User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 282

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2015
    4
    Shame was better.

    If you want to see a more realistic depiction of sex addiction, watch shame. A better overall production/acting/cinematography. This movie was just so so. As bad as the trailer. JGL is not my cup of tea. His acting/looks were cringeworthy most of the time. We're supposed to believe this pencil neck, wife-beater wearing guy can pick up and draw attention of
    Shame was better.

    If you want to see a more realistic depiction of sex addiction, watch shame. A better overall production/acting/cinematography.

    This movie was just so so. As bad as the trailer. JGL is not my cup of tea. His acting/looks were cringeworthy most of the time. We're supposed to believe this pencil neck, wife-beater wearing guy can pick up and draw attention of limitless hot women and easily turn them down for sex too. Most of the characters are shallow and cliche. Overacting at it's worst. Characters not sympathetic.

    Girl picks guy up at a night club. Guy immediately wants to **** her, she leaves. Guy takes her to lunch says he wants to **** her. Finally gets to **** her, but then she is appalled that he watches porn? Makes him promise never to watch it again (year right!)...he lies...she breaks up with him over it....cmon. A 10 yr old would have written garbage like that. Characters were all unlikeable, other than the black friend and the Red head. Not a very deep movie. Not funny either (some claim it's comedy). Tony Danza's character was annoying as **** Maybe Jersey boys would relate to these douchebags. I did not.
    Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2015
    2
    Even for me, I found the sex and porn scenes repetitive and tasteless. There was so much you could take out. Joseph Gordon-Levitt should have made a short film about this, nothing more, but a whole lot less. The acting was par, but I found narration overused and the script far too bland for me to really sit and enjoy this movie.
  3. Nov 25, 2014
    8
    Don Jon turns the rom-com formulae on it's head and it refreshingly feels targeted at men as apposed to women. Joseph Gordon-Levitt has been one of my favourite actors in recent years and I was intrigued to see Don Jon knowing that it was a project he'd written and directed himself. And I'm pleased to say that Joseph Gordon-Levitt comfortably delivers in every respect. In the last fewDon Jon turns the rom-com formulae on it's head and it refreshingly feels targeted at men as apposed to women. Joseph Gordon-Levitt has been one of my favourite actors in recent years and I was intrigued to see Don Jon knowing that it was a project he'd written and directed himself. And I'm pleased to say that Joseph Gordon-Levitt comfortably delivers in every respect. In the last few years his career has quietly built momentum and his recent run of form in front of the camera has been impressive. And this refreshing directorial debut boasts his capabilities behind the camera also. The overall direction moves at a thoroughly enjoyable pace and visually this an attractive and theatrical experience. This film humorously compares and analysis both male and females perspectives of the opposite sex, relationships, morals and habits. And most significantly this film tackles the subject of pornography and how stereotypically men and women feel about it. Whilst there are aspects of this film that are undoubtedly dramatic and theatrical, there are also many moments that are relatable and will hit him for male viewers in particular. Joseph Gordon-Levitt gives a fun and charismatic performance in the leading role. Whilst the equally impressive Scarlett Johansson stars opposite and the chemistry between the pair is refreshingly original and unpredictable. The supporting cast is strong also with humorous performances from Tony Danza & Glenne Headly who play stereotypical father and mother figures respectively. Julianne Moore gives a decent performance also and her character brings the story back down to earth with a much wiser perspective on sex and relationships. First and for most this is an enjoyable and harmless rom-com. But what I love most Don Jon and what sets it aside from other rom-coms, is that ultimately it avoids rom-com cliches at all costs. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2014
    4
    I'm not really a Joseph Gordon-Levitt fan to begin with so why I watched this movie I don't know. The movie was fairly enjoyable at the first. I didn't care for Gordon-Levitt's cocky character but the film at least kept my attention. It seemed like this film was only good at the first because Scarlett Johansson saved it. As soon as Johansson left I lost my interest. The last thirty minutesI'm not really a Joseph Gordon-Levitt fan to begin with so why I watched this movie I don't know. The movie was fairly enjoyable at the first. I didn't care for Gordon-Levitt's cocky character but the film at least kept my attention. It seemed like this film was only good at the first because Scarlett Johansson saved it. As soon as Johansson left I lost my interest. The last thirty minutes were just brutal and it felt a lot longer than it actually was. If you aren't a Levitt fan don't bother with Don Jon. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Don Jon Is A Profoundly Therapeutic Film! Anyone who has sexual, intimacy or porn addiction problems should watch this film. It will help you to heal! Even if you have none of these issues, bring your lover to this film. I guarantee you, if you're even a somewhat sensitive person, you will make passionate love to each other after watching Don Jon! It's that good!

    If you're a
    Don Jon Is A Profoundly Therapeutic Film! Anyone who has sexual, intimacy or porn addiction problems should watch this film. It will help you to heal! Even if you have none of these issues, bring your lover to this film. I guarantee you, if you're even a somewhat sensitive person, you will make passionate love to each other after watching Don Jon! It's that good!

    If you're a psychotherapist or if you lead a support group for intimacy or sex addiction problems, I highly recommend watching this film! It will benefit both you and your clients!

    While this film is geared to heterosexuals it will benefit anyone regardless of your sexual preference!

    If you have never experienced true emotional intimacy with another human being, or a truly loving sexual relationship, Don Jon will give you some idea what true emotional intimacy or a loving, sexual relationship is all about!

    This movies is so profound - and it's ramifications are so deep - I'm starting to get emotional myself as I write this review!
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    7
    It's good beginning for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a director and screenwriter. Don Jon is a good example for learning film making with low budget. It's fast paced, funny, true to characters, original and well edited.
  7. Sep 22, 2014
    1
    I decided to watch this movie based on the casting. This was my mistake. I found it rather pointless and repetitive. Maybe a teenager would enjoy this film, but I found it rather empty and boring. Sorry, I tried!
  8. Sep 8, 2014
    6
    Don Jon is a nice, frothy, easy to watch flick about, uh, porn addiction. There were a few decent character twists and the easy charm of Gorden-Levitt cannot be faulted here. I also like that porn isn't treated like the devil but far more honestly. That said, a little more depth and a slightly less pat ending would have made Don Jon a bit more satisfying.
  9. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    Don Jon is somehow relatable, because every guy has been through a phase, where he is addicted to something. Director Joseph Gordon - Levitt chose a frank but down to earth subject, mastered it in the appropriate way, depriving this film from the Adult genre.
  10. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    An excellent trifecta from Joseph Gordon-Levitt! To write, direct and act is not often a success; but he's pulled it off. A story well-worth telling as well as watching, with strong performances from nearly all of its cast members.
  11. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    "There's only a few things I really care about in life. My body. My pad. My ride. My family. My church. My boys. My girls. My porn." - Don Jon

    My opinion, a movie for boys.:))
  12. Aug 20, 2014
    5
    As a native of northern New Jersey who grew up with many Italian working-class friends, I strongly resented the unnaturally thick Jersey accent as portrayed by Scarlett Johansson in her role as Barbara Sugarman. Sugarman is a Jewish name, as noted by the parents of Jon Martello (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) when he brings her home and introduces her to his Italian-American family, although in oneAs a native of northern New Jersey who grew up with many Italian working-class friends, I strongly resented the unnaturally thick Jersey accent as portrayed by Scarlett Johansson in her role as Barbara Sugarman. Sugarman is a Jewish name, as noted by the parents of Jon Martello (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) when he brings her home and introduces her to his Italian-American family, although in one scene Johansson sports a crucifix around her neck, so that detail was either a mistake or she was supposed to have had a Christian mother and a Jewish father. In any case, the film was directed and written by Gordon-Levitt, who is admittedly showing signs of youthful genius (but not necessarily in this film); however, Gordon-Levitt was born in Los Angeles, and like a lot of Hollywood actors and directors who did not grow up in industrialized northern New Jersey, his concept of a primitive, uncultured working class in New Jersey, especially of Italian origin, is highly exaggerated and misconceived. Yes, Ol' Blue Eyes came from Hoboken, and it is there that you will find the thickest so-called “Joisey” accent, but that is because of Hoboken's proximity to New York City, which is standing right there on the opposite shore of the Hudson. Indeed, that accent originates from the depths of Brooklyn, Queens, and Staten Island. It affects parts of New Jersey by association only. The erroneous concept that this accent originated in New Jersey goes hand-in-hand with the Hollywood belief that New Jersey is the cultural pits of the planet.

    For the record, I have never met a New Jerseyan who talks like that. As noted, it is only in limited parts of North and Central Jersey where the New York City dialect is spoken. The majority of the state can be found speaking the Philadelphia region dialect, where the word “Joisey” is unheard of. And certainly, Barbara Sugarman, who is shown to have been raised in a semi-affluent middle-class environment, would not have been speaking such a thick brogue. When Hollywood gets it wrong, they go over the top, and they love to go with the cliches.

    My next objection is the subject matter of the film, which again, stresses the primitive, if not positively elemental, level of culture that is presumed to exist in the State of New Jersey. (Remember Darren Aronofsky's The Wrestler? Also, over the top with its depiction of working-class New Jersey.) Jon Martello is not only mindlessly promiscuous to the point where dogs in the street are more discriminating than he is, but he is addicted to pornography and prefers pornography to genuine relations with real women. He watches pornography relentlessly, masturbates fiendishly, and confesses everything to the priest at his local church, where he then dutifully recites the number of Hail Mary's and Lord's Prayers he has to say to atone for his sins. (The number usually varies with the number of times he watched porn movies or had sex out of wedlock.) Just when Martello and Sugarman are becoming almost unbearably tedious, a breath of fresh air arrives in the form of Esther (Julianne Moore), who proceeds to lend some dignity and depth to the scenario. She is a much older woman for Jon Martello, characterized by the grief that she experienced in her recent past, which makes her extremely open and emotionally vulnerable but with a unique charm, a sort of latter-day Annie Hall. She is easy-going and forgiving, but also a wellspring of wisdom, and it is only through a rather odd coupling with her that Martello becomes humanized and stops acting like a beast gone mad in the woodlands.

    Moore almost saves the film, but the cartoonish characterizations that precede her entrance unfortunately predominate. Director/screenwriter Gordon-Levitt is still young, and he will have to work a little harder to do a truly sensitive film the next time around.
    Expand
  13. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    Jon Martello has earned himself the nickname ‘Don Jon’ amongst his buddies due to his ability to pick up virtually any woman he wants, unfortunately for him he gets more pleasure from watching porn than he does with any of the women he takes home. One night he meets the stunning Barbara Sugarman (Scarlett Johansson) and, having at first failed to go home with her, soon finds himselfJon Martello has earned himself the nickname ‘Don Jon’ amongst his buddies due to his ability to pick up virtually any woman he wants, unfortunately for him he gets more pleasure from watching porn than he does with any of the women he takes home. One night he meets the stunning Barbara Sugarman (Scarlett Johansson) and, having at first failed to go home with her, soon finds himself falling in love. Could she finally be the one to live up to his expectations?

    The writing and directorial debut of Joseph Gordon-Levitt Don Jon is slickly put together and certainly makes some interesting points about the way people’s expectations can warped by modern media, even if they are perhaps slightly exaggerated. The cast, including Gordon-Levitt, Johansson and the always reliable Julianne Moore are excellent throughout helping to keep things grounded.

    Despite these positives I did find that Don Jon made for a rather uncomfortable watch on a number of occasions (how many scenes do we need to see of someone masturbating?) and Don Jon doesn’t come across as a sympathetic, particularly early in the movie, making it difficult to really root for him. The ending also seems a little too rushed and neat to make for a truly satisfying climax to the story.

    Don Jon mat not be complete success but it is a promising start to Gordon-Levitt’s career behind the camera that, at the very least, shows he is willing to make movies that veer away from the mainstream.
    Expand
  14. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    Joseph Gordon Levitt's gives us alot of laughter and joy, Jon Martello is a very likable and fun character. A nice directorial debut for Joe Levitt...
  15. Jun 3, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really struggled to get through this one. If a douche bag is going to be at the center of a film, then he should be at least mildly amusing. I was not even mildly amused by Gordon-Levitt's douche bag, and frankly, after seeing Don Jon (which he also wrote) and some of his other movies (the awful Premium Rush, etc.), I'm starting to think that HE'S the douche bag.
    The title should have been...Porn Addicted Gym Rat Meets Lonely 40-something with Dead Family and They Fall In Love....But Only After He Gets **** Whipped By Scarlett Doing Her Best Snookie.
    Good to see Tony Danza!
    Expand
  16. May 25, 2014
    7
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt first Movie as a Director and a writer but also starring in it as well. The trailers made me want to see this they were some of the best that i had seen in 2013 i would have gone to the theater to see it but i would have had to drive to the next town over which is at least 20-30 minutes away so i just waited. I loved the first hour of the movie it was funny andJoseph Gordon-Levitt first Movie as a Director and a writer but also starring in it as well. The trailers made me want to see this they were some of the best that i had seen in 2013 i would have gone to the theater to see it but i would have had to drive to the next town over which is at least 20-30 minutes away so i just waited. I loved the first hour of the movie it was funny and enjoyable but then it seemed to just get too serious for me and it wasn't what i thought it was going to be. Overall i give it a 7/10 but i do have to say Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a lucky bastard he got both Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore Expand
  17. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    The ending was a bit predictable from halfway through the movie, and it does feel like it's slightly repeated, but "Don Jon" delivers a number of funny scenes, great moments, and great acting from JGL and Scarlett Johansson.
  18. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    a best man made a movie becuase this is what people do for dating these day i actually find it true . and it funny how joe gordon reacts to porn . i love this film
  19. Mar 7, 2014
    3
    I was a long for the ride at the start, but as this movie went along, it fell apart for me. I do like Joseph Gordon-Levitt and would see another film directed by him, but this one fell flat for me.
  20. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie. Such a unique story with a refreshing ending. Like any unique film, this movie is not going to please everyone. But it will be a favorite for many. It's not the deep & painful reality of what it's like to overcome sex addiction & its aftermath, but it addresses it truthfully in a simple, unique way. I have a newfound respect & curiosity for Gordon-Levitt & hope he givesI loved this movie. Such a unique story with a refreshing ending. Like any unique film, this movie is not going to please everyone. But it will be a favorite for many. It's not the deep & painful reality of what it's like to overcome sex addiction & its aftermath, but it addresses it truthfully in a simple, unique way. I have a newfound respect & curiosity for Gordon-Levitt & hope he gives us more where this came from. Expand
  21. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    Turns out that Joseph Gordon-Levitt behind the camera was a good idea after all. His directing is spot-on. The film editing is also great. The performances, especially of the three leads, is top-notch. The supporting cast is also very good.

    But the film's true strength is in the concept itself. It is a criticism of many aspects in society today, whether it's sexuality or religion. But
    Turns out that Joseph Gordon-Levitt behind the camera was a good idea after all. His directing is spot-on. The film editing is also great. The performances, especially of the three leads, is top-notch. The supporting cast is also very good.

    But the film's true strength is in the concept itself. It is a criticism of many aspects in society today, whether it's sexuality or religion. But in the end, it's actually a criticism of the predictability of romance movies themselves. I realized that in the ending (which was a bit rushed). After that i looked at the movie tagline (Everybody Loves A Happy Ending), and i finally understood it. It puzzled me in the beginning.

    This is a very intelligent film. Looking forward to more movies with Joseph Gordon-Levitt as director and writer.
    Expand
  22. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    I didn't want to watch this movie, based on its trailer. But I was very surprised! The movie is not boring, it has a lot of interesting parts. The director of the movie did a really good job for his first movie!
  23. Feb 2, 2014
    4
    Boy oh boy, I don't get it - I love sex, Gordon-Levitt, Johansson, Moore, like porn, and this movie did nothing for me. It not only has no substance, but it's last-ditch attempt to seriously address porn addiction is superficial. "I want to lose myself in sex," say Jon, but what does that mean? Maybe he knows, maybe porn addicts know, I certainly didn't learn anything from this movieBoy oh boy, I don't get it - I love sex, Gordon-Levitt, Johansson, Moore, like porn, and this movie did nothing for me. It not only has no substance, but it's last-ditch attempt to seriously address porn addiction is superficial. "I want to lose myself in sex," say Jon, but what does that mean? Maybe he knows, maybe porn addicts know, I certainly didn't learn anything from this movie except Jon like porn, Johansson is beautiful but dumb, and Moore is beautiful and wise. Expand
  24. Jan 31, 2014
    7
    First off, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has proved not only he is a talented actor but a talented director/writer as well. Don Jon isn't your typical romance film, It's actually a rather well thought out and enjoyable dramedy. The acting was great, The plot was solid, and you couldn't help but be entertained. I'd definitely recommend it.
  25. Lyn
    Jan 28, 2014
    6
    Hard for most of us to imagine a guy who likes the fake sex of porn better than real sex with a woman. But it's an interesting issue, especially with porn proliferating everywhere. "Don Jon's" experience is a cautionary tale that you'd kind of like your teenage son to learn -- though perhaps not from this racy film! While Joseph G-L doesn't appeal to me, I've taken him seriously since theHard for most of us to imagine a guy who likes the fake sex of porn better than real sex with a woman. But it's an interesting issue, especially with porn proliferating everywhere. "Don Jon's" experience is a cautionary tale that you'd kind of like your teenage son to learn -- though perhaps not from this racy film! While Joseph G-L doesn't appeal to me, I've taken him seriously since the gravitas he showed in "The Dark Knight Rises." In this movie, I don't quite buy him as a super-successful Jersey Shore-type Lothario (Travolta he's not) but I really like where he goes with Jon's story. And Tony Danza; Hilarious! Expand
  26. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    That Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something. I love Don Jon. Very raunchy, it's not "Zack and Miri 2.0." Playing a porn addicted ladies man who falls in love with a hot looking girlfriend who sees him watching porn. Oh my god! I love porn movies, I seriously do. Probably soon, he could make another movie called "The Don Juan Porn Diaries." For me, this is one of the best comedies of 2013. Go onThat Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something. I love Don Jon. Very raunchy, it's not "Zack and Miri 2.0." Playing a porn addicted ladies man who falls in love with a hot looking girlfriend who sees him watching porn. Oh my god! I love porn movies, I seriously do. Probably soon, he could make another movie called "The Don Juan Porn Diaries." For me, this is one of the best comedies of 2013. Go on with your bad self, JGL! Pimpin' Ain't Easy. Expand
  27. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    For me, this movie was an interesting experiment. I'm not like Jon in the sense that I'm not constantly hitting the Jim and speaking/acting in such as manner as the character does. Once I got past that, and I was surprisingly able to do so, I found a fairly interesting film with plenty to offer. Partway through the film the ending becomes evident, but more than likely it'll still be worthFor me, this movie was an interesting experiment. I'm not like Jon in the sense that I'm not constantly hitting the Jim and speaking/acting in such as manner as the character does. Once I got past that, and I was surprisingly able to do so, I found a fairly interesting film with plenty to offer. Partway through the film the ending becomes evident, but more than likely it'll still be worth it to the end. Particularly though, this movie is unique in what it addresses, and I applaud it for for its bravery. Expand
  28. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I have watched a series of Joseph Gordon-Levitt movies. Many push the boundaries but this latest one is reason to believe in his rise to absolute stardom.
  29. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Overall, this movie is a hilarious insight about the impact porno has on modern day relationships and is a fantastic directorial debut of the immensely talented Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Entertaining all around, easily engaging and a great cast (Tony Danza was awesome in it, by the way) makes this movie extremely entertaining.
  30. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    More philosophical and precise than I'd expected. It plays out like a very average story, but the content is important to young men (and women) and it is clear that it has been given serious thought. The ending took me by surprise and added a new dimension to the film which makes me want to see it in again from that perspective. It has something to say about relationships.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Catherine Bray
    Nov 12, 2013
    80
    As a director, Gordon-Levitt demonstrates considerable technical flair through stylistic flourishes and coaxes great performances out of his co-stars, while he remains centre stage throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    Short, sweet, raunchy and often screamingly funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Sep 27, 2013
    38
    A sex comedy that just lays there and expects you to do all the work. Gordon-Levitt's direction is repetitive and dry, and his screenplay is a collage of badly cut out pieces from other movies.