Dogville

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 185

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 19, 2016
    8
    Incredible! The stage setting may seem weird at first, but keep watching-it's worth it! Top notch acting, rich story.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-5849-Dogville
  2. Sep 30, 2015
    7
    Dogville is a talented work, yes, but is it a great film? No, It's not great. The ending is flat, especially for such a long buildup. It's not wholly a film either. It's not that the stage play thing is wrong, it's fine (especially since the story is reminiscent of Greek tragedy). The problem is that it is lacking in light and sound. Maybe that is a good thing since the second half isDogville is a talented work, yes, but is it a great film? No, It's not great. The ending is flat, especially for such a long buildup. It's not wholly a film either. It's not that the stage play thing is wrong, it's fine (especially since the story is reminiscent of Greek tragedy). The problem is that it is lacking in light and sound. Maybe that is a good thing since the second half is heavy and long and feels real enough as it is. Still, Dogville is definitely a film to watch for two reasons: (1) an excellent performance by Nicole Kidman and (2) food for thought, one is definitely given a few things to think about. But be warned, this is not a film one watches to be entertained. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Dogville is a bold film, is something i recognize. I really liked the way this movie breaks some hollywood cliches on the scenes and also on the trama of the movie. Lars Von Trier always tries to explain his filosophy in his movies. It's funny americans are not ready for this kind of movies. This movie shows the filosophy about human nature in a very artistic way.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    A very strong, heavy perspective about humanity. In my opinion this is the best movie Trier has directed so far. Nicole Kidman fits in her role perfectly. The visual look of this movie makes it complete. Masterpiece.
  5. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    A huge impact on me from this movie. There is almost no decor/scenery in this movie, and all you see is a great cast and story. The movie is almost 3 hours long and in the end the main question is solved, but you still have an aftertaste from this. All of this is about the human nature. I really liked the meaning of the movie. But I won't recommend this to everyone. Still the movie is veryA huge impact on me from this movie. There is almost no decor/scenery in this movie, and all you see is a great cast and story. The movie is almost 3 hours long and in the end the main question is solved, but you still have an aftertaste from this. All of this is about the human nature. I really liked the meaning of the movie. But I won't recommend this to everyone. Still the movie is very unusual. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Inexplicably fine film. A monumental ideological concept elaborated with calligraphic punctuality. Dogville established Lars von Trier as one of my favorite filmmakers of all time.
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I know this is not a movie that will appeal to everybody, but I personally think this movie is one of the best ones I have since the last decade! NIcole Kidman's performance is oustanding! This is an inventive, original movie that challenges order, and questions humans 'good faith'. A masterpiece. I cant describe it...you have to see it!
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Dogville is one of the most haunting films I have seen. It stays with your for a long time and makes you question the very nature of humanity. With one of the most impressive acting ensembles, especially in regard to Nicole Kidman, Dogville shows the inhuman side of humanity. Also, being part of Lars von Trier's dogma ideology it is highly minimalist and experimental. If for anything else,Dogville is one of the most haunting films I have seen. It stays with your for a long time and makes you question the very nature of humanity. With one of the most impressive acting ensembles, especially in regard to Nicole Kidman, Dogville shows the inhuman side of humanity. Also, being part of Lars von Trier's dogma ideology it is highly minimalist and experimental. If for anything else, it should be watched for its strange visual technique and performances. Very good film, overall. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Beautiful and inventive. Philosophical and thought-provoking.
    Ugly and dull. Boring and mind-numbing.
    Both equally justified responses to Lars von Trier's experimental drama Dogville. As the wonderful Bjork once said, you don't know anything until you've tasted all the sweets at the sweet shop. Go ahead and watch it. Sure, you may turn it off after the first 15 minutes, you may find the
    Beautiful and inventive. Philosophical and thought-provoking.
    Ugly and dull. Boring and mind-numbing.
    Both equally justified responses to Lars von Trier's experimental drama Dogville. As the wonderful Bjork once said, you don't know anything until you've tasted all the sweets at the sweet shop. Go ahead and watch it. Sure, you may turn it off after the first 15 minutes, you may find the rape scenes overboard and you may find it pompous, but you also might, like me, think it is a fabulous portrayal of human behaviour and a brilliantly made film. Just, like the protagonist Grace, take a chance on Dogville. You may love yourself for it.
    Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Lars von Trier once again returns to his obsession with the idea of the victim and avant-garde style, but this time around the lead actress (Nicole Kidman) is apt for the part, giving a perfect duality between the "damsel in distress" and "femme fatale," and the absence of a set isn't ever detracting, but just sort of fun (at least to me - more traditional-minded critics were probablyLars von Trier once again returns to his obsession with the idea of the victim and avant-garde style, but this time around the lead actress (Nicole Kidman) is apt for the part, giving a perfect duality between the "damsel in distress" and "femme fatale," and the absence of a set isn't ever detracting, but just sort of fun (at least to me - more traditional-minded critics were probably crying out in disgust...) Also, rather than simply forcing emotion, von Trier uses his extremism to finish with a question of morality, which presents a harrowing view of humanity and a reconsideration of how we function as a society. Expand
  11. KimA
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This is a very strong emotional movie. It is funny how many Americans just don't get it. Maybe they don't have a soul or is is just the mind!? I blame it on their culture and fake Hollywood style ;) Or maybe it is just ignorance.
  12. TrevorL.
    Feb 28, 2007
    7
    Somewhat long, and at times frustrating. The frustration is erased by one of the most satisfying endings I have seen. It is not a happy ending, but one that immediately feels right. I did find the lack of sets somewhat distracting, which prevented me from giving a higher rating. The acting is all top notch.
  13. JoshC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    8
    From the gooseberries in Ma Ginger's garden to the German Hummels Nicole Kidman's Grace collects throughout her stay in Dogville, everything in Lars Von Trier's "Dogville" is a symbolic gesture of some kind. Narrated by John Hurt, this acerbic "illustration" of a small town's curious notions of entitlement unspools as a Christian allegory by way of Mark Twain or Dr. From the gooseberries in Ma Ginger's garden to the German Hummels Nicole Kidman's Grace collects throughout her stay in Dogville, everything in Lars Von Trier's "Dogville" is a symbolic gesture of some kind. Narrated by John Hurt, this acerbic "illustration" of a small town's curious notions of entitlement unspools as a Christian allegory by way of Mark Twain or Dr. Seuss. Von Trier understands that the root of American aggression is the arrogant elite's subjugation of the culturally underprivileged. The director walks a fine line: Dogville isn't anti-American, but anti-oppression. Expand
  14. JohnC.
    Nov 19, 2006
    8
    Definitely worth a shot if you've got the attention span to make it to the very satisfying climax. The mis en scene seems silly at first, but by the end of the first few scenes you'll be lost in the plot and oblivious to the unique style. The film is extremely well acted (especially Kidman) but I would only recommend this film for those with a strong stomach and a taste for Definitely worth a shot if you've got the attention span to make it to the very satisfying climax. The mis en scene seems silly at first, but by the end of the first few scenes you'll be lost in the plot and oblivious to the unique style. The film is extremely well acted (especially Kidman) but I would only recommend this film for those with a strong stomach and a taste for arthouse film. Expand
  15. S.Gold
    Feb 20, 2006
    9
    Strong, entertaining, artsy all for a 3 hour film. Features great acting and directing, an interesting, but sad film.
  16. PatP
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    To say that I was "reluctant" to watch this movie would be a massive understatement. I exerted a lot of effort in avoiding it as long as I possibly could, but once I was forced to watch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel the critics far over-emphasize the cynicism of this movie and take it as an assault on all things Americana, but I perceived it as a surpisingly funny ultra dark comedy. To say that I was "reluctant" to watch this movie would be a massive understatement. I exerted a lot of effort in avoiding it as long as I possibly could, but once I was forced to watch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel the critics far over-emphasize the cynicism of this movie and take it as an assault on all things Americana, but I perceived it as a surpisingly funny ultra dark comedy. While I expected it to be slow and depressing, it was actually slow and hilarious. Clearly, it's not for everyone, but if you can laugh at a little misery, then give this film a chance. Expand
  17. JakeS.
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    I thought this movie was brilliant. It subtly exposes the flaws of capitalism via exploitation and greed. The ending is predictable but the haunting message echos long after viewing. I loved it.
  18. GodyP
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    A Masterpiece.
  19. TonyB.
    Oct 31, 2005
    7
    Not totally successful in that it drags a bit and has some editing deficiencies, Dogville is still an extremely interesting and startingly original film that understandably garnered mixed reactions from both the critics and the public. Audiences stayed away in droves and thus missed the opportunity to see Nicole Kidman give yet another outstanding performance. The best supporting work Not totally successful in that it drags a bit and has some editing deficiencies, Dogville is still an extremely interesting and startingly original film that understandably garnered mixed reactions from both the critics and the public. Audiences stayed away in droves and thus missed the opportunity to see Nicole Kidman give yet another outstanding performance. The best supporting work here comes from Patricia Clarkson, Ben Gazarra and, especially, James Caan. The film was criticized for being anti-American, which it isn't, and anti-human, which it isn't either. It is simply depicting the horrible ways a group of people can behave in certain situations and the price they sometimes pay for that behavior. Expand
  20. NicB.
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Takes an effort to get into but well worth it. A work of genius!
  21. RobinS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant and innovative. One of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I saw it a long time ago. Something that you'll come back to time and time again.
  22. NicholasE.
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    Oh, if you just understood what this movie was all about. But you can't. You're not supposed to. It's supposed to be open ended. "Movies should be made to raise questions, but never to answer them" -Lars Von Trier.
  23. ElliottM
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Without question, the greatest film of 2004 and to quote Mike D'Angelo, formerly of Time Out NY, "simple, magical, ferocious, visonary." It's a work of art - easily one of the greatest films of this young decade.
  24. OrlandoC.
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    You gotta be in the right mood to enjoy and be entertained by this movie. I personally liked it a lot. The performances are simply great, specially Kidman, who shines as usual. Though the main subject has always been in a lot of movies, the way is treated in here makes it unique. Yeah, it's 3hours, but I repeat: if you are in the right mood, those 3 hours will be highly enjoyable. You gotta be in the right mood to enjoy and be entertained by this movie. I personally liked it a lot. The performances are simply great, specially Kidman, who shines as usual. Though the main subject has always been in a lot of movies, the way is treated in here makes it unique. Yeah, it's 3hours, but I repeat: if you are in the right mood, those 3 hours will be highly enjoyable. Plus, it's quite an experiment that pushes boundaries and makes you focus in all the things that the characters are going through. Of course it could've been better, but we gotta give the props to Von Trier for making such a weird movie. Expand
  25. JoachimJ
    May 23, 2005
    10
    Brilliant and very interesting movie. So much to tell about it, that I still have to think it over.
  26. DonF.
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    This would have made great theatre. As a movie, it suffers from lack of cinematography, but not much else is missing. Compelling and artful, like a well mounted Medea. Fascinating observation of the smugness, vapidness and ineffectualism of common morality.
  27. MarkJ.
    Mar 12, 2005
    8
    It is not for everyone and is not crap like the some critics are insinuate.
  28. Giulia
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    It's a great movie, you can't enjoy it, but it seems so true.
  29. CharlesL.
    Feb 2, 2005
    9
    Some of my friends whose tase in movies I usually agree with hated this film, but I thought it was one of the best movies of the year. When I heard that Roger Ebert hated it and called it "anti-American," I knew I was onto something potentially great. Loved the allegorical nature of the plot; loved the performances; it was as if I was in a theater and seeing one of the great plays of the Some of my friends whose tase in movies I usually agree with hated this film, but I thought it was one of the best movies of the year. When I heard that Roger Ebert hated it and called it "anti-American," I knew I was onto something potentially great. Loved the allegorical nature of the plot; loved the performances; it was as if I was in a theater and seeing one of the great plays of the decade. Count me in as being in the minority maybe, but this film will be historically vindicated. Expand
  30. RobC.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    This movie is a moral allegory on par with the Crucible and is perhaps even richer in subtexts, symbolism, and insights into human nature. Anyone who thinks it takes too dim a view of human nature need only remember the holocausts. We need films like this to remind us of our darker natures. I loved it.
  31. turanderb.
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    Values are either negotiated at the risk of having to find compromise, or they are imposed on others. Negotiation and readiness to move one's own position into a compromise require respect - imposing values onto others does not require respect. This movie is about such respect, and about the problem that lack of such respect will eventually spiral into violence of any form, at which Values are either negotiated at the risk of having to find compromise, or they are imposed on others. Negotiation and readiness to move one's own position into a compromise require respect - imposing values onto others does not require respect. This movie is about such respect, and about the problem that lack of such respect will eventually spiral into violence of any form, at which point negotiation is probably useless. Expand
  32. DwightV.
    Jan 8, 2005
    9
    I don't know how anyone could give this movie below a 6. It was well written and acted. Von Trias DOES break new ground. The beginning is a little slow, and the setting should have been in a real town, but nevetheless it is one of the most creative, differant movies I have seen, just great.
  33. BeckiJ.
    Nov 17, 2004
    8
    Thought-provoking. Stunning performance by Nicole Kidman.
  34. PeterH.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    A truly original film. It tells a story about compassion, acceptance, jealousy and ultimately evil. To anyone with an ounce of morality, the ending would normally seem excessive, but strangely not in this case. Great performances are emphasised by the theatre style set. Nicole Kidman is especially impressive.
  35. EdgarE.
    Sep 28, 2004
    8
    Es una de las peliculas mas originales que he visto en mucho tiempo.
  36. NancyM.
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    Extraordinary! I have never seen so much talent as encapsulated in one film, starting with the director, and including All the actors. The editing and the final montage are exquisite.
  37. BillC.
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    It must be a great movie if Edelstein hates it.
  38. Rico
    Sep 10, 2004
    8
    File under: Would make a great double feature with Road to Perdition. I found it appaulingly pretentious at first but it came through for me. A great cast saves this film.
  39. KatieP.
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    A chilling tale of acceptance, rejection, tolerance, morals and most of all, revenge. It's a great movie, it really is. Nicole Kidman was brilliant in it, as usual. Maybe a bit drawn out towards the end.
  40. Patrick
    Jun 8, 2004
    9
    Utterly brillant. Lars Von Trier prooves himself frighteningly relevant with this 3 hour minimalist "critique" of American culture. Blending the styles of Bertold Brecht and Thorton Wilder, Von Trier has created one of the most frightening allegories in recent years, and he has done it without props, scenery, or things that are cinematic. while the choice to shoot the entire film on a one Utterly brillant. Lars Von Trier prooves himself frighteningly relevant with this 3 hour minimalist "critique" of American culture. Blending the styles of Bertold Brecht and Thorton Wilder, Von Trier has created one of the most frightening allegories in recent years, and he has done it without props, scenery, or things that are cinematic. while the choice to shoot the entire film on a one unit black box set was a little strange, it works better than expected, as the actors are challenged to do things only stage actors have had to do in the past. We are lucky in this to see stellar performances from Nicole Kidman, Paul Bettany, Patty Clarkson, and Lauren Becall. Expand
  41. BenjaminB.
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    By the way, "Dogville" is not a Dogme 95 film, although it *is* directed by Lars Von Trier, who helmed the movement in Denmark along with a few other filmmakers. Technically, the only Dogme film Von Trier released is "Idioterne" aka "The Idiots" aka "Dogme #2." "Dogville" in fact breaks nearly every rule of a Dogme film: it is shot on DV, not 35mm, and many shots are not hand-held; it is By the way, "Dogville" is not a Dogme 95 film, although it *is* directed by Lars Von Trier, who helmed the movement in Denmark along with a few other filmmakers. Technically, the only Dogme film Von Trier released is "Idioterne" aka "The Idiots" aka "Dogme #2." "Dogville" in fact breaks nearly every rule of a Dogme film: it is shot on DV, not 35mm, and many shots are not hand-held; it is shot on a soundstage with props and placed lighting, all of which are against the rules of Dogme. Looks like the little bastard is rebelling against himself this time. Whatever. It's a masterpiece. Go see it, twice. Even, better go with a group, you'll have wonderful conversation fodder for a month. Expand
  42. KarenB.
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    If sitting through over 2 hours of some of the most despicable things that people can think to do to each other--and not people that you can comfortably, or comfortingly, put into "good" and "evil" boxes--all filmed on a near-bare sound stage by a director who will frequently infuriate you doesn't sound like your idea of a good time, don't bother. If, on the other hand, If sitting through over 2 hours of some of the most despicable things that people can think to do to each other--and not people that you can comfortably, or comfortingly, put into "good" and "evil" boxes--all filmed on a near-bare sound stage by a director who will frequently infuriate you doesn't sound like your idea of a good time, don't bother. If, on the other hand, you're not looking to be entertained or to have your cozy moral preconceptions reinforced, you'll find a lot to talk about after seeing this movie. I can see why many viewers hate this film; it's not in the least easy to watch and you'll definitely feel like going straight home to take a shower afterwards. But if you don't mind hours of boredom and discomfort interspersed with moments of fury and outrage, the fascinating final few minutes are a tremendous payoff. Expand
  43. ChrisH.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    The best film I have seen this year. Can't wait to see Mandelay.
  44. MarkB.
    May 16, 2004
    7
    Lars von Trier is THE master of the hyperstylized, insanely disciplined "kill the kitty" movie. A "kill the kitty" movie is a movie in which the filmmaker takes a sweet, innocent little kitten and spends two hours (or in von Trier's case, usually more) pounding the living crap out of it. It isn't a sane person's idea of entertainment, but how well von Trier's obsessive Lars von Trier is THE master of the hyperstylized, insanely disciplined "kill the kitty" movie. A "kill the kitty" movie is a movie in which the filmmaker takes a sweet, innocent little kitten and spends two hours (or in von Trier's case, usually more) pounding the living crap out of it. It isn't a sane person's idea of entertainment, but how well von Trier's obsessive topic (he's too utterly original for me to insult him by calling it a formula) works depends upon the casting of the actress playing the kitten. Breaking the Waves was unforgettably poignant and heartbreaking because Emily Watson is so incredibly lovable; Dancer in the Dark, in which Bjork spends a whole lot of time making like Leatherface on the work of Rogers and Hammerstein, was damn near unwatchable (not to say unlistenable!) Dogville works not only because Nicole Kidman (who I'm not a big fan of; wearing a putty nose is not a good enough reason to win an Oscar) gives the best and most courageous performance of her career, but because von Trier does a remarkable job of acclimatizing us to his "Our-Town-In-Hell" world in a very short amount of time; directors like Stephen Sommers and Wolfgang Peterson, who seemingly can't film a scene with more than three people without a CGI effect in every other shot should take heed of how much emotional impact von Trier gets out of the simplest lighting change or sound effect. The glacial pacing really works, too, because it makes the horrific acts of the townsfolk of Dogville credible since they're occurring as gradually as they are. That said, von Trier, who to his credit finds a whole new way to destroy the pussycat, is a man in serious need of psychological help. He needs to get together with Nora Ephron (who will, of course, have to be flown to Denmark, since he won't get on a plane) and make a romantic comedy with a happy ending nearly as much as some of us viewers desperately need to watch one after this! The end-credits sequence and song choice, as well as some of his press comments, seemingly indicate that von Trier hates America, but it's not as simple as that; Dogville is the work of someone who hates humanity. And no matter how hypnotically presented, artistically made or terrifically acted Dogville may be (and it IS all three of the above), there is surely more to moviemaking and to life than subjecting audiences to three hours of unearned armchair adolescent rage. I mean, it's not like I didn't know already that mankind will sell each other out for the lowest price; Mark Burnett already taught me that on week after week of Survivor All-Stars...and the wrap-up, which von Trier seems to honestly believe presents a tremendous moral question for the ages, isn't that far removed from a 1960s spaghetti western or 1970s Charles Bronson revenge bloodbath. Expand
  45. JeromeM.
    May 13, 2004
    10
    Tom is a metaphor for the contemporary opportunism that surrounds us, the everyday spin for personal gain. Kidman, as always, carries every nuance. Whatever is on the other side of "brilliant" Lars has it. jerry manheim.
  46. JackH.
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    It's a 10 out of 10 for me, do I need I need to add something?
  47. ChristopherN.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    Clearly people either love or hate this film with extreme passion. For that: I love it.
  48. MatthewT.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    It's like a Tolstoy novel crossed with "A Modest Proposal" with a dash of "Pulp Fiction." Plus, James Caan plays God.
  49. JonathanH.
    Apr 2, 2004
    7
    I liked this movie, but I don't think it's a masterpiece, it is however the best performance of Kidman's career. some of the time while i was watching this it was almost hypnotic, but sometimes boring. But all in all a very interesting movie, not for everyone.
  50. JakeW.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    An instant classic/masterpiece. Kidman is astonishing, and the emotional complexity of her performance and the story itself is unbelievable and draining. It is like nothing I have ever seen before, and it is definitely one of the best films, dare I say it, of all time!
  51. AndyM.
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    Masterpiece.
  52. Catherine
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    One of the most unique films that you will ever see. Lars von Trier creates a disturbing, thought provoking masterpiece that is a cry against humanity. Nicole Kidman gives the performance of a lifetime.
  53. John
    Mar 24, 2004
    10
    A masterpiece. Sure to be the best film of the year, if not the past several years. It is certainly the most provocative and disquieting film about human nature that I have ever seen.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 10 out of 39
  1. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    10
    What Lars von Trier has achieved is avant-gardism for idiots. From beginning to end, Dogville is obtuse and dislikable, a whimsical joke wearing cement shoes. [29 March 2004, p. 103]
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Morrison
    80
    Argue that von Trier’s latest is theatre and not cinema. But at least acknowledge that Dogville, in a didactic and politicised stage tradition, is a great play that shows a deep understanding of human beings as they really are.
  3. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    30
    If Dogville has a reason for importance, it is the astonishing all-star ensemble who try very hard to put life into their cardboard characters and make this silly film work.