Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 23, 2011
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 58 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
14
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ZilcellAug 6, 2012
Predictable fun. Fantastic for family audiences. Acting was good, dolphins interesting to see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RobinsNestMay 10, 2012
If it wasn't based on a true story I would rate a zero. It's strictly for kids as the adults play to and through the kids. Mr Connick should stick to music. He sleepwalks through his dialogue , and is just not believable. The kids add someIf it wasn't based on a true story I would rate a zero. It's strictly for kids as the adults play to and through the kids. Mr Connick should stick to music. He sleepwalks through his dialogue , and is just not believable. The kids add some spice and Mr Freeman does his usual, but the pelican is the standout here. A hint of romance but never developed. Everybody gets together to save the tale / tail and we all smile at the end. So if you really have nothing to do one day and have small children, take the kids but don't expect much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
IronmongerSep 24, 2011
I believe that it is a very good movie.The plot is a little predictable because the commercials showed the dolphin swimming with its new tail and it is a true story so you could just look it up to spoil it. The plot being predicatable doesn'tI believe that it is a very good movie.The plot is a little predictable because the commercials showed the dolphin swimming with its new tail and it is a true story so you could just look it up to spoil it. The plot being predicatable doesn't make it any less impactful. Any marine biologist would be thinking, "ya, dolphins do love to play like that and lot." The only reason I am not giving it a ten, is because you can't relate to the dolphin as much as if the same thing happened all around a human. The older cousin did lose control of his right leg, yes, but the story is about the dolphin. You can tell when the dolphin is sad, but you can't understand the life of a dolphin, so you don't understand 100% why losing its tail is more than just less swimming. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
AudiowombatOct 8, 2011
OK, its good for a young target audience who wants a classic formulaic movie. Predictable, oh yes. Almost every step of the way. My six year old was engaged throughout.....and I did not find it offensive. That's about it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
AndyCSep 26, 2011
I am a huge fan of Harry Connick Jr., so I could not wait to see Dolphin Tale. It is a great feel good film that I recommend to everyone! There were so many hilarious moments and many of them provided by Winter, the dolphin, and Roofus, theI am a huge fan of Harry Connick Jr., so I could not wait to see Dolphin Tale. It is a great feel good film that I recommend to everyone! There were so many hilarious moments and many of them provided by Winter, the dolphin, and Roofus, the pelican. And of course, all of the human actors were great too. I especially liked when Dr. Clay Haskett (Harry Connick Jr.) played the saxophone whenever he felt vulnerable. I hear Harry Connick Jr. is headed to On A Clear Day on Broadway next! Iâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kristoffer15Oct 11, 2011
I'm a huge Morgan Freeman fan so I guess I was a little bit bias giving this movie a 10, but it was worth it. The animation needs more polishing but the storyline especially the end part gave this movie that edge over free willy
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Sir_BrandonOct 13, 2011
Inspired by an amazing true story, Dolphin Tale goes exactly how you think it will, but thatâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
I had high hopes for this film considering that it's a feel good movie. But it just didn't deliver. Just because a film is feel good doesn't mean that the film is good itself. When you rate a film never rate on the message it gives otherwiseI had high hopes for this film considering that it's a feel good movie. But it just didn't deliver. Just because a film is feel good doesn't mean that the film is good itself. When you rate a film never rate on the message it gives otherwise you'r just being bias. Try to look at what makes a film good like acting. Which was decent. The directing was decent as well. There was nothing special to this. The worst part of the movie was the plot build up. There was so many scenes that really weren't necessary. For instance, the scene when the kids fly the remote controlled helicopter wasn't necessary. I believe they put unnecessary scenes just to keep the kids interested. After all this is a kid movie. The writing was also decent. There wasn't any dialogue lines that caught my eye. Not even the story about the kids and the dolphins that Dr. Clay told interested me. The best part was that it's was a touching and heart warming true story. I would recommend this to people that want to take a break from good movies and appreciate a delighted story about a kid and his dolphin. Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
JuanoloApr 3, 2012
First off, I would give this a 8.75 out of 10. This is a great family movie, that's for anyone. Performances are all right. Score s descent. The story is good, but predictable every second. Overall, Dolphin tale is a good, family movie forFirst off, I would give this a 8.75 out of 10. This is a great family movie, that's for anyone. Performances are all right. Score s descent. The story is good, but predictable every second. Overall, Dolphin tale is a good, family movie for everyone. You and your family should go see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
talisencrwSep 16, 2016
This was a decent watch, not for cinematic reasons per se but for making the world a better place. I watched this with my son, Julian, and I was pleased with how they took the true story, including the actual dolphin from it, and, especiallyThis was a decent watch, not for cinematic reasons per se but for making the world a better place. I watched this with my son, Julian, and I was pleased with how they took the true story, including the actual dolphin from it, and, especially for kids, promoted environmentalism, caring for animals, etc.--really solid and important aspects that need to be, more than ever, emphasized in the youth of today.

My only qualms is that I have very mixed emotions about the casting. I know that to get an important environmental message heard, and thus the film watched, you have to incorporate Hollywood megastars. I simply wish this didn't have to be the case. The story would have come across better with unknown actors--or simply as a sincere documentary without the Hollywood B.S.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Jan 4, 2012
An amazing story.....quite simply put. This film is sweet. The performances are decent and the subject matter is affecting. However, this film drags quite a bit and it really goes nowhere in the second act. If not for the touching conclusion,An amazing story.....quite simply put. This film is sweet. The performances are decent and the subject matter is affecting. However, this film drags quite a bit and it really goes nowhere in the second act. If not for the touching conclusion, and the Westlife single "Safe" montage, this film would not have been perceived as well. Worth a rental price, and worth no more than a $10 personal copy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StonecutterFeb 3, 2012
This movie has a good message for kids.Never give up.Live out side of the box.Love with all of your heart and make the most of every moment.Dolphin Tale is not all that predictable for the target audience it was made for.Very entertainingThis movie has a good message for kids.Never give up.Live out side of the box.Love with all of your heart and make the most of every moment.Dolphin Tale is not all that predictable for the target audience it was made for.Very entertaining Kiddie food for the soul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
LandFApr 19, 2012
For a film that's supposed to be based off a true story, the whole film feels as fake as the many prosthetic tales made for the star of the film; a dolphin named Winter. The movie is about a young boy named Sawyer, who is very anti-social,For a film that's supposed to be based off a true story, the whole film feels as fake as the many prosthetic tales made for the star of the film; a dolphin named Winter. The movie is about a young boy named Sawyer, who is very anti-social, and not doing very well in Summer school. One day, he finds a beached dolphin entangled in a rope and a crab trap. The boy immediately has feelings for the dolphin, and stops by the marine animals hospital everyday to check on the creature. It appears there is little hope for the dolphin to survive, do the dolphin's tale (or more specifically; lack of). Among many problems with this film, the biggest is the movie's lack of a reason to exist. The story has obviously been greatly fabricated from it's source, the acting is passible, the attempts at humor will only make kids laugh, and there are some parts that are so unbearably cheesy, even a child may feel skeptical. I myself, laughed only once during the film's entire duration; nearly two hours. The film is not exciting, and it's very slow and un-rewarding. It's not unwatchable, it's just very boring. There are countless cliches in this film, more than I'd like to count. Every soap opera idea in the book has been yanked out of the book and thrown into this movie. I imagine some kids might enjoy this film, as long as they don't have a short attention span, but any one else will be able to see through this cheese fest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
allmoviesJan 8, 2012
animal films are usually terrible, but 2011 has had a short stack of very good ones and this is one of them. the heart works well, the plot moves quickly enough to engage kids and patiently enough to keep their parents interested. the storyanimal films are usually terrible, but 2011 has had a short stack of very good ones and this is one of them. the heart works well, the plot moves quickly enough to engage kids and patiently enough to keep their parents interested. the story is inspiring on multiple levels. overall a very good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AquophisFeb 6, 2012
I was rather taken aback when I did some background reading subsequently after watching and discovered that the actual events were, in fact, a great deal different from what I saw in the movie.
Aside from that, it's a happy, charming movie of
I was rather taken aback when I did some background reading subsequently after watching and discovered that the actual events were, in fact, a great deal different from what I saw in the movie.
Aside from that, it's a happy, charming movie of the feel-good variety, although I was annoyed how the young boy, Slater, was portrayed as "special" and having some sort of profound connection with the dolphin that no one else had.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
abcgbcJan 13, 2012
Its a good movie because it has the formula of an old classic film that delivered well.It is good for young audiences that will surely touch and inspire them and realized to be matured enough on helping others .the narrative is simple,wellIts a good movie because it has the formula of an old classic film that delivered well.It is good for young audiences that will surely touch and inspire them and realized to be matured enough on helping others .the narrative is simple,well detailed ,the performance is decent but there is no a great impact on every scene that will mark to the mind of the viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
christhebeast42Mar 28, 2013
First, let me say that I find these based on a true story animal movies to be annoying. I went into this movie with practically no expectation (mainly because I find Nathan Gamble, the lead kid extremely annoying) but I was pleasantlyFirst, let me say that I find these based on a true story animal movies to be annoying. I went into this movie with practically no expectation (mainly because I find Nathan Gamble, the lead kid extremely annoying) but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, most of it is cliche and there were only 2 good performances, but families will enjoy it. Just don't expect it to be great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
warrenworldMay 3, 2014
A sappy family flick from first judgment, the entire package is surprisingly an inspiring tale with great performances, which is what the audiences really want to see more often.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
Dr. Cameron McCarthy: "Just because you're hurt doesn't mean you're broken". Dolphin Tale is about a boy bonds with a dolphin who loses its tail after being caught in a crab trap. This movie was a harmless family flick with cute dolphins.Dr. Cameron McCarthy: "Just because you're hurt doesn't mean you're broken". Dolphin Tale is about a boy bonds with a dolphin who loses its tail after being caught in a crab trap. This movie was a harmless family flick with cute dolphins. People say that this is a copy and paste from free willy, but this is thing, I didn't like free willy at all, but I think this movie has a stronger message and it has better charterers. This is a harmless movie that little kids can enjoy and parents can find something good in this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Dolphin Tale is a funny, charming, and a good-hearted family flick about courage, hope, and perseverance that will touch your heart and perhaps even inspire you. Rather than panders to kids like most PG-rated movies often do, it acknowledgesDolphin Tale is a funny, charming, and a good-hearted family flick about courage, hope, and perseverance that will touch your heart and perhaps even inspire you. Rather than panders to kids like most PG-rated movies often do, it acknowledges their sense of imagination and patience and rewards them with a story that's both engaging and though-provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
"Dolphin Tale" is an incredible adventure with pure environmental awareness about helping animals that need our help , and not cotaminar the world's oceans , but the rest incredible movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gigiharris17Nov 11, 2015
It's an earnest, sweet film that relies on the extraordinary true story of Winter, the rescued dolphin, and little on manipulative Hollywood tricks.

Click here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29fb11-Dolphin-Tale-2-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 24, 2016
It's an earnest, sweet film that relies on the extraordinary true story of Winter, the rescued dolphin, and little on manipulative Hollywood tricks.

Watch this movie online
It's an earnest, sweet film that relies on the extraordinary true story of Winter, the rescued dolphin, and little on manipulative Hollywood tricks.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-274f5f-Dolphin-Tale-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonkiReviewsMay 31, 2017
I enjoyed it a lot. The story was very inspiring. The story was very predictable, but it was true. The acting was very great. Overall, it was worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews