Dr. Seuss' The Lorax

Dr. Seuss' The Lorax Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: The animated adventure follows the journey of a 12-year-old as he searches for the one thing that will enable him to win the affection of the girl of his dreams. To find it he must discover the story of the Lorax, the grumpy yet charming creature who fights to protect his world. (UniversalThe animated adventure follows the journey of a 12-year-old as he searches for the one thing that will enable him to win the affection of the girl of his dreams. To find it he must discover the story of the Lorax, the grumpy yet charming creature who fights to protect his world. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 29, 2012
    83
    The movie is like a less original "WALL•E," but it's still vibrant and touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Mar 1, 2012
    75
    It's been animated by the same company that made "Despicable Me,'' which is to say you don't know whether to watch The Lorax or lick it.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 2, 2012
    75
    Director Chris Renaud and his team have fun with these dithery, frenetic characters. The film is less special when it slows down and takes a breath of fresh air.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Unfortunately, a new problem rears its head: It seems no young audience member can be trusted to enjoy a thoughtful story without a heroic, borderline-obnoxious surrogate (here, he's voiced by Zac Efron) zooming around on a scooter, bonking villainous heads and saving the day.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    You know what? The whole thing is harmless.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 1, 2012
    10
    The movie is a noisy, useless piece of junk, reverse-engineered into something resembling popular art in accordance with the reigning imperatives of marketing and brand extension.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 60
  2. Negative: 12 out of 60
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue toThis movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue to enjoy his lively fun stories. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    I think The Lorax is movie that can be used to teach kids about our environment. One way to teach children to be more sensitive to plants andI think The Lorax is movie that can be used to teach kids about our environment. One way to teach children to be more sensitive to plants and nature is to have them grow the most sensitive plant of all - the TickleMe Plant. Though itâ Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everythingI was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that. In a nutshell, it's a movie that will just Cute you out. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2016
    7
    A lot more charming than 2000's "How the Grinch Stole Christmas!" movie and actually works unlike 2003's "The Cat in the Hat" movie. It's notA lot more charming than 2000's "How the Grinch Stole Christmas!" movie and actually works unlike 2003's "The Cat in the Hat" movie. It's not Despicable Me, but it's pretty much works for a non-Despicable Me installment. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Flagrantly inferior to its literary predecessor, 'The Lorax' sends a skewed message to its viewers, one that is less timely and memorable, andFlagrantly inferior to its literary predecessor, 'The Lorax' sends a skewed message to its viewers, one that is less timely and memorable, and more puffed with crass one-liners and subtle condescension; an utter denigration to one of the greatest children's authors to ever live. However, more maddening of all is the lack of regard and reverence to Geisel's words, mellifluously melodic syllables accompanied by sticking alliteration and rhythmic patterns; they are defecated on. Much to the viewer's chagrin, the film does not include a narration: how does a 'Seuss' adaptation not have a narration? Only in one instance are words from the book uttered, albeit words offensively disparaged. Early on in the film, Audrey (voiced by Swift), a character nowhere to be found in the book, quotes Geisel in regard to the truffula trees: "The touch of their tufts was much softer than silk, and they had the sweet smell of fresh butterfly milk." This is relieving to hear and see. However, such memorable quote is replied by Ted (voiced by Efron) with "Wow, what does that even mean?" And, Audrey says, "I know, right?" So, what we have here is a character who was not even in the book, now in the film, belittling the very words which the film, itself, was shaped. This example, ultimately sums up the direction of the film; changing what wasn't already broken, and breaking it. Don't become too skeptical, 'Lorax' does contain rich, diaphanous colors that bring to life some of what Geisel's book intended to show through words, however, the film's attempts to put a new spin on things, especially by adding characters not found in the book, creates a blurred focus and disconnect, which results in a story that looks more like something you've seen before as opposed to the original, timeless literary version. Much of this is emanated by the title character, who voiced by DeVito, becomes too-well-overdone, and eventually becomes irksome and forced; he appears much more in the film than the book. I understand the film's casting of DeVito," again, to "spin things up," however, his 'Lorax' character doesn't match the same prominence as the book, rather, DeVito comes across as too imperiously assuming; an unpleasant, discordant "Jor-zey" inflection that becomes old, very quickly. I can't imagine the filmmakers wanting that. As a whole, 'Lorax' is a propaganda filled, "green-pushing" adult-first animation film that looks impressive, but inevitably sends a twisted message to kids that "it's great to help the environment, but only to further oneself in the process." Moreover, the film is, for the greater portion of an hour, 'Lorax' is partially fulfilling, mostly to do with the visuals, however, the most compelling sequence lies in the last 20-25 minutes, once the garrulous 'Lorax' and dainty animals are finally exited from view. Having said such, only ephemerally does the film endow the same sense of loss and somberness found in the book. Lastly, the underlying theme and parable of the film is not so hidden, as even the kids will, atleast minimally, capture what it's aiming to say. However, the guise with which it sticks with throughout (large smiles, balmy jokes, and fuzzy "fluff"), is more than enough to divert the kid's thought-provaction. In 3-D, though, the action doesn't quite match the subject material. For most adults, the slapstick won't fly very far; it's a "T-I-M-B-E-R" kind of spectacle; falling before your eyes. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2014
    4
    The overly-preachy attitude of The Lorax overshadows any actual storyline, leaving you with a good message but no entertainment. They didn'tThe overly-preachy attitude of The Lorax overshadows any actual storyline, leaving you with a good message but no entertainment. They didn't even try to hide the message they are trying to get across with a believable plot and cute characters, instead they created an excessively bland quest with annoying characters riddled with atrocious dialogue. The only good aspects of this butchering of a classic is the art and animation, which is superbly done. But it looks so nice I kind of feel bad for the 3D modelers and animators since the writers and directors destroyed their hard work. I can't even imagine a kid enjoying this, unless they really only do want bright colors, because The Lorax certainly succeeds in that field, a little too much I might add. The jokes aren't really jokes at all, they just consist of supposedly funny dialogue that in reality is just awkward and usually doesn't even make sense. I honestly think the writers of this movie either have never talked to an actual person before, or just plain don't care. When it's all said and done, we walk away from The Lorax with two things: The blatantly obvious message of saving the environment, and the fact that to make a lot of money, you really do only need to have nice graphics. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    First, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absoluteFirst, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my old copy of The Lorax and read it to them. They both agreed that the book was much better. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.