Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: The animated adventure follows the journey of a 12-year-old as he searches for the one thing that will enable him to win the affection of the girl of his dreams. To find it he must discover the story of the Lorax, the grumpy yet charming creature who fights to protect his world. (UniversalThe animated adventure follows the journey of a 12-year-old as he searches for the one thing that will enable him to win the affection of the girl of his dreams. To find it he must discover the story of the Lorax, the grumpy yet charming creature who fights to protect his world. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 29, 2012
    83
    The movie is like a less original "WALL•E," but it's still vibrant and touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Mar 1, 2012
    75
    It's been animated by the same company that made "Despicable Me,'' which is to say you don't know whether to watch The Lorax or lick it.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 2, 2012
    75
    Director Chris Renaud and his team have fun with these dithery, frenetic characters. The film is less special when it slows down and takes a breath of fresh air.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Unfortunately, a new problem rears its head: It seems no young audience member can be trusted to enjoy a thoughtful story without a heroic, borderline-obnoxious surrogate (here, he's voiced by Zac Efron) zooming around on a scooter, bonking villainous heads and saving the day.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    You know what? The whole thing is harmless.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Mar 3, 2012
    40
    Par for the course in blowout CGI adaptations, a great deal of detail and bustle is gained at the expense of charm - for all the miracles these armies of animators can achieve, they have yet to successfully reproduce a humble artist's line.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 1, 2012
    10
    The movie is a noisy, useless piece of junk, reverse-engineered into something resembling popular art in accordance with the reigning imperatives of marketing and brand extension.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 12 out of 54
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue toThis movie included an amazing cute factor bringing a huge smile to my face. I love almost everything Dr.Seuss has made and I will continue to enjoy his lively fun stories. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The Lorax is wonderful! I dodged axes, laughed a lot and nearly cried at the end and so did my 8 year old daughter. I strongly suggest seeingThe Lorax is wonderful! I dodged axes, laughed a lot and nearly cried at the end and so did my 8 year old daughter. I strongly suggest seeing this in 3D. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based onThis colorful enchanting movie is a wholesome family movie that everyone will enjoy. The Lorax, is a charming heartfelt movie based on Dr.Seuss's: The Lorax. If you like Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Despicable Me, and Kung Fu Panda, Tangled, then you'll certainly enjoy The Lorax. This movie is colorful with bright colors, and has amazing animation. It's cute, funny, and will bring a smile to your eyes, and hopefully face. The story does fall short a little through building depth, but that is made up through the movies amazing animation and the warm atmosphere that the movie is set in. Overall, The Lorax is something to watch :) Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2015
    7
    The Lorax is the kind of family-friendly film that young viewers will love no matter what. The animation is bright and colorful, the music isThe Lorax is the kind of family-friendly film that young viewers will love no matter what. The animation is bright and colorful, the music is catchy and upbeat, and the all-star voice work is undeniably impressive. It's a great film to entertain the little ones. However, coming from the perspective of a lifelong Dr. Seuss fan, The Lorax is a bit of a disappointment when compared to the book it's inspired by. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    The 3D IMAX part was awesome ... kinda hard to mess that up (i think). I brought my son who will be 4 this summer he liked the visuals asThe 3D IMAX part was awesome ... kinda hard to mess that up (i think). I brought my son who will be 4 this summer he liked the visuals as well, but about half way through he fell asleep and I promise all of you, it was not b/c he was tired. Don't anyone dare go to see this w/o 3D, the IMAX you could probably take or leave. But anyone who pays top dollar to watch that movie in 2d you will surely regret it! Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    CGI is a wonderful thing in cinema. If only "the Lorax" could do it justice. But with ludicrous songs, childish tones, and a jumbled plot,CGI is a wonderful thing in cinema. If only "the Lorax" could do it justice. But with ludicrous songs, childish tones, and a jumbled plot, it's only justice is Danny DeVito's Lorax. Everything else is utter Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    First, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absoluteFirst, just let me tell you that The Lorax is my favorite Doctor Suess book ever. Every time I read it, I cry. This movie is an absolute travesty. All of the characters are stupid and cliched, Danny Devito's Lorax voice wasn't actually very good, and the comedy of the movie is basically "LOOK AT THAT BARBALOOT! IT IS FAT! HAHAHA!" After seeing this movie with my daughters, I found my old copy of The Lorax and read it to them. They both agreed that the book was much better. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers