Newmarket Films | Release Date: February 18, 2005
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 169 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
153
Mixed:
12
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BroyaxJan 20, 2017
Remarquable par sa sobriété, La chute n'est pas du genre à s'épancher : il est à cet égard très loin de tout ce qu'a fait ou aurait pu en faire Hollywood. Ce film allemand regarde sa propre histoire avec une lucidité et une neutralité quiRemarquable par sa sobriété, La chute n'est pas du genre à s'épancher : il est à cet égard très loin de tout ce qu'a fait ou aurait pu en faire Hollywood. Ce film allemand regarde sa propre histoire avec une lucidité et une neutralité qui laisse admiratif. Il laisse simplement parler les faits d'eux-mêmes mais sans auto-flagellation inutile, car les faits sont assez dramatiques comme ça.

On retrouve cette tendance dans ce portrait des derniers jours du personnage Hitler : on ne diabolise pas, on ne s'apitoie pas non plus... Bruno Ganz relève le défi de ce rôle incroyablement complexe et délivre une interprétation magistrale. La secrétaire incarnée par la belle Alexandra Maria Lara dont le rôle est à peine moins important est également un point de vue très estimable sur ces évènements qui font l'Histoire, un point de vue ni blanc ni noir mais tout en multiples nuances de gris.

Sobre, lucide, presque froid, le film s'avère oppressant sur la durée et aurait gagné sans doute à se voir quelque peu élaguer ici et là. On ne s'y ennuie pas pour autant et sa grande force finalement est de nous montrer sans ambages la folie du fanatisme national-socialiste. La mise en scène adroite d'Oliver Hirschbiegel participe au réalisme ressenti et son effet n'en est que plus sidérant en fin de compte.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nazist666Apr 21, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, by far, this film actually had the greatest portrayal of Hitler and his generals. The story really reflects to the 3rd Riech during World War II. And not to mention, Hitler's rants are really well-performed, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeMar 6, 2016
It's whether you take this film to be serious or take it as a joke. I feel so sorry for those who has to take this as a joke. Well, except for that one very popular scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
eagleabhiAug 7, 2015
Great movie depicting true unbiased facts, good or bad, about Hitler!
People should be enlightened with the story of 'Young Follower' Traudl Junge, braveness in beauty from Munich.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99May 5, 2015
So this movie didn't win a Oscar for Bruno Ganz spectacular performance or didn't win for best foreign language film, man f**k the Oscars.

The movie is about a group of young women to Wolf's Lair, Hitler's headquarters in Eastern Prussia.
So this movie didn't win a Oscar for Bruno Ganz spectacular performance or didn't win for best foreign language film, man f**k the Oscars.

The movie is about a group of young women to Wolf's Lair, Hitler's headquarters in Eastern Prussia. They are candidates for the post of personal secretary to the Fuehrer. Among them is 22-year-old Traudl Junge, a fresh-faced girl from Munich. Traudl is chosen for the job and she is overcome with joy at the thought of serving beside her Fuehrer. BERLIN, APRIL 20, 1945: Hitler has retreated to a bunker system under the German Chancellery. Traudl Junge is asleep in her room, deep beneath the ground. She is awakened by tremors from artillery fire. The enemy is getting closer. Charting the last 10 days of Hitler's life, from his 56th birthday on April 20th, 1945 to his suicide on April 30th, the film uses multiple characters to show the chaos of a country coming apart at the seams, from Hitler's henchman under the streets of Berlin, to the soldiers and civilians fighting and dying as the Soviet Army ravaged the city above.

You know that video on YouTube "Hitler reactions to this", and a lot of people may not know where that scene came from and it's this movie when it's during Hitler couple of minute rant and putting those reaction videos to the side this is a great scene if you can get pass that. I thought about bringing that up just in cause you didn't know.

I what to start off this review by saying that Bruno Ganz gives one of the best performance of 2004 and probably my favorite performance of all time. Bruno Ganz got Hitler spot on and he delivered a masterpiece of acting. What Bruno Ganz did so well is add a little human to Hitler as you can see his struggle and I know we what to see him fail because his a horrible person but as horrible as he his he's struggle to win a battle that he started and it quickly going down hill slowly breaks him, at one point you slowly see him losing it and Bruno Ganz powerful performance that creates are powerful moment that we can feel a little bit of it. Amazing performance Bruno Ganz.

The directing in this movie is what works the best as the director shows every detail of Hitler's upcoming fate. I forgive Oliver Hirschbiegel for directing the epic fail that was Diana the film as he made a better historical drama.

For problems with the movie these not a lot to be honest, you can say it's kind of a snail paste at times with the pasting but that's really it for problems.

Overall DownFall is excellent movie with amazing acting, great writing and directing and a brilliant historical drama.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
gut wrenching masterpiece thats both a autobiography and anti war film by acclaimed filmmaker Olivier Hirschbiegel, Der Untergang recounts the last days of Hitler and Nazi Germany as the unimaginable terror of Adolf Hitler's rage takes effectgut wrenching masterpiece thats both a autobiography and anti war film by acclaimed filmmaker Olivier Hirschbiegel, Der Untergang recounts the last days of Hitler and Nazi Germany as the unimaginable terror of Adolf Hitler's rage takes effect on the german people as Russian troops storm Berlin, a film that is to traumatizing and unbearably provocative it is a film not for the feint of heart.

A masterpiece of A dream that was shattered by lies and murder, one of the most tragic stories from the final moments of WW2, even you feel some pity for the nazi's and their demented minds

a daring film that strikes at the consequences of nazism, Bruno Ganz in his most nightmarish performances ever gives one of the most violent portrayals on of the most notorious conquerors in modern history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
d00mJan 3, 2015
I deduct 3 points:
-1 = too long. Movie could easily have duration of 120 mins and still tell the same story. Instead it drags on much more than it should
-1 = clumsy character introduction. Until the very ending I wasn't sure who
I deduct 3 points:
-1 = too long. Movie could easily have duration of 120 mins and still tell the same story. Instead it drags on much more than it should

-1 = clumsy character introduction. Until the very ending I wasn't sure who was who.

-1 = bad pacing and scene cuts. The movie likes to jump from one scene to another without some natural story development.

Decent and smart movie about WW2, but requires patience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
QueenAndreaDec 25, 2014
I am really disappointed with the way I've handled this movie in a first place. Obviously, like any other Internet-engulfed user, I knew it solely from Parodies made by so-called Untergangers. But one day I chose to watch it with actualI am really disappointed with the way I've handled this movie in a first place. Obviously, like any other Internet-engulfed user, I knew it solely from Parodies made by so-called Untergangers. But one day I chose to watch it with actual translation and after that I became more impressed with historical documentaries than ever before. On one side, parodying movie made it as equally popular as it was 10 years ago but on the other hand, I'm really sad I didn't watch the original first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
enilnoJun 5, 2014
Otto is superb in impersonate Hitler, i have never seen a better actor on this role very well done!.

They were able to show the human side of the nazis, but they did it without offending anyone!
simply love this film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
samfraserMay 1, 2014
I love this film because i always hate how in some films, Hitler is portrayed as some personification of evil. He was obviously a murderous tyrant and a very cruel man, but to portray him as a 'demon' detracts from the fact that he was aI love this film because i always hate how in some films, Hitler is portrayed as some personification of evil. He was obviously a murderous tyrant and a very cruel man, but to portray him as a 'demon' detracts from the fact that he was a human being; he laughed , he cried , he loved animals. I'm not trying to say that he had a 'good side' or that he 'wasn't all bad', i just think it more useful to show the full picture so it can be used as a warning to prevent another person like him from appearing in the future. My final verdict for this film is that it is 'A Must See' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
This film was absolutely fantastic. Stellar performances by all the actors, a flawless screenplay, and an amazingly top notch directed film by Oliver Hirschbiegel. Downfall was perfect on every level---that I promise you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ManasWWMNov 30, 2013
Unlike other World War 2 related movies,the character for hitler remains in the focus for a longer duration.Character were great,now you just can't expect a lot of action from this movie so given the topic of this movie is about the hitler'sUnlike other World War 2 related movies,the character for hitler remains in the focus for a longer duration.Character were great,now you just can't expect a lot of action from this movie so given the topic of this movie is about the hitler's last hours,the whole crew has made a very decent attempt.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beanstarNov 7, 2013
By the end of Downfall, I came to realize more about Hitler he was mad, evil, ill, and monstrous but by the time the war is about to end, he continues to wage it in fantasy. Hirschbiegel carefully explains it through a fantastic performanceBy the end of Downfall, I came to realize more about Hitler he was mad, evil, ill, and monstrous but by the time the war is about to end, he continues to wage it in fantasy. Hirschbiegel carefully explains it through a fantastic performance by Ganz, which is described by critics and audiences, as the first portrayal of Hitler as a human being, rather than being a cartoon monster. It is great to see an impressing revelation of humanizing Hitler. He is kind to his female secretaries, loves his dog Blondi, and is always surrounded by his loyal associates. But on his next breath, he shows cold ruthlessness, dispassionate brutality, and mayhem, causing the deaths of not only millions of Jews, but also millions of other Europeans and Americans. But, really, he is a man trying to fight for what he believes. Downfall is a powerful tale of menace, sadness, betrayal, corruption, ranting, and the somewhat consequence of war for Germany. It finally reach what its message expect its film to do: making a revelation of humanizing Hitler, and no other remake couldn't have the guts to surpass its expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 8, 2013
Fantastic film from the perspective of the Germans. While you may know the ending, it certainly shined a light on some events you did not had happened. Very intriguing and informative watch that had brilliant directing and acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DarthRevanApr 21, 2013
This movie is absolutely amazing. I was completely immersed and interested in it throughout the entire film. The actors were spectacular in performing their roles and the screenplay was just beautiful. Some would argue that it make the NazisThis movie is absolutely amazing. I was completely immersed and interested in it throughout the entire film. The actors were spectacular in performing their roles and the screenplay was just beautiful. Some would argue that it make the Nazis look more like human beings instead of evil monsters, and that is somewhat true. However in no way, shape, or form does it place them on a pedestal. It accurately details the last days of Adolf Hitler based on accounts by his former secretary, Traudl Junge. If you are interested in World War II and would like to see a great movie that depicts the last days of Adolf Hitler, this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Apr 18, 2013
While it may be sedately paced, "Downfall" still delivers a complex and challenging representation of the "Third Reich"'s befitting demise, frequently dazzling the audience with a brilliant performance from Bruno Ganz in the process.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LevelSevenMar 2, 2013
I have never seen such an amazing movie. I felt so touched by it and kind of felt bad for the Nazis in the end. I know it's a crazy thing to say but that's how powerful this movie is. I am an English speaker and have never bothered to watch aI have never seen such an amazing movie. I felt so touched by it and kind of felt bad for the Nazis in the end. I know it's a crazy thing to say but that's how powerful this movie is. I am an English speaker and have never bothered to watch a foreign film because I thought I wouldn't have the patients. But boy was I wrong. If you still haven't seen this movie then I recommend that you go see it NOW. It is on Netflix if you have Netflix and if you don't try and see if you can get it from amazon or something. It is a must own, especially if you're into WWII. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Invader-NikMay 15, 2012
This is a fantastic movie. I am learning German at school and this was just appealing to me.
Bruno Ganz was an exceptional Hitler. I watched this on a 10 hour flight. I watched it twice.
The actors acted really well, the movie wasn't entirely
This is a fantastic movie. I am learning German at school and this was just appealing to me.
Bruno Ganz was an exceptional Hitler. I watched this on a 10 hour flight. I watched it twice.
The actors acted really well, the movie wasn't entirely based around violence like Inglorious Basterds was. Sure, some of the German Commanders blew their brain out...

This is a masterpiece
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ImUnavailableMay 2, 2012
An intimate and atmospheric look at the final days of the Third Reich. The most important feature of this film is the realistic portrayal of Adolf Hitler, putting to rest crass oversimplifications of his character. The cast are excellent,An intimate and atmospheric look at the final days of the Third Reich. The most important feature of this film is the realistic portrayal of Adolf Hitler, putting to rest crass oversimplifications of his character. The cast are excellent, particularly Ganz who dominates every scene he is in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rotkuJan 10, 2012
Excellent portrayal of the final days of the Third Reich and in particular Hitler and his demise into insanity and paranoia. Well directed with some excellent camera work, this film was rightly nominated for an Oscar and is a must for anybodyExcellent portrayal of the final days of the Third Reich and in particular Hitler and his demise into insanity and paranoia. Well directed with some excellent camera work, this film was rightly nominated for an Oscar and is a must for anybody with an interest in the era of history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SchubackSep 9, 2011
I watched this movie so many times and I really enjoyed every bit of it. For once we get to watch a film about Hitler and the Nazi's last days from the point of view of the Germans. Therefore you won't be seeing any sort of glorifying ofI watched this movie so many times and I really enjoyed every bit of it. For once we get to watch a film about Hitler and the Nazi's last days from the point of view of the Germans. Therefore you won't be seeing any sort of glorifying of American or Allied fighters blablabla... Instead, this film is about Hitler's desperation for survival or miracle as each day closes in for the end of the Third Reich. You will see how the most loyal soldiers are quick to lose faith while others remain loyal to the Nazi cause. The film also shows abit of Hitler's human side and his love for his country. The film is very emotional and perhaps a more accurate portrayal of Hitler's circle. If you're an open-minded person, be sure to check this movie out. It's certainly worth it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
The most convincing flick portraying Hitler`s last days ever. Again, all the German actors play very well, almost all are on par with Bruno Ganz. What I found very interesting was this movie showing what the entire Berlin felt like in theThe most convincing flick portraying Hitler`s last days ever. Again, all the German actors play very well, almost all are on par with Bruno Ganz. What I found very interesting was this movie showing what the entire Berlin felt like in the last days of the war and how the headquarters planned their demise. We have all the most important German commanders` silhouettes shown . Each and every one of them a separate character with unique history. Most of the time people are talking in this film, but it is never boring. There is a huge tension of the end coming in closer every hour. Finally, this flick shows the tragedy of German nation led by a fanatic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
VonCarlssonDec 30, 2010
This film must simply be seen. Now it must be said, it's not an action film, so don't expect to see a whole lot of it, it's drama.

The film plays with your emotions, it gives the Nazis a face and humanize them, you will come to pity them. I
This film must simply be seen. Now it must be said, it's not an action film, so don't expect to see a whole lot of it, it's drama.

The film plays with your emotions, it gives the Nazis a face and humanize them, you will come to pity them. I think it's about time we see a daring film as this, that really tries to show the hell that war truly is, not like the Hollywood films that usually glorifies it. And that truly manages to portray Hitler as a human, not a monster, regardless of the unspeakable crimes he committed.

