User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 243

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it's heart, an attempt to savage the values that all these groups hold dear. It shines a hot and otherwise absentee light the cancer of over-sexualization. It shows, subtly at times and baldly at others, how consumer driven, sexualized, culture has reached it's tendrils into every-day life, down even into the language we use, how we think and what we think we need. No character is safe, even the heroine, who chastises the male lead for being "addicted to porn" does so while lighting a joint. Entertaining, lighthearted and even touching, this movie, like it's main character, seems dumb on the outside but turns out to be intelligent after all. In fact it's really intelligent, which will hurt it's reviews. It's irreverence (which I love) makes it's target market small and it's high bar of entry (most people won't "get it") makes it's target audience smaller still. I took off a point the ending feeling rushed, but truly, I laughed my head off the whole time. If you're not in any of those listed groups, or if you're genuinely interested in gender roles, feminism, or sociology, you need to see this. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Don Jon shows an interesting view on how we as a society are products of what we watch and see everyday. Gordon-Levitt does an amazing job of illustrating this phenomenon with a great cast and superb writing.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    That Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something. I love Don Jon. Very raunchy, it's not "Zack and Miri 2.0." Playing a porn addicted ladies man who falls in love with a hot looking girlfriend who sees him watching porn. Oh my god! I love porn movies, I seriously do. Probably soon, he could make another movie called "The Don Juan Porn Diaries." For me, this is one of the best comedies of 2013. Go on with your bad self, JGL! Pimpin' Ain't Easy. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    Probably the best film of 2013. I write this now, because whenever I think about it, this is the only film that still jumps out at me. Levitt took all his experience in the industry and put it towards crafting one of the most honest films in a while. It captures gender differences in such a tender and honest way, while at times lashing out at us for our hypocrite and scathing nature. It manages to scold without offending. Levitt himself plays the jersey shore douche with pitch point accuracy. Johansson nails her im above you nature perfectly, its too bad she isnt being recognized for her acting in this film. Julian moore is also fantastic, playing the sexy educational mom without ever once feeling creepy. The film is tender and great. If there's one movie you should watch from 2013, this is it. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    In the interest of full disclosure, I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The man can do no wrong. This movie is no exception. It has an honest heart and impeccable performances from all involved. In all seriousness, there's not a single weak performance from any of the cast. Without spoiling anything I can say that this is a strong directorial debut from an already established young actor that explores the sexual identity of a new generation that is often oversimplified. This film takes a turn in the end that's unexpected, but very gratifying. Absolutely a must see. Collapse
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Well done. Great camera work, great direction, great acting. While some plot points in the story seem to get rushed, ultimately, the things that weren't connected dot to dot became realistically foretold. Levitt painted a beauty here that doesn't get convoluted or trip over it's own words. Whether you agree or disagree with the premise or conclusion, this is a well-crafted film and very much worth watching. Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Overall, this movie is a hilarious insight about the impact porno has on modern day relationships and is a fantastic directorial debut of the immensely talented Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Entertaining all around, easily engaging and a great cast (Tony Danza was awesome in it, by the way) makes this movie extremely entertaining.
  9. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Great fun. A romantic comedy, with a serious lesson. Fine performances all around. Slick to watch. Moves fast. No immaturity in the script. Bravo to Gordon-Levitt.
  10. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    As a female viewer, I entered a new world of the male mind. Not to direct this as the inner workings of each male persona but it does fit every guy I have met.
    I saw where the movie was going. This is beyond the pornography, the yelling, and the accents.
    The point of the movie is the separation of reality and illusion without the acknowledgement of a separation.
    Very well made. I
    really did enjoy it! Expand
  11. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I have watched a series of Joseph Gordon-Levitt movies. Many push the boundaries but this latest one is reason to believe in his rise to absolute stardom.
  12. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt shines with his directional debut. This is a very honest movie meant for a very mature audience. JGL and Johansson both gave incredible performances with Danza and Moore provided great support roles. The comedy in this film deals mostly with JGL and his porn addiction, while the drama comes from the problems that arise from his addiction. Thankfully, the ending wasn't your normal rom-com ending and it a was nice, unexpected change. This is a rom-com done right. Expand
  13. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie. Such a unique story with a refreshing ending. Like any unique film, this movie is not going to please everyone. But it will be a favorite for many. It's not the deep & painful reality of what it's like to overcome sex addiction & its aftermath, but it addresses it truthfully in a simple, unique way. I have a newfound respect & curiosity for Gordon-Levitt & hope he gives us more where this came from. Expand
  14. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    a best man made a movie becuase this is what people do for dating these day i actually find it true . and it funny how joe gordon reacts to porn . i love this film
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Catherine Bray
    Nov 12, 2013
    80
    As a director, Gordon-Levitt demonstrates considerable technical flair through stylistic flourishes and coaxes great performances out of his co-stars, while he remains centre stage throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    Short, sweet, raunchy and often screamingly funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Sep 27, 2013
    38
    A sex comedy that just lays there and expects you to do all the work. Gordon-Levitt's direction is repetitive and dry, and his screenplay is a collage of badly cut out pieces from other movies.