User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 68
  2. Negative: 23 out of 68
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    You caught me...I love this movie way more than I probably should. I don't care what critics say about this one, I had one hell of a time with it. Underrated fun!
  2. DavidV.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Probably the best movie of the millenium
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    A perfect film in my opinion. Not sure why all the negative reviews. It was stylish, dramatic, action packed, thrilling, funny, well directed, and well written. Whats not to like?
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Domino is one of the finest films that I have had the pleasure of viewing, I get the impression that many professional critics do not have the smarts to follow less conventional narrative.
  5. Alex
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    Actually surprisingly good. Bought the DVD and I loved it.
  6. grega.
    Apr 6, 2006
    0
    I can understand how epileptics can have fits watching a jerky, light-flashing, spasmy film like this. I often had to close my eyes in order to avoid feeling sick and I really hope this is not the future of film directing. Also dull plot and dialogue but these negatives are insignificant compared to the nightmare directing.
  7. KenG
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    You see alot of awlful movies come out of Hollywood, but you rarely see a movie this smug about being this awlful. Nothing in it was done well.
  8. IanM
    Mar 6, 2006
    7
    Way better than you'd think it would be. this will becomes a cult classic down the road.
  9. AbhinavR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    1
    Cheap attempt to be a movie with a message. I almost fell asleep while watching it. Waste of my time.
  10. SammyW.
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    I found it visually stunning; the convoluted application of hues came across compellingly and the variety of angles and motion speed combined with the starkly contrasting locations left a vivid impression long after leaving the theatre. The characters, on first impression imaginatively stereotypical developed nicely and consistently. The actors clicked brilliantly, namely the main trio, I found it visually stunning; the convoluted application of hues came across compellingly and the variety of angles and motion speed combined with the starkly contrasting locations left a vivid impression long after leaving the theatre. The characters, on first impression imaginatively stereotypical developed nicely and consistently. The actors clicked brilliantly, namely the main trio, and the supporting roles were aptly cast. Dialogue managed to be humorous, profound, and simplistic all in turn. The score lent itself brilliantly and memoriably to the film. The quality of this production becomes more apparent with each viewing. I highly recommend it. Expand
  11. SteveM.
    Oct 23, 2005
    2
    Here's what reallly ticked me off: my overwhelming feeling that everything that made sense in this shoot got left on the edit room floor. I'm a fan of the Scott brothers, but in this case I found myself staying in the theater seat in the forlorn hope that something might happen on-screen to make sense of all the posturing mish-mash. There was obviously a lot of talent on both Here's what reallly ticked me off: my overwhelming feeling that everything that made sense in this shoot got left on the edit room floor. I'm a fan of the Scott brothers, but in this case I found myself staying in the theater seat in the forlorn hope that something might happen on-screen to make sense of all the posturing mish-mash. There was obviously a lot of talent on both sides of the camera, but we only have past work to go by because predious little of it shows here. And with the constant extreme close-ups of glowing cigarettes I found myslef wondering if the whole mess would end with everyone just coughing themselves to death. Expand
  12. CAENT
    Feb 26, 2006
    8
    Great direction, flawless acting, numerous unpredicted twists and non-stop action, make this movie great. Ive watched it 3 times, and each time its better. A few parts of the movie could have been done without, but overall, this movie was a joy to enjoy. Dont miss it, and dont fall victim to over-criticized and anti-action writers from no-name magazines and papers. Keep in mind, they Great direction, flawless acting, numerous unpredicted twists and non-stop action, make this movie great. Ive watched it 3 times, and each time its better. A few parts of the movie could have been done without, but overall, this movie was a joy to enjoy. Dont miss it, and dont fall victim to over-criticized and anti-action writers from no-name magazines and papers. Keep in mind, they loved "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" if that gives you an idea where their minds lay. Expand
  13. ArminA.
    Mar 4, 2006
    0
    Domino is a music video with an acress that simply does not fit the part. A little brittish girl palying a bounty hunter. "Ima a bounty hunta".. Knightley is completely pathetic in her part.
  14. LukeR
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    Pure uncut garbage. This film is so bad it's shocking.
  15. XiangzhongS.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    This show makes no sense at all. its a chore watching such a show.
  16. jims.
    Nov 3, 2005
    8
    I only know Tony Scott's work from his last few films, which I both enjoyed. Even though the trailer was pretty incoherent and smug, I was still looking foward to seeing it. But then the reviews came it, and everyone seemed to hate it, critics and movie goers alike. So I went into it expecting a 2 hour version of the trailer. But the final film was a lot more coherent than I I only know Tony Scott's work from his last few films, which I both enjoyed. Even though the trailer was pretty incoherent and smug, I was still looking foward to seeing it. But then the reviews came it, and everyone seemed to hate it, critics and movie goers alike. So I went into it expecting a 2 hour version of the trailer. But the final film was a lot more coherent than I expected. I didn't just not hate it, but really enjoyed it. It makes me question whether or it's me or the general public that needs to smarten up. Despite what everyone says, I found the plot really easy to follow, and the ridiculous elements that I'd heard about, like the incorporation of reality TV and Jerry Springer, actually existed nicely within the film, and provided an interesting commentary on consumer culture. Even if it wasn't meant to, it worked well and didn't feel tacked on. Overall the film was more somber than I expected, again, not the tounge in cheek stuff I'd seen the trailer, and all the cheesy lines like 'heads you live, tails you die" again came off much more tasteful in the final cut. It's strange, because this film seems ot be everything Kill Bill wanted to be. It's truly gritty, and truly funny when it wants to be, and mixes art and trash with grace. Yet everyone loved Kill Bill, and hated this film. Expand
  17. BeauM.
    Oct 15, 2005
    8
    I'm not saying this is the Second Coming of the action film genre, but these negative reviews are incredbly miscalculated. The film is a joyous romp, featuring delicious performances from everyone around (even though I did feel that the Walken needed to be used more). The action sequences rock, the script is witty and intelligent, and I had a damn good time watching this film. It did I'm not saying this is the Second Coming of the action film genre, but these negative reviews are incredbly miscalculated. The film is a joyous romp, featuring delicious performances from everyone around (even though I did feel that the Walken needed to be used more). The action sequences rock, the script is witty and intelligent, and I had a damn good time watching this film. It did go on a little too long, and some of the plot points weren't as clear as they should've been, but you know what? To compare this to "The Fog" and say this is worse, just goes to show you how little some critics know about film. This is vastly superior to that despicable excuse for celluloid, and if you're just looking for a good time in a movie theater that has action, blood, sex, etc etc... this is your best bet. Expand
  18. ElaineM.
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    Loved it! Visually stunning, well-acted, well-written, beautifully directed, moments of humor. Convoluted, yes, but so were many great films (Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, The Usual Suspects come to mind). If you pay attention to detail, you'll have no problem following it.
  19. MattC.
    Oct 15, 2005
    0
    Where to begin? Knightley is absurd and utterly unbelievable as a badass; you just keep seeing her in some upscale, tony British acting academy practicing her snarl in the mirror. In fairness, she is hung out to dry by the asinine screenplay. In fairness, the screenplay is butchered (literally) by the desperate-to-be-cool directing and acting. Scott has been great before (SPY GAME, MAN ON Where to begin? Knightley is absurd and utterly unbelievable as a badass; you just keep seeing her in some upscale, tony British acting academy practicing her snarl in the mirror. In fairness, she is hung out to dry by the asinine screenplay. In fairness, the screenplay is butchered (literally) by the desperate-to-be-cool directing and acting. Scott has been great before (SPY GAME, MAN ON FIRE, almost), but his increasing use of gratuitous subtitles is disturbing. It reminds one of those old Sesame Street skits where the silhouetted adult profil would sound out a word and it would fly from their mouth on screen. Why all these words on screen, Tony? Get out of the way of your own film; if this film and script had any substance at all, it would have been drowned by all the chintzy style. But maybe that is what a director does when he has a miscast lead and incoherent script-- better off not making the debacle. All the cameos and trick editing can't mask the stupidity; films are still about TELLING STORIES at heart, and this one makes no sense whatsoever. Expand
  20. JoelK.
    Oct 16, 2005
    7
    It's good for some cheap eye-candy, which is all I wanted out of it.
  21. marshallm.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Amazingly fun!
  22. MatthewL.
    Oct 20, 2005
    6
    Not as bad as advertised, but not great either. I appreciate what Scott was trying to do with his hallucinagenic atmosphere...but in the end it just falls on its face. An interesting, if ultimately unsuccesful, experiment in style.
  23. JimG
    Oct 24, 2005
    4
    Visually interesting but empty movie. Who cares about these characters? They're all arrogant, oh-so-tough, meaningless. The best part was the self-depracating roles of Brian Austin Green and Ian Whatsizname because they mirror perfectly the leading roles--does Mickey Rourke really think he comes off as some cool toughened criminal? I didn't buy it and couldn't take the film Visually interesting but empty movie. Who cares about these characters? They're all arrogant, oh-so-tough, meaningless. The best part was the self-depracating roles of Brian Austin Green and Ian Whatsizname because they mirror perfectly the leading roles--does Mickey Rourke really think he comes off as some cool toughened criminal? I didn't buy it and couldn't take the film seriously as a result. Expand
  24. T.Wacker
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    Instant cult classic!
  25. LeifH.
    Mar 2, 2006
    0
    Total crap. Was Tony Scott's "fake hanheld camera style" barely acceptable, because of a good script and great acting in 'Man on Fire', in this flick it's (literally) sickening. Boooh!
  26. ChrisM.
    Oct 12, 2005
    5
    What a disappointment....I'm getting nervous at what Southland Tales will be!
  27. LeviT.
    Oct 14, 2005
    7
    Domino wasn't great. It was certainly over complicated. But Mickey Rourke, Keira Knightley, and great visuals made it worth watching. Only once, but definitely worth watching that one time.
  28. anthonyf.
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen. I sat through the whole movie waiting for it to end. trying to be a kill bill, but absolutely nothing like it. the plot was confusing, and layed out horribly. maybe 20second part that was somewhat entertaining. it was overly repeatitve in its cheesly lines and horribly written script. only good part was Christopher Walken's appearance. do not One of the worst movies i have ever seen. I sat through the whole movie waiting for it to end. trying to be a kill bill, but absolutely nothing like it. the plot was confusing, and layed out horribly. maybe 20second part that was somewhat entertaining. it was overly repeatitve in its cheesly lines and horribly written script. only good part was Christopher Walken's appearance. do not see!!! the one rating is for walken. Expand
  29. GaborA.
    Feb 28, 2006
    1
    I don't know who has control over these things, but someone needs to fire Tony Scot. I mean this is getting ridiculous. What was once over the top directing is now just flat out stupidity. And has anyone else noticed that this is the third Tony Scott movie to have the same 3+ party shootout ending where everyone shows up looking to settle a deal and theres unexpected company? Avoid I don't know who has control over these things, but someone needs to fire Tony Scot. I mean this is getting ridiculous. What was once over the top directing is now just flat out stupidity. And has anyone else noticed that this is the third Tony Scott movie to have the same 3+ party shootout ending where everyone shows up looking to settle a deal and theres unexpected company? Avoid this headache. Expand
  30. KevinF.
    Mar 28, 2006
    0
    WARNING: viewing this movie will give you dysentery and then rubella. You'll scratch your eyes out and wish you'd never been born.
  31. CharlieN.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    I loved it! Stylish, original, and very underrated!Terrific fun!
  32. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    I actually liked Keira Knightley in this movie - which is pretty good.

    The movie is visually challenging at places, as is the plot between "this happened" and "oh no it didn't". But the push and pull would work really well after another watch or two, I'm sure.

    All in all, the movie is a bit chaotic and crude - which works really well for this piece.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 36
  2. Negative: 15 out of 36
  1. 63
    The movie is full of possibilities. Frustratingly, only a few of them are realized.
  2. Thanks to dynamic performances by Keira Knightley, Mickey Rourke, Edgar Ramirez and a strong cast -- sometimes all but buried beneath irksome stylistic flourishes -- this dark and absurd melodrama certainly has raw energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    Satisfying neither as character study nor as straight-ahead actioner.