Don Jon

Don Jon Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 26, 2013
    88
    Gordon-Levitt won't take safe for an answer. So Don Jon tends to stumble as it finds its feet. Still, you leave this movie feeling had at instead of had. The experience is elating.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    [A] deceptively sincere movie about masculinity and its discontents that Mr. Gordon-Levitt, making a fine feature directing debut, shapes into a story about a young man's moral education.
  3. 75
    In Don Jon Gordon-Levitt hasn’t made a great movie. But he has made a fun one, short and sweet, with a third act punch that is so to-the-point it’ll take your breath away.
  4. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Gordon-Levitt keeps things riotous for the film's first hour, and if he eases into an ending that's a little Hollywood-standard, after having so much fun tweaking form and content, I'm guessing audiences will cut him some slack.
  5. 70
    The movie is a broad ethnic comedy, but there’s nothing broad about the wicked-smart way it’s executed.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 26, 2013
    63
    Gordon-Levitt is a victim of his own success here. He plays such a convincing cad that we don’t believe or invest in his redemption.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 11, 2013
    30
    Crude, repetitive and rigorously single-minded, the popular actor’s writing and directing debut lays it all on a bit thick, as the few points the film has to make are underscored time and time again.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 73
  2. Negative: 6 out of 73
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharineIn the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Don Jon shows an interesting view on how we as a society are products of what we watch and see everyday. Gordon-Levitt does an amazing job ofDon Jon shows an interesting view on how we as a society are products of what we watch and see everyday. Gordon-Levitt does an amazing job of illustrating this phenomenon with a great cast and superb writing. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    I am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like theI am a leader in men's groups. I thought this movie was purely excellent and very intelligent. There are many men in the world like the character Don John, as there are women like Scarlett Johansson's Barbara. The movie is funny at first...quite funny actually...and then it moves into a coming-of-age story for Don John, with his first discovery of what authentic intimacy looks like. Our culture is awash in pornography, and our young men of this generation grow up assaulted by images that distort reality and crassify culture. Jordan Leavitt's film placed a spotlight on this problem without preaching, and gave some welcome guidance as to the way out of that morass if you are a man stuck in that mode. It is an excellent film...look behind the genuine character comedy for the deeper message. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    I was thinking the first century of the third millennium where the meaning of cinemas is rewrote. There's been lots of chances we can see andI was thinking the first century of the third millennium where the meaning of cinemas is rewrote. There's been lots of chances we can see and one of those were the beginning of adult-comedies. Recently 'Ted' made lots of waves among movie goers. So here comes the another one from the actor of '50/50' who also debuted as director. Making first is always challenging one, not many had tasted success but he handled very nicely his crew as well the co stars. It was a nice script based on today's world and the path the youngsters moving.

    The story centers around a character Jon who lives by his own principles. He does everything like every other guy like watching porn and masturbating. One day he meets his girl and begin to give his full commitment to it. Sometime he has to break his rules to obtain from opposite, so the remaining portions explais how far he would go and sacrifice his life for a girl.

    Definitely it tells the unexpected truth to the older guys who are troubling to understand present technology that affecting people in a strange way. I was talking about online porns and this movie deals about the same theme. The trouble maker in a serious relationship, we can call it a new way of cheating. I believe this movie is not for everyone, if you are okay with adult theme as a comedy then it will be fine. I can call it a rare movie about online porn video addiction.
    Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    While some of its more dramatic elements could be executed much better, Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first writer/directorial outing is a successfulWhile some of its more dramatic elements could be executed much better, Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first writer/directorial outing is a successful comedic drama with an admirable sense of honesty for its subject matter. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    Light treatment of a serious problem for too many men. Intimacy with women versus sex with women who have been objectified as sex objects byLight treatment of a serious problem for too many men. Intimacy with women versus sex with women who have been objectified as sex objects by all forms of media. One benefit of this movie may be a better understanding that, given men's attitudes towards women as sex objects, that women shouldn't take it so seriously and personally if their man watches "some" porn. It's early, learned behaviour and as long as it doesn't become an obsession as it does to Don Jon, it's relatively meaningless.
    I thought the dialogue and relationship Don Jon had with Julianne Moore's character was artificial and hard to swallow as real, although it was key to the story.

    Worth seeing but could open a can of worms as a date movie. Drive with caution.
    Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2014
    1
    I decided to watch this movie based on the casting. This was my mistake. I found it rather pointless and repetitive. Maybe a teenager wouldI decided to watch this movie based on the casting. This was my mistake. I found it rather pointless and repetitive. Maybe a teenager would enjoy this film, but I found it rather empty and boring. Sorry, I tried! Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 16, 2013
    Catch up on the week's movie news and watch new trailers for Sundance hits ACOD and Blue Caprice plus 300: Rise of an Empire, Don Jon, Vampire Academy, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  6. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.