Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 26, 2013
    88
    Gordon-Levitt won't take safe for an answer. So Don Jon tends to stumble as it finds its feet. Still, you leave this movie feeling had at instead of had. The experience is elating.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    [A] deceptively sincere movie about masculinity and its discontents that Mr. Gordon-Levitt, making a fine feature directing debut, shapes into a story about a young man's moral education.
  3. 75
    In Don Jon Gordon-Levitt hasn’t made a great movie. But he has made a fun one, short and sweet, with a third act punch that is so to-the-point it’ll take your breath away.
  4. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    Gordon-Levitt keeps things riotous for the film's first hour, and if he eases into an ending that's a little Hollywood-standard, after having so much fun tweaking form and content, I'm guessing audiences will cut him some slack.
  5. 70
    The movie is a broad ethnic comedy, but there’s nothing broad about the wicked-smart way it’s executed.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 26, 2013
    63
    Gordon-Levitt is a victim of his own success here. He plays such a convincing cad that we don’t believe or invest in his redemption.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 11, 2013
    30
    Crude, repetitive and rigorously single-minded, the popular actor’s writing and directing debut lays it all on a bit thick, as the few points the film has to make are underscored time and time again.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 4 out of 63
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    In the end, Gordon-Levitt offers something that is funny, witty, honest and eventually heartfelt, without having to pander to the saccharine fantasies or gross-out raunch humor that have become the two main lanes of rom-com cinema. This is a date movie whose boldness, edge and careful handling of some volatile material truly makes it balanced and engaging to both sides of the gender spectrum. By the time the credits roll, you won’t just leave the theater feeling entertained you’ll leave with something to talk about. And for a first-timer, crafting a film that gets people talking is quite an accomplishment. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    This movie is not for the feint of heart or the "grown up"-minded. It's probably not for church goers. It's probably not REALLY for main-stream consumers, macho boys and candy princess girls. It's not for any of these because it is, at it's heart, an attempt to savage the values that all these groups hold dear. It shines a hot and otherwise absentee light the cancer of over-sexualization. It shows, subtly at times and baldly at others, how consumer driven, sexualized, culture has reached it's tendrils into every-day life, down even into the language we use, how we think and what we think we need. No character is safe, even the heroine, who chastises the male lead for being "addicted to porn" does so while lighting a joint. Entertaining, lighthearted and even touching, this movie, like it's main character, seems dumb on the outside but turns out to be intelligent after all. In fact it's really intelligent, which will hurt it's reviews. It's irreverence (which I love) makes it's target market small and it's high bar of entry (most people won't "get it") makes it's target audience smaller still. I took off a point the ending feeling rushed, but truly, I laughed my head off the whole time. If you're not in any of those listed groups, or if you're genuinely interested in gender roles, feminism, or sociology, you need to see this. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt wrote, directed and stars as a character who looks and acts like he stepped out of "Jersey Shore:" brusque, muscular, shallow, sexy and a total stud. When he meets the girl of his dreams (Scarlett Johannson who embodies the tough, slutty borough girl), his obsession with pornography becomes an issue. This is a fast-paced, quick-witted character study about a man who's more of a mess than he seems. Gordon-Levitt has fully immersed himself in the character and it's a winner. His scenes of dinner with his dad (Tony Danza) are great fun. It's a bit raunchy, if you have a problem with that and not all that deep, but it's entertaining as hell and bodes well for his hyphenate talent. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    As a debut, Don Jon is pretty solid. It was really far from perfect, but again it's a debut. I liked it but really didn't love it as much as I expected I might. The porn gets a little annoying too. Collapse
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    While some of its more dramatic elements could be executed much better, Joseph Gordon-Levitt's first writer/directorial outing is a successful comedic drama with an admirable sense of honesty for its subject matter. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    More philosophical and precise than I'd expected. It plays out like a very average story, but the content is important to young men (and women) and it is clear that it has been given serious thought. The ending took me by surprise and added a new dimension to the film which makes me want to see it in again from that perspective. It has something to say about relationships. Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    October 2013

    The topic of porn addiction might be worth exploring in a movie. And certainly writers should be able to generate a few laughs
    out of it .Oddly the laughs are very few here except those lame ones at the expense of Catholics and Italians (undershirts at dinner really The real problem here is casting .Bluntly Gordon-Levitt is an excellent actor but really doesn't have the drop dead "look" to play the super babe magnet of the movie lead. His exchanging glances with the best looking women in the bar and then running to bed with them is pretty much a fairy tale. This is easily explained of course by the director writer choosing himself for the lead. Then it gets a little worse when about half the movie seems dedicated to loving closeups of the directors favorite actor. A self indulgent waste. Gets as much as a 4 only because every other actor is great. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.