It's a must-see, and watch it in German with subtitles.
Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DragonsInSpaceAug 23, 2010
A unique portrayal of a war from the villain's point of view, telling it like it is. Every single actor is absolutely amazing in their performances. Writing is fantastic and shocking. It shows that even animals can have feelings.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TimH.Jan 18, 2010
Whilst Downfall is undoubtedly a compelling and intriguing telling of the final days of Hitler it is not one without serious flaws. Firstly the good points; the acting is superb with Ganz's in particular standing out for his study of a Whilst Downfall is undoubtedly a compelling and intriguing telling of the final days of Hitler it is not one without serious flaws. Firstly the good points; the acting is superb with Ganz's in particular standing out for his study of a monster, touched with just the right amount of humanity, swinging between delusion and despair. This combined with the great care which has been taken in accurately recreating the settings and consumes gives the film and harrowingly real feel. However the film is marred by the script bowing to convention and including a protagonist with whom the audience is supposed to identify in the form of Hitler's Secretary ..... The film wants us to believe that she was at the heart of events in Hitler's bunker whilst simultaneously suggesting that she was a picture of innocence and ignorance. The scene near the end of the film where she seems shocked by Hitler's statement of revulsion of the Jew's is utterly ridiculous and insulting considering she has been his personal secretary for two and a half years by this point. The final part of the film which shows a clip from the documentary 'Blind Spot: Hitler's Secretary' where she talks of her apparent shock of finding out about the holocaust through the Nuremburg trials and how she as absolved herself of any wrong doing because she was young and naive (she was 25 at the films conclusion!), which is given to the audience without anything to question it as there is in the original documentary, leaves a very nasty taste in the mouth. Which is a shame because the portrayal of this one character damages what is otherwise a very enlightening and important film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesT.Jan 6, 2009
Everything about this film is great. From cinematography and score to everyone's acting. It shows that even though Hitler did what he did, he still was after all a human. It also emphasizes Hitler's ideological mindset that made Everything about this film is great. From cinematography and score to everyone's acting. It shows that even though Hitler did what he did, he still was after all a human. It also emphasizes Hitler's ideological mindset that made him insensitive to the killings of his own German soldiers and citizens. The acting of each and every person is most convincing and satisfying as is the sense of realism which pervades this film. It is truly a masterpiece. A work of art. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AllisonS.Dec 26, 2008
Absolutely fantastic portrayal of WWII from German side, being in hiters inner circle and the final days of his reign. Wonderful.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DanH.Aug 7, 2008
This film is a vital, contempary step towards denazisification. It depicted a delusional society being handed it's reality by force. However, it provides contemporary Germans with a way out. Now that the majority of eye witnesses to the This film is a vital, contempary step towards denazisification. It depicted a delusional society being handed it's reality by force. However, it provides contemporary Germans with a way out. Now that the majority of eye witnesses to the third reich are dead, many german people can say, " It wasn't my grandfather, He tried to save the children. " Even Eva Braun's distant relatives can speak up. She wanted desperately to dance to swing music, in a sense of defiance. The riff would have clearly been banded in Nazis Germany (for being negroid.) It's possible this scene was included to poke a hypocritical finger at the allies, for having segregated races in combat. In an interesting way the movie concluded with Hitler as a man who made the most sane choice under the circumstances, poison yourself prior to shooting yourself, before the Russians pull your limbs off your body . In that sense he was facing reality which is a form of mental health, while those around him loomed in a circus atmosphere, which would define the rest of the society as crazy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyH.Apr 12, 2007
Film-making doesn't get much better than this. The decision to portray the main protagonists as ordinary human beings makes the crimes perpetrated by the Third Reich even more horrific and incomprehensible than would have been the case Film-making doesn't get much better than this. The decision to portray the main protagonists as ordinary human beings makes the crimes perpetrated by the Third Reich even more horrific and incomprehensible than would have been the case if they had been portrayed as two dimensional monsters. The feeling of claustrophobia and impending disaster in Hitler's bunker is palpable, and the scene in which the Goebbels children are murdered by their mother is truly one of the most appallingly horrific and uncomfortable sequences you are ever likely to see, but it is used to underline just how much the Nazi philosophy had perverted the mindset of diehard fanatics, to such an extent that they were willing to kill their own children rather than have them live in a world without National Socialism. A classic of modern cinema. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Myles#13Sep 8, 2006
Outstanding film on the final days of Hitler and the Third Reich! Fantastic acting (Hitler, Goebbels, Magda Goebbels and Prof. Schenk stand out) goes hand in hand with accuracy in the events... the film is simply breath-taking to view, Outstanding film on the final days of Hitler and the Third Reich! Fantastic acting (Hitler, Goebbels, Magda Goebbels and Prof. Schenk stand out) goes hand in hand with accuracy in the events... the film is simply breath-taking to view, whether you're familiar with the story (which helps a bit) or not. It gives you the shivers... not only is Hitler acted to perfection, but you actually feel sorry for the tired, withered old man whose terrible world is falling down around him. If you've never watched a foreign film before, watch this one... it will change the way you think. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SoldierB.May 27, 2006
Fantastic. Superb acting on all parties. Chris S. couldn't have said it better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RobRMay 14, 2006
An extremely tame and sanitised portrayal of Hitler's madness. Boring, absurd dialog, no passion, no intensity, not a hint of grit. Oh wait, it has subtitles so it must be masterpiece!
1 of 12 users found this helpful
9
PatC.May 2, 2006
Engrossing if drawn out exposition of the final days of the people at the heart of the 3rd Reich. Doesn't explain much, but doesn't obscure either. Rather than develop the characters, the film successfully presents a tour de force Engrossing if drawn out exposition of the final days of the people at the heart of the 3rd Reich. Doesn't explain much, but doesn't obscure either. Rather than develop the characters, the film successfully presents a tour de force of people clueless while the hell they have facilitated on others turns on them and savages their cherished beliefs. These people had assumed the lives of others as expendable, so their own lives do not merit our empathy, specifically in the days of this story when their world is collapsing and no one has a safe place to indulge in self importance. Yet a sense of empathy is provoked nonetheless, not because we care about these people but because of the tragedy and waste of their misdirected mindsets that could easily have been our own. The film ends with a sense of emptiness reminiscent of a bad film, but within this particular emptiness simmers valuable understanding that alludes to how the German people rose from their ashes. The acting is generally straightforward as it should be, with the exception of Mrs. Goebbels last hour with her husband and children - probably some of the finest acting ever committed to film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Feb 20, 2006
Absolutely haunting film that has left me going over the events of 1945 in my head again and again. The director successfully paints layer upon intricate layer of despair, loyalty, betrayal, joy, sadness, and delusion that must have been Absolutely haunting film that has left me going over the events of 1945 in my head again and again. The director successfully paints layer upon intricate layer of despair, loyalty, betrayal, joy, sadness, and delusion that must have been permeating in that small space. The one element that I think is missing, and purposely I think, is the idea of guilt. From Hitler to his henchmen, there is little attention to the idea that the choices they had made being inhuman or that they would have to answer to someone for their actions. Having been to Berlin, and having stood on the ground above that very spot where these events took place, I never once considered any sort of "humans" existing below that ground...only monsters from textbooks. This movie completely changed the way I view that now. I think it is often simpler to characterize people and situations in black and white or good and evil, especially those involved in such horrific acts. However, I think this film shows that things are much more complicated than that. Decisions and loyalties are based on much deeper and more complicated criteria than simply saying this path is "good" and this path is "bad". I give this movie a 10, although I wouldn't recommend it to just anyone. I would, however, recommend it to individuals that enjoy thought provoking films that don't rely on mindless action and typical hollywood movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FrankO.Jan 15, 2006
Despite the subject matter, I enjoyed this movie and learned a lot about the last days of Hilter and the Third Reich. Although on the long side, it did not drag and I was intrigued by the characters. Bruno Ganz was outstanding as a demonic Hitler.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinA.Nov 30, 2005
If there's one thing that this film does, it reminds you that Adolf Hitler was human, and that's what makes this film all the more chilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamV.Nov 26, 2005
Excellent! Bruno Ganz as Hitler was perfect. Finally we have a movie showing what happened without worrying about cliches and everything that follows the movies about the World War II.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanS.Oct 13, 2005
This movie would be a revelation if it had humanized Hitler. But it didn't. Bruno Ganz' performance was uninspired. He's a great actor, but he doesn't do anything that strays far from cliche. A lot of yelling and sweating This movie would be a revelation if it had humanized Hitler. But it didn't. Bruno Ganz' performance was uninspired. He's a great actor, but he doesn't do anything that strays far from cliche. A lot of yelling and sweating and twitching. The only thing revelatory about the movie was the character of Goebbels and his wife; or rather, the performances of said characters by their actors. The movie was disappointing and almost pointless because the moviemakers created the movie on the assumption that the making of it would justify its existance. It didn't. There is no idea in this movie. It is just props. Try it again, Germany. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
8
simonPOct 10, 2005
To criticise this film because you know the ending is foolish. After all, we know the outcome of any film based on historical fact! The two defining features of this film are a quite exceptional performance by Ganz as Hitler and (perhaps) To criticise this film because you know the ending is foolish. After all, we know the outcome of any film based on historical fact! The two defining features of this film are a quite exceptional performance by Ganz as Hitler and (perhaps) the first contemporary portrayal of Hitler as a human being rather than a cartoon monster. That we see an attempt to portray (thought not excuse) the man behind the unspeakable acts of evil makes this film worth seeing alone. He was human like the rest of us which makes the terror that he perpretrated even more chilling. Recommended. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
BoBSep 9, 2005
If you ever had history lessons in school, nothing in this movie will surprise you. And that is the main problem with this film, its simply boring because you already know exactly how it ends. The fighting stuff have been done better in If you ever had history lessons in school, nothing in this movie will surprise you. And that is the main problem with this film, its simply boring because you already know exactly how it ends. The fighting stuff have been done better in other films, like Saving Private Ryan, in this film you dont really care about what happens to any of the characters. Tedious and overhyped about sums it up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrockiyeAug 26, 2005
Zach RH gave this movie a 2,but I believe he didn't think well. In his conception,all movies about the Nazis have to criticize them frontally.If you watch the movie carefully,you'll see that it isn't meant to make the Nazis Zach RH gave this movie a 2,but I believe he didn't think well. In his conception,all movies about the Nazis have to criticize them frontally.If you watch the movie carefully,you'll see that it isn't meant to make the Nazis not guilty.The one who watches the movie can make some conclusions,that,at the end,incriminate the Nazis. Regarding the fact that the soldiers were forced,it is partially true.The jews are not mentioned many times because the principal fear of Hitler was now the war.It was the first time when he started to believe that he will lose power,and he could no longer think of the jews.Plus,do you see any jew in the movie?That also proves that they were all in camps or dead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RomanskiFeb 21, 2005
What a movie! Brilliant !!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful