mixed reactions from both the critics and the public. Audiences stayed away in droves and thus missed the opportunity to see Nicole Kidman give yet another outstanding performance. The best supporting work here comes from Patricia Clarkson, Ben Gazarra and, especially, James Caan. The film was criticized for being anti-American, which it isn't, and anti-human, which it isn't either. It is simply depicting the horrible ways a group of people can behave in certain situations and the price they sometimes pay for that behavior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasE.Sep 18, 2005
Oh, if you just understood what this movie was all about. But you can't. You're not supposed to. It's supposed to be open ended. "Movies should be made to raise questions, but never to answer them" -Lars Von Trier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnC.Nov 19, 2006
Definitely worth a shot if you've got the attention span to make it to the very satisfying climax. The mis en scene seems silly at first, but by the end of the first few scenes you'll be lost in the plot and oblivious to the unique Definitely worth a shot if you've got the attention span to make it to the very satisfying climax. The mis en scene seems silly at first, but by the end of the first few scenes you'll be lost in the plot and oblivious to the unique style. The film is extremely well acted (especially Kidman) but I would only recommend this film for those with a strong stomach and a taste for arthouse film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Lars von Trier once again returns to his obsession with the idea of the victim and avant-garde style, but this time around the lead actress (Nicole Kidman) is apt for the part, giving a perfect duality between the "damsel in distress" andLars von Trier once again returns to his obsession with the idea of the victim and avant-garde style, but this time around the lead actress (Nicole Kidman) is apt for the part, giving a perfect duality between the "damsel in distress" and "femme fatale," and the absence of a set isn't ever detracting, but just sort of fun (at least to me - more traditional-minded critics were probably crying out in disgust...) Also, rather than simply forcing emotion, von Trier uses his extremism to finish with a question of morality, which presents a harrowing view of humanity and a reconsideration of how we function as a society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzApr 6, 2012
I know this is not a movie that will appeal to everybody, but I personally think this movie is one of the best ones I have since the last decade! NIcole Kidman's performance is oustanding! This is an inventive, original movie that challengesI know this is not a movie that will appeal to everybody, but I personally think this movie is one of the best ones I have since the last decade! NIcole Kidman's performance is oustanding! This is an inventive, original movie that challenges order, and questions humans 'good faith'. A masterpiece. I cant describe it...you have to see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkAngelFeb 5, 2013
Inexplicably fine film. A monumental ideological concept elaborated with calligraphic punctuality. Dogville established Lars von Trier as one of my favorite filmmakers of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StaticSpineDec 15, 2013
A huge impact on me from this movie. There is almost no decor/scenery in this movie, and all you see is a great cast and story. The movie is almost 3 hours long and in the end the main question is solved, but you still have an aftertaste fromA huge impact on me from this movie. There is almost no decor/scenery in this movie, and all you see is a great cast and story. The movie is almost 3 hours long and in the end the main question is solved, but you still have an aftertaste from this. All of this is about the human nature. I really liked the meaning of the movie. But I won't recommend this to everyone. Still the movie is very unusual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ECantonaDec 23, 2013
A very strong, heavy perspective about humanity. In my opinion this is the best movie Trier has directed so far. Nicole Kidman fits in her role perfectly. The visual look of this movie makes it complete. Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanielSolanoDec 26, 2013
Dogville is a bold film, is something i recognize. I really liked the way this movie breaks some hollywood cliches on the scenes and also on the trama of the movie. Lars Von Trier always tries to explain his filosophy in his movies. It'sDogville is a bold film, is something i recognize. I really liked the way this movie breaks some hollywood cliches on the scenes and also on the trama of the movie. Lars Von Trier always tries to explain his filosophy in his movies. It's funny americans are not ready for this kind of movies. This movie shows the filosophy about human nature in a very artistic way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
Dogville is a talented work, yes, but is it a great film? No, It's not great. The ending is flat, especially for such a long buildup. It's not wholly a film either. It's not that the stage play thing is wrong, it's fine (especially since theDogville is a talented work, yes, but is it a great film? No, It's not great. The ending is flat, especially for such a long buildup. It's not wholly a film either. It's not that the stage play thing is wrong, it's fine (especially since the story is reminiscent of Greek tragedy). The problem is that it is lacking in light and sound. Maybe that is a good thing since the second half is heavy and long and feels real enough as it is. Still, Dogville is definitely a film to watch for two reasons: (1) an excellent performance by Nicole Kidman and (2) food for thought, one is definitely given a few things to think about. But be warned, this is not a film one watches to be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Apr 19, 2016
Incredible! The stage setting may seem weird at first, but keep watching-it's worth it! Top notch acting, rich story.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-5849-Dogville
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews