User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 166

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    First, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my oldFirst, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my old copy of The Lorax and read it to them. They both agreed that the book was much better. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    6
    The Lorax is only slightly over a marginal adaptation of the book, as some of the magic and messages about wasting non-renewable resources that Dr. Seuss so neatly wrapped up in the book are lost in the film.
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    4
    The overly-preachy attitude of The Lorax overshadows any actual storyline, leaving you with a good message but no entertainment. They didn't even try to hide the message they are trying to get across with a believable plot and cute characters, instead they created an excessively bland quest with annoying characters riddled with atrocious dialogue. The only good aspects of this butcheringThe overly-preachy attitude of The Lorax overshadows any actual storyline, leaving you with a good message but no entertainment. They didn't even try to hide the message they are trying to get across with a believable plot and cute characters, instead they created an excessively bland quest with annoying characters riddled with atrocious dialogue. The only good aspects of this butchering of a classic is the art and animation, which is superbly done. But it looks so nice I kind of feel bad for the 3D modelers and animators since the writers and directors destroyed their hard work. I can't even imagine a kid enjoying this, unless they really only do want bright colors, because The Lorax certainly succeeds in that field, a little too much I might add. The jokes aren't really jokes at all, they just consist of supposedly funny dialogue that in reality is just awkward and usually doesn't even make sense. I honestly think the writers of this movie either have never talked to an actual person before, or just plain don't care. When it's all said and done, we walk away from The Lorax with two things: The blatantly obvious message of saving the environment, and the fact that to make a lot of money, you really do only need to have nice graphics. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Though there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was the fact that The Once-ler was a human. That would've been fine, but why was he the only wearing the gloves? In the book his entire family wore them. TheyThough there were a few thingsthatt bothered me, I overall loved this movie. The thing that bothered me most was probably all the emphasis that was put on the story that never happened in the book or the first adaption. Another thing was the fact that The Once-ler was a human. That would've been fine, but why was he the only wearing the gloves? In the book his entire family wore them. They could've stayed true to the book if they would've just noticed that detail. But it overall an entertaining, cute and moving film that made me watch it five times in theaters. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    My least favorite animation of all time. Unfunny, mean and doesn't make any sense. The characters are annoying and cliched, the whole plot is one big positive message executed badly. I just hate "Dr. Suess' The Lorax" it is one of my least favorite movies of all time.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    CGI is a wonderful thing in cinema. If only "the Lorax" could do it justice. But with ludicrous songs, childish tones, and a jumbled plot, it's only justice is Danny DeVito's Lorax. Everything else is utter
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    "The Lorax" from Illumination Studio doesn't really provide much, and just turns an old Dr. Suess book into an animated movie. While there is no depth and no care towards the book, it's okay. The characters in the movie did however anger me, as they added the main character Ted, who is just selfish due to the fact that he just does what he does to impress a girl. In the end, while he saves"The Lorax" from Illumination Studio doesn't really provide much, and just turns an old Dr. Suess book into an animated movie. While there is no depth and no care towards the book, it's okay. The characters in the movie did however anger me, as they added the main character Ted, who is just selfish due to the fact that he just does what he does to impress a girl. In the end, while he saves his town, Ted is truly just any other annoying kid who wants to flirt with a girl. The side romance is somewhat irritating, but bearable. The story with the Lorax is okay, but nothing great. The environmental messages barely get through, and after watching it, when I was watching television, I saw a commercial of Illuminations advertising the movie with a car and immediately gawked. While this will not affect the films score, I thought that was totally unnecessary considering that this film is trying to tell an environmental message. Nice going Illuminations. Expand
  8. May 15, 2013
    4
    The Lorax is a film that would have worked great as twenty-thirty minute cartoon but instead is forced into a half and hour flick. The added characters and story are not that interesting and are only there to stretch out the plot. Also, by doing this the film takes focus away from the real story. The film is further hurt by the replacement of rhyming with poor dialogue that sounds moreThe Lorax is a film that would have worked great as twenty-thirty minute cartoon but instead is forced into a half and hour flick. The added characters and story are not that interesting and are only there to stretch out the plot. Also, by doing this the film takes focus away from the real story. The film is further hurt by the replacement of rhyming with poor dialogue that sounds more modern than something from a Dr. Suess world. Plus, the songs in the film are lame and forgettable. If the film had focused on the story of the book and kept things in rhyme and closer to the actual story I would have liked it ok. However, the lack of focus on what made the book such a classic, pointless additions, and lame dialogue create a film whose only saving graces are its animation and the fact that this is meant for little kids. Unless, you’re an adult with little kids who want to see the film than I would say this is a definite skip. And if you have not read The Lorax to them yet than please do that before they see the movie because it is a messy adaptation of a Dr. Suess classic. Expand
  9. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    esta película tiene un mensaje claro y en toda la película lo repiten ademas de eso tiene una banda sonora exquisita y aunque no es la mejor adaptación de los libros del dr seuss es tierna flexible película excelente
  10. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    As a movie considered strictly on its own merits, The Lorax is passable but unmemorable, except for its catchy music. The movie maintains a mostly very Seussian art style, much to its credit, which offers a better sense for the whimsy of the thing. As an adaptation, however, The Lorax is almost insulting, misinterpreting the original work's moral of "overconsumption is bad and destroys theAs a movie considered strictly on its own merits, The Lorax is passable but unmemorable, except for its catchy music. The movie maintains a mostly very Seussian art style, much to its credit, which offers a better sense for the whimsy of the thing. As an adaptation, however, The Lorax is almost insulting, misinterpreting the original work's moral of "overconsumption is bad and destroys the environment, which is also in itself bad" into "trees are awesome and corporations are evil". One of the most important elements of any adaptation is the feel of the adaptation versus the feel of the original, and when your adaptation doesn't play fast and loose with the source material there's a need to adhere very closely with your feel, but this movie doesn't even try to succeed at that. It's a very cynical movie, with a cynical sense of humor that is admittedly quite funny when considered on its own merits, but feels mean in context, and with an almost sarcastically naive moral, and yet I feel like all of this was done as a means of playing it safe on the studio's part, which is ironic when you think about it because cynical approaches to childhood classics seem like they would be the opposite of safe. The movie feels like an underachieving teenager, deliberately withholding effort because it's easier to excuse a flop as "I wasn't trying anyway" than to face the possibility that someone might not like your best work. The movie's crippling fear of rejection causes it to lose the earnestness that could have served it so well as a Dr. Seuss adaptation, instead choosing to constantly act like it's too cool for itself. It's a rare thing when all of a movie's flaws proceed so cleanly from a single source, but this really is the wellspring that it all pours from: the Lorax was too afraid you wouldn't like it if it gave 100%, so it decided to only give something like 70%. If you want to see some great art design and hear some fun songs, by all means rent/borrow it, but if you actually want to get the story, read the book or watch the old half-hour cartoon special. Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    3
    A mess! Not the worst animated film I've watched, but it's a bit harsh in the delivery of its message; it's also annoying at times. I probably liked the opening musical number way more than I should have though.
  12. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that. In a nutshell, it's a movie that will just Cute you out.
  13. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring aThis colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring a smile to your eyes, and hopefully face. The story does fall short a little through building depth, but that is made up through the movies amazing animation and the warm atmosphere that the movie is set in. Overall, The Lorax is something to watch :) Expand
  14. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I'm not sure what movie everyone else was watching but my family and I absolutely love The Lorax!
    We constantly find ourselves singing the catchy tunes or talking about the funny moments of the film. My kids love the colorful and vibrant characters and this film has a message within the story that everyone should be thinking about.
  15. Sep 4, 2012
    7
    A good, wholesome family movie. It's very funny, has a sweet story, and teaches kids a lesson about protecting the environment. It's all backed by fantastic animation and voice acting. Older audiences might not enjoy it that much, but will appreciate it for not being mind-numbingly dull, and kids will love it.
  16. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    An amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it also had a good message. Why can't we all just be good for the environment. Think about your grandchildren, who will never see a polar bear, or a tiger.An amazing movie with charm to please kids, and a bit of mature humor to please adults. But don't worry, your kids won't understand it. The Lorax was an amazing family movie, and could possibly be one of the best movies of 2012. And it also had a good message. Why can't we all just be good for the environment. Think about your grandchildren, who will never see a polar bear, or a tiger. Anyway Five stars., it was a very good movie. Expand
  17. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    At first glance this movie almost looks too cartoony even for theaters, but the charm, cute characters, a handful of funny moments, colorful visual style, and a decent storyline make this a fun to watch animated film. It'll probably stir a lot of controversy because of its nature vs. business plot but its still fun. Don't expect a fantastic ending though.
  18. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonor belongs to The Cat in the Hat). It's very cute and the spirit of the book is still there. Like the book, the movie version does present the book'sI honestly do not believe that this movie is as bad as it seems. If Theodore "Seuss" Geisel had been alive long enough to see this, I don't think he would have hated it. It's definitely not the worst Seuss adaption out there (that dishonor belongs to The Cat in the Hat). It's very cute and the spirit of the book is still there. Like the book, the movie version does present the book's message, which is clearly explained in Seuss' memorable quote "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing's going to get better, it's not". I was a little surprised that they gave The Once-ler a face, seeing as he isn't given one in the book or in the 1972 animated version, but I can see why the filmmakers would give him a face here (clearly an effort to make him more a more wide eyed and sympathetic young man with good intentions). I can also see why the filmmakers expanded the book's setting (making the small town that is only mentioned once in the book this gigantic cultural center that believes that a nature-less society is the only way to live). This movie is supposed to be 90 minutes long after all. One thing I really loved about this movie was the humor. Most humor found in family and kid flicks nowadays relates to the toilet. Toilet humor is NOT funny!! The humor in this movie mainly comes from in jokes, wordplay, and the genuinely funny lines that the characters say (or in the case of the humming fish, sing). This is one of those adaptions that I recommend going into with an open mind. You need to be aware that the setting and original characters from the book were indeed expanded, some new characters are introduced, and other elements were changed (every movie adaption has changes after all). If you want a 100% faithful telling of the story, no expansion, and no new characters, then this isn't the movie for you (in fact, I'd recommend the 1972 version if that's the case), but if you're like me, and you want an adaption that at least tells the story and has genuinely funny moments, then you'll like this movie fine. Is it a masterpiece, not really no. Does it try to be good, yes it does. I'm an adult and I very much enjoyed this and I'm certain that all age groups can get something out of this movie. Take it for what it's worth. Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2012
    3
    While 'The Lorax' certainly has its visuals going for it, I doubt that anyone over the age of eight won't find it a little too cutesy and dumbed down to be a fitting adaptation of the book. It was really my personal favorite Dr. Seuss work because it was quiet, solemn, impacting, and so morally simple that anyone of any age could receive the message just as strongly. However, theWhile 'The Lorax' certainly has its visuals going for it, I doubt that anyone over the age of eight won't find it a little too cutesy and dumbed down to be a fitting adaptation of the book. It was really my personal favorite Dr. Seuss work because it was quiet, solemn, impacting, and so morally simple that anyone of any age could receive the message just as strongly. However, the adaptation of 'The Lorax' betrays all of those traits and settles for being fluffy, silly, and unambitious. I understand that with any adaptation of such short material that there is padding needed to take up time in a feature length film, but what they used is just so maddeningly against the book. The filmmakers crammed most of the movie with bombastically stupid musical numbers that are unmemorable and cute little side characters that are meant to resemble a little side treat similar to the minions in Despicable Me. Certainly, a better adaptation was due here, and it wasn't given. It's really a shame. Expand
  20. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    "The Lorax", a movie that teaches the kids to be hippies. "It's for the environment, man". Yeah, I get it, Global Warming. Oh, and there's music too so does that make it better? No.
  21. Jun 1, 2012
    3
    While I enjoyed Danny Devito as the Lorax, and the animation was good, the movie as a hole was pretty terrible. The makers decided they needed to add a completely new story line with Zac Efron and Taylor Swift trying to save the world from an evil businessman who sells clean air now that trees are not around to produce it. Furthermore, the movie adds in a few gimmicky songs with poorWhile I enjoyed Danny Devito as the Lorax, and the animation was good, the movie as a hole was pretty terrible. The makers decided they needed to add a completely new story line with Zac Efron and Taylor Swift trying to save the world from an evil businessman who sells clean air now that trees are not around to produce it. Furthermore, the movie adds in a few gimmicky songs with poor lyrics and gives Ed Helms an electric guitar to make him look "cool." Kids may like this movie, but it is definitely not for adults. Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2012
    5
    Another Dr. Suess adaption. I say this without enthusiasm or disappointment. Dr. Suess films are usually just mediocre, nothing to get excited over. However, they make a lot of money. Thus, we get the movie adaption of "The Lorax." I won't lie, I've never read The Lorax, nor do I know anything about it, aside from it's environmental message. But I can tell this film really stretched theAnother Dr. Suess adaption. I say this without enthusiasm or disappointment. Dr. Suess films are usually just mediocre, nothing to get excited over. However, they make a lot of money. Thus, we get the movie adaption of "The Lorax." I won't lie, I've never read The Lorax, nor do I know anything about it, aside from it's environmental message. But I can tell this film really stretched the source material. Even with the extensive (and uninteresting) chase scene, even with the half-dozen of musical numbers (only one of which I really enjoyed), and even with the additional characters added, the film has a relatively modest running time. The Lorax isn't that good, unfortunately. It has strengths, but it also has a lot of weaknesses. For one, it seems The Lorax has no imagination for itself. At least half of the material of the film has been borrowed from other films. The "adorable" brown bears that wander around speaking in gibberish are obviously a rip off of the minions in Despicable Me. The prank that the Lorax plays on the Once-ler, by putting his bed in the river is a rip off from Parent Trap. And speaking of the "bed-in-the-river" prank, I must ask how it's physically possible for a bed, frame and all, to float in the water. There is nothing unique about the characters. We've seen them all in other movies. O' Hare is the generic, evil, power-hungry villain. Audrey is the generic, tom-boy, girl that the main character falls in love with. There are even characters in this movie that seem to appear in different forms. The Lorax just can't run by itself. It has to take ideas from elsewhere. The voice cast is average, but the voice of the main character, Ted, just doesn't work. He's supposed to sound like he's 10. Don't have Zac Efron voice him, get a little boy! But I digress. On the flipside, the animation is gorgeous. It can't match the detail of Rango or Tintin, but it makes up for it with vibrant colors that really bring the world of Dr. Suess to life. Also, the musical score by John Powell is very good, though it doesn't really break any new ground. And to be honest, I really didn't like the choir bits. And did I mention my feelings about the songs in the movies? Aside from the one at the beginning, they were all very uninspired, and usually dull. Some of the gags are quite good, but there were too many stale ones to make humor the strength of the film. There are also attempts of "cuteness" that over stays it's welcome. There are, however, some surprisingly touching moments, and there are times where you might just sit back and think for a moment (heaven forbid, you may actually think during a movie). There's certainly a curious amount of food for thought on display. The one thing I like most about the film, is also the film's main problem: The singing fish. There are three fish that looks like that of Cat and the Hat, that sing, not words, but notes. This is all performed in barbershop-quartet form, and is very amusing (there's one moment in particular when they hum the Mission Impossible theme). The reason this is the film's biggest problem, is because they're the best part. If the strongest thing about a movie is a recurring gag, you've got a problem. And that's the problem with The Lorax. It's not good enough to remember outside of a couple good gags. The rest is fluff. The target audience, however, (kids between 2 and 10) will love this film, I guarantee it. The auditorium I saw the movie in had not a single spare seat, and every kid in the room was laughing their heads off. I heard very few parents laugh. This isn't a bad movie. It's just a kid's movie, and it's somewhat painful to say that. Expand
  23. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie about making a difference. This is not a movie you would rent. This is a movie you would BUY! Do so when it comes out. Will be in the collection as soon47 out of 100! Are you serious? This is a good entertaining movie. It is perfect for children and adults alike. My 9 year old daughter spontaneously announced what she thought the movie was about without being asked. This is a great movie about making a difference. This is not a movie you would rent. This is a movie you would BUY! Do so when it comes out. Will be in the collection as soon as possible. (pft! ... 47 out of 100!) Expand
  24. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    this film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to be different that's just the way things are...not much to be changed there.but to a surprising effect besides the book it was really done quit well. i givethis film really shock t me. didn't expect it to be as good as it lookt like. but overall the actors were chosen well and the scripting was done well. there is always something in a film that has its flaws. the books are always going to be different that's just the way things are...not much to be changed there.but to a surprising effect besides the book it was really done quit well. i give this a 9 really loved it. good work on this one :) Expand
  25. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Dr. Seuss' The Lorax (2012) Is A Large Big Huge Ultra Topest Super Duper Greatest Goodest Movie in the world. It So Great and Good, I Love This Movie, About Tress and Also I Love this Theme Song "Let It Grow" (Celebrate the World) by Ester Dean
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed the movie! the tress were beautiful i loved the story of the city and how it came o be. I most definitely loved the Lorax and his mustache all the forest animals the visuals were excellent and the ending made me tear up.. my Favorite character was the grandma!
  27. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Nice idea...but the execution could have been better. It came across as a little choppy. Also, it seemed to preach a little bit and that lost some of its entertaining aspect.
  28. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    the lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. thethe lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. the son let it grow would have to be my favorite because all the people of thneedville rose up and gave trees a shot and fought the power. i thought the movie was beautiful in so many different ways i loved it and im sure that anyone who sees it will too. Expand
  29. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    The Lorax doesn't hold up pretty well for me and my biggest issue is that the movie is reaching way too hard for the audience that we want to know about the environment. The story is closely to the book, but it has too many details that they want to focus even more. The characters are forgettable, but the two characters are not bad like Danny DeVito voice as The Lorax and Betty White voiceThe Lorax doesn't hold up pretty well for me and my biggest issue is that the movie is reaching way too hard for the audience that we want to know about the environment. The story is closely to the book, but it has too many details that they want to focus even more. The characters are forgettable, but the two characters are not bad like Danny DeVito voice as The Lorax and Betty White voice as The Grandma. The animation looks nice and it's been colorful to the background. Between the animation and background, the songs are stupid, the characters are cutesy ways, and the story is like I said is too much. Expand
  30. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The Lorax is wonderful! I dodged axes, laughed a lot and nearly cried at the end and so did my 8 year old daughter. I strongly suggest seeing this in 3D.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Jul 23, 2012
    60
    Lovely to look at and with some fun material not of Seuss' invention, but it's too hectoring, like reading an environmental textbook with jolly pictures.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Fake plastic trees, fake plastic entertainment? The Lorax is immensely colourful, catchy and cheery. Then again, it's also gaudy, bland and recycled. You can do better.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.