Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Maitland McDonagh
    Jun 16, 2011
    88
    David Lynch lite.
  2. Reviewed by: Jean Oppenheimer
    Jun 16, 2011
    100
    Like gathering storm clouds, Donnie Darko creates an atmosphere of eerie calm and mounting menace -- stands as one of the most exceptional movies of 2001.
  3. Reviewed by: Desson Thomson
    Jun 16, 2011
    88
    Appealingly, the movie has a certain lightness -- like the aforementioned butterfly -- which makes its foreboding qualities surprisingly user-friendly.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 16, 2011
    91
    Kelly, the 26-year-old writer-director of this excitingly original indie vision, shares more artistically with Wes Anderson or Paul Thomas Anderson than he does with Spielberg or John Hughes, but the point is, he's out on his own here. He swings big -- with flair.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Donnelly
    Jun 16, 2011
    90
    It is funny, sad and beautiful. And it's right on time.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    6
    It's full of inspiration and ideas, but "Donnie Darko" doesn't quite get the order right.
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    A mixture of horror, drama, psychological thriller, comedy,and brief action make this a must see movie especially with movie stars that areA mixture of horror, drama, psychological thriller, comedy,and brief action make this a must see movie especially with movie stars that are randomly famous appearing here and there.
    A+
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I thought this movie was a masterpiece. I loved every minute of it. I'm definitely going to have to rewatch it. I was slightly disappointedI thought this movie was a masterpiece. I loved every minute of it. I'm definitely going to have to rewatch it. I was slightly disappointed about the ending because I didn't quite "get" it but it didn't negatively impact it for me. I know some endings can ruin entire movies/video games. I loved Frank. I don't have much to complain about so I think a 10 is in order here. Why this movie isn't a financial success is beyond me. I think this movie needs a rerelease to theaters with some advertising. Full Review »