User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 216

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    The ending was a bit predictable from halfway through the movie, and it does feel like it's slightly repeated, but "Don Jon" delivers a number of funny scenes, great moments, and great acting from JGL and Scarlett Johansson.
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    a best man made a movie becuase this is what people do for dating these day i actually find it true . and it funny how joe gordon reacts to porn . i love this film
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    3
    I was a long for the ride at the start, but as this movie went along, it fell apart for me. I do like Joseph Gordon-Levitt and would see another film directed by him, but this one fell flat for me.
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie. Such a unique story with a refreshing ending. Like any unique film, this movie is not going to please everyone. But it will be a favorite for many. It's not the deep & painful reality of what it's like to overcome sex addiction & its aftermath, but it addresses it truthfully in a simple, unique way. I have a newfound respect & curiosity for Gordon-Levitt & hope he gives us more where this came from. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    8
    Turns out that Joseph Gordon-Levitt behind the camera was a good idea after all. His directing is spot-on. The film editing is also great. The performances, especially of the three leads, is top-notch. The supporting cast is also very good.

    But the film's true strength is in the concept itself. It is a criticism of many aspects in society today, whether it's sexuality or religion. But
    in the end, it's actually a criticism of the predictability of romance movies themselves. I realized that in the ending (which was a bit rushed). After that i looked at the movie tagline (Everybody Loves A Happy Ending), and i finally understood it. It puzzled me in the beginning.

    This is a very intelligent film. Looking forward to more movies with Joseph Gordon-Levitt as director and writer.
    Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    I didn't want to watch this movie, based on its trailer. But I was very surprised! The movie is not boring, it has a lot of interesting parts. The director of the movie did a really good job for his first movie!
  7. Feb 2, 2014
    4
    Boy oh boy, I don't get it - I love sex, Gordon-Levitt, Johansson, Moore, like porn, and this movie did nothing for me. It not only has no substance, but it's last-ditch attempt to seriously address porn addiction is superficial. "I want to lose myself in sex," say Jon, but what does that mean? Maybe he knows, maybe porn addicts know, I certainly didn't learn anything from this movie except Jon like porn, Johansson is beautiful but dumb, and Moore is beautiful and wise. Expand
  8. Jan 31, 2014
    7
    First off, Joseph Gordon-Levitt has proved not only he is a talented actor but a talented director/writer as well. Don Jon isn't your typical romance film, It's actually a rather well thought out and enjoyable dramedy. The acting was great, The plot was solid, and you couldn't help but be entertained. I'd definitely recommend it.
  9. Lyn
    Jan 28, 2014
    6
    Hard for most of us to imagine a guy who likes the fake sex of porn better than real sex with a woman. But it's an interesting issue, especially with porn proliferating everywhere. "Don Jon's" experience is a cautionary tale that you'd kind of like your teenage son to learn -- though perhaps not from this racy film! While Joseph G-L doesn't appeal to me, I've taken him seriously since the gravitas he showed in "The Dark Knight Rises." In this movie, I don't quite buy him as a super-successful Jersey Shore-type Lothario (Travolta he's not) but I really like where he goes with Jon's story. And Tony Danza; Hilarious! Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    That Joseph Gordon-Levitt is something. I love Don Jon. Very raunchy, it's not "Zack and Miri 2.0." Playing a porn addicted ladies man who falls in love with a hot looking girlfriend who sees him watching porn. Oh my god! I love porn movies, I seriously do. Probably soon, he could make another movie called "The Don Juan Porn Diaries." For me, this is one of the best comedies of 2013. Go on with your bad self, JGL! Pimpin' Ain't Easy. Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    For me, this movie was an interesting experiment. I'm not like Jon in the sense that I'm not constantly hitting the Jim and speaking/acting in such as manner as the character does. Once I got past that, and I was surprisingly able to do so, I found a fairly interesting film with plenty to offer. Partway through the film the ending becomes evident, but more than likely it'll still be worth it to the end. Particularly though, this movie is unique in what it addresses, and I applaud it for for its bravery. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    Esta pelicula me gusto, tuvo comedia y romance."Don Jon" fue una pelicula realista, que tomo los problemas sexuales con total sinceridad, esta pelicula fue inteligente.Este fue un buen debut de Joseph Gordon-Levitt como director.
  13. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I have watched a series of Joseph Gordon-Levitt movies. Many push the boundaries but this latest one is reason to believe in his rise to absolute stardom.
  14. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Overall, this movie is a hilarious insight about the impact porno has on modern day relationships and is a fantastic directorial debut of the immensely talented Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Entertaining all around, easily engaging and a great cast (Tony Danza was awesome in it, by the way) makes this movie extremely entertaining.
  15. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    More philosophical and precise than I'd expected. It plays out like a very average story, but the content is important to young men (and women) and it is clear that it has been given serious thought. The ending took me by surprise and added a new dimension to the film which makes me want to see it in again from that perspective. It has something to say about relationships.
  16. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    Probably the best film of 2013. I write this now, because whenever I think about it, this is the only film that still jumps out at me. Levitt took all his experience in the industry and put it towards crafting one of the most honest films in a while. It captures gender differences in such a tender and honest way, while at times lashing out at us for our hypocrite and scathing nature. It manages to scold without offending. Levitt himself plays the jersey shore douche with pitch point accuracy. Johansson nails her im above you nature perfectly, its too bad she isnt being recognized for her acting in this film. Julian moore is also fantastic, playing the sexy educational mom without ever once feeling creepy. The film is tender and great. If there's one movie you should watch from 2013, this is it. Expand
  17. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    In the interest of full disclosure, I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The man can do no wrong. This movie is no exception. It has an honest heart and impeccable performances from all involved. In all seriousness, there's not a single weak performance from any of the cast. Without spoiling anything I can say that this is a strong directorial debut from an already established young actor that explores the sexual identity of a new generation that is often oversimplified. This film takes a turn in the end that's unexpected, but very gratifying. Absolutely a must see. Expand
  18. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    I was thinking the first century of the third millennium where the meaning of cinemas is rewrote. There's been lots of chances we can see and one of those were the beginning of adult-comedies. Recently 'Ted' made lots of waves among movie goers. So here comes the another one from the actor of '50/50' who also debuted as director. Making first is always challenging one, not many had tasted success but he handled very nicely his crew as well the co stars. It was a nice script based on today's world and the path the youngsters moving.

    The story centers around a character Jon who lives by his own principles. He does everything like every other guy like watching porn and masturbating. One day he meets his girl and begin to give his full commitment to it. Sometime he has to break his rules to obtain from opposite, so the remaining portions explais how far he would go and sacrifice his life for a girl.

    Definitely it tells the unexpected truth to the older guys who are troubling to understand present technology that affecting people in a strange way. I was talking about online porns and this movie deals about the same theme. The trouble maker in a serious relationship, we can call it a new way of cheating. I believe this movie is not for everyone, if you are okay with adult theme as a comedy then it will be fine. I can call it a rare movie about online porn video addiction.
    Expand
  19. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    JGL’s director debut (also the writer and leading actor, a triple threat indeed in this case), DON JON, like (500) DAYS OF SUMMER (2009, 8/10), they are not your average rom-com and they are much better since they underpin certain realistic meanings. For DON JON, it is an anti-objectification to what Hollywood chronically implants into our generations’ minds about the veneer of romantic relationship. That is, man is looking for the perfect sex target to fulfill all his fantasies and woman is looking for a Mr. Perfect who is totally under her control. Both reek one-sided selfishness.

    Thanks to the invention of internet pornography and the discrepancy between man and woman on playing with oneself, for man, the more graphically related sexual demand can be easily actualized, so our protagonist Jon (Gordon-Levitt) is a porno-addicted gym jock, who has no difficulty hooking up the hottest girl in the nightclub, but when the eventual boy-meet-girl scenario happens, a smoking hot Barbara (Johansson) yet cannot drag him out to the cold turkey period, meanwhile, Barbara is far from picture-perfect and clearly has her own agenda of what kind of man she is seeking for, an inexorable clash sets them apart (although the history in the browser is a shoddy device). Later on, Jon starts to date an elder woman Esther (Moore) from the night school, who has just gone through a tragic accident in her life, nurtured by Esther’s sensible edification, Jon becomes clarified about what love is and accomplishes his rite of passage.

    DON JON is a genre-blender with indie comedy, romp romance and lighthearted drama, adorned by formulaic default of male chauvinism, female sexualization, boisterous Anglo-Italian family (Tony Danza is an embarrassing joke though), paint-by-number religious service and confession, while swarmed with repetition shots of making beds, gym, church, night school, sex-hunt in the club, and of course, porn stuff. Nevertheless as a novice in the director’s chair, JGL shows qualified competence in executing the story with slick pace and earnest passion, and as an actor, he is definitely a leading man material among his peers. Johansson and Moore are pitch-perfect in two different types of women who turn a boy into a man. Johansson amplifies her self-mocking fatuousness and control freaky possessiveness, injects immense credibility in a derogative character; Moore, is an on-screen goddess of mettle, shatters the twenty-years age difference, generates some wholesome chemistry with JGL despite it is not a challenging role for her at all.

    I give DON JON an reassuring 8/10, it is more than a cute feel-good flick to watch with your significant other, underneath its less-than-impressive script, the connotation it evokes is worth more wider reverberations other than an immediate suggestion “why not Jon just date a porn star if he is really into that?”. For me, it is a guilty pleasure not the least because Moore is in it.
    Expand
  20. Dec 26, 2013
    4
    Despite moments that were amusing, this is a pretty stupid movie. I find it strange that Gordon-Levitt would choose to direct a movie like this for his directorial debut. Neither funny nor dramatic.
  21. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    This is a solid directorial debut for Joseph Gordon-Levitt. It was interesting to see how a guys porn addiction causes him to struggle in real relationships. The film has its flaws but it's a solid debut. B
  22. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Well done. Great camera work, great direction, great acting. While some plot points in the story seem to get rushed, ultimately, the things that weren't connected dot to dot became realistically foretold. Levitt painted a beauty here that doesn't get convoluted or trip over it's own words. Whether you agree or disagree with the premise or conclusion, this is a well-crafted film and very much worth watching. Expand
  23. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    Very good movie with outstanding acting from Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore. Joseph Gordon-Levitt did a great job in sending his message and he sure is a promising director.
  24. Dec 20, 2013
    6
    The movie is somewhat repetitive and clearly way over the top, but Gordon Levitt does a solid job with his directing debut. The first hour was written pretty well but then the miscast of Juliana Moore deflates the film completely.
  25. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    I came to the theater yesterday with high hopes knowing that Gordon-Levitt has proven himself as one of the most exciting actors of today's generation. With him writing the screenplay as well as directing, in addition to Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore, I really had high expectations for the movie. It started out very well and funny with the jokes being fresh and on point. Jon's monotonous lifestyle is somewhat similar to my life, minus the porn and the constant one-night-stands and the weird clothing so I could really relate to the character. However, I was quite disappointed by how not-deep-at-all the characters development is. And the ending comes out of nowhere when I don't think it was time already to conclude the movie, like, seriously? But it was good entertainment and Johansson is, what, a perfection? Expand
  26. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Jon, in fondo, sarebbe un bravo ragazzo: sa tenere in ordine una casa, va a messa con regolarità confessandosi sempre (la sua accurata contabilità dei peccati gli costa penitenze che poi vengono scontate mentre fatica in palestra) e tutte le domeniche va a pranzo da mammà, i maschi di casa a tavola in canottiera mentre il televisore trasmette a ciclo continuo football americano di cui suo padre fanatico. Il problema che il giovanotto un egocentrico impenitente in ciò che ritiene importante c’è una sfilza di aggettivi possessivi e, di conseguenza, nel rapporto con l’altro sesso ha la sensibilità di un quindicenne carico di testosterone: cataloga le donne dando loro un voto, un seduttore seriale (da cui il nomignolo ‘Don’), ma la sua vera passione resta il porno, giudicato sempre più soddisfacente di qualsiasi rapporto reale. Quando incontra Barbara, la sua prospettiva parrebbe cambiare e vorrei ben vedere, avendo lei le fattezze di Scarlett Johansson tanto che si azzarda persino a presentarla in casa per la gioia di sua madre che non vede l’ora di diventare nonna. Ben presto, però, il meccanismo si inceppa, un po’ perché lui non riesce a rinunciare al sesso virtuale, un po’ perché lei solo un’altra faccia di un atteggiamento egoista verso la vita: Barbara cerca di plasmare Jon a suo piacimento la scuola serale, il divieto di fare le pulizie, le pellicole sdolcinate a ripetizione (Anne Hathaway e Cuba Gooding jr. cammei dei film nel film) finchè la sorella di lui Monica non dice che il re nudo nell’unica battuta che le riservata, visto che per il resto del tempo impegnata con il telefonino. Le lezioni forzate hanno però avuto almeno il pregio di far conoscere a Jon la sua compagna di corso Esther, una Julianne Moore che più lontana non potrebbe essere dai suoi ideali femminili: tra le braccia materne di questa vedova molto più vecchia di lui gli fa il bagno e occhio anche al cambio di prospettiva sul preservativo egli fa infine un passo verso la maturità, riuscendo per la prima volta a dare oltre che a ricevere. Per la sua prima regia, Joseph Gordon-Levitt scrive e dirige questa svelta (novanta minuti scarsi) commedia dal buon ritmo e puntellata da un più che discreto numero di battute: pur essendo un californiano di origine ebrea, la ambienta curiosamente in una famiglia italoamericana cattolica, ma questa sua versione di giovane Scorsese con il sorriso funziona assai meglio di quanto ci si potesse aspettare. Il merito va equamente diviso tra una scrittura che mostra davvero pochi passaggi da limare e un cast che sembra divertirsi: Gordon-Levitt sempre in scena, anche se all’inizio non aveva pensato a se stesso come interprete, e attorno a lui gli altri attori riescono a caratterizzare con gusto i loro personaggi, compresi quelli minori come i genitori di Jon Tony Danza e Glenne Headly oppure gli amici tamarri come e più di lui Rob Brown e Jeremy Luke. Certo, tutto questo parlare di (e fare) sesso può dare fastidio a qualcuno, come successo anche fra i sei che erano in sala con me durante la proiezione: un peccato, però, perché l’argomento, pur scivoloso, trattato cercando di evitare la volgarità e viene usato per rappresentare quell’eccesso di autoreferenzialità che caratterizza molti individui nella nostra società. Il tutto, comunque, senza prendersi troppo sul serio e, soprattutto, evitando i moralismi: se da una parte lo sguardo sul piccolo mondo che ruota attorno a Jon poteva essere più aggressivo, dall’altro il ‘lieto fine’ conclusivo risulta ben lungi dall’essere classico. Expand
  27. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    Very solid movie. I think detractors missed the point on this. It is not simply a tale of porn addiction. It's also a story of a person and growing, becoming honest with himself, etc. More than that, I found it refreshingly original, both in story and in vibe, as well as solid acting by the entire cast. Well worth it, and a great first directorial outing from JGL.
  28. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    Porn isn't real. We all know it... but perhaps we never think about it? This film explores that concept and more than anything makes you wonder how many other things in life are ruined by on-demand access to a never-ending stream of crap on every channel of our lives.
  29. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don Jon is essentially a love story; albeit somewhat oddball. Humorous in parts, emotional in others it wasn't bad. It wasn't great, but it wasn't bad. Gordon-Levitt embodies this unreal, extreme example of the kind of male characters that flood our screens courtesy of Jersey Shore. Johansson's role embodies another extreme but in female form. Crucially though they are both decidedly superficial. The difference between the two is simply that Jonny experiences a sort of peripeteia through the influence of three characters his sister, best friend and Julianne Moore. There are scenes that are repetitive, but that's the whole point, repeating but changing. It was simple too, but again, it's focus was on a microcosm of society, explored through unrealistic characters, so I don't think that's necessarily a problem. I'd recommend people see it, I enjoyed it but I won't see it again. The cast were good, the script was basic and the focus was different. Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    Don Jon's first hour is recognisably on the money with regards to sex and the male of the species. Some very funny comedic writing hits some great targets often with the sting of truth. A buffed up Joseph Gordon-Levitt is great fun as catholic boy Jon, more interested in internet porn than in sustaining long term relationships with any girl, including Scarlett Johansson who is great here. In fact, she hasn't been this good in years and looks fantastic into the bargain.
    Unfortunately, with the entry of a rather mis-cast and de glamourised Julianne Moore the film rather deflates. It's obvious that she and Levitt will get together, but this last act which is a shade unbelievable loses the laughs, becomes rather moralising, somewhat judgemental and is actually too simplistically concluded. All of which is a shame because there is so much to enjoy in the film's first hour.
    Amongst its other achievements the movie boasts a great original score. Alternating between lush romanticism and a playful cheekiness it enhances all the shenanigans taking place on screen, perfectly.
    Expand
  31. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    “Don Jon” is an ambitious but unfortunately unsuccessful effort by actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt to expand his talents and capabilities by assuming the role of both writer and director in addition to playing the lead character. This is a film about an otherwise normal middle class guy who is addicted to watching porn on the internet and how it impacts and affects his other relationships. The film also stars Scarlett Johannson and Juliana Moore and a miscast Tony Danza as these actors struggle to make sense of this thin script and average direction, What could have been an interesting and insightful excursion into the mind and attitude of a porn addict becomes nothing more than a light overview of this potentially thought provoking subject. I give the filma 6 and suggest that if something else is playing at the same time you are going to attend the movie, see the other film. Expand
  32. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt shines with his directional debut. This is a very honest movie meant for a very mature audience. JGL and Johansson both gave incredible performances with Danza and Moore provided great support roles. The comedy in this film deals mostly with JGL and his porn addiction, while the drama comes from the problems that arise from his addiction. Thankfully, the ending wasn't your normal rom-com ending and it a was nice, unexpected change. This is a rom-com done right. Expand
  33. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    I was impressed with Gordon-Levitt's auteur film debut. I like the premise of the film. Porn is popular.

    What I didn't like about the film was Gordon-Levitt and Johansson performance.

    Joseph and Scarlett over acted. They did the Jersey thing too much. Which is a shame because they are good actors who did an otherwise good job in the film.
  34. Oct 12, 2013
    5
    If you've seen the trailer for DON JON, then you've seen the film. In fact, the trailer is far better edited and paced than this first from the ever likable Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The comedy in DON JON never takes off and the film's more serious examination of porn obsession never takes off. The actors are all good but Scarlett Johansson totally commands the screen. Her character is gorgeous and awful but you just want her to come back. Ultimately, DON JON feels like a short film stretched to 90 minutes. But Gordon-Levitt clearly has a voice and this is his first. Expand
  35. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    October 2013

    The topic of porn addiction might be worth exploring in a movie. And certainly writers should be able to generate a few laughs out of it .Oddly the laughs are very few here except those lame ones at the expense of Catholics and Italians (undershirts at dinner really The real problem here is casting .Bluntly Gordon-Levitt is an excellent actor but really doesn't have the
    drop dead "look" to play the super babe magnet of the movie lead. His exchanging glances with the best looking women in the bar and then running to bed with them is pretty much a fairy tale. This is easily explained of course by the director writer choosing himself for the lead. Then it gets a little worse when about half the movie seems dedicated to loving closeups of the directors favorite actor. A self indulgent waste. Gets as much as a 4 only because every other actor is great. Expand
  36. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    The trailer does this movie no justice as it makes you think this is a one subject movie. What this movie does is take you on a tour of Levitt's character as he matures from an early 20's kid into an adult. There are many issues along the way and the movie's light heartened approach is just perfect.
  37. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    Light treatment of a serious problem for too many men. Intimacy with women versus sex with women who have been objectified as sex objects by all forms of media. One benefit of this movie may be a better understanding that, given men's attitudes towards women as sex objects, that women shouldn't take it so seriously and personally if their man watches "some" porn. It's early, learned behaviour and as long as it doesn't become an obsession as it does to Don Jon, it's relatively meaningless.
    I thought the dialogue and relationship Don Jon had with Julianne Moore's character was artificial and hard to swallow as real, although it was key to the story.

    Worth seeing but could open a can of worms as a date movie. Drive with caution.
    Expand
  38. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    As a debut, Don Jon is pretty solid. It was really far from perfect, but again it's a debut. I liked it but really didn't love it as much as I expected I might. The porn gets a little annoying too.
  39. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    Joseph Gordon Levitt's first feature of Don Jon is funny, enjoyable, and entertaining about one man who struggles his life of being a cool dude for fantasizing women a lot.
  40. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it's heart, an attempt to savage the values that all these groups hold dear. It shines a hot and otherwise absentee light the cancer of over-sexualization. It shows, subtly at times and baldly at others, how consumer driven, sexualized, culture has reached it's tendrils into every-day life, down even into the language we use, how we think and what we think we need. No character is safe, even the heroine, who chastises the male lead for being "addicted to porn" does so while lighting a joint. Entertaining, lighthearted and even touching, this movie, like it's main character, seems dumb on the outside but turns out to be intelligent after all. In fact it's really intelligent, which will hurt it's reviews. It's irreverence (which I love) makes it's target market small and it's high bar of entry (most people won't "get it") makes it's target audience smaller still. I took off a point the ending feeling rushed, but truly, I laughed my head off the whole time. If you're not in any of those listed groups, or if you're genuinely interested in gender roles, feminism, or sociology, you need to see this. Expand
  41. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    As a female viewer, I entered a new world of the male mind. Not to direct this as the inner workings of each male persona but it does fit every guy I have met.
    I saw where the movie was going. This is beyond the pornography, the yelling, and the accents.
    The point of the movie is the separation of reality and illusion without the acknowledgement of a separation.
    Very well made. I
    really did enjoy it! Expand
  42. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt wrote, directed and stars as a character who looks and acts like he stepped out of "Jersey Shore:" brusque, muscular, shallow, sexy and a total stud. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Scarlett Johannson who embodies the tough, slutty borough girl), his obsession with pornography becomes an issue. This is a fast-paced, quick-witted character study about a man who's more of a mess than he seems. Gordon-Levitt has fully immersed himself in the character and it's a winner. His scenes of dinner with his dad (Tony Danza) are great fun. It's a bit raunchy, if you have a problem with that and not all that deep, but it's entertaining as hell and bodes well for his hyphenate talent. Expand
  43. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    I thought it was a smart, funny, scathing, but ultimately kind indictment of douche bro society.

    The repetitiveness and shallowness of man child Jon's existence speaks loudly to my millenial sensibilities. A victim of a self centered father and over accommodating mother, Jon is a self centered douche bag, whose only goal in life is to have meaningless fun. The blank faces on Jon's
    family during church and his road rage on the way there speak towards the emptiness of being nominally religious. The meaningless confession of sins, the meaningless prayers, all contribute to Jon's status as a shallow guy who doesn't really care about anything but banging an equally shallow and ridiculously hot girl and then spanking it to some meticulously selected pornography.

    I think the fact that Barbara isn't actually a good person is a really important part of the film. That neither party in the Jon/Barbara relationship is actually that likable, despite both of them being very good looking, is pretty refreshing.

    I really liked that Jon isn't actually that likable. He's charming, but he's a self centered dick with nothing really to say. And then he grows and he's still kind of a dick and he doesn't really have that much to say, but he is less self centered and I think that's a lot more honest than most other films.

    I think attacking the tendency to be self centered through porn addiction was really clever. Self centeredness is kind of this internal thing with tons of symptoms, but it's really hard to pull at something and make a difference. With Barbara it manifests as manipulativeness, which I think is a really hard thing to make a person aware of in a meaningful way. With porn addiction it's a pretty straight shot to, you have a problem because you can't get off without porn.

    I enjoyed it, I liked watching Jon struggle and grow, I liked that the ultimate love interest is really screwed up for totally believable reasons, I liked that no one is actually that likable. It feels like reality, but slightly prettier, as opposed to fantasy.
    Expand
  44. Sep 30, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For his first film, JGL did not do awful... it started off alright, it had its funny moments, you go through Don Jon's daily routines and see how they slowly change over the period he dates Barbara... pretty obvious analysis, but come one what was with Julianne Moore, I guess she was just the first person he truly connected with? And then he randomly just re-introduced her at the end so abruptly... just not the most amazing movie I have seen in awhile. What is happening to Cinema? Expand
  45. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    To be very honest, porn addiction is a real thing. Not a serious issue, but its very real. There are guys out there that do think like Don Jon. However, the problem is that when people see porn in a movie, its automatically disgusting. One thing I observed from watching this movie is that this is a guys movie. Certainly debatable if its a date movie, but its a mans movie. I'm sure going in, people were expecting the chick flick. Ya know, where the guy gets the girl, they briefly break-up, and guy does everything to get her back. It wasn't that. It ended differently, and it was fantastic. This is probably the most fun movie I've seen this year. I suggest that if you like good movies, you should put this on your must see list. The story is above the porn, its a real, down-to-earth story that can be enjoyed. Expand
  46. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    While some of its more dramatic elements could be executed much better, Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first writer/directorial outing is a successful comedic drama with an admirable sense of honesty for its subject matter.
  47. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Great fun. A romantic comedy, with a serious lesson. Fine performances all around. Slick to watch. Moves fast. No immaturity in the script. Bravo to Gordon-Levitt.
  48. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    In Joseph Gordon-Levitt's directorial debut, he has offered heart, witty humor and a great script that shows the view of one man's deception on porn and how it has affected his humanity. Overall, great job Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  49. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    It's a fun, honest date movie yes, date movie, if you've got the guts, fellas. It's likely to provoke a few questions during, and after the movie. But Levitt does a fine job in his direction, and against all odds, he integrates Julianne Moore into the proceedings in a refreshing way. Great to see Tony Danza back on the scene. And Jon's friends the trumpet player from "Treme", and his shorter pal are great for their words of wisdom and some comic relief. Clearly, this won't win any awards, but it surpassed my not-so-modest expectations for it. Expand
  50. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    I am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like the character Don John, as there are women like Scarlett Johansson's Barbara. The movie is funny at first...quite funny actually...and then it moves into a coming-of-age story for Don John, with his first discovery of what authentic intimacy looks like. Our culture is awash in pornography, and our young men of this generation grow up assaulted by images that distort reality and crassify culture. Jordan Leavitt's film placed a spotlight on this problem without preaching, and gave some welcome guidance as to the way out of that morass if you are a man stuck in that mode. It is an excellent film...look behind the genuine character comedy for the deeper message. Expand
  51. Sep 27, 2013
    5
    I honestly couldn't tell if I was watching a bad softcore porno or jersey shore. There were some laughs, but most of it was just watching some guys hit on girls and curse/bust each others balls, jacking off to porn, working out, and praying forgiveness for his sins. There were some laughs, and some serious notes about porn addiction, but other than that the movie was very meh. Worth seeing if you like Jersey Shore, otherwise maybe a visit to the red box (or alternative sources of movies) Expand
  52. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Expand
  53. Sep 27, 2013
    1
    As a mature male that enjoys movies, attending 1-2 every week, I blanched every time I saw the preview to the upcoming Don Jon. All I got from it was a movie about porn addiction, period. Mentally I wrote it off. Today I made a critical mistake. I normally don’t read the reviews of movies I know don’t give me a single spark of interest, only the sparky ones. Alas, the reviews were surprisingly acceptable and I went to a morning matinee. What a waste. It was a movie about porn addiction of course, but I assumed from the reviews there were many redeeming qualities and growth in the characters included. WRONG! Joseph Gordon-Levitt & his father Tony Danza were simply vacuous, crude, foul-mouthed and valueless all the way to the closing credits. There was zero empathy or sympathy and not a hint of anyone being a protagonist. I not only did not care about the males in this film, I was repulsed by them. The Catholic sacrament of “confession” was treated like an irrelevant waste basket for immoral behavior rather than anything sacred or religious and demanding of sincere repentance as it does in real life. Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore performances were very good actually. This movie had one theme and one theme only…promiscuitypornpromiscuityporn. I spent the last 30 minutes mentally flipping a coin on whether to just get up and leave. I stayed because I wanted to write an honest review on a complete product. On the way out a group of five in front of me complained out loud about their waste of time and money on that piece of trash. I chimed in with them as we left the theater. Collapse
  54. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Don Jon shows an interesting view on how we as a society are products of what we watch and see everyday. Gordon-Levitt does an amazing job of illustrating this phenomenon with a great cast and superb writing.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Catherine Bray
    Nov 12, 2013
    80
    As a director, Gordon-Levitt demonstrates considerable technical flair through stylistic flourishes and coaxes great performances out of his co-stars, while he remains centre stage throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    Short, sweet, raunchy and often screamingly funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Sep 27, 2013
    38
    A sex comedy that just lays there and expects you to do all the work. Gordon-Levitt's direction is repetitive and dry, and his screenplay is a collage of badly cut out pieces from other movies.