Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 2, 2012
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 204 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
107
Mixed:
48
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
MovieGoer14Dec 27, 2013
My least favorite animation of all time. Unfunny, mean and doesn't make any sense. The characters are annoying and cliched, the whole plot is one big positive message executed badly. I just hate "Dr. Suess' The Lorax" it is one of my leastMy least favorite animation of all time. Unfunny, mean and doesn't make any sense. The characters are annoying and cliched, the whole plot is one big positive message executed badly. I just hate "Dr. Suess' The Lorax" it is one of my least favorite movies of all time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
RationalScottMar 10, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the single biggest disappointment for a kids movie I have ever seen. It carries a flagrantly political motive which I might have been able to tolerate if the movie itself had been any good. lot's of eye candy to be sure, but the story is disjointed and so incredibly blatant in its political message that it was overwhelming.

If you are looking for a good movie for your children go to something else. If you want them to see a political ad for the radical environmentalist movement, this movie is for you.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
MagnificentMJun 1, 2012
While I enjoyed Danny Devito as the Lorax, and the animation was good, the movie as a hole was pretty terrible. The makers decided they needed to add a completely new story line with Zac Efron and Taylor Swift trying to save the world fromWhile I enjoyed Danny Devito as the Lorax, and the animation was good, the movie as a hole was pretty terrible. The makers decided they needed to add a completely new story line with Zac Efron and Taylor Swift trying to save the world from an evil businessman who sells clean air now that trees are not around to produce it. Furthermore, the movie adds in a few gimmicky songs with poor lyrics and gives Ed Helms an electric guitar to make him look "cool." Kids may like this movie, but it is definitely not for adults. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
CooterPatooterMar 11, 2012
At one point the Lorax shouts "You've got to stop! This is BAD!" and I couldn't help but chuckle at the irony. This film is annoying, screechy, monkey-written and completely hollow... basically everything that Dr. Seuss WASN'T! Theodor GeiselAt one point the Lorax shouts "You've got to stop! This is BAD!" and I couldn't help but chuckle at the irony. This film is annoying, screechy, monkey-written and completely hollow... basically everything that Dr. Seuss WASN'T! Theodor Geisel would roll in his grave if he knew his life's work was being mutated into one horrendous movie project after another. For shame! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
WhiskerbroApr 29, 2014
First, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually veryFirst, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my old copy of The Lorax and read it to them. They both agreed that the book was much better. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
worleyjamersJan 14, 2013
A mess! Not the worst animated film I've watched, but it's a bit harsh in the delivery of its message; it's also annoying at times. I probably liked the opening musical number way more than I should have though.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
billrullerMar 3, 2012
I love "The Lorax." It's personally my most favorite of Dr. Seuss's book and the 30 minute animated film. But I was so angry that the film industries are gonna make a CG 1.5 hour remake. I'm not a fan of the Dr. Seuss ridiculous remakes. II love "The Lorax." It's personally my most favorite of Dr. Seuss's book and the 30 minute animated film. But I was so angry that the film industries are gonna make a CG 1.5 hour remake. I'm not a fan of the Dr. Seuss ridiculous remakes. I will give credit with "The Grinch", it was okay but I hate the changes they made. Then they made "The Cat in the Hat" and "Horton Hears a Who" which I honestly didn't enjoy. So I gave this movie a chance, and....I really didn't like it. They completely SH*T on Dr. Seuss's legacy. When the credits said "Based on the book of Dr. Seuss" my reaction was "NOT EVEN CLOSE!!!" Only 15% of the film was based on the book/animated movie, the 85% is made-up just to make box office dollars. It was seriously hard for me to sit through the whole movie. Also, some scenes from the original were changed, that made me disappointed. Right when the movie ended, I went home and watched the original animated film on VHS just to forget the remake I just saw. However, I do like the animation it looked just like Dr. Seuss's artwork and Danny DeVito was pretty good as the Lorax, but the rest was a complete mess. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
1
KJJMar 9, 2012
Shrill, one-sided, and preachy, and only about 40 years too late - like in 2012 we never heard any of this before? No subtlety at all (like maybe real world environmental issues?), but getting hit over the head with a 2 by 4.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
TheDRauchAug 15, 2012
While 'The Lorax' certainly has its visuals going for it, I doubt that anyone over the age of eight won't find it a little too cutesy and dumbed down to be a fitting adaptation of the book. It was really my personal favorite Dr. Seuss workWhile 'The Lorax' certainly has its visuals going for it, I doubt that anyone over the age of eight won't find it a little too cutesy and dumbed down to be a fitting adaptation of the book. It was really my personal favorite Dr. Seuss work because it was quiet, solemn, impacting, and so morally simple that anyone of any age could receive the message just as strongly. However, the adaptation of 'The Lorax' betrays all of those traits and settles for being fluffy, silly, and unambitious. I understand that with any adaptation of such short material that there is padding needed to take up time in a feature length film, but what they used is just so maddeningly against the book. The filmmakers crammed most of the movie with bombastically stupid musical numbers that are unmemorable and cute little side characters that are meant to resemble a little side treat similar to the minions in Despicable Me. Certainly, a better adaptation was due here, and it wasn't given. It's really a shame. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
snazzyjuiceJul 18, 2012
"The Lorax", a movie that teaches the kids to be hippies. "It's for the environment, man". Yeah, I get it, Global Warming. Oh, and there's music too so does that make it better? No.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews