Donnie Darko

Donnie Darko Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A genre-busting fable that blasts the American suburban drama into a wildly imaginative realm of time travel, alternative universes and the manipulation of one's fate. (IFC Films)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Jean Oppenheimer
    Jun 16, 2011
    100
    Like gathering storm clouds, Donnie Darko creates an atmosphere of eerie calm and mounting menace -- stands as one of the most exceptional movies of 2001.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Donnelly
    Jun 16, 2011
    90
    It is funny, sad and beautiful. And it's right on time.
  3. Reviewed by: Desson Thomson
    Jun 16, 2011
    88
    Appealingly, the movie has a certain lightness -- like the aforementioned butterfly -- which makes its foreboding qualities surprisingly user-friendly.
  4. Reviewed by: Paula Nechak
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    Its only constant is that it's strangely eloquent and quite original.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jun 16, 2011
    70
    Has plenty of problems. But most stem from a young filmmaker overswinging on his first time up to the plate and hitting a deep fly out rather than a home run.
  6. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Loren King
    Jun 16, 2011
    63
    The debut feature from 26-year-old director Richard Kelly shows plenty of promise, but it's somewhat self-involved and won't appeal to audiences who like a straightforward -- even if fantastical -- narrative.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    Just another self-absorbed teen chronicle, with the added twist of a little time travel and a surprise ending.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    Maybe not the greatest mind **** ive ever seen but the film truly is unique and stands out from all over blockbuster titles, with a veryMaybe not the greatest mind **** ive ever seen but the film truly is unique and stands out from all over blockbuster titles, with a very original premise to time-travel that feels so real and different compared to other sc-fi flicks. I absolutely enjoyed every moment of Donnie Darko every performance was spot on, absolutely stunning film. Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Few films have demanded such attention from an audiences as Richard Kelly's stunningly troubled debut which follows a young man attempt toFew films have demanded such attention from an audiences as Richard Kelly's stunningly troubled debut which follows a young man attempt to deal with his life and oddities in the midst of falling in love and the debt of a mysterious Bunny known only as Frank. A film which demands so much from its audience, but provides with such captivating weirdness and a beautiful premise involving a hauntingly spellbinding use of mad world is well worth the watch. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    A mixture of horror, drama, psychological thriller, comedy,and brief action make this a must see movie especially with movie stars that areA mixture of horror, drama, psychological thriller, comedy,and brief action make this a must see movie especially with movie stars that are randomly famous appearing here and there.
    A+
    Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    Great psychological thriller movie with an intelligent blend of sci-fi and drama elements. This movie is full of complex and inspirationalGreat psychological thriller movie with an intelligent blend of sci-fi and drama elements. This movie is full of complex and inspirational quotes that will may influence you into thinking the meaning behind this world. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Pretty weird movie if you ask me, but catchy. It is a mix of teenager-school-everyday_life-movie and psychological science fiction about timePretty weird movie if you ask me, but catchy. It is a mix of teenager-school-everyday_life-movie and psychological science fiction about time travel. Worth watching of course, the actors are nice, especially Jake Gyllenhaal as Donny Darko. The story is really interesting and pretty mysterious in the beginning and you get to know what is really happening only in the end (if you want to find the real meaning watch the director's version, it contains some necessary scenes). Some people are disappointed with the lack of action and slow story progression, but I was consumed by the atmosphere for the very beginning to end. Collapse
  6. Oct 6, 2015
    7
    ...don't see really why seth rogan was in there...i totally believed swazy belonged in there however......i guess the only thing i like is...don't see really why seth rogan was in there...i totally believed swazy belonged in there however......i guess the only thing i like is that donnie darko died and everyone realized that they were phony .....i have no understanding as to how donnie got back into his bed after fleeing from the town....is it that there were two of him at the end? also donnie never was able to send the jet engine through a portal...if the next movie sucks worse than this i wont know what to do .... i need answers dont just get another hot chick to shove down our throats....i actually want all of this to be real and not just fake and about girls...i wonder the surreal reason as to how seth rogan was the one who technically killed the girl and then he says the word seth.......as a connection wizard I should already have this figured out.....the movie did however come along way from fuk as .....given it ends at the start Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2015
    3
    I understand that for many film is almost a masterpiece. For me it fails to live up to the standards that I understand them. The actors playI understand that for many film is almost a masterpiece. For me it fails to live up to the standards that I understand them. The actors play very well, pretty interesting story, but do not really like. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.