Relativity Media | Release Date: September 27, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 322 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
225
Mixed:
74
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
Chazd3Sep 27, 2013
As a mature male that enjoys movies, attending 1-2 every week, I blanched every time I saw the preview to the upcoming Don Jon. All I got from it was a movie about porn addiction, period. Mentally I wrote it off. Today I made a criticalAs a mature male that enjoys movies, attending 1-2 every week, I blanched every time I saw the preview to the upcoming Don Jon. All I got from it was a movie about porn addiction, period. Mentally I wrote it off. Today I made a critical mistake. I normally don’t read the reviews of movies I know don’t give me a single spark of interest, only the sparky ones. Alas, the reviews were surprisingly acceptable and I went to a morning matinee. What a waste. It was a movie about porn addiction of course, but I assumed from the reviews there were many redeeming qualities and growth in the characters included. WRONG! Joseph Gordon-Levitt & his father Tony Danza were simply vacuous, crude, foul-mouthed and valueless all the way to the closing credits. There was zero empathy or sympathy and not a hint of anyone being a protagonist. I not only did not care about the males in this film, I was repulsed by them. The Catholic sacrament of “confession” was treated like an irrelevant waste basket for immoral behavior rather than anything sacred or religious and demanding of sincere repentance as it does in real life. Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore performances were very good actually. This movie had one theme and one theme only…promiscuitypornpromiscuityporn. I spent the last 30 minutes mentally flipping a coin on whether to just get up and leave. I stayed because I wanted to write an honest review on a complete product. On the way out a group of five in front of me complained out loud about their waste of time and money on that piece of trash. I chimed in with them as we left the theater. Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
3
Rob7309Mar 7, 2014
I was a long for the ride at the start, but as this movie went along, it fell apart for me. I do like Joseph Gordon-Levitt and would see another film directed by him, but this one fell flat for me.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
FranzHcriticJan 1, 2015
Even for me, I found the sex and porn scenes repetitive and tasteless. There was so much you could take out. Joseph Gordon-Levitt should have made a short film about this, nothing more, but a whole lot less. The acting was par, but I foundEven for me, I found the sex and porn scenes repetitive and tasteless. There was so much you could take out. Joseph Gordon-Levitt should have made a short film about this, nothing more, but a whole lot less. The acting was par, but I found narration overused and the script far too bland for me to really sit and enjoy this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
WonderFrostfSep 22, 2014
I decided to watch this movie based on the casting. This was my mistake. I found it rather pointless and repetitive. Maybe a teenager would enjoy this film, but I found it rather empty and boring. Sorry, I tried!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
wilemon2000Oct 8, 2013
October 2013

The topic of porn addiction might be worth exploring in a movie. And certainly writers should be able to generate a few laughs out of it .Oddly the laughs are very few here except those lame ones at the expense of Catholics
October 2013

The topic of porn addiction might be worth exploring in a movie. And certainly writers should be able to generate a few laughs out of it .Oddly the laughs are very few here except those lame ones at the expense of Catholics and Italians (undershirts at dinner really The real problem here is casting .Bluntly Gordon-Levitt is an excellent actor but really doesn't have the drop dead "look" to play the super babe magnet of the movie lead. His exchanging glances with the best looking women in the bar and then running to bed with them is pretty much a fairy tale. This is easily explained of course by the director writer choosing himself for the lead. Then it gets a little worse when about half the movie seems dedicated to loving closeups of the directors favorite actor. A self indulgent waste. Gets as much as a 4 only because every other actor is great.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews