Rogue Pictures | Release Date: March 14, 2008
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 156 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
21
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DanielB.Mar 17, 2008
It's all about gore, violence, boobies, and a very cool, punk-rock sacrificial dance-number. If that's not your cup of tea than don't bother. If it is, get a bucket of popcorn, leave your criticism for the real world, and have It's all about gore, violence, boobies, and a very cool, punk-rock sacrificial dance-number. If that's not your cup of tea than don't bother. If it is, get a bucket of popcorn, leave your criticism for the real world, and have a blast! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
Anme-MarieM.Dec 18, 2008
Loved this film. Gory but satisfying. Mad Max meets 28 Weeks Later. Absolutely loved Rhona Mitra - she has it all over Lara Croft as posh birth who kicks butt. A great surprise.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CliftonC.Mar 15, 2008
Anyone who went to this movie and didn't like it is just stupid. Why are you in the theater at all?? Did you see the commercial and expect Dances With Wolves? The majority of us knew we were about to see a crazy action movie and Anyone who went to this movie and didn't like it is just stupid. Why are you in the theater at all?? Did you see the commercial and expect Dances With Wolves? The majority of us knew we were about to see a crazy action movie and that's exactly what we got! A 10 all the way. See it a hundred times then buy the unrated DVD! People who gave it a 0 should get their heads torn from their bodies with a jagged, dull, diseased sword and the firm grip of a hot, battle-hardened woman! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
9
TobiasW.Jul 16, 2008
A very entertaining movie - some great homages to Mad Max and Escape from New York, as well as some great music choices. Grab some beer and some friends and you won't go wrong.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KevinN.Aug 5, 2008
Any fan of post-apocalyptic films should see this movie. Tons of explosive action, and a little touch of suspense. The only problem I had with the film was the overuse of violence and the storyline wasn't much, but I could watch Any fan of post-apocalyptic films should see this movie. Tons of explosive action, and a little touch of suspense. The only problem I had with the film was the overuse of violence and the storyline wasn't much, but I could watch Doomsday again and still enjoy it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BrianHSep 1, 2009
Guilty pleasure for sure. But it's a fun tribute to the Mad Max movies and Escape From LA. Rhona Mitra is hot in this movie. I admit that it does have so unintentional humor, but it's the kind of movie you will enjoy if you Guilty pleasure for sure. But it's a fun tribute to the Mad Max movies and Escape From LA. Rhona Mitra is hot in this movie. I admit that it does have so unintentional humor, but it's the kind of movie you will enjoy if you don't expect something of high art. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EhrenG.Mar 15, 2008
This is such a viscerally thrilling, super clever, post-modern throwdown.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AlecB.Mar 16, 2008
Why people are giving this movie such negative reviews. i actually enjoyed the movie, it had a pretty good story line 2 it and the action was nonstop. Not as good at the decent but pretty close?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MorganK.Mar 16, 2008
While tonally very different from Marshall's critically-loved The Descent, this bears a good bit of the humor and the loving embrace of all things cool that Dog Soldiers exhibited, albeit on a much larger, extravagant scale. It's While tonally very different from Marshall's critically-loved The Descent, this bears a good bit of the humor and the loving embrace of all things cool that Dog Soldiers exhibited, albeit on a much larger, extravagant scale. It's pretty clear that this wasn't shown to critics less because the studio thought it was a dud, and more because they aren't the audience for a movie like this - it's a giddy lovefest for both the director and genre fans to share and, really, if you can't appreciate the sheer joy this movie has plowing through apocalyptic punk, D&D fantasy, and unabashed irony-free late-70s/early-80s action then you simply came to the wrong film. Doomsday manages to provide the same level of kitschy badass that Tarantino/Rodriguez's Grindhouse did last year, except without all the film-school hipster winking-at-the-audience with fake lost-reels and digital film grain - it's an adoring collage that does exactly what it's designed to do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
J.B.Mar 16, 2008
Rodriguez and Tarantino crashed and burned with their indulgent "Grindhouse" experiment. Those were fun to watch, and for those who got it, a great time while while the reels rolled. Totally forgettable afterward though. Marshall reaches Rodriguez and Tarantino crashed and burned with their indulgent "Grindhouse" experiment. Those were fun to watch, and for those who got it, a great time while while the reels rolled. Totally forgettable afterward though. Marshall reaches back into a little more recent genre period - the multi-plex,midnight movie 80's - for his nostalgia trip, and I think that since he doesn't hype his experimental time trip so much, it makes it more fun to discover the genre and movie rip-offs, hommages and cinematic playing arounds than Tarantino and Rodriguez thinking they were making another flick -that they seem to have thought everybody was going to give them another pat on the back for. Marshall does his best again with little - and he handles it all, production, action, casting - likes he's been doin' it for longer and better than others with only three movies to their credit. Hollywood is scrambling to pick up foreign directors who can do a lot with a little. I think with this, you'll see Marshall's name on a bigger tentpole flick soon. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AdamRMar 21, 2008
Now I think a rating below 5 makes you markedly less intelligent because it is IMMEDIATELY apparent that you don't understand that this movie has a niche in which it is perfect. If it's not your type of movie, don't f*(&%ing Now I think a rating below 5 makes you markedly less intelligent because it is IMMEDIATELY apparent that you don't understand that this movie has a niche in which it is perfect. If it's not your type of movie, don't f*(&%ing rate it. Every so often, a movie comes around that is some person's brainchild and will be excruciatingly painful in the name of "art" (Babel comes to mind). You know these. They feel like over-acted high-school plays shot in black and white with vaseline on the screen. The end usually ends with "fin" in script. These movies suck, yet we all feel there's a greater meaning that requires donning this s*$% sandwich with an academy award or five. All I wanted tonight was a little action, a little (lot) gore, a little comedy, and a movie that's not completely predictable. "Doomsday" provided outstandingly on all fronts while evoking the nostalgia of "Mad Max," "28 days later," and strangely "I am legend" (which was ironically released AFTER Doomsday was shot). If you gave this movie a poor rating, perhaps you should learn the terms GENRE and NICHE understand why people may like the movie that you hated. If you like chick flicks, go watch those instead of plaguing us with your fanboy opinions about something you chose to watch knowing it wouldn't be enjoyable for you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AdamL.Mar 21, 2008
About as deep and substantive as a pudding cup, this is not a great movie. It is, however, a great movie to watch. It riffs on more post-apocalyptic movies than you can count, and you just don't care. It's worth watching, and lots of fun.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
stuarthammMar 20, 2008
wonderfully fun ride. i go to see movies as an escape this was a ride that i never could predict where it was going next. i must concede that it is a mix of many movies but had enough originality to keep me interested.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KimApr 13, 2008
The movie was unrealistic. But the film rocks as a whole. If you're into horror with morbid images and smashed bodies, this is the movie for u otherwise if you're not into those things, this movie is definitely not for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisMay 10, 2008
Hell of a good Carpenter-Mad Max flick. Highly recommended!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KingHerodMay 19, 2008
I don't understand why critics have a problem with this movie. I would have thought that anyone who recognizes the movies that Doomsday openly borrows from (Mad Max II, Escape From New York, Aliens) could appreciate how deftly Marshall I don't understand why critics have a problem with this movie. I would have thought that anyone who recognizes the movies that Doomsday openly borrows from (Mad Max II, Escape From New York, Aliens) could appreciate how deftly Marshall blends tired ingredients into an original cocktail. A dystopian London and a post-apocalyptic Scotland; a felsh-eating virus; a Lara Croft lookalike; gimps; medieval knights; Mad Max punks; a Bentley Continental; kilts; comical gore and Frankie Goes To Hollywood. A one-of-a-kind concoction, I'm sure you'll agree. It fits in snugly with Marshall's previous two features and it's exactly the kind of action movie I want the British film industry producing more of. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ZoeMay 19, 2008
What do you get if you combine "Aliens", "Mad Max 2", "Robin Hood", "Gladiator", and "Top Gear? You get an action-packed and very funny film called "Doomsday". The plot waivered in places, but overall it was a lot of fun to watch. Just What do you get if you combine "Aliens", "Mad Max 2", "Robin Hood", "Gladiator", and "Top Gear? You get an action-packed and very funny film called "Doomsday". The plot waivered in places, but overall it was a lot of fun to watch. Just don't go in expecting anything too serious. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GloreC.Mar 13, 2008
The descent, quite similar to this is a downhil crapshow horror compared to this. Most horro films like this deserve crap, but this was amazing. Its not the genuine, which is not displayed in this. It is the genre treatment. They use this The descent, quite similar to this is a downhil crapshow horror compared to this. Most horro films like this deserve crap, but this was amazing. Its not the genuine, which is not displayed in this. It is the genre treatment. They use this kind of genre at the best. The movie was realistic, and great! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LuJ.Mar 15, 2008
i can see the bias in the neg reviews from a mile away. they either hate the director outright or they didn't like it that the movie wasn't pre-screened by the press. oh well. this movie was excellent. its great to see a virus i can see the bias in the neg reviews from a mile away. they either hate the director outright or they didn't like it that the movie wasn't pre-screened by the press. oh well. this movie was excellent. its great to see a virus flick where you don't have to be a zombie to still be a monster and keep the movie interesting. great fight scenes as well as plot. enjoy and cheers! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChrisD.Mar 16, 2008
It was hard to tell if I was going to enjoy it from what I saw in the beginning. In the end though I found it to be worth the money and entertaining enough to probably buy it on DVD later.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DrewFMar 16, 2008
If you know who John Carpenter and George Miller are, then run out and see this flick post-haste. If you don't, you probably shouldn't bother.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RyanG.Mar 16, 2008
Neil Marshall has proven that the action movie is alive and well. Yes, Doomsday is not The Descent, but Doomsday is exactly what Resident Evil, 28 Days Later, and any lame video game adaptation should have been. Finally, a director delivers Neil Marshall has proven that the action movie is alive and well. Yes, Doomsday is not The Descent, but Doomsday is exactly what Resident Evil, 28 Days Later, and any lame video game adaptation should have been. Finally, a director delivers a movie that deserves a strong R rating. Paul W.S. Anderson and Uwe Bowl only wish they had the talent of Marshall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WerewolfMar 17, 2008
Doomsday is an entertaining thrill ride with boobies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
michaelHMar 18, 2008
good but not great entertianed me enough. if you have seen escape from ny or la then this movie is basicaqlly the same area. still entertaining enough to get on DVD or Blu-Ray.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArianeA.Mar 20, 2008
I love it! I love Rhona Mitra. She rocks, really kicks some ass & super cool! All the actors & crews really did there job! Great job guys! What a great movie you've made! I've been telling everybody to really watch it. :)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ErikR.Mar 22, 2008
Ok i just saw this tonight. Its the weirdest movie iv ever seen. umm its like what if you isolate a country completely cut off. what would happen? like i said it was the weirdest movie ive seen. i did like the scotish accents
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BrandonLAug 31, 2008
This movie did what it was supposed to do, entertain. It had more holes in the plot than any movie I have seen in the past 5 years but still managed to have great action, over the top characters, over the top gore, hot chicks with guns, car This movie did what it was supposed to do, entertain. It had more holes in the plot than any movie I have seen in the past 5 years but still managed to have great action, over the top characters, over the top gore, hot chicks with guns, car chases and explosions. For a guy looking to be entertained, you could only add gratuitous nudity and you have a future cult classic. The only other movie that I laughed at more, because of how outrageous it was, was Rambo. Both highly entertaining, but dumb as a bag of rocks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrankC.Aug 5, 2008
I would give this a 12 if i could they really knocked it out of the park.I would rent this for every1 just so they could see how amazing it is.A+++
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JagFeb 14, 2009
This movie wasn't really amazing but it wasn't bad either. The trailer makes the actual movie look really crappy. When I first saw the trailer I thought "okay great, another invincible hot girl with a gun" but this movie does so This movie wasn't really amazing but it wasn't bad either. The trailer makes the actual movie look really crappy. When I first saw the trailer I thought "okay great, another invincible hot girl with a gun" but this movie does so much more than that. The beginning hooked me right off the bat and it stayed that way for a while. But then it got kinda boring and I started to loose hope. I thought it was going to turn out to be another 2004 version of Dawn of the Dead. But just when I was ready to start fast-forwarding it got really good again. And the variety here is also a real highlight. I don't want to give away the awesomeness but lets just say it will be the last thing you'll expect. There is also a real story here to but it can be consumed by the constant action which was awesome and well done . At your first watch-through you might think Rhona Mitra's character was really shallow and "topical action girl" but she was also really nasty and bitter. And then it hit me. She plays the role of a special forces soldier and she was in there for a long time (she was a major). She had no family, she grew up without an eye, and literally had no one. And when one is basically stealing, killing, and destroying for a living they usually loose respect for alot of things. Even people. Its that exact case with her so don't judge her to fast or you'll loose interest. It should also be noted that she is not invincible and there are very few"oh please" moments in the action sequences. She does alot of beating up but she gets her fair share of beat down too. This movie may not be the kind you'd want on your shelf but it would make a fun weekend rental or just something to have your buddy's over to watch with you. I liked it and it was worth the 4 dollars I paid to rent it. If you like action movies check it out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AntzMar 22, 2009
Entertaining action flick. Basically a Scottish Mad Max variation. If you like the over the top 80's action flick, you'll like this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Mar 14, 2008
Fantastic homage to classics like Road Warrior and Escape from New York without losing sight of the fast-paced story. Clearly made by people who love movies. Outstanding.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanJPMar 15, 2008
I don't know what these negative reviews are trying to say, but Dog Soldiers sucked, The Descent was good, and Doomsday was just as good. In it's genre it's one of the most exciting in recent months that I've seen!! This I don't know what these negative reviews are trying to say, but Dog Soldiers sucked, The Descent was good, and Doomsday was just as good. In it's genre it's one of the most exciting in recent months that I've seen!! This is just an exciting action film, not an Oscar-winner, so just enjoy it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilSMar 16, 2008
I enjoyed this movie is a compilation, as some said above, of Mad Max, 28 Days Later, Escape from New York, John Capenters Ghosts of Mars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GarrisonH.Mar 17, 2008
This is the movie P.W.S. Anderson, Tarantino, Rodriguez and countless others have been trying to make for years. Its... whats the word again.. oh yeah.. Fun. you all remember that right?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EMShedcannotbetamedMar 18, 2008
This movie is absolute fun -- provided you like your action detailed with over-the-top violence. My friend and I were laughing so hard at how quickly the movie switches gears. First it's a gritty urban shooter, then all of a sudden This movie is absolute fun -- provided you like your action detailed with over-the-top violence. My friend and I were laughing so hard at how quickly the movie switches gears. First it's a gritty urban shooter, then all of a sudden it's a King Arthur movie (complete with villains who say "take them away!") and then just as quickly it becomes the Road Warrior. Even better, all three parts are thrilling and fun. Also should mention that the production and budget for this thing must have been huge. Clearly they didn't spend a lot on actor's salaries, and all of that savings went right into fabulous sets, equipment and stunts. Really impressive in that regard. Oh well, this will probably not get very well-reviewed, but I thought it was an absolute hoot, and a very well-made movie (for what it is) to boot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeMAug 12, 2008
Talk about a movie with a little bit of EVERYTHING. This film throws everything but the kitchen sink at you and youll either love it, like it, or loathe it and i must say......i LIKE it. Watching this movie i could sense scene after scene Talk about a movie with a little bit of EVERYTHING. This film throws everything but the kitchen sink at you and youll either love it, like it, or loathe it and i must say......i LIKE it. Watching this movie i could sense scene after scene that id seen all this before.......it felt like Gladiator, Aliens, 28 Days Later, Mad Max, Planet Terror, and Resident Evil Extinction all rolled up into one crazy powderkeg of goofiness, gore, and eye rolling entertainment. Don't take this film too seriously and youll have a bloody good time watching all the craziness unfold taking you everwhere from a city full of infected human beings to a castle being protected by.....knights???....confused yet??? Overall this is a overly violent, "run for your barf bags", assault on your senses, sit back and enjoy kinda movie. I look at this movie as something that pays homage to some of the most influential films out there, and it does it in a most entertaining way.......just not in a Date Movie, Epic Movie, Disaster Movie kinda way.....THANK GOD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GGillMar 17, 2009
Quite enjoyable if you understand what the director was trying to accomplish, which was an homage to some really fantastic films in the past 30 years.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
farknashAug 19, 2011
This pretty much sums Doomsday up. Suspend you disbelief a wee bit and sit back and enjoy. It
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 25, 2014
An action-packed movie with exploding scenes - and bodies (the latter at least in the unrated version). It is almost ridiculous how some of the bloody scenes are constructed, but even though they are there just for the sake of splatteringAn action-packed movie with exploding scenes - and bodies (the latter at least in the unrated version). It is almost ridiculous how some of the bloody scenes are constructed, but even though they are there just for the sake of splattering blood all over the screen, it fits the generally cruel and raw atmosphere of "Doomsday".

The characters are given room to introduce themselves, and even though there isn't much growth in them, that isn't necessary since most of their screen time comes to an bloody end.

As far as the plot goes, there are some things that worked, and other that should have been worked on some more. At times it is more about "explaining" than allowing people to figure it out for themselves. That does not make the movie a bad one, though, because the good aspects of the plot and story work well; the mission remains the same despite all the distractions and obstacles.

The reasoning behind the main views of the movie are slightly shadowed, and in a way nothing unexpected. Still this seemed like a rather fresh take on an idea of people left stranded, abandoned by the rest of the world.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Daniel2651Feb 10, 2014
If you like films with gory fight scenes and suspense-filled chase scenes that keep you on the edge of your seat, then you’ll love Doomsday.
Doomsday is about a killer virus which spreads through Scotland in 2008 and now, 30 years later, its
If you like films with gory fight scenes and suspense-filled chase scenes that keep you on the edge of your seat, then you’ll love Doomsday.
Doomsday is about a killer virus which spreads through Scotland in 2008 and now, 30 years later, its come back.
In order to stop this virus from spreading to the rest of Britain, a wall was built along the English/Scottish border in 2008. At first this seemed to stop the virus from spreading but then in 2035 the virus came back and spread across London. Luckily survivors have been found in Scotland, which means there must be a cure. And now its up to a high ranking spy called Sinclair (Emma Cleasby) to lead a group of soldiers into Scotland to find this cure. But once inside Scotland, the survivors that the soldiers encounter aren’t very friendly and its not long before the group of soldiers are involved in a gory gun-fight, which leaves the viewer wondering not only if they’ll find a cure but also if they’ll make it out of Scotland alive.
The film gets you interested right from the start by introducing the virus as horrific and gory when we see an infected person with horrible skin mutations. As well as introducing the virus in a great way, Sinclair is also introduced in a great scene which shows just how well trained a spy she is. The special effects in this scene make the gun-fights seem gory and blood-filled.
My favourite scene in the film is the car chase at the end which is filled with comedy, action and gore. This is my favourite scene because it kept me on the edge of my seat and the special effects in this scene made the crashes look painful, realistic and explosive.
I would recommend this film to anyone who loves gory action films with a bit of a funny side and I would rate this film 8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 12, 2016
This is a highly underrated film. Brilliant storyline, fantastic actors and I only wish they'd do a sequel!

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-239-Doomsday-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 15, 2016
This was an entertaining movie with a few surprises thrown in, just don't do any heavy thinking while watching it!

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-239-Doomsday-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews