Domino

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 69
  2. Negative: 23 out of 69
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidV.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Probably the best movie of the millenium
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    A perfect film in my opinion. Not sure why all the negative reviews. It was stylish, dramatic, action packed, thrilling, funny, well directed, and well written. Whats not to like?
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Domino is one of the finest films that I have had the pleasure of viewing, I get the impression that many professional critics do not have the smarts to follow less conventional narrative.
  4. Alex
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    Actually surprisingly good. Bought the DVD and I loved it.
  5. IanM
    Mar 6, 2006
    7
    Way better than you'd think it would be. this will becomes a cult classic down the road.
  6. SammyW.
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    I found it visually stunning; the convoluted application of hues came across compellingly and the variety of angles and motion speed combined with the starkly contrasting locations left a vivid impression long after leaving the theatre. The characters, on first impression imaginatively stereotypical developed nicely and consistently. The actors clicked brilliantly, namely the main trio, I found it visually stunning; the convoluted application of hues came across compellingly and the variety of angles and motion speed combined with the starkly contrasting locations left a vivid impression long after leaving the theatre. The characters, on first impression imaginatively stereotypical developed nicely and consistently. The actors clicked brilliantly, namely the main trio, and the supporting roles were aptly cast. Dialogue managed to be humorous, profound, and simplistic all in turn. The score lent itself brilliantly and memoriably to the film. The quality of this production becomes more apparent with each viewing. I highly recommend it. Expand
  7. CAENT
    Feb 26, 2006
    8
    Great direction, flawless acting, numerous unpredicted twists and non-stop action, make this movie great. Ive watched it 3 times, and each time its better. A few parts of the movie could have been done without, but overall, this movie was a joy to enjoy. Dont miss it, and dont fall victim to over-criticized and anti-action writers from no-name magazines and papers. Keep in mind, they Great direction, flawless acting, numerous unpredicted twists and non-stop action, make this movie great. Ive watched it 3 times, and each time its better. A few parts of the movie could have been done without, but overall, this movie was a joy to enjoy. Dont miss it, and dont fall victim to over-criticized and anti-action writers from no-name magazines and papers. Keep in mind, they loved "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" if that gives you an idea where their minds lay. Expand
  8. jims.
    Nov 3, 2005
    8
    I only know Tony Scott's work from his last few films, which I both enjoyed. Even though the trailer was pretty incoherent and smug, I was still looking foward to seeing it. But then the reviews came it, and everyone seemed to hate it, critics and movie goers alike. So I went into it expecting a 2 hour version of the trailer. But the final film was a lot more coherent than I I only know Tony Scott's work from his last few films, which I both enjoyed. Even though the trailer was pretty incoherent and smug, I was still looking foward to seeing it. But then the reviews came it, and everyone seemed to hate it, critics and movie goers alike. So I went into it expecting a 2 hour version of the trailer. But the final film was a lot more coherent than I expected. I didn't just not hate it, but really enjoyed it. It makes me question whether or it's me or the general public that needs to smarten up. Despite what everyone says, I found the plot really easy to follow, and the ridiculous elements that I'd heard about, like the incorporation of reality TV and Jerry Springer, actually existed nicely within the film, and provided an interesting commentary on consumer culture. Even if it wasn't meant to, it worked well and didn't feel tacked on. Overall the film was more somber than I expected, again, not the tounge in cheek stuff I'd seen the trailer, and all the cheesy lines like 'heads you live, tails you die" again came off much more tasteful in the final cut. It's strange, because this film seems ot be everything Kill Bill wanted to be. It's truly gritty, and truly funny when it wants to be, and mixes art and trash with grace. Yet everyone loved Kill Bill, and hated this film. Expand
  9. BeauM.
    Oct 15, 2005
    8
    I'm not saying this is the Second Coming of the action film genre, but these negative reviews are incredbly miscalculated. The film is a joyous romp, featuring delicious performances from everyone around (even though I did feel that the Walken needed to be used more). The action sequences rock, the script is witty and intelligent, and I had a damn good time watching this film. It did I'm not saying this is the Second Coming of the action film genre, but these negative reviews are incredbly miscalculated. The film is a joyous romp, featuring delicious performances from everyone around (even though I did feel that the Walken needed to be used more). The action sequences rock, the script is witty and intelligent, and I had a damn good time watching this film. It did go on a little too long, and some of the plot points weren't as clear as they should've been, but you know what? To compare this to "The Fog" and say this is worse, just goes to show you how little some critics know about film. This is vastly superior to that despicable excuse for celluloid, and if you're just looking for a good time in a movie theater that has action, blood, sex, etc etc... this is your best bet. Expand
  10. ElaineM.
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    Loved it! Visually stunning, well-acted, well-written, beautifully directed, moments of humor. Convoluted, yes, but so were many great films (Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, The Usual Suspects come to mind). If you pay attention to detail, you'll have no problem following it.
  11. JoelK.
    Oct 16, 2005
    7
    It's good for some cheap eye-candy, which is all I wanted out of it.
  12. marshallm.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Amazingly fun!
  13. T.Wacker
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    Instant cult classic!
  14. LeviT.
    Oct 14, 2005
    7
    Domino wasn't great. It was certainly over complicated. But Mickey Rourke, Keira Knightley, and great visuals made it worth watching. Only once, but definitely worth watching that one time.
  15. CharlieN.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    I loved it! Stylish, original, and very underrated!Terrific fun!
  16. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    I actually liked Keira Knightley in this movie - which is pretty good.

    The movie is visually challenging at places, as is the plot between "this happened" and "oh no it didn't". But the push and pull would work really well after another watch or two, I'm sure.

    All in all, the movie is a bit chaotic and crude - which works really well for this piece.
  17. Aug 10, 2015
    8
    Domino (2005) is one of my all time favorite films for it's time and yet still to date I can drop this movie in the DVD Player and kick back to enjoy the action. I haven't had a lot of time to get my reviews in on all of the movie I own or have watched being that their thousands upon thousands but as time passes I will get to it; I had to take a moment to express my views on Domino. ThisDomino (2005) is one of my all time favorite films for it's time and yet still to date I can drop this movie in the DVD Player and kick back to enjoy the action. I haven't had a lot of time to get my reviews in on all of the movie I own or have watched being that their thousands upon thousands but as time passes I will get to it; I had to take a moment to express my views on Domino. This movie is filled with action, it's sort of the "21 Jump Street" on crack filled with a bit of "Natural Born Killers" love. Now I'm a huge fan of Keira Knightley and so far have liked every film she has performed in; this one still is my favorite of the lot. What more could you ask for in an action movie, tons of guns flaring, conspiracy, and the boat ride that just keeps burning to the ground while in mid float. Love it! Expand
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 36
  2. Negative: 15 out of 36
  1. 63
    The movie is full of possibilities. Frustratingly, only a few of them are realized.
  2. Thanks to dynamic performances by Keira Knightley, Mickey Rourke, Edgar Ramirez and a strong cast -- sometimes all but buried beneath irksome stylistic flourishes -- this dark and absurd melodrama certainly has raw energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    Satisfying neither as character study nor as straight-ahead actioner.