Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. In every aspect, his film is superbly made.
  2. The first great Hitler movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Hansen
    100
    One of the best war movies ever made, Downfall is a powerful and artistically masterful re-creation of the last days of the Third Reich.
  4. 88
    Downfall and Bruno Ganz are deserving of Oscars they will not get.
  5. 80
    Downfall's overstuffed melodrama juggles countless subplots and a small army of characters who manage to make an impression in spite of limited screen time.
  6. If I respect Downfall more than I was enthralled by it, that's because its portayal stops short of revelation. Once you witness Hitler's denial, the film has little more to say about him.
  7. 50
    Downfall may be grimly self-important and inescapably trivializing. But we should be grateful that German cinema is more inclined to normalize the nation's history than rewrite it.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 7 out of 72
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    This film was absolutely fantastic. Stellar performances by all the actors, a flawless screenplay, and an amazingly top notch directed film by Oliver Hirschbiegel. Downfall was perfect on every level---that I promise you. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This movie is absolutely amazing. I was completely immersed and interested in it throughout the entire film. The actors were spectacular in performing their roles and the screenplay was just beautiful. Some would argue that it make the Nazis look more like human beings instead of evil monsters, and that is somewhat true. However in no way, shape, or form does it place them on a pedestal. It accurately details the last days of Adolf Hitler based on accounts by his former secretary, Traudl Junge. If you are interested in World War II and would like to see a great movie that depicts the last days of Adolf Hitler, this is a must see. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    By the end of Downfall, I came to realize more about Hitler he was mad, evil, ill, and monstrous but by the time the war is about to end, he continues to wage it in fantasy. Hirschbiegel carefully explains it through a fantastic performance by Ganz, which is described by critics and audiences, as the first portrayal of Hitler as a human being, rather than being a cartoon monster. It is great to see an impressing revelation of humanizing Hitler. He is kind to his female secretaries, loves his dog Blondi, and is always surrounded by his loyal associates. But on his next breath, he shows cold ruthlessness, dispassionate brutality, and mayhem, causing the deaths of not only millions of Jews, but also millions of other Europeans and Americans. But, really, he is a man trying to fight for what he believes. Downfall is a powerful tale of menace, sadness, betrayal, corruption, ranting, and the somewhat consequence of war for Germany. It finally reach what its message expect its film to do: making a revelation of humanizing Hitler, and no other remake couldn't have the guts to surpass its expectations. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    I watched this movie so many times and I really enjoyed every bit of it. For once we get to watch a film about Hitler and the Nazi's last days from the point of view of the Germans. Therefore you won't be seeing any sort of glorifying of American or Allied fighters blablabla... Instead, this film is about Hitler's desperation for survival or miracle as each day closes in for the end of the Third Reich. You will see how the most loyal soldiers are quick to lose faith while others remain loyal to the Nazi cause. The film also shows abit of Hitler's human side and his love for his country. The film is very emotional and perhaps a more accurate portrayal of Hitler's circle. If you're an open-minded person, be sure to check this movie out. It's certainly worth it!! Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic movie. I am learning German at school and this was just appealing to me.
    Bruno Ganz was an exceptional Hitler. I watched
    this on a 10 hour flight. I watched it twice.
    The actors acted really well, the movie wasn't entirely based around violence like Inglorious Basterds was. Sure, some of the German Commanders blew their brain out...

    This is a masterpiece
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    9
    An intimate and atmospheric look at the final days of the Third Reich. The most important feature of this film is the realistic portrayal of Adolf Hitler, putting to rest crass oversimplifications of his character. The cast are excellent, particularly Ganz who dominates every scene he is in. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    While it may be sedately paced, "Downfall" still delivers a complex and challenging representation of the "Third Reich"'s befitting demise, frequently dazzling the audience with a brilliant performance from Bruno Ganz in the process. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks

    Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks Image
    Published: April 16, 2010
    Oscar-winning foreign language film "The Secret in Their Eyes" arrives in American theaters this weekend. But it's not the best-reviewed foreign film of the past year, continuing the Academy's decade-long trend of selecting lesser titles. What films have they overlooked?