User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 459 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 459
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2015
    7
    Razor sharp satire and blissfully dark lunacy prevail in Stanley Kubrick's classic and brazen comment on the Cold War - "Dr. Strangelove: Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb."
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Dr. Strangelove continues to prove to me why Stanley Kubrick is worthy of the praise heaped upon him. On the surface, this one is absolutely hilarious. There are numerous scenes that have you laughing out loud, especially ones with Peter Sellers and/or George Scott. Luckily, Sellers plays three roles so we get to see a lot of him and he really helped put this one over the top for me. It isDr. Strangelove continues to prove to me why Stanley Kubrick is worthy of the praise heaped upon him. On the surface, this one is absolutely hilarious. There are numerous scenes that have you laughing out loud, especially ones with Peter Sellers and/or George Scott. Luckily, Sellers plays three roles so we get to see a lot of him and he really helped put this one over the top for me. It is amazing to me that this one is still a riot considering that it was released 50 years ago, but it goes to show that good films transcend time and this one fits the bill completely. In addition to being funny, it is a great political thriller as we watch everything unfold in the film. The ending song as the film wraps up was also a phenomenal choice and was a perfect compliment to the things going on on screen. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    According to Morrissey’s recent manifestation “more gay people, more peaceful the world”, war is the malicious ramification of heterosexual men’s urge to kill their peers (I’m paraphrasing here), which tallies germanely with this Kubrick’s black war satire. Under the cold war backdrop, a rogue nuclear attack to Soviet Union commenced by a fervid anti-communist USA general, which wouldAccording to Morrissey’s recent manifestation “more gay people, more peaceful the world”, war is the malicious ramification of heterosexual men’s urge to kill their peers (I’m paraphrasing here), which tallies germanely with this Kubrick’s black war satire. Under the cold war backdrop, a rogue nuclear attack to Soviet Union commenced by a fervid anti-communist USA general, which would (irrevocably) launch a doomsday machine (a Soviet Union’s ultimate self-destructive nuclear contraption), and would annihilate all the human beings on the earth. It may sounds ridiculous and far-fetched by the mass, Kubrick’s masterful endeavor has overcome the detached accessibility of the warfare lingoes and the exclusivity of the decision-makers’ political impasse to implement a stranger-than-fiction satire which grants a considerable closeness to its audience with ease. Running within 100 minutes, the film slickly unreels its storyline with great force of dark humor which imbues parodic and even cartoonish idiosyncrasies to the permeating machismo in the air. Peter Sellers’ three-faceted versatility, George C. Scott’s Communism-slamming extravaganza and Sterling Hayden’s trigger-happy paranoia plus Slim Pickens’ cowboy hat, the ensemble cast owns their respective frantic glory within a compacted steak of time, umpteen gags and mockeries can be savored ad infinitum, Sellers’British accent (as Group Captain) when confronting Sterling’s General Rippers is unimpeachably spontaneous, Keenan Wynn’s coca-cola joke is pertinently deadpan serious and Sterling’s conspiracy theory about water fluoridation and the fearful deprivation of life essence during a sexual intercourse (the man just cannot face his natural aging mechanism of the body) are plainly golden ideas, outlandish but vividly rib-tickling, and astringently self-reflective.

    Kubrick’s trademark set design which would prevail in his later color features has not fully exploited this black-and-white war farce, and the (not-too-obvious) misogyny and chauvinism overtone does impede the sensitive nerves a bit, nevertheless, it is not my favorite Kubrick’s film, but it is an outstanding comedy which I presume can stay untainted by numerous re-watches, for me the first round is more than gratifying and since my generally inert resistance towards war-related films, a second round may take some time despite of its overall peerlessness.
    Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    I don't think I've seen a satire made exactly for its time, and becoming a critically lauded success. The cinematography, acting, script, and underlying themes, all in total, makes for the one of the smartest, and oddly blackest of black comedies. Stanley Kubrick is, in my personal opinion, the greatest filmmaker of the late 20th century.
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    A film that simply doesn't age, almost 50 years after its release, Dr. Strangelove is still considered to be the greatest comedy of all time and one of the all time best films, it takes the very serious and historic setting of the Cold War and manages to make it hilarious, not through the actions, but through the characters that are carrying out these actions, Peter Sellers plays threeA film that simply doesn't age, almost 50 years after its release, Dr. Strangelove is still considered to be the greatest comedy of all time and one of the all time best films, it takes the very serious and historic setting of the Cold War and manages to make it hilarious, not through the actions, but through the characters that are carrying out these actions, Peter Sellers plays three roles in this film, and each of these roles is as side-splitting as the next. But perhaps his best of the three is the titular character Dr. Strangelove, a former Nazi scientist who aides the current President of the United States, Merkin Muffley (also played by Sellers) on the basis of the film, where a crazed general (George C. Scott) initiates a first stike nuclear attack on the Soviet Union, something which everyone else is now attempting to prevent as this will mean nuclear annihilation.
    The simplicity of the comedy in Dr. Strangelove is visible from the beginning, it isn't a complex plot of drawn out jokes and cringeworthy gags, but the expressions, motions and general dialogue of the characters that truly make it a special film, it doesn't have spectacular special effects nor does it have visually striking sets, but its simplicity is its greatest weapons, because all it needs is the correct characters and you have a winner, the easiest way to make people laugh is turning a serious situation on its head which really shouldn't be funny, but human nature wins out over morals.
    Its ironic that a film like this should be so highly praised, but yet probably wouldn't last in todays current climate of happy endings and learnt lessons, we have a very pure and a very real outcome of what the film sets out to do, director and writer Stanley Kubrick proves that he was one of the most iconic and inspirational filmmakers of all time by turning his hand to a comedy, especially with a subject so fresh at the time of filming. He proves that laughter can be found in the most unlikely of places, especially when we have a very character driven story which throws perspective after perspective, we see a more subdued side when we are in the of the B52s, yet in the infamous 'War Room' we have much more insanity laced and lighter atmosphere.
    Dr. Strangelove is a true timeless classic and a fantastic film, it pushed the boundaries of what was funny and what was satire, and came out throwing all the punches, equalling to a dazzling display of excellent performances and some of the funniest moments and quotes to come out of the cinema.
    Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    Stanley Kubrick's black comedy about cold war paranoia.
    Peter Sellars is outstanding (I'm not a big fan) although mainly for President Muffley & Cpt Mandrake rather than Strangelove himself.
    The rest of the cast ham it up quite well but didn't think it was as funny as a lot of people make out.
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Stanley Kurbrick's brillant satire on the cold war is widely considered one of the funniest movies in cinematic history. A lone general gone mad gives the green light launching an A-Bomb attack on Russia, and the President now (Sellers) must pull out all the stops to prevent this. This dark comedy is shot entirely in black and white with terrific production design. Astutely, KubrickStanley Kurbrick's brillant satire on the cold war is widely considered one of the funniest movies in cinematic history. A lone general gone mad gives the green light launching an A-Bomb attack on Russia, and the President now (Sellers) must pull out all the stops to prevent this. This dark comedy is shot entirely in black and white with terrific production design. Astutely, Kubrick focuses on the actual nuclear event in itself, thus removing the issues of foreign politics. The films message simply put its this; man is not at the mercey of machines,but it in fact it's just the opposite. Petter Sellers is sensational playing several roles and the film has stood the test of time remaining undated. Expand
  8. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    A film that is a true masterpiece. It has it all; comedy,suspense and a well told story. The film truly shows how silly people in goverment can be. Not trying to say this is what actually happened during the cold war although I do have a suspicion. Overall an unbelievable film which could never be created today because of people's longing of a happy ending.
  9. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There has never been a funnier movie. I can't tell you how many times I have watched this. Peter Sellers, George C. Scott, Slim Pickens were all genius and all the supporting actors were perfect. "I've never seen such behavior in the war room." One of the funniest lines in the movie. One of the funniest scenes is Slim Pickens riding the missile. Although it is a black comedy it is not gross or depressing. Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Kubrickâ Expand
  11. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    Probably one of the greatest films ever made, Stanley Kubrick's Cold War satire, is a madhouse of wacko performances and a screwball plot add with a explosive mixture of dark elements including nuclear weapons.

    Peter Sellers does the math well, playing three performances as a RAF colonel Mandrake, the President of the United States, and Ex-Nazi scientist Dr. Strangelove with lots of
    Probably one of the greatest films ever made, Stanley Kubrick's Cold War satire, is a madhouse of wacko performances and a screwball plot add with a explosive mixture of dark elements including nuclear weapons.

    Peter Sellers does the math well, playing three performances as a RAF colonel Mandrake, the President of the United States, and Ex-Nazi scientist Dr. Strangelove with lots of hilarity bizarre memorable scenes, from "Hello Dimitri?" to "Fighting in the War Room" to "riding the Bomb" to "MEIN FÜHRER I CAN WALK!!!"

    Its a rare comedy with a black sense of anti-war ideology that still impacts the hearts of the American dream! its a movie that should also be enjoyed million, and I expect it to have been a box-office hit in Moscow especially the Kremlin!

    Hands down a masterpiece indeed from Dr. Stanley Kubrick
    Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    It's not just one of Kubrick's best, it's one of the greatest comedies ever made. Black Comedy about Cold War Paranoia? Oh Come on. What else could you wan't from a film?
  13. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Kubrick has never had a problem dazzling his audience or at least making them wince, but Dr. Strangelove shows the director in strange form. Who knew the Cold War could be this hilarious? The always fantastic performances by Peter Sellers are worth it alone (and you get three of them). Along with George C. Scott, this is truly an unforgettable film. If you aren't laughing than greater workKubrick has never had a problem dazzling his audience or at least making them wince, but Dr. Strangelove shows the director in strange form. Who knew the Cold War could be this hilarious? The always fantastic performances by Peter Sellers are worth it alone (and you get three of them). Along with George C. Scott, this is truly an unforgettable film. If you aren't laughing than greater work is needed. The greatest truths are in comedy. Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Dr. Strangelove is very simply one of the best films ever made. It easily takes the title of best comedy film. Wickedly smart and satirical, Dr. Strangelove still very much applies to the present day situation, 47 years later. Superbly acted, well written, and directed by the great Kubrick, Strangelove delivers everything you could want from a movie: humor, drama, history, and a mainDr. Strangelove is very simply one of the best films ever made. It easily takes the title of best comedy film. Wickedly smart and satirical, Dr. Strangelove still very much applies to the present day situation, 47 years later. Superbly acted, well written, and directed by the great Kubrick, Strangelove delivers everything you could want from a movie: humor, drama, history, and a main character with Alien Hand Syndrome. No matter what kind of movies you like, Dr. Strangelove is for you. Expand
  15. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is what i called i great black humor movie, if i can bring some person from dead that would be Stanley Kubrick, this movie show that he was a **** genius , mixing drama and humor in such a perfect way, i must give it 10 because i can not give it a 100
  16. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    Dr. Strangelove wasn't Stanley Kubrick's best movie, in my own opinion. There's barely any rising action in the movie, just dialogue. It is still a good movie, with a purpose.
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    An uncompromising insight into the us versus them Cold War mentality, its impact strengthened by Kubrick's clever satire. The movie contains three different but equally satisfying stories that examine war on a personal and political level. This is an intelligent and bold film that highlights the paranoia and ridiculousness of the time.
  18. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Another Fantastic Movie of Stanley Kubrick, Peter Sellers did a great job with all of his characters, especially Dr. strangelove, the ending scene was very interesting and original. I like it very much, it's my favourite movie of stanley kubrick.
  19. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    With humor and intense acting throughout, Dr.Strange clearly stands the test of time. Easily enjoyable well after the cold war, one can only imagine how hard it would have been to laugh at this scenario back then. The film shows impending doom in two equally greatly written perspectives. The great cinematography of Gilbert Taylor, gives Dr. Strangelove a beautiful aesthetic.
  20. May 9, 2015
    10
    When you consider the history of motion pictures, certain watershed films leap to mind -- productions which have left their mark on the craft. Without a doubt, one of those is Stanley Kubrik's 1964 masterpiece, Dr. Strangelove (or, as it's subtitled, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb). As political satire, few movies -- even those as incisive as the hilariously vicious 1992When you consider the history of motion pictures, certain watershed films leap to mind -- productions which have left their mark on the craft. Without a doubt, one of those is Stanley Kubrik's 1964 masterpiece, Dr. Strangelove (or, as it's subtitled, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb). As political satire, few movies -- even those as incisive as the hilariously vicious 1992 release Bob Roberts -- come close to this level of accomplishment. In the case of Dr. Strangelove, the barbs and quips (both subtle and obvious) hold up as well today as they did thirty years ago.

    When director Stanley Kubrick decided to adapt Peter George's thriller Red Alert for the screen, he recruited the author to help with the script. Instead of retaining the straight tone of the book, Kubrick wanted to try for a black comedy, and with the complicity of George and co-writer Terry Southern, Dr. Strangelove was born.

    Originally, Kubrick envisioned Peter Sellers playing four unique roles. However, after filming three of them (President Merkin Muffley, RAF Group Captain Mandrake, and ex-Nazi scientist Dr. Strangelove), the actor broke his leg and was unable to complete the quartet. In his place, Slim Pickens was signed to portray Major "King" Kong. Other cast members include George C. Scott as General Buck Turgidson, Sterling Hayden as General Jack D. Ripper, and James Earl Jones (in his first film role) as Lieutenant Lothar Zogg.

    As a story chronicling the potential countdown to humanity's end in a nuclear fireball, Dr. Strangelove is tightly-plotted and well-paced. As a black comedy, wielding a wit sharper than honed steel, the film is unparalleled. Kubrick's picture has so many targets that it's difficult to know where to begin. Certainly, the "balance of power" nuclear deterrent policy gets the most obvious jabs (although ardent supporters may not see this -- Dr. Strangelove's attacks are subtle enough that it's possible for an unsophisticated viewer to miss the point). Parodying the "missile gap" at the heart of the arms race, we are given the "doomsday gap" and the "mine shaft gap."

    Kubrick isn't especially kind to the military mentality, as personified by General Turgidson (elements of Scott's performance here foreshadow how he would approach the role of Patton in the 1970 movie that earned him an Oscar). Turgidson sees Soviet plots everywhere, flirts with a girlfriend in the midst of a national crisis, believes 10-20 million American casualties (tops!) are acceptable, and wishes the U.S. had some sort of doomsday machine to match the Russians' capabilities.

    As the film races to its conclusion, situations become more bizarre, with a drunk Soviet Premier Kissoff whining over the phone to Muffley that the U.S. planes are flying too low and jamming his radar. Mandrake tries to put an emergency call through to the President, but the Pentagon won't accept the collect call, and he doesn't have exact change. And Dr. Strangelove, Hitler's best living ally, comes up with a plan to preserve the superior elements of humanity.

    The genius of Dr. Strangelove is that it's possible to laugh -- and laugh hard -- while still recognizing the intelligence and insight behind the humor. The film is always saying something, and a viewer would have to be deaf and blind not to recognize the targets of the sarcasm. In fact, I'd worry about anyone who takes this movie too seriously. That, after all, isn't the kind of person Dr. Strangelove is aimed for; it's the kind this film takes aim at.
    Expand
  21. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Great performances.. great story.... great humor... great directing.... top 10 for me

    *high point* Sterling Haydens performance - he was so spot on and how he could deliver that ridiculous (in the best way) dialog that way was amazing
  22. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    This movie might be a little overrated by today's standards, but it is still very enjoyable. It has the perfect mixture of smart and idiotic humor. The writing is brilliant. The acting is amazing, especially that of Sellers. It really is a must see.
  23. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Feels like 2 movies in 1, the segments on the plane and in the air force base are largely solemn and serious, the War room however is comical and insane. But this works well as it conveys what the film is about, the lunacy of politicians and the effects of beaurocracy. Dr Strangelove himself only appears in the latter half of the film but god does Peter Sellers do a good job! In all 3 ofFeels like 2 movies in 1, the segments on the plane and in the air force base are largely solemn and serious, the War room however is comical and insane. But this works well as it conveys what the film is about, the lunacy of politicians and the effects of beaurocracy. Dr Strangelove himself only appears in the latter half of the film but god does Peter Sellers do a good job! In all 3 of his roles. It's a pity everyone knows the ending though because it's been done to death in popular culture (Along with the famous line "Mein Fuhrer! I can walk!" one of the funniest in history. However I will say the 5 minutes before the famous segment with major Kong is i think one of the best 5 minutes in cinematic history, especially with the countdown, of sorts. It is truly one of the most tense few minutes I've ever seen and the acting is brilliant! The look on their faces as they approach the target in almost too real. It deserves all of the praise it gets without doubt! Peter Sellers, you are one of the greats! Along of course with Kubrick Expand
  24. May 1, 2014
    10
    Greatest satirical comedy film ever made, as well as the funniest death scene. **** Metacritic's outrageous rule of a minimum 150 characters.

    Kubrick is the ****
  25. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    This is my #1 movie of all time. Funniest movie there is. It was a spoof on another movie which actually makes it funnier. During one of Dr. Strangelove's speeches an actor in the background can barely contain himself. Slim Pickens had me laughing like anything. Peter Sellers plays three parts, Strangelove, the President and the English Officer. George C. Scott was incredibly funny. EachThis is my #1 movie of all time. Funniest movie there is. It was a spoof on another movie which actually makes it funnier. During one of Dr. Strangelove's speeches an actor in the background can barely contain himself. Slim Pickens had me laughing like anything. Peter Sellers plays three parts, Strangelove, the President and the English Officer. George C. Scott was incredibly funny. Each character is a gem. Expand
  26. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    This is the Kubrick film I've seen the most, about several times in a short amount of time. So it's hard to give a really positive review when you've seen it a lot. All I can say is this. In my opinion it's not one of the funniest comedies of all time but I agree it's one of the greatest. This is one of the shortest Kubrick films and probably the most casual to watch which I like. There isThis is the Kubrick film I've seen the most, about several times in a short amount of time. So it's hard to give a really positive review when you've seen it a lot. All I can say is this. In my opinion it's not one of the funniest comedies of all time but I agree it's one of the greatest. This is one of the shortest Kubrick films and probably the most casual to watch which I like. There is a lot of dialogue but it gets pretty entertaining in the second half of the film. And there are a couple of really funny scenes; my highlight is the one where the President is on the phone trying to tell the Russian leader that American planes are going to bomb Russia. And what makes it great also is the comment it makes. This is one of THE cold war films. All the paranoia and suspicion and madness. The ending was the right way to end the film. It should be part of your bucket list of films to watch. Expand
  27. May 3, 2014
    10
    This movie is pure genius, pure art and pure truth about the way of thinking of the political victors of World War 2 and their use of captured German scientists to further their objectives by force of arms.
  28. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    People usually overlook how funny Kubrick films are, but Dr. Strangelove, The Killing, Barry Lyndon and Full Metal Jacket are all rich in timeless comedy, dark as that comedy might be.
  29. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    A Hollywood classic, Kubrick is a movie mastermind there is so many redeeming qualities in this movie. The acting was above par and There is no other movie out there that takes itself so serious but not so serious at the same time, there is a lot of comedic values in here strung over a very serious plot, It's hard to tell exactly what it is. This movie will have you in awe one second andA Hollywood classic, Kubrick is a movie mastermind there is so many redeeming qualities in this movie. The acting was above par and There is no other movie out there that takes itself so serious but not so serious at the same time, there is a lot of comedic values in here strung over a very serious plot, It's hard to tell exactly what it is. This movie will have you in awe one second and you will laugh the next. I have never seen anything like it and I doubt I ever will again. One of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
  30. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    I'm loathe to give anything a ten as you can always go better... but this is up there. Unmatched and endlessly quotable, "Gentlemen you can't fight in here..." Watch and learn.
  31. May 26, 2013
    10
    This and "Oceans Eleven" easily takes the title of best comedy film. And this comedy is still surprisingly relevant even today. Utterly one of the best films I have ever seen. This will go down in history as the best satire ever created.
  32. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Peter Sellers is definately the funniest actor ever. This movie shows us why. And due to the path our society has taken, its criticism may never stop being modern.
  33. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    You really can't rave too much about Kubric's black comedy. After all these years, it still resonates both comically and politically. Recently, I've been showing my Ukranian girlfriend my favorite movies. Some of my selections haven't held up as well as others (i.e. National Lampoon's Vacation). Dr. Strangelove was as fresh as the first time that I viewed it...30 years ago. The onlyYou really can't rave too much about Kubric's black comedy. After all these years, it still resonates both comically and politically. Recently, I've been showing my Ukranian girlfriend my favorite movies. Some of my selections haven't held up as well as others (i.e. National Lampoon's Vacation). Dr. Strangelove was as fresh as the first time that I viewed it...30 years ago. The only negative thing that I learned was that the Soviet ambassador's (Alexei de Sadeski) Russian wasn't authentic. On the positive side, he (Sadeski) realized that Soviet Premier Dimitri Kisov was drunk because Kisov ordered Sadeski to kill the president (in Russian). If you enjoy black comedies, then you must see this masterpiece. Expand
  34. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dr Strangelove is regarded as being the 14th greatest movie of all time (to see my IMDb list depicting it go to http://www.imdb.com/list/jcBWwJSOLX8/ ) It is regarded as such for its groundbreaking intitiative and its comedic senses. When the bomb went off at the end and "We'll Meet Again Some Sunny Day" started playing I laughed out loud. Love the bomb everybody. Love. The. Bomb. Expand
  35. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb is a war thriller, turned into a satire of the absurdity of the cold war and one of cinemas greatest dark comedies. The film depicts an unbalanced General Jack D. Ripper, who has sent his squadron of B-52 bombers to attack their designated targets inside Russia, having forged orders from Washington. Once the government finds out, they convene to figure out how to stop the General and return the bombers from of enemy territory. If they do not succeed, they are faced with the terrible power of the Doomsday Device. A weapon that's soul purpose is mutually assured destruction. I could see that as a plausible thriller. Instead, Kubrik took the film another direction saying, "After all, what could be more absurd than the very idea of two mega powers willing to wipe out all human life because of an accident, spiced up by political differences that will seem as meaningless to people a hundred years from now as the theological conflicts of the Middle Ages appear to us today." Perhaps what is darkest about this comedy is just how plausible it was becoming in it's day. Made in 1964, the country was tense and in mourning. Only 2 years previously, the United States had looked down the barrel of total nuclear commitment during the Cuban Missile Crisis. And it was still reeling over the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. The only certainty was that nothing was certain. What began as fanciful musing became a question of: "What if"? The film was nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Actor for Peter Sellers. Peter Sellers gives an impressive performance as not only one character, but as three: British officer Mandrake, Predsident Muffly, and Dr. Strangelove. His performance is so well done that the casual movie goer would most likely never know he plays all three parts. If you are into Kubrik, dark comedies, or just good cinema then check this out. Expand
  36. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Certainly one of the best comedies i have ever seen. The great thing about it, is that it's more than a comedy.It gives you an insight into the military way of thinking and into human nature in general, via sarcasm. Brilliant!
  37. EitanN.
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    Even it is an old movie I enjoyed it and I usually don't like old movies. smart movie and makes you think.
  38. MichaelI.
    Jul 10, 2003
    9
    Kubrick is a genius!
  39. FrancoisM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Brilliant! Black humour at its best!
  40. NickH
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Kubrick's best film (it deserved more than 4 ocscar nods and it should have won those 4). A true classic in every regard. He pulled me in with 2001: A Space Odyssey, he won me over with Clockwork Orange, he suprised my with Spartacus, and he made himself my favorite director of all time with this masterpiece. Everyone I know has seen Full Metal Jacket (some can even quote it word for Kubrick's best film (it deserved more than 4 ocscar nods and it should have won those 4). A true classic in every regard. He pulled me in with 2001: A Space Odyssey, he won me over with Clockwork Orange, he suprised my with Spartacus, and he made himself my favorite director of all time with this masterpiece. Everyone I know has seen Full Metal Jacket (some can even quote it word for word). I ask them "Ya know Stanely Kubrick....... the director? You know..." and all I get is a blank stare. It's really shocking that no one seems to know who he is but they know who directed stuff like Barbershop. He never got his just reward for being better than Speilberg (love Saving Private Ryan, hated ET thought), better than Woody Allen (hated Annie Hall, loved Sleeper), or even better than Mr. Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby = Random Oscar movie... Aviator rocked, Scorsese). To bad. Expand
  41. JayH.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    A brilliant black comedy, one of the best ever. The performances are sublime, especially George C. Scott. The direction is so on target. The writing is among the best ever. Superb in every way.
  42. MartinL
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Peter Sellers gave a great performance in all the roles he played in this movie, but George C. Scott stole the show. This movie is a great glimpse into the paranoia of the Cold War. It is an example of how powerful a comedy can be If done right.
  43. CocoBunny
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    A satirical masterpiece.
  44. KyleA.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    No fighting in the war room.
  45. MikeN.
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    Essential. The best black comedy ever made. It is as serious as it is funny.
  46. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    10
    The Cold War theme is unavoidably dated but Kubrick's conceptualization of lustful barbarism at the core of our pompous civilization is as brilliant, true, and daring as ever. Great comic performances, from the sly Peter Sellars to the clownish Slim Pickens. A nuclear war comedy... who could have brought it off other than Kubrick? Perhaps the finest satire from Hollywood other than The Cold War theme is unavoidably dated but Kubrick's conceptualization of lustful barbarism at the core of our pompous civilization is as brilliant, true, and daring as ever. Great comic performances, from the sly Peter Sellars to the clownish Slim Pickens. A nuclear war comedy... who could have brought it off other than Kubrick? Perhaps the finest satire from Hollywood other than the Manchurian Candidate. Expand
  47. DanB.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    How can you not dig a movie this groovy, baby? People who don't like this movie are Communists, there's something screwy with their fluids.
  48. Caroline
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  49. LanceR.
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    If I were to recognize this film as a work of 'genius', then I would be making allusions to my own ability to identify genius, thus implying a capacity to relate to what it is to actually possess genius. It would hence be impossible for me to express my feelings on this film without seeming a bit pretentious. But is it not pretentious to fear appearing pretentious? In the end, I If I were to recognize this film as a work of 'genius', then I would be making allusions to my own ability to identify genius, thus implying a capacity to relate to what it is to actually possess genius. It would hence be impossible for me to express my feelings on this film without seeming a bit pretentious. But is it not pretentious to fear appearing pretentious? In the end, I simply can't betray my desire to praise this film, even if it means I'm a pretentious genius. So be warned; watching this film will forever transform you into a pretentious genius (or a critic), if you are not already a member of that caste. It is that powerful. And there's absolutely nothing wrong with that. Expand
  50. marshallm.
    Nov 4, 2005
    7
    I was too confused to really like it. it didn't make sense, maybe it would to ppl who knew about the war and all that stuff back then, but i don't. i admired it alot though, and there was some very good genius moments of comedy. but like i said, maybe it would have been better and funnier to me if i knew what was so ironic, and the satirycal. its one of those films you just I was too confused to really like it. it didn't make sense, maybe it would to ppl who knew about the war and all that stuff back then, but i don't. i admired it alot though, and there was some very good genius moments of comedy. but like i said, maybe it would have been better and funnier to me if i knew what was so ironic, and the satirycal. its one of those films you just gotta see for yourself. Expand
  51. John
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Ok Kubrick is a marvellous director but please do not deny Sellers his just reward. He was the greatest comedy genius of all time and there will never be anybody like him again.
  52. JohnH.
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    Being only fourteen years old, most of my friends found the movie dull. I, however, found the movie to be the greatest comedy I have ever seen, easily surpassing other critically-aclaimed works of other genres (cough... the Godfather). It makes a statement about the workings of our government which is as true now as it was in their time. (Truer? Bush.) The wit is still sharp, and the Being only fourteen years old, most of my friends found the movie dull. I, however, found the movie to be the greatest comedy I have ever seen, easily surpassing other critically-aclaimed works of other genres (cough... the Godfather). It makes a statement about the workings of our government which is as true now as it was in their time. (Truer? Bush.) The wit is still sharp, and the movie feels much less lethargic than other slow-moving classics (cough... the Godfather). You must see it. Expand
  53. FawwadA.
    May 25, 2006
    9
    This was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. It's a wonderful satire of cold war politics. One will really understand how ridiculous and dangerous the child-like political antics of the U.S. and the Soviet Union were in that time. Though almost 40 years old, the film is still relevant because it demonstrates today's government's faults. This movie makes you really This was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. It's a wonderful satire of cold war politics. One will really understand how ridiculous and dangerous the child-like political antics of the U.S. and the Soviet Union were in that time. Though almost 40 years old, the film is still relevant because it demonstrates today's government's faults. This movie makes you really think about the reality of nuclear warfare throughout the Cold War, and the idiocy of modern governments. Expand
  54. BrianH.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    The reason I became a Kubrick fan in the first place. Who else could carry off "nucular" war as a satirical comedy. Numbr 2 on my all time favorite list, just behind Casablanca.
  55. JosefK.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    The greatest movie ever made. Sorry Godfather & Citizen Kane, that's just the way it has to be.
  56. ClayT
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    Flouridation!!!
  57. JonathanR.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    "Like fryin' chickens in the barnyard!!" I could strap in Clockwork Orange-style and watch this movie for the rest of my life.
  58. SlimP.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    To the reviewers who do not understand a classic satire, this film was FILMED in 1962-1963 during the PEAK of the Cold War. ITs a politically oriented film at the ludicrous idea of "Total Thermonuclear Commitment" of nuclear arms being spewed out by the Neo Conservative right wing of the Republican Party at the time. Please keep it in contexts to all the young dumbed down movie goers who To the reviewers who do not understand a classic satire, this film was FILMED in 1962-1963 during the PEAK of the Cold War. ITs a politically oriented film at the ludicrous idea of "Total Thermonuclear Commitment" of nuclear arms being spewed out by the Neo Conservative right wing of the Republican Party at the time. Please keep it in contexts to all the young dumbed down movie goers who don't know what GOOD is anymore. This movie is one of the ones who truly deserves a 10/10. Expand
  59. JoeBob
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    This was a great movie. Don't listen to lee b. werner von brauhn might have been german, but he was a great man, and led our country into the future of space exploration.
  60. DavidS.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    Dr Strangelove is the comedy version of the movie Failsafe,where a Churchillian typeNeoconservative advisor to the Defense Department(sound familer?)played by Walter Matthue advises an all out attack on the Soviet Union,when a B-52 mistakenly crosses into Russian airspace during a war game.Kuburick refreshingly does do the left-right cliches in Strangelove.The Red menace was rattling Dr Strangelove is the comedy version of the movie Failsafe,where a Churchillian typeNeoconservative advisor to the Defense Department(sound familer?)played by Walter Matthue advises an all out attack on the Soviet Union,when a B-52 mistakenly crosses into Russian airspace during a war game.Kuburick refreshingly does do the left-right cliches in Strangelove.The Red menace was rattling sabers all over the globe in that period,from erecting the Berlin Wall,Cuba,SothEast Asia.The famous German scientists-Von Braun,Dornberger,Oberth,Rudolf were always in the headlies while they ran NASA.We see the British officer protrayed hilariously by Sellersas well.The President is the personification of Adlai Stevenson.All of this makes the film both topical,and timeless. Expand
  61. PatC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    I first saw this as a 15-year-old Air Force dependent. I was an avid reader of Mad Magazine while living in various military jurisdictions. I understood this was a very special film because it called bullshit on the cold war. No one laughed harder than the very people who flew, serviced and commanded the planes, who were at the time sitting in the theatre with me. This is the film Kubrick I first saw this as a 15-year-old Air Force dependent. I was an avid reader of Mad Magazine while living in various military jurisdictions. I understood this was a very special film because it called bullshit on the cold war. No one laughed harder than the very people who flew, serviced and commanded the planes, who were at the time sitting in the theatre with me. This is the film Kubrick got away with. Once he saw he didn't have to compromise his artistic vision to succeed, he never looked back. Look what followed! Expand
  62. GilbertMulroneycakes,OrHowILearnedToLoveBrevityInN
    Jul 13, 2003
    10
    Absolute class. Take a look at the NY Times link; it's from 1964 itself and is as interesting in its own way as the film is. Only problem with the film is the abrupt ending: the final scene in the War Room seems a little...mistimed. Tiny niggle though. This is a masterpiece.
  63. JoshuaW.
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    One of the best from one of the best.
  64. BuckT.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Arguably the greatest comedy every, from arguably the greatest director ever ... the performances are top notch and the subject matter cuts to the quick. It answers the question "how do you make people laugh about what terrifies them most?"
  65. DanC.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    Ingenious satire! One of the funniest ever!
  66. mtaylor
    Jan 27, 2005
    7
    Insightful and amusing, but maybe a tad too slow in pacing, especially the count from 10 till the bomb is dropped, sellers is great but not as enigmatic as cluesau.
  67. DavidH.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    This is one of the greatest and one of the most awe inspiring films that has ever been made.
  68. Mr.Hankey
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    A brilliant movie by Mr. Kubrick. Dr. Strangelove is a genuine black comedy that was crazy for that time and crazy for ours. The movie shines because of it's authenticity and the great and versatile acting by Peter Sellers. The movies name is a character in the movie obviously but he doesn't come into the picture until about an hour in. Dr. Strangelove is a extremely smart A brilliant movie by Mr. Kubrick. Dr. Strangelove is a genuine black comedy that was crazy for that time and crazy for ours. The movie shines because of it's authenticity and the great and versatile acting by Peter Sellers. The movies name is a character in the movie obviously but he doesn't come into the picture until about an hour in. Dr. Strangelove is a extremely smart person but at the same time a nutter. He is from germany and mistakenly calls the president " Mein Fuhrer" a couple of times and his hand would start shooting up making the nazi hand gesture or signal if you will. Which did show the brilliant comedic virtues of Stanley Kubrick. Another fabulous adaptation from a novel. Expand
  69. JakeB.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    Easily one the the best films of all time, and, THE best comedy ever made. Only Kubrick could have made this film.
  70. kevinC.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    For those of you too young to recall or to lazy research the height of the Cold War, the movie is technically very accurate (unlike Fail-Safe). In fact, the equivalent of "Attack Plan R" still exists today(and we're still flying the same bombers and tankers --scary). Those of you who miss the bone dry humor are missing out. I used to show the scene where Peter Sellers is captured to For those of you too young to recall or to lazy research the height of the Cold War, the movie is technically very accurate (unlike Fail-Safe). In fact, the equivalent of "Attack Plan R" still exists today(and we're still flying the same bombers and tankers --scary). Those of you who miss the bone dry humor are missing out. I used to show the scene where Peter Sellers is captured to my troops, to show them how Americans are perceived, and I use quotes like -- "I don't think it's fair to condemn an entire program because of a single slip up." -- in business all the time. So, the delicious script, the fantastic camera work and lighting and the terrific characterizations make this a winner Boys, the world was a different place then; you have to slip into the millieu. Expand
  71. AustinS.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    This film is magnificent, somehow it is able to perfectly highlight the stupidity of mutually assured destruction, without showing pictures of ruined cities or people dying of radiation sickness. It never makes light of the situation and yet is able to remain funny, an extraordinary feat.
  72. NathanR
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    One of the great comedies of the 20th century. Absolutely perfect cast, superb acting. Regardless of what a few users have said, this movie is VERY funny. Of course it's not sex/fart/potty humor funny, which a suspect is why Charlie S, Arthur D, and JJ Moore did not like it. If you're into clever, satirical humor. . . If you appreciate good composition and framing. . . One of the great comedies of the 20th century. Absolutely perfect cast, superb acting. Regardless of what a few users have said, this movie is VERY funny. Of course it's not sex/fart/potty humor funny, which a suspect is why Charlie S, Arthur D, and JJ Moore did not like it. If you're into clever, satirical humor. . . If you appreciate good composition and framing. . . Strangelove is the movie for you. They don't make pictures like this anymore! Expand
  73. JamiesonM
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Charlie S, Please view films completely before you comment. I feel very sorry for you, and your complete lack of humour!
  74. CraigA.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Razor Sharp. A country that can consider Sarah Palin, a gun-totin' loon that "wouldn't blink" at War With Russia, as a vice-presidential candidate, REALLY needs to revisit material like Dr Strangelove!
  75. JamesM.
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    A powerful message to mankind in any era.
  76. leeb
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt *the* greatest satiric screenplay of the 20th Century, only less dark than the far more disturbing and blacker comedy of Silence of the Lambs. To understand Dr. Strangelove you have to understand a Cold War era when the likelihood of nuclear holocaust seemed imminent and anti-Communist paranoia was still running very high. You think Sarah Palin is bad? The script savagely Without a doubt *the* greatest satiric screenplay of the 20th Century, only less dark than the far more disturbing and blacker comedy of Silence of the Lambs. To understand Dr. Strangelove you have to understand a Cold War era when the likelihood of nuclear holocaust seemed imminent and anti-Communist paranoia was still running very high. You think Sarah Palin is bad? The script savagely lampoons the real post-McCarthy wing-nuttery of the age, from anti-fluoridation reactionary groups like the John Birch Society to real nuclear war advocates speaking flippantly of maximum body counts during a full-scale nuclear war. The script roasts them all and takes a good wide swing at a few other soft spots in American society -- the use of Nazi scientists (we got to the moon on the shoulders of non other than Verner von Braun's leadership), the anti-commie paranoia that bordered on psychosis (the McCarthy era was pretty bad), the euphemistic "Peace is Our Profession" whitewash of the DOD (which led us to millions of deaths in S.E. Asia) and so on. Strangelove takes it to the logical extreme in a sarcastic - even jugular - vein, demonstrating the inanity of anti-fluoridation paranoia via a psychotic general admitting his withholding ejaculation in defense of his precious bodily fluids. This is examined in relation to fluoridation and the various epigrammatic phrases peace on earth, preserve our essences and purity of essence also revealing to us the acronymic three-letter cipher prefix necessary to cancel the attack. Expand
  77. MarcelC
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    I would give it a 9.5, Dr. Strangelove should have appeared more in the movie. The acting is also awesome and the film have the black comedy, satirical and sometimes nonsense touch which is so difficult to find well placed in a movie nowadays.
  78. AaronF.
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    A classic. Kubrick at his best.
  79. CraigM
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    It's hard to beat the laughs in this movie, Sellers is in great form along with the rest of the cast. Dark comedy at its best!
  80. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    One of the funniest movies I think I have ever seen, Dr Strangelove remains fresh and consistenly hilarious almost fourty years on. A must see, and definitely one of my personal faves. You must see it.
  81. JimG.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    Perfect casting, perfect directing, brilliant camera work, superb script. Outstanding black comedy with some of the greatest scenes in cinema
  82. DaveS.
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    Simply the best movie ever made.
  83. ScottM
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    The funniest Kubrick ever was.
  84. JonL.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Freaking hilarious.
  85. TomP.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    I saw the film in a theater in 1964 when I was a 17 year old high school senior. I've watched it countless times since its release on DVD, second only to "Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back." Dr. Strangelove is, in fact, my number one movie of all time. Its incandescent black comedy is unsurpassed. No aspect of the film deserves less that a 10 rating: casting, acting, directing, I saw the film in a theater in 1964 when I was a 17 year old high school senior. I've watched it countless times since its release on DVD, second only to "Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back." Dr. Strangelove is, in fact, my number one movie of all time. Its incandescent black comedy is unsurpassed. No aspect of the film deserves less that a 10 rating: casting, acting, directing, staging, cinematography, editing, script -- all are virtually perfect. Kubrick's unflinching finale should shame many of today's film makers and cause the viewer to wonder what the appropriate response is: hopeless laughter or abject tears. Because of Kubrick's unmatched ability to produce period pieces that defy time, the film is as current today as it was 42 years ago. Even a casual movie buff should not miss this brilliiant but perfectly accessible masterpiece. Expand
  86. RussW.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    The most brilliant black comedy ever made. Features memorable performances by Sellers, George C. Scott, Sterling Hayden, and Slim Pickens. More classic scenes than I could count on both hands. A bizzare plot, but not as bizzare as the cold War doctrine of Mutually Assured Destruction (MAD) that it so effectively satirizes.
  87. JakeH.
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Stanley Kubrick's best film and one of my all time favs.
  88. PatrickB.
    Nov 18, 2008
    8
    It may have been unbelievable at the time and I will admit that it's still entertaining but giving this movie over an 8 seems a bit much.
  89. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    kubrick's most important and (in my opinion) most enjoyable film. Was, and maybe still is, years ahead of its time. hilarious and unmatched dark comedy (closest runner up is Fargo).
  90. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    Kubrick's black comedy is both hilarious and shockingly intelligent. Peter Sellers turns in the best comedic performance of all time(imo) in his portrayal of three surprisingly different characters. The whole movie is a satire on nuclear war, paranoia and how governments were run during the Cold War. While there are many iconic moments, Kong riding the bomb and the fight in the War Room,Kubrick's black comedy is both hilarious and shockingly intelligent. Peter Sellers turns in the best comedic performance of all time(imo) in his portrayal of three surprisingly different characters. The whole movie is a satire on nuclear war, paranoia and how governments were run during the Cold War. While there are many iconic moments, Kong riding the bomb and the fight in the War Room, Sellers' portrayal of the former Nazi Dr. Strangelove is genius and the he's the real star of the movie. Combine that to a great performance from George C. Scott, brilliant direction from Kubrick and quick pacing and Dr. Strangelove might be the best comedy of all time, and is of the best movies ever made. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 100
    A masterpiece... The genius of Dr. Strangelove is that it's possible to laugh -- and laugh hard -- while still recognizing the intelligence and insight behind the humor.
  2. Reviewed by: Bosley Crowther
    70
    The ultimate touch of ghoulish humor is when we see the bomb actually going off, dropped on some point in Russia, and a jazzy sound track comes in with a cheerful melodic rendition of "We'll Meet Again Some Sunny Day." Somehow, to me, it isn't funny. It is malefic and sick.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    100
    The film is a model of barely controlled hysteria in which the absurdity of hypermasculine Cold War posturing becomes devastatingly funny--and at the same time nightmarishly frightening in its accuracy.