Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A riveting re-creation of three world-changing collapses: those of the Nazi party, of militarized Germany as a whole, and of the Führer who guided them into self-destructive ruin.
  2. Reviewed by: James Wegg
    100
    As Hitler, Bruno Ganz ignites the screen with every appearance.
  3. 100
    Hirschbiegel and Eichinger, along with their large, brave and talented cast, have done something extraordinary for their generation of Germans, and for the world. They have willfully entered their grandparents' dirtiest, clammiest chamber of secrets.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Powerfully disturbing.
  5. Under the harsh lights of the meticulously re-created, claustrophobic bunker, that scrutiny is relentless.
  6. If I respect Downfall more than I was enthralled by it, that's because its portayal stops short of revelation. Once you witness Hitler's denial, the film has little more to say about him.
  7. 50
    Downfall may be grimly self-important and inescapably trivializing. But we should be grateful that German cinema is more inclined to normalize the nation's history than rewrite it.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 7 out of 76
  1. AllisonS.
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic portrayal of WWII from German side, being in hiters inner circle and the final days of his reign. Wonderful.
  2. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    I am really disappointed with the way I've handled this movie in a first place. Obviously, like any other Internet-engulfed user, I knew itI am really disappointed with the way I've handled this movie in a first place. Obviously, like any other Internet-engulfed user, I knew it solely from Parodies made by so-called Untergangers. But one day I chose to watch it with actual translation and after that I became more impressed with historical documentaries than ever before. On one side, parodying movie made it as equally popular as it was 10 years ago but on the other hand, I'm really sad I didn't watch the original first. Expand
  3. AndyH.
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    Film-making doesn't get much better than this. The decision to portray the main protagonists as ordinary human beings makes the crimes Film-making doesn't get much better than this. The decision to portray the main protagonists as ordinary human beings makes the crimes perpetrated by the Third Reich even more horrific and incomprehensible than would have been the case if they had been portrayed as two dimensional monsters. The feeling of claustrophobia and impending disaster in Hitler's bunker is palpable, and the scene in which the Goebbels children are murdered by their mother is truly one of the most appallingly horrific and uncomfortable sequences you are ever likely to see, but it is used to underline just how much the Nazi philosophy had perverted the mindset of diehard fanatics, to such an extent that they were willing to kill their own children rather than have them live in a world without National Socialism. A classic of modern cinema. Expand
  4. May 2, 2012
    9
    An intimate and atmospheric look at the final days of the Third Reich. The most important feature of this film is the realistic portrayal ofAn intimate and atmospheric look at the final days of the Third Reich. The most important feature of this film is the realistic portrayal of Adolf Hitler, putting to rest crass oversimplifications of his character. The cast are excellent, particularly Ganz who dominates every scene he is in. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    The most convincing flick portraying Hitler`s last days ever. Again, all the German actors play very well, almost all are on par with BrunoThe most convincing flick portraying Hitler`s last days ever. Again, all the German actors play very well, almost all are on par with Bruno Ganz. What I found very interesting was this movie showing what the entire Berlin felt like in the last days of the war and how the headquarters planned their demise. We have all the most important German commanders` silhouettes shown . Each and every one of them a separate character with unique history. Most of the time people are talking in this film, but it is never boring. There is a huge tension of the end coming in closer every hour. Finally, this flick shows the tragedy of German nation led by a fanatic. Expand
  6. simonP
    Oct 10, 2005
    8
    To criticise this film because you know the ending is foolish. After all, we know the outcome of any film based on historical fact! The two To criticise this film because you know the ending is foolish. After all, we know the outcome of any film based on historical fact! The two defining features of this film are a quite exceptional performance by Ganz as Hitler and (perhaps) the first contemporary portrayal of Hitler as a human being rather than a cartoon monster. That we see an attempt to portray (thought not excuse) the man behind the unspeakable acts of evil makes this film worth seeing alone. He was human like the rest of us which makes the terror that he perpretrated even more chilling. Recommended. Collapse
  7. RobR
    May 14, 2006
    1
    An extremely tame and sanitised portrayal of Hitler's madness. Boring, absurd dialog, no passion, no intensity, not a hint of grit. Oh An extremely tame and sanitised portrayal of Hitler's madness. Boring, absurd dialog, no passion, no intensity, not a hint of grit. Oh wait, it has subtitles so it must be masterpiece! Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks

    Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks Image
    Published: April 16, 2010
    Oscar-winning foreign language film "The Secret in Their Eyes" arrives in American theaters this weekend. But it's not the best-reviewed foreign film of the past year, continuing the Academy's decade-long trend of selecting lesser titles. What films have they overlooked?