Dr. Seuss' The Lorax

Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: The animated adventure follows the journey of a 12-year-old as he searches for the one thing that will enable him to win the affection of the girl of his dreams. To find it he must discover the story of the Lorax, the grumpy yet charming creature who fights to protect his world. (UniversalThe animated adventure follows the journey of a 12-year-old as he searches for the one thing that will enable him to win the affection of the girl of his dreams. To find it he must discover the story of the Lorax, the grumpy yet charming creature who fights to protect his world. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 29, 2012
    83
    The movie is like a less original "WALL•E," but it's still vibrant and touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Mar 1, 2012
    75
    It's been animated by the same company that made "Despicable Me,'' which is to say you don't know whether to watch The Lorax or lick it.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 2, 2012
    75
    Director Chris Renaud and his team have fun with these dithery, frenetic characters. The film is less special when it slows down and takes a breath of fresh air.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Unfortunately, a new problem rears its head: It seems no young audience member can be trusted to enjoy a thoughtful story without a heroic, borderline-obnoxious surrogate (here, he's voiced by Zac Efron) zooming around on a scooter, bonking villainous heads and saving the day.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    You know what? The whole thing is harmless.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 1, 2012
    10
    The movie is a noisy, useless piece of junk, reverse-engineered into something resembling popular art in accordance with the reigning imperatives of marketing and brand extension.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 12 out of 54
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue toThis movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue to enjoy his lively fun stories. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    the lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. thethe lorax is a movie based on Dr. suess's book. i thought the movie was very touching and teaches kids to be environmentally friendly. the songs in the movie were all different like thneedville was a song that opened the movie and described the town with detail. how bad can i be was a song that told what the once-ler was doing with the trees and how he thought it would improve life. the son let it grow would have to be my favorite because all the people of thneedville rose up and gave trees a shot and fought the power. i thought the movie was beautiful in so many different ways i loved it and im sure that anyone who sees it will too. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    I was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everythingI was surprised about how much I liked this one. I wasn't expecting a whole lot but it was very cute and entertaining. I loved everything about it except one thing , the singing. The songs threw me off a bit but I still love it despite that. In a nutshell, it's a movie that will just Cute you out. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    At first glance this movie almost looks too cartoony even for theaters, but the charm, cute characters, a handful of funny moments, colorfulAt first glance this movie almost looks too cartoony even for theaters, but the charm, cute characters, a handful of funny moments, colorful visual style, and a decent storyline make this a fun to watch animated film. It'll probably stir a lot of controversy because of its nature vs. business plot but its still fun. Don't expect a fantastic ending though. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    The 3D IMAX part was awesome ... kinda hard to mess that up (i think). I brought my son who will be 4 this summer he liked the visuals asThe 3D IMAX part was awesome ... kinda hard to mess that up (i think). I brought my son who will be 4 this summer he liked the visuals as well, but about half way through he fell asleep and I promise all of you, it was not b/c he was tired. Don't anyone dare go to see this w/o 3D, the IMAX you could probably take or leave. But anyone who pays top dollar to watch that movie in 2d you will surely regret it! Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    CGI is a wonderful thing in cinema. If only "the Lorax" could do it justice. But with ludicrous songs, childish tones, and a jumbled plot,CGI is a wonderful thing in cinema. If only "the Lorax" could do it justice. But with ludicrous songs, childish tones, and a jumbled plot, it's only justice is Danny DeVito's Lorax. Everything else is utter Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    First, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absoluteFirst, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my old copy of The Lorax and read it to them. They both agreed that the book was much better. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers