Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 21, 2005
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 235 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
110
Mixed:
60
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
GaryM.Oct 22, 2005
Play "Doom 3" instead and leave this movie alone. This movie is loosely based (I mean it) on the videogame of the same name. And they chose to exclude the part that made the videogame so truly creepy and frightening. Welcome to hell!!! I Play "Doom 3" instead and leave this movie alone. This movie is loosely based (I mean it) on the videogame of the same name. And they chose to exclude the part that made the videogame so truly creepy and frightening. Welcome to hell!!! I gave it a "3", beacuse of the first person scene which lasts 5 mins. top. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
jwt7000Oct 24, 2011
Not a good movie as far as I can tell. The movie is short, the plot is not that great, The Rock did die in the movie and the battle sequences does not feel like the one from the original Doom game. If this movie was based from Doom 3, thatNot a good movie as far as I can tell. The movie is short, the plot is not that great, The Rock did die in the movie and the battle sequences does not feel like the one from the original Doom game. If this movie was based from Doom 3, that part should be acceptable, except this wasn't. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
JimB.Nov 3, 2005
Some films are so bad they make you laugh. "Doom" is not one of these films. "Doom" is so bad it's thought provoking. My only thought leaving the theatre was "what happened to cinema?" Also, the comparison to the game is completely Some films are so bad they make you laugh. "Doom" is not one of these films. "Doom" is so bad it's thought provoking. My only thought leaving the theatre was "what happened to cinema?" Also, the comparison to the game is completely irrelivant. The film should be able to stand on it's own and it fails. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ApocalypseBrownFeb 22, 2007
Abysmal! Every actor in this film should never work anywhere again. And whats makes it worse it has NOTHING to do with the game!? At least..... no Red Eye is still worse!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LeonardoA.Jan 13, 2008
This movie is based on DOOM 3, and it has nothing to do with the game except for the Hellknight and the BFG, but they still ridiculous to my eyes. The BFG fires a energy sphere that link up with enemies within range of the explosion range, This movie is based on DOOM 3, and it has nothing to do with the game except for the Hellknight and the BFG, but they still ridiculous to my eyes. The BFG fires a energy sphere that link up with enemies within range of the explosion range, and in the movie it fires an kind of blue goo that corroses anithing in the projectile's route.DOOM 3 passes in 2145, and the movie passes in 2040. That stupid thing called "The Ark" and the "C-24" doesn't have a fucking similarity with the game history. The only thing that i enjoyed in this movie was the DVD extras.Nothing more. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BruceS.Mar 2, 2008
Are you kidding me?!?! It was nothing like the games. THEY ARE FROM HELL NOT ALIENS!!! God I hate when people try to spice up something that is allready good. Hate this movie, Love the games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DerekDOct 22, 2005
This movie is a mess. The first half was very good until they flushed the movie down the toilet. The story in this movie is not even close to the game! The first person part was kinda crazy (a first in movie history) but cool. I recomend This movie is a mess. The first half was very good until they flushed the movie down the toilet. The story in this movie is not even close to the game! The first person part was kinda crazy (a first in movie history) but cool. I recomend that you should wait and see it on DVD and same a bunch of money! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GaryMOct 23, 2005
Unimpressive action scenes, and insufficient use of the BFG made this only remotely related to the video game. also unlike the games, this movie has no ending: it just stops as if they ran out of quarters. the fight scenes couldn't have Unimpressive action scenes, and insufficient use of the BFG made this only remotely related to the video game. also unlike the games, this movie has no ending: it just stops as if they ran out of quarters. the fight scenes couldn't have been more campy if the wires were visible, and the first-person shooter scenes didn't seem to be from the same story as the creatures behaviors changed dramatically when in and out of shooter mode. I would predict that this movie will go direct to the SciFi channel in 2 weeks, except that would be an insult to the snake movies currently showing on SciFi for the 10th time this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnW.Oct 23, 2005
The casting and acting was excellent. The direction and cinematography were terrible. I went in expecting an action movie, and got a suspense/horror movie (and not a very good one at that) instead. It was cliched and predictable at almost The casting and acting was excellent. The direction and cinematography were terrible. I went in expecting an action movie, and got a suspense/horror movie (and not a very good one at that) instead. It was cliched and predictable at almost every turn. Wait 'til it comes out on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VictorBOct 23, 2005
If you're going to make a movie, it should be a good movie. Doom is a decent game (I personally hate it, but whatever), but it should not be a movie! There was nothing to this film, much like the game. Also like the game, intelligent If you're going to make a movie, it should be a good movie. Doom is a decent game (I personally hate it, but whatever), but it should not be a movie! There was nothing to this film, much like the game. Also like the game, intelligent people will be finished with it way before they could possibly be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KathyW.Oct 23, 2005
This was worse than "Alone In The Dark"! A plot a 12 year old could come up with, really fake looking weapons, and stupid looking creatures. The Rock was fine but it's not enough. Just a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnDOct 24, 2005
This was undoubtedly the worst movie I have ever seen. It makes the dungeons and dragons movie look like high art by comparison. I literally sat in the theater and started laughing hysterically during the end sequence, thinking it This was undoubtedly the worst movie I have ever seen. It makes the dungeons and dragons movie look like high art by comparison. I literally sat in the theater and started laughing hysterically during the end sequence, thinking it couldn't get any worse. I was wrong. I won't give away the ending, but I was more impressed with the ending credits than the entire movie. This movie should have been a no-brainer to make. Stay faithful to the general premise of the video game, introduce bigger and cooler guns, lots of scary stuff jumping out at scary moments, bad guys coming from every angle, a simple mission to get out alive, and some big CGI monster at the end (the cyberdemon would have been my choice). But no. Instead they turn a creepy sci-fi demon plot into another resident evil clone; a lone-marine-against-the-world movie into a team effort with every archetype cliche known to a first-time-screenwriter-hack; and an obvious delightful gorefest into a confusing, overly complicated, steaming pile of alien crap. My advice is to wait for the DVD, then rent something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamF.Oct 27, 2005
Sucked....it just sucked....i mean i was expecting somthing doom like (i was happy that it actually looked like a DOOM type sequence ) but besides lookin like it it just had no importan story line to it. It was going everywere. I couldnt Sucked....it just sucked....i mean i was expecting somthing doom like (i was happy that it actually looked like a DOOM type sequence ) but besides lookin like it it just had no importan story line to it. It was going everywere. I couldnt reallyfollow movie at times and as a DOOM fan i dont know how many other would as well. Sorry, but it really was a waste of my money and time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
groundfisherOct 29, 2005
Reminded me of Aliens. Only not as good. In every way. But better than I expected!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
finfroskNov 4, 2005
It's nothing like the games. At least nothing like doom 1 and 2 which is the only good doom-games. doom 3 is super-boring. The movie has three things that relate it to the games. The monsters are extremly boring, jeezuz. The endigs is It's nothing like the games. At least nothing like doom 1 and 2 which is the only good doom-games. doom 3 is super-boring. The movie has three things that relate it to the games. The monsters are extremly boring, jeezuz. The endigs is 25% better than the rest og the movie, but all in all the movie is total s**t. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IronChristNov 7, 2005
I love any film the Rock is in. This movie is only getting this score because I like him. I have to admit though that I didn't expect anything from this film. I expected a plot that a drunk Collage student could have come up with, and I love any film the Rock is in. This movie is only getting this score because I like him. I have to admit though that I didn't expect anything from this film. I expected a plot that a drunk Collage student could have come up with, and boy, was I not dissapointed. Now I played the original DOOM and where are the DEMONS? WHERE IS THE HELL PORTAL? What is all this 24th strain crap? I wanted to see thr Rock kick some demon ass and shut down hell! What a sad hollywood imitation of a great game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CraigDNov 12, 2005
If you want the Doom experience please play
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Trinidad&TobagoCaribbeanNov 20, 2005
This movie was so-so won't look at it a second time, but did n't mind paying to look at it. Rock need to stop acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
mickDec 7, 2005
Maybe my english is poor (this is a reson for short review) but definetly this movie is worst. Only scenes with "walking guns" are interesting for game players as a memory refreshner. Not thrill, no real action, no acting only blood and FX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
grahamm.Dec 7, 2005
Strays way too far from the game in both story and atmosphere. This movie, when summed up, is really stupid and pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamF.Dec 27, 2005
This movie got so many things wrong that its sad. First if they would have stayed with the plot of a transporter opening a doorway to hell accidently like in the game, it would have been better instead of a virus. The only reason I gave this This movie got so many things wrong that its sad. First if they would have stayed with the plot of a transporter opening a doorway to hell accidently like in the game, it would have been better instead of a virus. The only reason I gave this a 1 was the 10-15 min of the movie switching to First person like the game. Terrible movie ...way too dark and storyline sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MobiusJan 13, 2006
im a big Sci-fi fan and will pretty much watch any sci-fi with an open mind, but this film is just terrible. the acting and the dialogue is awful and the movie have very little to do with the doom game universe. this is one movie i wont be im a big Sci-fi fan and will pretty much watch any sci-fi with an open mind, but this film is just terrible. the acting and the dialogue is awful and the movie have very little to do with the doom game universe. this is one movie i wont be adding to my DVD collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeepK.Feb 25, 2006
The best thing about the movie is the action sequence which simulates the actual video game, other than that the action sequences are not great, the movie is quite long (over 2 hours), and the plot is like the video game (a shoot'em up The best thing about the movie is the action sequence which simulates the actual video game, other than that the action sequences are not great, the movie is quite long (over 2 hours), and the plot is like the video game (a shoot'em up story with some science thrown in). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EricG.Jun 29, 2006
Where the video game was about a portal opening to Hell, the movie, instead, is about some scientists going to some planet to kick some alien ass, so that the planet can survive. The poverty of this movie's imagination really is astonishing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AnsonG.Jul 27, 2006
What a bunchless movie. This movie way too long, ill conceived and boring. My special word is, awful. Whats the point the two company (id and Hollywood) wasted of their money to make such film like this? It suppose to be action 1st person What a bunchless movie. This movie way too long, ill conceived and boring. My special word is, awful. Whats the point the two company (id and Hollywood) wasted of their money to make such film like this? It suppose to be action 1st person shooter but where are their action? Nothing new. If u feel uncomfortable of this movie, i suggest u play Doom 3 on pc game. Dont watch this film, its not worth for your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FredBobOct 17, 2006
The movie is poorly done and I am disappointed that the Rock was in this movie. It was nothing like the games and the acting was bad, really bad. If you give this movie above a 6, you saw something I didn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BJ.Apr 4, 2007
Awful. All it needed to be was a plotless movie with cool guns and a lot of action. It had everything it shouldn't have had and lacked everything it needed. Boring, pointless, terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LiudasApr 4, 2007
If I lay my hands on that guy who made this so called movie I'll probably kill him. I am a fanatic DOOM games series fan since my childhood and when i go and see this movie i just want to beat that guy how is responsible for this If I lay my hands on that guy who made this so called movie I'll probably kill him. I am a fanatic DOOM games series fan since my childhood and when i go and see this movie i just want to beat that guy how is responsible for this abomination. First of all what original Doom has to do with this Gods forsaken peace of. Second, even if you compare Doom with anything like this crap, you should go straight to mentally ill persons hospital or something. It's not even worth zero - I should give it minus hundred. In short, I AM MAD and I want to kick that bastard's ass for even messing with DOOM's name! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
skibbiFeb 3, 2012
Doom done wrong! It is not based on Doom and it is very loosley based on Doom 3!
EPIC FAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111111
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DJ_KaasFeb 1, 2014
It was probably the worst movie I have seen for some time! it is bad and pathetic, it is almost as low as Sharknado. really bad. what a disgrace, Don't make a game-movie, if you don't know how to make a good one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LoRevisorJan 8, 2015
Estupidamente Imbecil sem graça,sem vida,sem sentido,sem propósito.Uma boa história transformada em matança sem fim até fantasmas de marte é mais foda com as cenas de trem com hard rock. Lixo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Zanessa250QIJul 6, 2015
jasmine que que é isso dhsahdjahfoefeifiekaskskslddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeMay 10, 2016
Doom is doomed from the start. An adaption to the 1993 Doom game that is totally prepared to be doomed since day one isn't just enough to save this film from being even more doomed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Iky009Nov 29, 2016
Doom is so horrible, and disappointing that it hurts just to watch, because it is an adaptation of one of the greatest shooting games of all time, it is an offense for the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BroyaxJan 18, 2017
Dans la série des jeux vidéo qui voulaient être des films et qui ont fini en daubes (une série qui n'est pas près de finir) voilà notre pathétique prétendant : Doom ! Le plus étonnant dans cette triste affaire, c'est qu'on pense à ResidentDans la série des jeux vidéo qui voulaient être des films et qui ont fini en daubes (une série qui n'est pas près de finir) voilà notre pathétique prétendant : Doom ! Le plus étonnant dans cette triste affaire, c'est qu'on pense à Resident Evil la plupart du temps, soit l'inverse de l'effet escompté je présume. Et un mauvais Resident Evil qui plus est : il ne fait pas peur, il ne fait pas rire, même au dixième degré. Et il n'y a aucun ralenti.

Bref, il n'a rien capturé de l'essence de Doom. Pour autant, le film n'est pas totalement mauvais, notamment le rôle de Dwayne Johnson qui fronce les sourcils avec les yeux en billes de Loto pendant tout le film. Ou Rosamund Spike qui fait pareil mais avec les sourcils arqués et qui pousse des cris hystériques sur commande. ça en deviendrait drôle, enfin presque (rire jaune).

Au moins, c'est filmé très correctement et on ne s'ennuie pas trop. Mais ces décors, on dirait un HLM désaffecté... un peu de sérieux que diable ! j'ai été surpris de voir le logo Universal au début : ils ont fait leurs rapiats et ça se voit. Dommage.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews