User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 159

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    The Lorax is entertaining, visually beautiful, funny and very sweet. Yet it isn't as deep as we really want it to be. Still, overall it is solid family entertainment. I give this movie 88%.
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue to enjoy his lively fun stories.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    An awesome film, the cast is wow, I remember that when I´m young, my mother read me all the night this incredible book of Dr. Seuss, and the film is wow, funny, colorful, is really sorpresive. The Lorax is incredible.
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I can not even begin to stress how important it is that this movie has come out at this particular time. Despite what seemed like extreme hyperbole in 1971 when the book was written, every single bad aspect depicted within the pages is being witnessed all over the world. And it's only when we stop closing our eyes to the truth everywhere, open them, and stop believing the lies told to us by greedy dirt bags, that we can begin to start making positive changes for our environment, when we need it the most. There are so many trees we need to plant, so many species we need to save, and we need to protect our own health to. Humans "are" a cause of Earth pollution, but we can also be a part of the cure for the Earth health solution. This isn't just a film for kids, it's a film for the family, and for everyone to see. Because clean air, a healthy environment, and trees, are the things that everyone truly does need. (Okay, those last two rhymes were truly unintentional, but I think I've made my point!) Take the time to see this movie, and become enlightened today! Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The Lorax is wonderful! I dodged axes, laughed a lot and nearly cried at the end and so did my 8 year old daughter. I strongly suggest seeing this in 3D.
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie about making a difference. This is not a movie you would rent. This is a movie you would BUY! Do so when it comes out. Will be in the collection as soon as possible. (pft! ... 47 out of 100!) Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Dr. Seuss' The Lorax (2012) Is A Large Big Huge Ultra Topest Super Duper Greatest Goodest Movie in the world. It So Great and Good, I Love This Movie, About Tress and Also I Love this Theme Song "Let It Grow" (Celebrate the World) by Ester Dean
  8. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    I think The Lorax is movie that can be used to teach kids about our environment. One way to teach children to be more sensitive to plants and nature is to have them grow the most sensitive plant of all - the TickleMe Plant. Though itâ
  9. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    the lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. the son let it grow would have to be my favorite because all the people of thneedville rose up and gave trees a shot and fought the power. i thought the movie was beautiful in so many different ways i loved it and im sure that anyone who sees it will too. Collapse
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    this film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to be different that's just the way things are...not much to be changed there.but to a surprising effect besides the book it was really done quit well. i give this a 9 really loved it. good work on this one :) Expand
  11. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    An amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it also had a good message. Why can't we all just be good for the environment. Think about your grandchildren, who will never see a polar bear, or a tiger. Anyway Five stars., it was a very good movie. Expand
  12. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonor belongs to The Cat in the Hat). It's very cute and the spirit of the book is still there. Like the book, the movie version does present the book's message, which is clearly explained in Seuss' memorable quote "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing's going to get better, it's not". I was a little surprised that they gave The Once-ler a face, seeing as he isn't given one in the book or in the 1972 animated version, but I can see why the filmmakers would give him a face here (clearly an effort to make him more a more wide eyed and sympathetic young man with good intentions). I can also see why the filmmakers expanded the book's setting (making the small town that is only mentioned once in the book this gigantic cultural center that believes that a nature-less society is the only way to live). This movie is supposed to be 90 minutes long after all. One thing I really loved about this movie was the humor. Most humor found in family and kid flicks nowadays relates to the toilet. Toilet humor is NOT funny!! The humor in this movie mainly comes from in jokes, wordplay, and the genuinely funny lines that the characters say (or in the case of the humming fish, sing). This is one of those adaptions that I recommend going into with an open mind. You need to be aware that the setting and original characters from the book were indeed expanded, some new characters are introduced, and other elements were changed (every movie adaption has changes after all). If you want a 100% faithful telling of the story, no expansion, and no new characters, then this isn't the movie for you (in fact, I'd recommend the 1972 version if that's the case), but if you're like me, and you want an adaption that at least tells the story and has genuinely funny moments, then you'll like this movie fine. Is it a masterpiece, not really no. Does it try to be good, yes it does. I'm an adult and I very much enjoyed this and I'm certain that all age groups can get something out of this movie. Take it for what it's worth. Expand
  13. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I'm not sure what movie everyone else was watching but my family and I absolutely love The Lorax!
    We constantly find ourselves singing the catchy tunes or talking about the funny moments of the film. My kids love the colorful and vibrant characters and this film has a message within the story that everyone should be thinking about.
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring a smile to your eyes, and hopefully face. The story does fall short a little through building depth, but that is made up through the movies amazing animation and the warm atmosphere that the movie is set in. Overall, The Lorax is something to watch :) Expand
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that. In a nutshell, it's a movie that will just Cute you out.
  16. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Though there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was the fact that The Once-ler was a human. That would've been fine, but why was he the only wearing the gloves? In the book his entire family wore them. They could've stayed true to the book if they would've just noticed that detail. But it overall an entertaining, cute and moving film that made me watch it five times in theaters. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Jul 23, 2012
    60
    Lovely to look at and with some fun material not of Seuss' invention, but it's too hectoring, like reading an environmental textbook with jolly pictures.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Fake plastic trees, fake plastic entertainment? The Lorax is immensely colourful, catchy and cheery. Then again, it's also gaudy, bland and recycled. You can do better.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.