Relativity Media | Release Date: September 27, 2013
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 314 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
219
Mixed:
72
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
SpiralusOct 2, 2013
This movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it'sThis movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it's heart, an attempt to savage the values that all these groups hold dear. It shines a hot and otherwise absentee light the cancer of over-sexualization. It shows, subtly at times and baldly at others, how consumer driven, sexualized, culture has reached it's tendrils into every-day life, down even into the language we use, how we think and what we think we need. No character is safe, even the heroine, who chastises the male lead for being "addicted to porn" does so while lighting a joint. Entertaining, lighthearted and even touching, this movie, like it's main character, seems dumb on the outside but turns out to be intelligent after all. In fact it's really intelligent, which will hurt it's reviews. It's irreverence (which I love) makes it's target market small and it's high bar of entry (most people won't "get it") makes it's target audience smaller still. I took off a point the ending feeling rushed, but truly, I laughed my head off the whole time. If you're not in any of those listed groups, or if you're genuinely interested in gender roles, feminism, or sociology, you need to see this. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29Dec 26, 2013
Despite moments that were amusing, this is a pretty stupid movie. I find it strange that Gordon-Levitt would choose to direct a movie like this for his directorial debut. Neither funny nor dramatic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
BHBarryNov 1, 2013
“Don Jon” is an ambitious but unfortunately unsuccessful effort by actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt to expand his talents and capabilities by assuming the role of both writer and director in addition to playing the lead character. This is a film“Don Jon” is an ambitious but unfortunately unsuccessful effort by actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt to expand his talents and capabilities by assuming the role of both writer and director in addition to playing the lead character. This is a film about an otherwise normal middle class guy who is addicted to watching porn on the internet and how it impacts and affects his other relationships. The film also stars Scarlett Johannson and Juliana Moore and a miscast Tony Danza as these actors struggle to make sense of this thin script and average direction, What could have been an interesting and insightful excursion into the mind and attitude of a porn addict becomes nothing more than a light overview of this potentially thought provoking subject. I give the filma 6 and suggest that if something else is playing at the same time you are going to attend the movie, see the other film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BairdoJun 3, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really struggled to get through this one. If a douche bag is going to be at the center of a film, then he should be at least mildly amusing. I was not even mildly amused by Gordon-Levitt's douche bag, and frankly, after seeing Don Jon (which he also wrote) and some of his other movies (the awful Premium Rush, etc.), I'm starting to think that HE'S the douche bag.
The title should have been...Porn Addicted Gym Rat Meets Lonely 40-something with Dead Family and They Fall In Love....But Only After He Gets **** Whipped By Scarlett Doing Her Best Snookie.
Good to see Tony Danza!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TaplingerFeb 2, 2014
Boy oh boy, I don't get it - I love sex, Gordon-Levitt, Johansson, Moore, like porn, and this movie did nothing for me. It not only has no substance, but it's last-ditch attempt to seriously address porn addiction is superficial. "I want toBoy oh boy, I don't get it - I love sex, Gordon-Levitt, Johansson, Moore, like porn, and this movie did nothing for me. It not only has no substance, but it's last-ditch attempt to seriously address porn addiction is superficial. "I want to lose myself in sex," say Jon, but what does that mean? Maybe he knows, maybe porn addicts know, I certainly didn't learn anything from this movie except Jon like porn, Johansson is beautiful but dumb, and Moore is beautiful and wise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuSep 8, 2014
Don Jon is a nice, frothy, easy to watch flick about, uh, porn addiction. There were a few decent character twists and the easy charm of Gorden-Levitt cannot be faulted here. I also like that porn isn't treated like the devil but far moreDon Jon is a nice, frothy, easy to watch flick about, uh, porn addiction. There were a few decent character twists and the easy charm of Gorden-Levitt cannot be faulted here. I also like that porn isn't treated like the devil but far more honestly. That said, a little more depth and a slightly less pat ending would have made Don Jon a bit more satisfying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 31, 2014
First off, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has proved not only he is a talented actor but a talented director/writer as well. Don Jon isn't your typical romance film, It's actually a rather well thought out and enjoyable dramedy. The acting was great,First off, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has proved not only he is a talented actor but a talented director/writer as well. Don Jon isn't your typical romance film, It's actually a rather well thought out and enjoyable dramedy. The acting was great, The plot was solid, and you couldn't help but be entertained. I'd definitely recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 28, 2013
While some of its more dramatic elements could be executed much better, Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first writer/directorial outing is a successful comedic drama with an admirable sense of honesty for its subject matter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticDec 22, 2013
This is a solid directorial debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt. It was interesting to see how a guys porn addiction causes him to struggle in real relationships. The film has its flaws but it's a solid debut. B
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jinringaOct 1, 2013
I thought it was a smart, funny, scathing, but ultimately kind indictment of douche bro society.

The repetitiveness and shallowness of man child Jon's existence speaks loudly to my millenial sensibilities. A victim of a self centered
I thought it was a smart, funny, scathing, but ultimately kind indictment of douche bro society.

The repetitiveness and shallowness of man child Jon's existence speaks loudly to my millenial sensibilities. A victim of a self centered father and over accommodating mother, Jon is a self centered douche bag, whose only goal in life is to have meaningless fun. The blank faces on Jon's family during church and his road rage on the way there speak towards the emptiness of being nominally religious. The meaningless confession of sins, the meaningless prayers, all contribute to Jon's status as a shallow guy who doesn't really care about anything but banging an equally shallow and ridiculously hot girl and then spanking it to some meticulously selected pornography.

I think the fact that Barbara isn't actually a good person is a really important part of the film. That neither party in the Jon/Barbara relationship is actually that likable, despite both of them being very good looking, is pretty refreshing.

I really liked that Jon isn't actually that likable. He's charming, but he's a self centered dick with nothing really to say. And then he grows and he's still kind of a dick and he doesn't really have that much to say, but he is less self centered and I think that's a lot more honest than most other films.

I think attacking the tendency to be self centered through porn addiction was really clever. Self centeredness is kind of this internal thing with tons of symptoms, but it's really hard to pull at something and make a difference. With Barbara it manifests as manipulativeness, which I think is a really hard thing to make a person aware of in a meaningful way. With porn addiction it's a pretty straight shot to, you have a problem because you can't get off without porn.

I enjoyed it, I liked watching Jon struggle and grow, I liked that the ultimate love interest is really screwed up for totally believable reasons, I liked that no one is actually that likable. It feels like reality, but slightly prettier, as opposed to fantasy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
johncbeattieOct 5, 2013
Light treatment of a serious problem for too many men. Intimacy with women versus sex with women who have been objectified as sex objects by all forms of media. One benefit of this movie may be a better understanding that, given men'sLight treatment of a serious problem for too many men. Intimacy with women versus sex with women who have been objectified as sex objects by all forms of media. One benefit of this movie may be a better understanding that, given men's attitudes towards women as sex objects, that women shouldn't take it so seriously and personally if their man watches "some" porn. It's early, learned behaviour and as long as it doesn't become an obsession as it does to Don Jon, it's relatively meaningless.
I thought the dialogue and relationship Don Jon had with Julianne Moore's character was artificial and hard to swallow as real, although it was key to the story.

Worth seeing but could open a can of worms as a date movie. Drive with caution.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ydnar4Nov 21, 2014
I'm not really a Joseph Gordon-Levitt fan to begin with so why I watched this movie I don't know. The movie was fairly enjoyable at the first. I didn't care for Gordon-Levitt's cocky character but the film at least kept my attention. ItI'm not really a Joseph Gordon-Levitt fan to begin with so why I watched this movie I don't know. The movie was fairly enjoyable at the first. I didn't care for Gordon-Levitt's cocky character but the film at least kept my attention. It seemed like this film was only good at the first because Scarlett Johansson saved it. As soon as Johansson left I lost my interest. The last thirty minutes were just brutal and it felt a lot longer than it actually was. If you aren't a Levitt fan don't bother with Don Jon. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryOct 1, 2013
Joseph Gordon-Levitt wrote, directed and stars as a character who looks and acts like he stepped out of "Jersey Shore:" brusque, muscular, shallow, sexy and a total stud. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Scarlett Johannson who embodiesJoseph Gordon-Levitt wrote, directed and stars as a character who looks and acts like he stepped out of "Jersey Shore:" brusque, muscular, shallow, sexy and a total stud. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Scarlett Johannson who embodies the tough, slutty borough girl), his obsession with pornography becomes an issue. This is a fast-paced, quick-witted character study about a man who's more of a mess than he seems. Gordon-Levitt has fully immersed himself in the character and it's a winner. His scenes of dinner with his dad (Tony Danza) are great fun. It's a bit raunchy, if you have a problem with that and not all that deep, but it's entertaining as hell and bodes well for his hyphenate talent. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
peacefireSep 27, 2013
I honestly couldn't tell if I was watching a bad softcore porno or jersey shore. There were some laughs, but most of it was just watching some guys hit on girls and curse/bust each others balls, jacking off to porn, working out, and prayingI honestly couldn't tell if I was watching a bad softcore porno or jersey shore. There were some laughs, but most of it was just watching some guys hit on girls and curse/bust each others balls, jacking off to porn, working out, and praying forgiveness for his sins. There were some laughs, and some serious notes about porn addiction, but other than that the movie was very meh. Worth seeing if you like Jersey Shore, otherwise maybe a visit to the red box (or alternative sources of movies) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonSep 27, 2013
In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is aIn the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
Eon2323Sep 27, 2013
Don Jon shows an interesting view on how we as a society are products of what we watch and see everyday. Gordon-Levitt does an amazing job of illustrating this phenomenon with a great cast and superb writing.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
Chazd3Sep 27, 2013
As a mature male that enjoys movies, attending 1-2 every week, I blanched every time I saw the preview to the upcoming Don Jon. All I got from it was a movie about porn addiction, period. Mentally I wrote it off. Today I made a criticalAs a mature male that enjoys movies, attending 1-2 every week, I blanched every time I saw the preview to the upcoming Don Jon. All I got from it was a movie about porn addiction, period. Mentally I wrote it off. Today I made a critical mistake. I normally don’t read the reviews of movies I know don’t give me a single spark of interest, only the sparky ones. Alas, the reviews were surprisingly acceptable and I went to a morning matinee. What a waste. It was a movie about porn addiction of course, but I assumed from the reviews there were many redeeming qualities and growth in the characters included. WRONG! Joseph Gordon-Levitt & his father Tony Danza were simply vacuous, crude, foul-mouthed and valueless all the way to the closing credits. There was zero empathy or sympathy and not a hint of anyone being a protagonist. I not only did not care about the males in this film, I was repulsed by them. The Catholic sacrament of “confession” was treated like an irrelevant waste basket for immoral behavior rather than anything sacred or religious and demanding of sincere repentance as it does in real life. Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore performances were very good actually. This movie had one theme and one theme only…promiscuitypornpromiscuityporn. I spent the last 30 minutes mentally flipping a coin on whether to just get up and leave. I stayed because I wanted to write an honest review on a complete product. On the way out a group of five in front of me complained out loud about their waste of time and money on that piece of trash. I chimed in with them as we left the theater. Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
3
Rob7309Mar 7, 2014
I was a long for the ride at the start, but as this movie went along, it fell apart for me. I do like Joseph Gordon-Levitt and would see another film directed by him, but this one fell flat for me.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
FranzHcriticJan 1, 2015
Even for me, I found the sex and porn scenes repetitive and tasteless. There was so much you could take out. Joseph Gordon-Levitt should have made a short film about this, nothing more, but a whole lot less. The acting was par, but I foundEven for me, I found the sex and porn scenes repetitive and tasteless. There was so much you could take out. Joseph Gordon-Levitt should have made a short film about this, nothing more, but a whole lot less. The acting was par, but I found narration overused and the script far too bland for me to really sit and enjoy this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
LowbrowCinemaOct 12, 2013
If you've seen the trailer for DON JON, then you've seen the film. In fact, the trailer is far better edited and paced than this first from the ever likable Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The comedy in DON JON never takes off and the film's moreIf you've seen the trailer for DON JON, then you've seen the film. In fact, the trailer is far better edited and paced than this first from the ever likable Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The comedy in DON JON never takes off and the film's more serious examination of porn obsession never takes off. The actors are all good but Scarlett Johansson totally commands the screen. Her character is gorgeous and awful but you just want her to come back. Ultimately, DON JON feels like a short film stretched to 90 minutes. But Gordon-Levitt clearly has a voice and this is his first. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
WonderFrostfSep 22, 2014
I decided to watch this movie based on the casting. This was my mistake. I found it rather pointless and repetitive. Maybe a teenager would enjoy this film, but I found it rather empty and boring. Sorry, I tried!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleSep 27, 2013
It's a fun, honest date movie yes, date movie, if you've got the guts, fellas. It's likely to provoke a few questions during, and after the movie. But Levitt does a fine job in his direction, and against all odds, he integrates JulianneIt's a fun, honest date movie yes, date movie, if you've got the guts, fellas. It's likely to provoke a few questions during, and after the movie. But Levitt does a fine job in his direction, and against all odds, he integrates Julianne Moore into the proceedings in a refreshing way. Great to see Tony Danza back on the scene. And Jon's friends the trumpet player from "Treme", and his shorter pal are great for their words of wisdom and some comic relief. Clearly, this won't win any awards, but it surpassed my not-so-modest expectations for it. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
sraymond7Sep 27, 2013
I am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like the character Don John, as there are women like Scarlett Johansson's Barbara. The movie is funny atI am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like the character Don John, as there are women like Scarlett Johansson's Barbara. The movie is funny at first...quite funny actually...and then it moves into a coming-of-age story for Don John, with his first discovery of what authentic intimacy looks like. Our culture is awash in pornography, and our young men of this generation grow up assaulted by images that distort reality and crassify culture. Jordan Leavitt's film placed a spotlight on this problem without preaching, and gave some welcome guidance as to the way out of that morass if you are a man stuck in that mode. It is an excellent film...look behind the genuine character comedy for the deeper message. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
wilemon2000Oct 8, 2013
October 2013

The topic of porn addiction might be worth exploring in a movie. And certainly writers should be able to generate a few laughs out of it .Oddly the laughs are very few here except those lame ones at the expense of Catholics
October 2013

The topic of porn addiction might be worth exploring in a movie. And certainly writers should be able to generate a few laughs out of it .Oddly the laughs are very few here except those lame ones at the expense of Catholics and Italians (undershirts at dinner really The real problem here is casting .Bluntly Gordon-Levitt is an excellent actor but really doesn't have the drop dead "look" to play the super babe magnet of the movie lead. His exchanging glances with the best looking women in the bar and then running to bed with them is pretty much a fairy tale. This is easily explained of course by the director writer choosing himself for the lead. Then it gets a little worse when about half the movie seems dedicated to loving closeups of the directors favorite actor. A self indulgent waste. Gets as much as a 4 only because every other actor is great.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
9
rocketpackpandaJan 7, 2014
Probably the best film of 2013. I write this now, because whenever I think about it, this is the only film that still jumps out at me. Levitt took all his experience in the industry and put it towards crafting one of the most honest films inProbably the best film of 2013. I write this now, because whenever I think about it, this is the only film that still jumps out at me. Levitt took all his experience in the industry and put it towards crafting one of the most honest films in a while. It captures gender differences in such a tender and honest way, while at times lashing out at us for our hypocrite and scathing nature. It manages to scold without offending. Levitt himself plays the jersey shore douche with pitch point accuracy. Johansson nails her im above you nature perfectly, its too bad she isnt being recognized for her acting in this film. Julian moore is also fantastic, playing the sexy educational mom without ever once feeling creepy. The film is tender and great. If there's one movie you should watch from 2013, this is it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Dec 20, 2013
The movie is somewhat repetitive and clearly way over the top, but Gordon Levitt does a solid job with his directing debut. The first hour was written pretty well but then the miscast of Juliana Moore deflates the film completely.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
analogkid280Oct 5, 2013
The trailer does this movie no justice as it makes you think this is a one subject movie. What this movie does is take you on a tour of Levitt's character as he matures from an early 20's kid into an adult. There are many issues along the wayThe trailer does this movie no justice as it makes you think this is a one subject movie. What this movie does is take you on a tour of Levitt's character as he matures from an early 20's kid into an adult. There are many issues along the way and the movie's light heartened approach is just perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ClayMerrittSep 30, 2013
To be very honest, porn addiction is a real thing. Not a serious issue, but its very real. There are guys out there that do think like Don Jon. However, the problem is that when people see porn in a movie, its automatically disgusting. OneTo be very honest, porn addiction is a real thing. Not a serious issue, but its very real. There are guys out there that do think like Don Jon. However, the problem is that when people see porn in a movie, its automatically disgusting. One thing I observed from watching this movie is that this is a guys movie. Certainly debatable if its a date movie, but its a mans movie. I'm sure going in, people were expecting the chick flick. Ya know, where the guy gets the girl, they briefly break-up, and guy does everything to get her back. It wasn't that. It ended differently, and it was fantastic. This is probably the most fun movie I've seen this year. I suggest that if you like good movies, you should put this on your must see list. The story is above the porn, its a real, down-to-earth story that can be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleMethodOct 4, 2013
As a debut, Don Jon is pretty solid. It was really far from perfect, but again it's a debut. I liked it but really didn't love it as much as I expected I might. The porn gets a little annoying too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Sep 28, 2013
In Joseph Gordon-Levitt's directorial debut, he has offered heart, witty humor and a great script that shows the view of one man's deception on porn and how it has affected his humanity. Overall, great job Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Be sure toIn Joseph Gordon-Levitt's directorial debut, he has offered heart, witty humor and a great script that shows the view of one man's deception on porn and how it has affected his humanity. Overall, great job Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews