Dolphin Tale

Dolphin Tale Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dolphin Tale is inspired by the amazing true story of a brave dolphin and the compassionate strangers who banded together to save her life. Swimming free, a young dolphin is caught in a crab trap, severely damaging her tail. She is rescued and transported to the Clearwater Marine Hospital,Dolphin Tale is inspired by the amazing true story of a brave dolphin and the compassionate strangers who banded together to save her life. Swimming free, a young dolphin is caught in a crab trap, severely damaging her tail. She is rescued and transported to the Clearwater Marine Hospital, where she is named Winter. But her fight for survival has just begun. Without a tail, Winter's prognosis is dire. It will take the expertise of a dedicated marine biologist, the ingenuity of a brilliant prosthetics doctor, and the unwavering devotion of a young boy to bring about a groundbreaking miracle—a miracle that might not only save Winter but could also help scores of people around the world. The real Winter, who plays herself in Dolphin Tale, today serves as a symbol of courage, perseverance and hope to millions of people—both able and disabled—who have been touched by her remarkable story of recovery and rehabilitation. (Warner Bros.)
    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    Director Charles Martin Smith presents the kind of movie that gives squeaky-clean a good name.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 22, 2011
    75
    The dolphin is, quite simply, remarkable, and the unstated message of resilience and adaptation ripples easily off the screen to the smallest viewers.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 22, 2011
    75
    The story of healing and courage is told with a refreshing lack of cynicism, not surprising since it's from the same producers as the wonderful "My Dog Skip."
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Sep 21, 2011
    67
    While the plot occasionally feels like "Free Willy" without the drama, it's a cute story if you don't mind temporarily trading in your cynicism for a bag of popcorn.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    A reasonably uplifting kids movie if you don't think about it too much. I get paid to think about things too much, and effective as the movie is, it nevertheless left me slightly put off.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 21, 2011
    63
    No, this isn't how it really happened. But director Charles Martin Smith ("Air Bud") wrings plenty of heartfelt tears and a few laughs out of this fictionalized account.
  7. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Dolphin Tale is inoffensive enough -- little kids will probably dig it -- and I'm not suggesting that family-friendly docudramas should tightly conform to real life. But when they do embellish, they should distill the story into something more compelling, rather than watering it down with pleasant-but-utterly-forgettable inspirational boilerplate.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge Morgan Freeman fan so I guess I was a little bit bias giving this movie a 10, but it was worth it. The animation needs moreI'm a huge Morgan Freeman fan so I guess I was a little bit bias giving this movie a 10, but it was worth it. The animation needs more polishing but the storyline especially the end part gave this movie that edge over free willy Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    I was rather taken aback when I did some background reading subsequently after watching and discovered that the actual events were, in fact, aI was rather taken aback when I did some background reading subsequently after watching and discovered that the actual events were, in fact, a great deal different from what I saw in the movie.
    Aside from that, it's a happy, charming movie of the feel-good variety, although I was annoyed how the young boy, Slater, was portrayed as "special" and having some sort of profound connection with the dolphin that no one else had.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2015
    8
    It's an earnest, sweet film that relies on the extraordinary true story of Winter, the rescued dolphin, and little on manipulative HollywoodIt's an earnest, sweet film that relies on the extraordinary true story of Winter, the rescued dolphin, and little on manipulative Hollywood tricks.

    Click here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29fb11-Dolphin-Tale-2-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    animal films are usually terrible, but 2011 has had a short stack of very good ones and this is one of them. the heart works well, the plotanimal films are usually terrible, but 2011 has had a short stack of very good ones and this is one of them. the heart works well, the plot moves quickly enough to engage kids and patiently enough to keep their parents interested. the story is inspiring on multiple levels. overall a very good film. Expand
  5. May 3, 2014
    7
    A sappy family flick from first judgment, the entire package is surprisingly an inspiring tale with great performances, which is what theA sappy family flick from first judgment, the entire package is surprisingly an inspiring tale with great performances, which is what the audiences really want to see more often. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    6
    First, let me say that I find these based on a true story animal movies to be annoying. I went into this movie with practically no expectationFirst, let me say that I find these based on a true story animal movies to be annoying. I went into this movie with practically no expectation (mainly because I find Nathan Gamble, the lead kid extremely annoying) but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, most of it is cliche and there were only 2 good performances, but families will enjoy it. Just don't expect it to be great. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2012
    2
    For a film that's supposed to be based off a true story, the whole film feels as fake as the many prosthetic tales made for the star of theFor a film that's supposed to be based off a true story, the whole film feels as fake as the many prosthetic tales made for the star of the film; a dolphin named Winter. The movie is about a young boy named Sawyer, who is very anti-social, and not doing very well in Summer school. One day, he finds a beached dolphin entangled in a rope and a crab trap. The boy immediately has feelings for the dolphin, and stops by the marine animals hospital everyday to check on the creature. It appears there is little hope for the dolphin to survive, do the dolphin's tale (or more specifically; lack of). Among many problems with this film, the biggest is the movie's lack of a reason to exist. The story has obviously been greatly fabricated from it's source, the acting is passible, the attempts at humor will only make kids laugh, and there are some parts that are so unbearably cheesy, even a child may feel skeptical. I myself, laughed only once during the film's entire duration; nearly two hours. The film is not exciting, and it's very slow and un-rewarding. It's not unwatchable, it's just very boring. There are countless cliches in this film, more than I'd like to count. Every soap opera idea in the book has been yanked out of the book and thrown into this movie. I imagine some kids might enjoy this film, as long as they don't have a short attention span, but any one else will be able to see through this cheese fest. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers