Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 26, 2013
    88
    Gordon-Levitt won't take safe for an answer. So Don Jon tends to stumble as it finds its feet. Still, you leave this movie feeling had at instead of had. The experience is elating.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Sep 25, 2013
    83
    Gordon-Levitt proves a natural filmmaker, nimbly staging Jon's highly amusing Catholic confessions, along with porn montages that mimic the dopamine-charged editing of "Requiem for a Dream." He also gets a terrific performance out of Tony Danza as Jon's hilariously blinkered brute of a dad.
  3. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Apr 11, 2013
    83
    A beguiling romantic comedy with a heart, soul and pulse that will pleasure you for a full 90 minutes with hardly breaking a sweat.
  4. Reviewed by: Catherine Bray
    Nov 12, 2013
    80
    As a director, Gordon-Levitt demonstrates considerable technical flair through stylistic flourishes and coaxes great performances out of his co-stars, while he remains centre stage throughout.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 27, 2013
    80
    Who would have thought one of the most amusing and oddly insightful romantic comedies would be built around the power and the potent pull of porn?
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    [A] deceptively sincere movie about masculinity and its discontents that Mr. Gordon-Levitt, making a fine feature directing debut, shapes into a story about a young man's moral education.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    I’ll take messy, daring creativity like Gordon-Levitt’s over a formulaic fantasy any day.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 25, 2013
    80
    A sharp turn on the romantic comedy, a movie about flawed people doing flawed things, often in funny fashion.
  9. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    It's a comedy that moves with a sense of purpose, as Gordon-Levitt does in the title role.
  10. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    Short, sweet, raunchy and often screamingly funny.
  11. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Gordon-Levitt keeps things riotous for the film's first hour, and if he eases into an ending that's a little Hollywood-standard, after having so much fun tweaking form and content, I'm guessing audiences will cut him some slack.
  12. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Don Jon is a disarming film that proves Gordon-Levitt’s deftness both behind the camera and in front of a computer screen, writing.
  13. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Johansson gives one of her best performances as the bossy, gum-chewing Jersey girl determined to change Jon into her image of a romantic hero. Tony Danza and Glenne Headly are hilarious as Jon's parents. Gordon-Levitt proves he can act, write and direct with equal dexterity.
  14. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Don Jon deserves praise for wearing its message lightly and yet for daring to present such a lecture in today's Internet-drenched environment. Gordon-Levitt may be blithe in discussing pornography, but his movie nonetheless asserts that porn is addictive and destructive, that it intrudes on intimacy, and that it short-circuits the capacities for interaction and also, ultimately, for pleasure. That's a serious subject and a committed viewpoint, handled with wit and intelligence.
  15. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Gordon-Levitt the writer-director delivers some great laugh lines and a couple of nifty plot pivots, and Gordon-Levitt the actor gives a winning performance.
  16. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    What Don Jon is, surprisingly, is honest. R-rating aside, it should be required viewing for every 15-year-old boy on the planet.
  17. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Don Jon is about a man's unwitting search for intimacy, for real connection in a world where everyone is connected - by social media, by the Internet, by TV and computer and smartphone screens. That's not exactly an original idea. But Gordon-Levitt goes at it with gusto, and style. Give the guy some props.
  18. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Gordon-Levitt wears three hats (director, writer, actor) and all of them fit.
  19. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Don Jon is nominally a love triangle between a woman, a man and his laptop, but the movie is much more thoughtful and substantial than that, and it takes a compassionate and humane approach to all of its characters, even when they’re at their most despicable.
  20. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Behind the camera, Gordon-Levitt shows serious promise.
  21. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 25, 2013
    75
    In Don Jon Gordon-Levitt hasn’t made a great movie. But he has made a fun one, short and sweet, with a third act punch that is so to-the-point it’ll take your breath away.
  22. Reviewed by: Jamie S. Rich
    Sep 24, 2013
    75
    Don Jon is raunchy. The dialogue’s frank and much of what we see is explicit enough to make this a film exclusively for grown-ups. Luckily, the emotional places Gordon-Levitt takes his characters are pretty grown-up, too.
  23. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Apr 11, 2013
    75
    A funny, sly directorial debut
  24. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Sep 25, 2013
    70
    Don Jon is a continuously entertaining and fitfully provocative first-time effort from the longtime actor.
  25. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Sep 25, 2013
    70
    This is a sweet, lively and funny movie rather than a fully realized one, but it makes clear that Gordon-Levitt has a natural feeling for cinema and should do more of it.
  26. 70
    The movie is a broad ethnic comedy, but there’s nothing broad about the wicked-smart way it’s executed.
  27. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Apr 11, 2013
    70
    Gordon-Levitt’s script can be a bit on-the-nose at times, but that’s an indulgence easily forgiven in a debut feature, and this ensemble winningly sells the movie’s tricky tonal mix.
  28. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 27, 2013
    67
    Well made as it is, Don Jon suffers from a half-baked scenario that never manages to make its characters as intriguing as the problems that afflict its protagonist. It's a movie that shows better than it tells, even as it leaves much up to the imagination.
  29. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Sep 25, 2013
    67
    Don Jon is so friskily risque, with teasing glimpses of what turns Jon on and frank dialogue to match, that you don't notice the movie is stuck in a rut until Julianne Moore shows up late, offering Jon an older, wiser perspective on sex and relationships.
  30. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Sep 27, 2013
    63
    What becomes increasingly apparent is that Gordon-Levitt hasn’t exactly decided what Jon’s problem is, in a character that seems partly an expression of male wish fulfilment.
  31. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 26, 2013
    63
    Gordon-Levitt is a victim of his own success here. He plays such a convincing cad that we don’t believe or invest in his redemption.
  32. Reviewed by: Jeremy Kay
    Apr 11, 2013
    60
    A fun, occasionally flabby romp that should find its audience.
  33. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 27, 2013
    58
    True love beckons in the guise of a dingbat played by Julianne Moore and all is right with the world. As Jon’s father, a man whose lifeblood is yelling, Tony Danza is very funny. He makes you understand what his son is escaping from.
  34. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Sep 25, 2013
    58
    To Gordon-Levitt’s credit, he neatly sidesteps the moralizing message his film seems to be building toward. The hero’s problem is not that he jerks off too much; as articulated by widowed, pot-smoking classmate Julianne Moore — the only real human being onscreen — it’s that he’s never actually connected to another person through sex.
  35. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Sep 26, 2013
    50
    I like Mr. Gordon-Levitt a lot as an actor, and I wish him only the best in his future work as a filmmaker. There is, however, the matter of this particular movie, an overheated disquisition on the pleasures and limitations of masturbation.
  36. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 25, 2013
    50
    Although the film’s character portraits are vividly drawn, they remain largely one-dimensional.
  37. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    He (Gordon-Levitt) can act, and there’s a possibility he can also direct, but there’s no evidence in Don Jon that he can do both at the same time.
  38. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    As with many a first feature, Gordon-Levitt’s so-so directorial debut is pumped up with ambition. The early scenes, heavy on caricature, promise to puncture much of the cocky illusions surrounding modern relationships.
  39. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Sep 27, 2013
    38
    A sex comedy that just lays there and expects you to do all the work. Gordon-Levitt's direction is repetitive and dry, and his screenplay is a collage of badly cut out pieces from other movies.
  40. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Sep 11, 2013
    38
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt's directorial debut does for porn-dependence what Shame did for sex addiction by offering a surface-level look at the effects of its specific pathology on its lead male character.
  41. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 11, 2013
    30
    Crude, repetitive and rigorously single-minded, the popular actor’s writing and directing debut lays it all on a bit thick, as the few points the film has to make are underscored time and time again.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 55
  2. Negative: 4 out of 55
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    1
    As a mature male that enjoys movies, attending 1-2 every week, I blanched every time I saw the preview to the upcoming Don Jon. All I got from it was a movie about porn addiction, period. Mentally I wrote it off. Today I made a critical mistake. I normally don’t read the reviews of movies I know don’t give me a single spark of interest, only the sparky ones. Alas, the reviews were surprisingly acceptable and I went to a morning matinee. What a waste. It was a movie about porn addiction of course, but I assumed from the reviews there were many redeeming qualities and growth in the characters included. WRONG! Joseph Gordon-Levitt & his father Tony Danza were simply vacuous, crude, foul-mouthed and valueless all the way to the closing credits. There was zero empathy or sympathy and not a hint of anyone being a protagonist. I not only did not care about the males in this film, I was repulsed by them. The Catholic sacrament of “confession” was treated like an irrelevant waste basket for immoral behavior rather than anything sacred or religious and demanding of sincere repentance as it does in real life. Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore performances were very good actually. This movie had one theme and one theme only…promiscuitypornpromiscuityporn. I spent the last 30 minutes mentally flipping a coin on whether to just get up and leave. I stayed because I wanted to write an honest review on a complete product. On the way out a group of five in front of me complained out loud about their waste of time and money on that piece of trash. I chimed in with them as we left the theater. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Full Review »
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it's heart, an attempt to savage the values that all these groups hold dear. It shines a hot and otherwise absentee light the cancer of over-sexualization. It shows, subtly at times and baldly at others, how consumer driven, sexualized, culture has reached it's tendrils into every-day life, down even into the language we use, how we think and what we think we need. No character is safe, even the heroine, who chastises the male lead for being "addicted to porn" does so while lighting a joint. Entertaining, lighthearted and even touching, this movie, like it's main character, seems dumb on the outside but turns out to be intelligent after all. In fact it's really intelligent, which will hurt it's reviews. It's irreverence (which I love) makes it's target market small and it's high bar of entry (most people won't "get it") makes it's target audience smaller still. I took off a point the ending feeling rushed, but truly, I laughed my head off the whole time. If you're not in any of those listed groups, or if you're genuinely interested in gender roles, feminism, or sociology, you need to see this. Full Review »