Lions Gate Films | Release Date: March 26, 2004
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 188 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
158
Mixed:
11
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
JeromeM.May 13, 2004
Tom is a metaphor for the contemporary opportunism that surrounds us, the everyday spin for personal gain. Kidman, as always, carries every nuance. Whatever is on the other side of "brilliant" Lars has it. jerry manheim.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeW.Apr 1, 2004
An instant classic/masterpiece. Kidman is astonishing, and the emotional complexity of her performance and the story itself is unbelievable and draining. It is like nothing I have ever seen before, and it is definitely one of the best films, An instant classic/masterpiece. Kidman is astonishing, and the emotional complexity of her performance and the story itself is unbelievable and draining. It is like nothing I have ever seen before, and it is definitely one of the best films, dare I say it, of all time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewT.Apr 5, 2004
It's like a Tolstoy novel crossed with "A Modest Proposal" with a dash of "Pulp Fiction." Plus, James Caan plays God.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenjaminB.Jun 8, 2004
By the way, "Dogville" is not a Dogme 95 film, although it *is* directed by Lars Von Trier, who helmed the movement in Denmark along with a few other filmmakers. Technically, the only Dogme film Von Trier released is "Idioterne" aka "The By the way, "Dogville" is not a Dogme 95 film, although it *is* directed by Lars Von Trier, who helmed the movement in Denmark along with a few other filmmakers. Technically, the only Dogme film Von Trier released is "Idioterne" aka "The Idiots" aka "Dogme #2." "Dogville" in fact breaks nearly every rule of a Dogme film: it is shot on DV, not 35mm, and many shots are not hand-held; it is shot on a soundstage with props and placed lighting, all of which are against the rules of Dogme. Looks like the little bastard is rebelling against himself this time. Whatever. It's a masterpiece. Go see it, twice. Even, better go with a group, you'll have wonderful conversation fodder for a month. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyM.Sep 24, 2004
Extraordinary! I have never seen so much talent as encapsulated in one film, starting with the director, and including All the actors. The editing and the final montage are exquisite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
turanderb.Jan 9, 2005
Values are either negotiated at the risk of having to find compromise, or they are imposed on others. Negotiation and readiness to move one's own position into a compromise require respect - imposing values onto others does not require Values are either negotiated at the risk of having to find compromise, or they are imposed on others. Negotiation and readiness to move one's own position into a compromise require respect - imposing values onto others does not require respect. This movie is about such respect, and about the problem that lack of such respect will eventually spiral into violence of any form, at which point negotiation is probably useless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GiuliaFeb 25, 2005
It's a great movie, you can't enjoy it, but it seems so true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElliottMAug 7, 2005
Without question, the greatest film of 2004 and to quote Mike D'Angelo, formerly of Time Out NY, "simple, magical, ferocious, visonary." It's a work of art - easily one of the greatest films of this young decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyM.Mar 31, 2004
Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonathanH.Apr 2, 2004
I liked this movie, but I don't think it's a masterpiece, it is however the best performance of Kidman's career. some of the time while i was watching this it was almost hypnotic, but sometimes boring. But all in all a very I liked this movie, but I don't think it's a masterpiece, it is however the best performance of Kidman's career. some of the time while i was watching this it was almost hypnotic, but sometimes boring. But all in all a very interesting movie, not for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherN.Apr 5, 2004
Clearly people either love or hate this film with extreme passion. For that: I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarenB.Jun 4, 2004
If sitting through over 2 hours of some of the most despicable things that people can think to do to each other--and not people that you can comfortably, or comfortingly, put into "good" and "evil" boxes--all filmed on a near-bare sound If sitting through over 2 hours of some of the most despicable things that people can think to do to each other--and not people that you can comfortably, or comfortingly, put into "good" and "evil" boxes--all filmed on a near-bare sound stage by a director who will frequently infuriate you doesn't sound like your idea of a good time, don't bother. If, on the other hand, you're not looking to be entertained or to have your cozy moral preconceptions reinforced, you'll find a lot to talk about after seeing this movie. I can see why many viewers hate this film; it's not in the least easy to watch and you'll definitely feel like going straight home to take a shower afterwards. But if you don't mind hours of boredom and discomfort interspersed with moments of fury and outrage, the fascinating final few minutes are a tremendous payoff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieP.Aug 25, 2004
A chilling tale of acceptance, rejection, tolerance, morals and most of all, revenge. It's a great movie, it really is. Nicole Kidman was brilliant in it, as usual. Maybe a bit drawn out towards the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RicoSep 10, 2004
File under: Would make a great double feature with Road to Perdition. I found it appaulingly pretentious at first but it came through for me. A great cast saves this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdgarE.Sep 28, 2004
Es una de las peliculas mas originales que he visto en mucho tiempo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GodyPDec 2, 2005
A Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatPDec 24, 2005
To say that I was "reluctant" to watch this movie would be a massive understatement. I exerted a lot of effort in avoiding it as long as I possibly could, but once I was forced to watch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel the critics far To say that I was "reluctant" to watch this movie would be a massive understatement. I exerted a lot of effort in avoiding it as long as I possibly could, but once I was forced to watch it, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel the critics far over-emphasize the cynicism of this movie and take it as an assault on all things Americana, but I perceived it as a surpisingly funny ultra dark comedy. While I expected it to be slow and depressing, it was actually slow and hilarious. Clearly, it's not for everyone, but if you can laugh at a little misery, then give this film a chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinS.Oct 5, 2005
Brilliant and innovative. One of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and I saw it a long time ago. Something that you'll come back to time and time again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DwightV.Jan 8, 2005
I don't know how anyone could give this movie below a 6. It was well written and acted. Von Trias DOES break new ground. The beginning is a little slow, and the setting should have been in a real town, but nevetheless it is one of the I don't know how anyone could give this movie below a 6. It was well written and acted. Von Trias DOES break new ground. The beginning is a little slow, and the setting should have been in a real town, but nevetheless it is one of the most creative, differant movies I have seen, just great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlesL.Feb 2, 2005
Some of my friends whose tase in movies I usually agree with hated this film, but I thought it was one of the best movies of the year. When I heard that Roger Ebert hated it and called it "anti-American," I knew I was onto something Some of my friends whose tase in movies I usually agree with hated this film, but I thought it was one of the best movies of the year. When I heard that Roger Ebert hated it and called it "anti-American," I knew I was onto something potentially great. Loved the allegorical nature of the plot; loved the performances; it was as if I was in a theater and seeing one of the great plays of the decade. Count me in as being in the minority maybe, but this film will be historically vindicated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonF.Apr 11, 2005
This would have made great theatre. As a movie, it suffers from lack of cinematography, but not much else is missing. Compelling and artful, like a well mounted Medea. Fascinating observation of the smugness, vapidness and ineffectualism of This would have made great theatre. As a movie, it suffers from lack of cinematography, but not much else is missing. Compelling and artful, like a well mounted Medea. Fascinating observation of the smugness, vapidness and ineffectualism of common morality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OrlandoC.Jun 2, 2005
You gotta be in the right mood to enjoy and be entertained by this movie. I personally liked it a lot. The performances are simply great, specially Kidman, who shines as usual. Though the main subject has always been in a lot of movies, the You gotta be in the right mood to enjoy and be entertained by this movie. I personally liked it a lot. The performances are simply great, specially Kidman, who shines as usual. Though the main subject has always been in a lot of movies, the way is treated in here makes it unique. Yeah, it's 3hours, but I repeat: if you are in the right mood, those 3 hours will be highly enjoyable. Plus, it's quite an experiment that pushes boundaries and makes you focus in all the things that the characters are going through. Of course it could've been better, but we gotta give the props to Von Trier for making such a weird movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimANov 7, 2007
This is a very strong emotional movie. It is funny how many Americans just don't get it. Maybe they don't have a soul or is is just the mind!? I blame it on their culture and fake Hollywood style ;) Or maybe it is just ignorance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PeterH.Nov 2, 2004
A truly original film. It tells a story about compassion, acceptance, jealousy and ultimately evil. To anyone with an ounce of morality, the ending would normally seem excessive, but strangely not in this case. Great performances are A truly original film. It tells a story about compassion, acceptance, jealousy and ultimately evil. To anyone with an ounce of morality, the ending would normally seem excessive, but strangely not in this case. Great performances are emphasised by the theatre style set. Nicole Kidman is especially impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatherineMar 27, 2004
One of the most unique films that you will ever see. Lars von Trier creates a disturbing, thought provoking masterpiece that is a cry against humanity. Nicole Kidman gives the performance of a lifetime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickJun 8, 2004
Utterly brillant. Lars Von Trier prooves himself frighteningly relevant with this 3 hour minimalist "critique" of American culture. Blending the styles of Bertold Brecht and Thorton Wilder, Von Trier has created one of the most frightening Utterly brillant. Lars Von Trier prooves himself frighteningly relevant with this 3 hour minimalist "critique" of American culture. Blending the styles of Bertold Brecht and Thorton Wilder, Von Trier has created one of the most frightening allegories in recent years, and he has done it without props, scenery, or things that are cinematic. while the choice to shoot the entire film on a one unit black box set was a little strange, it works better than expected, as the actors are challenged to do things only stage actors have had to do in the past. We are lucky in this to see stellar performances from Nicole Kidman, Paul Bettany, Patty Clarkson, and Lauren Becall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicB.Oct 17, 2005
Takes an effort to get into but well worth it. A work of genius!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeS.Dec 9, 2005
I thought this movie was brilliant. It subtly exposes the flaws of capitalism via exploitation and greed. The ending is predictable but the haunting message echos long after viewing. I loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MarkJ.Mar 12, 2005
It is not for everyone and is not crap like the some critics are insinuate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoachimJMay 23, 2005
Brilliant and very interesting movie. So much to tell about it, that I still have to think it over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.GoldFeb 20, 2006
Strong, entertaining, artsy all for a 3 hour film. Features great acting and directing, an interesting, but sad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshC.Jan 14, 2007
From the gooseberries in Ma Ginger's garden to the German Hummels Nicole Kidman's Grace collects throughout her stay in Dogville, everything in Lars Von Trier's "Dogville" is a symbolic gesture of some kind. Narrated by John From the gooseberries in Ma Ginger's garden to the German Hummels Nicole Kidman's Grace collects throughout her stay in Dogville, everything in Lars Von Trier's "Dogville" is a symbolic gesture of some kind. Narrated by John Hurt, this acerbic "illustration" of a small town's curious notions of entitlement unspools as a Christian allegory by way of Mark Twain or Dr. Seuss. Von Trier understands that the root of American aggression is the arrogant elite's subjugation of the culturally underprivileged. The director walks a fine line: Dogville isn't anti-American, but anti-oppression. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TrevorL.Feb 28, 2007
Somewhat long, and at times frustrating. The frustration is erased by one of the most satisfying endings I have seen. It is not a happy ending, but one that immediately feels right. I did find the lack of sets somewhat distracting, which Somewhat long, and at times frustrating. The frustration is erased by one of the most satisfying endings I have seen. It is not a happy ending, but one that immediately feels right. I did find the lack of sets somewhat distracting, which prevented me from giving a higher rating. The acting is all top notch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnMar 24, 2004
A masterpiece. Sure to be the best film of the year, if not the past several years. It is certainly the most provocative and disquieting film about human nature that I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackH.Apr 18, 2004
It's a 10 out of 10 for me, do I need I need to add something?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.May 16, 2004
Lars von Trier is THE master of the hyperstylized, insanely disciplined "kill the kitty" movie. A "kill the kitty" movie is a movie in which the filmmaker takes a sweet, innocent little kitten and spends two hours (or in von Trier's Lars von Trier is THE master of the hyperstylized, insanely disciplined "kill the kitty" movie. A "kill the kitty" movie is a movie in which the filmmaker takes a sweet, innocent little kitten and spends two hours (or in von Trier's case, usually more) pounding the living crap out of it. It isn't a sane person's idea of entertainment, but how well von Trier's obsessive topic (he's too utterly original for me to insult him by calling it a formula) works depends upon the casting of the actress playing the kitten. Breaking the Waves was unforgettably poignant and heartbreaking because Emily Watson is so incredibly lovable; Dancer in the Dark, in which Bjork spends a whole lot of time making like Leatherface on the work of Rogers and Hammerstein, was damn near unwatchable (not to say unlistenable!) Dogville works not only because Nicole Kidman (who I'm not a big fan of; wearing a putty nose is not a good enough reason to win an Oscar) gives the best and most courageous performance of her career, but because von Trier does a remarkable job of acclimatizing us to his "Our-Town-In-Hell" world in a very short amount of time; directors like Stephen Sommers and Wolfgang Peterson, who seemingly can't film a scene with more than three people without a CGI effect in every other shot should take heed of how much emotional impact von Trier gets out of the simplest lighting change or sound effect. The glacial pacing really works, too, because it makes the horrific acts of the townsfolk of Dogville credible since they're occurring as gradually as they are. That said, von Trier, who to his credit finds a whole new way to destroy the pussycat, is a man in serious need of psychological help. He needs to get together with Nora Ephron (who will, of course, have to be flown to Denmark, since he won't get on a plane) and make a romantic comedy with a happy ending nearly as much as some of us viewers desperately need to watch one after this! The end-credits sequence and song choice, as well as some of his press comments, seemingly indicate that von Trier hates America, but it's not as simple as that; Dogville is the work of someone who hates humanity. And no matter how hypnotically presented, artistically made or terrifically acted Dogville may be (and it IS all three of the above), there is surely more to moviemaking and to life than subjecting audiences to three hours of unearned armchair adolescent rage. I mean, it's not like I didn't know already that mankind will sell each other out for the lowest price; Mark Burnett already taught me that on week after week of Survivor All-Stars...and the wrap-up, which von Trier seems to honestly believe presents a tremendous moral question for the ages, isn't that far removed from a 1960s spaghetti western or 1970s Charles Bronson revenge bloodbath. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisH.May 25, 2004
The best film I have seen this year. Can't wait to see Mandelay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillC.Sep 15, 2004
It must be a great movie if Edelstein hates it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobC.Jan 22, 2005
This movie is a moral allegory on par with the Crucible and is perhaps even richer in subtexts, symbolism, and insights into human nature. Anyone who thinks it takes too dim a view of human nature need only remember the holocausts. We need This movie is a moral allegory on par with the Crucible and is perhaps even richer in subtexts, symbolism, and insights into human nature. Anyone who thinks it takes too dim a view of human nature need only remember the holocausts. We need films like this to remind us of our darker natures. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Oct 31, 2005
Not totally successful in that it drags a bit and has some editing deficiencies, Dogville is still an extremely interesting and startingly original film that understandably garnered mixed reactions from both the critics and the public. Not totally successful in that it drags a bit and has some editing deficiencies, Dogville is still an extremely interesting and startingly original film that understandably garnered mixed reactions from both the critics and the public. Audiences stayed away in droves and thus missed the opportunity to see Nicole Kidman give yet another outstanding performance. The best supporting work here comes from Patricia Clarkson, Ben Gazarra and, especially, James Caan. The film was criticized for being anti-American, which it isn't, and anti-human, which it isn't either. It is simply depicting the horrible ways a group of people can behave in certain situations and the price they sometimes pay for that behavior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasE.Sep 18, 2005
Oh, if you just understood what this movie was all about. But you can't. You're not supposed to. It's supposed to be open ended. "Movies should be made to raise questions, but never to answer them" -Lars Von Trier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BeckiJ.Nov 17, 2004
Thought-provoking. Stunning performance by Nicole Kidman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnC.Nov 19, 2006
Definitely worth a shot if you've got the attention span to make it to the very satisfying climax. The mis en scene seems silly at first, but by the end of the first few scenes you'll be lost in the plot and oblivious to the unique Definitely worth a shot if you've got the attention span to make it to the very satisfying climax. The mis en scene seems silly at first, but by the end of the first few scenes you'll be lost in the plot and oblivious to the unique style. The film is extremely well acted (especially Kidman) but I would only recommend this film for those with a strong stomach and a taste for arthouse film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
smijatovDec 20, 2010
Dogville is one of the most haunting films I have seen. It stays with your for a long time and makes you question the very nature of humanity. With one of the most impressive acting ensembles, especially in regard to Nicole Kidman, DogvilleDogville is one of the most haunting films I have seen. It stays with your for a long time and makes you question the very nature of humanity. With one of the most impressive acting ensembles, especially in regard to Nicole Kidman, Dogville shows the inhuman side of humanity. Also, being part of Lars von Trier's dogma ideology it is highly minimalist and experimental. If for anything else, it should be watched for its strange visual technique and performances. Very good film, overall. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Lars von Trier once again returns to his obsession with the idea of the victim and avant-garde style, but this time around the lead actress (Nicole Kidman) is apt for the part, giving a perfect duality between the "damsel in distress" andLars von Trier once again returns to his obsession with the idea of the victim and avant-garde style, but this time around the lead actress (Nicole Kidman) is apt for the part, giving a perfect duality between the "damsel in distress" and "femme fatale," and the absence of a set isn't ever detracting, but just sort of fun (at least to me - more traditional-minded critics were probably crying out in disgust...) Also, rather than simply forcing emotion, von Trier uses his extremism to finish with a question of morality, which presents a harrowing view of humanity and a reconsideration of how we function as a society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
babaganush96Oct 8, 2010
Beautiful and inventive. Philosophical and thought-provoking.
Ugly and dull. Boring and mind-numbing.
Both equally justified responses to Lars von Trier's experimental drama Dogville. As the wonderful Bjork once said, you don't know
Beautiful and inventive. Philosophical and thought-provoking.
Ugly and dull. Boring and mind-numbing.
Both equally justified responses to Lars von Trier's experimental drama Dogville. As the wonderful Bjork once said, you don't know anything until you've tasted all the sweets at the sweet shop. Go ahead and watch it. Sure, you may turn it off after the first 15 minutes, you may find the rape scenes overboard and you may find it pompous, but you also might, like me, think it is a fabulous portrayal of human behaviour and a brilliantly made film. Just, like the protagonist Grace, take a chance on Dogville. You may love yourself for it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzApr 6, 2012
I know this is not a movie that will appeal to everybody, but I personally think this movie is one of the best ones I have since the last decade! NIcole Kidman's performance is oustanding! This is an inventive, original movie that challengesI know this is not a movie that will appeal to everybody, but I personally think this movie is one of the best ones I have since the last decade! NIcole Kidman's performance is oustanding! This is an inventive, original movie that challenges order, and questions humans 'good faith'. A masterpiece. I cant describe it...you have to see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkAngelFeb 5, 2013
Inexplicably fine film. A monumental ideological concept elaborated with calligraphic punctuality. Dogville established Lars von Trier as one of my favorite filmmakers of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StaticSpineDec 15, 2013
A huge impact on me from this movie. There is almost no decor/scenery in this movie, and all you see is a great cast and story. The movie is almost 3 hours long and in the end the main question is solved, but you still have an aftertaste fromA huge impact on me from this movie. There is almost no decor/scenery in this movie, and all you see is a great cast and story. The movie is almost 3 hours long and in the end the main question is solved, but you still have an aftertaste from this. All of this is about the human nature. I really liked the meaning of the movie. But I won't recommend this to everyone. Still the movie is very unusual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ECantonaDec 23, 2013
A very strong, heavy perspective about humanity. In my opinion this is the best movie Trier has directed so far. Nicole Kidman fits in her role perfectly. The visual look of this movie makes it complete. Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanielSolanoDec 26, 2013
Dogville is a bold film, is something i recognize. I really liked the way this movie breaks some hollywood cliches on the scenes and also on the trama of the movie. Lars Von Trier always tries to explain his filosophy in his movies. It'sDogville is a bold film, is something i recognize. I really liked the way this movie breaks some hollywood cliches on the scenes and also on the trama of the movie. Lars Von Trier always tries to explain his filosophy in his movies. It's funny americans are not ready for this kind of movies. This movie shows the filosophy about human nature in a very artistic way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
Dogville is a talented work, yes, but is it a great film? No, It's not great. The ending is flat, especially for such a long buildup. It's not wholly a film either. It's not that the stage play thing is wrong, it's fine (especially since theDogville is a talented work, yes, but is it a great film? No, It's not great. The ending is flat, especially for such a long buildup. It's not wholly a film either. It's not that the stage play thing is wrong, it's fine (especially since the story is reminiscent of Greek tragedy). The problem is that it is lacking in light and sound. Maybe that is a good thing since the second half is heavy and long and feels real enough as it is. Still, Dogville is definitely a film to watch for two reasons: (1) an excellent performance by Nicole Kidman and (2) food for thought, one is definitely given a few things to think about. But be warned, this is not a film one watches to be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Apr 19, 2016
Incredible! The stage setting may seem weird at first, but keep watching-it's worth it! Top notch acting, rich story.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-5849-Dogville
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews