Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 29, 1964
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 582 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
506
Mixed:
20
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DavidS.Jul 27, 2009
Dr Strangelove is the comedy version of the movie Failsafe,where a Churchillian typeNeoconservative advisor to the Defense Department(sound familer?)played by Walter Matthue advises an all out attack on the Soviet Union,when a B-52 Dr Strangelove is the comedy version of the movie Failsafe,where a Churchillian typeNeoconservative advisor to the Defense Department(sound familer?)played by Walter Matthue advises an all out attack on the Soviet Union,when a B-52 mistakenly crosses into Russian airspace during a war game.Kuburick refreshingly does do the left-right cliches in Strangelove.The Red menace was rattling sabers all over the globe in that period,from erecting the Berlin Wall,Cuba,SothEast Asia.The famous German scientists-Von Braun,Dornberger,Oberth,Rudolf were always in the headlies while they ran NASA.We see the British officer protrayed hilariously by Sellersas well.The President is the personification of Adlai Stevenson.All of this makes the film both topical,and timeless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyApr 29, 2006
A brilliant movie by Mr. Kubrick. Dr. Strangelove is a genuine black comedy that was crazy for that time and crazy for ours. The movie shines because of it's authenticity and the great and versatile acting by Peter Sellers. The movies A brilliant movie by Mr. Kubrick. Dr. Strangelove is a genuine black comedy that was crazy for that time and crazy for ours. The movie shines because of it's authenticity and the great and versatile acting by Peter Sellers. The movies name is a character in the movie obviously but he doesn't come into the picture until about an hour in. Dr. Strangelove is a extremely smart person but at the same time a nutter. He is from germany and mistakenly calls the president " Mein Fuhrer" a couple of times and his hand would start shooting up making the nazi hand gesture or signal if you will. Which did show the brilliant comedic virtues of Stanley Kubrick. Another fabulous adaptation from a novel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Aug 11, 2006
Easily one the the best films of all time, and, THE best comedy ever made. Only Kubrick could have made this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinC.Oct 3, 2007
For those of you too young to recall or to lazy research the height of the Cold War, the movie is technically very accurate (unlike Fail-Safe). In fact, the equivalent of "Attack Plan R" still exists today(and we're still flying the For those of you too young to recall or to lazy research the height of the Cold War, the movie is technically very accurate (unlike Fail-Safe). In fact, the equivalent of "Attack Plan R" still exists today(and we're still flying the same bombers and tankers --scary). Those of you who miss the bone dry humor are missing out. I used to show the scene where Peter Sellers is captured to my troops, to show them how Americans are perceived, and I use quotes like -- "I don't think it's fair to condemn an entire program because of a single slip up." -- in business all the time. So, the delicious script, the fantastic camera work and lighting and the terrific characterizations make this a winner Boys, the world was a different place then; you have to slip into the millieu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinS.Nov 10, 2008
This film is magnificent, somehow it is able to perfectly highlight the stupidity of mutually assured destruction, without showing pictures of ruined cities or people dying of radiation sickness. It never makes light of the situation and yet This film is magnificent, somehow it is able to perfectly highlight the stupidity of mutually assured destruction, without showing pictures of ruined cities or people dying of radiation sickness. It never makes light of the situation and yet is able to remain funny, an extraordinary feat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanROct 25, 2008
One of the great comedies of the 20th century. Absolutely perfect cast, superb acting. Regardless of what a few users have said, this movie is VERY funny. Of course it's not sex/fart/potty humor funny, which a suspect is why Charlie S, One of the great comedies of the 20th century. Absolutely perfect cast, superb acting. Regardless of what a few users have said, this movie is VERY funny. Of course it's not sex/fart/potty humor funny, which a suspect is why Charlie S, Arthur D, and JJ Moore did not like it. If you're into clever, satirical humor. . . If you appreciate good composition and framing. . . Strangelove is the movie for you. They don't make pictures like this anymore! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamiesonMJul 17, 2008
Charlie S, Please view films completely before you comment. I feel very sorry for you, and your complete lack of humour!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigA.Sep 12, 2008
Razor Sharp. A country that can consider Sarah Palin, a gun-totin' loon that "wouldn't blink" at War With Russia, as a vice-presidential candidate, REALLY needs to revisit material like Dr Strangelove!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Feb 13, 2009
A powerful message to mankind in any era.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leebApr 7, 2009
Without a doubt *the* greatest satiric screenplay of the 20th Century, only less dark than the far more disturbing and blacker comedy of Silence of the Lambs. To understand Dr. Strangelove you have to understand a Cold War era when the Without a doubt *the* greatest satiric screenplay of the 20th Century, only less dark than the far more disturbing and blacker comedy of Silence of the Lambs. To understand Dr. Strangelove you have to understand a Cold War era when the likelihood of nuclear holocaust seemed imminent and anti-Communist paranoia was still running very high. You think Sarah Palin is bad? The script savagely lampoons the real post-McCarthy wing-nuttery of the age, from anti-fluoridation reactionary groups like the John Birch Society to real nuclear war advocates speaking flippantly of maximum body counts during a full-scale nuclear war. The script roasts them all and takes a good wide swing at a few other soft spots in American society -- the use of Nazi scientists (we got to the moon on the shoulders of non other than Verner von Braun's leadership), the anti-commie paranoia that bordered on psychosis (the McCarthy era was pretty bad), the euphemistic "Peace is Our Profession" whitewash of the DOD (which led us to millions of deaths in S.E. Asia) and so on. Strangelove takes it to the logical extreme in a sarcastic - even jugular - vein, demonstrating the inanity of anti-fluoridation paranoia via a psychotic general admitting his withholding ejaculation in defense of his precious bodily fluids. This is examined in relation to fluoridation and the various epigrammatic phrases peace on earth, preserve our essences and purity of essence also revealing to us the acronymic three-letter cipher prefix necessary to cancel the attack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcelCJul 6, 2009
I would give it a 9.5, Dr. Strangelove should have appeared more in the movie. The acting is also awesome and the film have the black comedy, satirical and sometimes nonsense touch which is so difficult to find well placed in a movie nowadays.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
One of the funniest movies I think I have ever seen, Dr Strangelove remains fresh and consistenly hilarious almost fourty years on. A must see, and definitely one of my personal faves. You must see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimG.Nov 28, 2005
Perfect casting, perfect directing, brilliant camera work, superb script. Outstanding black comedy with some of the greatest scenes in cinema
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonL.Dec 29, 2006
Freaking hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomP.Jun 16, 2006
I saw the film in a theater in 1964 when I was a 17 year old high school senior. I've watched it countless times since its release on DVD, second only to "Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back." Dr. Strangelove is, in fact, my number one I saw the film in a theater in 1964 when I was a 17 year old high school senior. I've watched it countless times since its release on DVD, second only to "Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back." Dr. Strangelove is, in fact, my number one movie of all time. Its incandescent black comedy is unsurpassed. No aspect of the film deserves less that a 10 rating: casting, acting, directing, staging, cinematography, editing, script -- all are virtually perfect. Kubrick's unflinching finale should shame many of today's film makers and cause the viewer to wonder what the appropriate response is: hopeless laughter or abject tears. Because of Kubrick's unmatched ability to produce period pieces that defy time, the film is as current today as it was 42 years ago. Even a casual movie buff should not miss this brilliiant but perfectly accessible masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RussW.Apr 26, 2008
The most brilliant black comedy ever made. Features memorable performances by Sellers, George C. Scott, Sterling Hayden, and Slim Pickens. More classic scenes than I could count on both hands. A bizzare plot, but not as bizzare as the cold The most brilliant black comedy ever made. Features memorable performances by Sellers, George C. Scott, Sterling Hayden, and Slim Pickens. More classic scenes than I could count on both hands. A bizzare plot, but not as bizzare as the cold War doctrine of Mutually Assured Destruction (MAD) that it so effectively satirizes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeH.Nov 13, 2005
Stanley Kubrick's best film and one of my all time favs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickB.Nov 18, 2008
It may have been unbelievable at the time and I will admit that it's still entertaining but giving this movie over an 8 seems a bit much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarwinNov 16, 2011
You really can't rave too much about Kubric's black comedy. After all these years, it still resonates both comically and politically. Recently, I've been showing my Ukranian girlfriend my favorite movies. Some of my selections haven'tYou really can't rave too much about Kubric's black comedy. After all these years, it still resonates both comically and politically. Recently, I've been showing my Ukranian girlfriend my favorite movies. Some of my selections haven't held up as well as others (i.e. National Lampoon's Vacation). Dr. Strangelove was as fresh as the first time that I viewed it...30 years ago. The only negative thing that I learned was that the Soviet ambassador's (Alexei de Sadeski) Russian wasn't authentic. On the positive side, he (Sadeski) realized that Soviet Premier Dimitri Kisov was drunk because Kisov ordered Sadeski to kill the president (in Russian). If you enjoy black comedies, then you must see this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
Great performances.. great story.... great humor... great directing.... top 10 for me

*high point* Sterling Haydens performance - he was so spot on and how he could deliver that ridiculous (in the best way) dialog that way was amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chocolatekissMar 1, 2011
This is my #1 movie of all time. Funniest movie there is. It was a spoof on another movie which actually makes it funnier. During one of Dr. Strangelove's speeches an actor in the background can barely contain himself. Slim Pickens had meThis is my #1 movie of all time. Funniest movie there is. It was a spoof on another movie which actually makes it funnier. During one of Dr. Strangelove's speeches an actor in the background can barely contain himself. Slim Pickens had me laughing like anything. Peter Sellers plays three parts, Strangelove, the President and the English Officer. George C. Scott was incredibly funny. Each character is a gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There has never been a funnier movie. I can't tell you how many times I have watched this. Peter Sellers, George C. Scott, Slim Pickens were all genius and all the supporting actors were perfect. "I've never seen such behavior in the war room." One of the funniest lines in the movie. One of the funniest scenes is Slim Pickens riding the missile. Although it is a black comedy it is not gross or depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ImUnavailableMar 6, 2012
An uncompromising insight into the us versus them Cold War mentality, its impact strengthened by Kubrick's clever satire. The movie contains three different but equally satisfying stories that examine war on a personal and political level.An uncompromising insight into the us versus them Cold War mentality, its impact strengthened by Kubrick's clever satire. The movie contains three different but equally satisfying stories that examine war on a personal and political level. This is an intelligent and bold film that highlights the paranoia and ridiculousness of the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGeniusJun 17, 2011
People usually overlook how funny Kubrick films are, but Dr. Strangelove, The Killing, Barry Lyndon and Full Metal Jacket are all rich in timeless comedy, dark as that comedy might be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDaveHimselfJun 29, 2011
Kubrick has never had a problem dazzling his audience or at least making them wince, but Dr. Strangelove shows the director in strange form. Who knew the Cold War could be this hilarious? The always fantastic performances by Peter Sellers areKubrick has never had a problem dazzling his audience or at least making them wince, but Dr. Strangelove shows the director in strange form. Who knew the Cold War could be this hilarious? The always fantastic performances by Peter Sellers are worth it alone (and you get three of them). Along with George C. Scott, this is truly an unforgettable film. If you aren't laughing than greater work is needed. The greatest truths are in comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BillMarloJun 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dr Strangelove is regarded as being the 14th greatest movie of all time (to see my IMDb list depicting it go to http://www.imdb.com/list/jcBWwJSOLX8/ ) It is regarded as such for its groundbreaking intitiative and its comedic senses. When the bomb went off at the end and "We'll Meet Again Some Sunny Day" started playing I laughed out loud. Love the bomb everybody. Love. The. Bomb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 31, 2011
Another Fantastic Movie of Stanley Kubrick, Peter Sellers did a great job with all of his characters, especially Dr. strangelove, the ending scene was very interesting and original. I like it very much, it's my favourite movie of stanley kubrick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SpacePopeSep 4, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb is a war thriller, turned into a satire of the absurdity of the cold war and one of cinemas greatest dark comedies. The film depicts an unbalanced General Jack D. Ripper, who has sent his squadron of B-52 bombers to attack their designated targets inside Russia, having forged orders from Washington. Once the government finds out, they convene to figure out how to stop the General and return the bombers from of enemy territory. If they do not succeed, they are faced with the terrible power of the Doomsday Device. A weapon that's soul purpose is mutually assured destruction. I could see that as a plausible thriller. Instead, Kubrik took the film another direction saying, "After all, what could be more absurd than the very idea of two mega powers willing to wipe out all human life because of an accident, spiced up by political differences that will seem as meaningless to people a hundred years from now as the theological conflicts of the Middle Ages appear to us today." Perhaps what is darkest about this comedy is just how plausible it was becoming in it's day. Made in 1964, the country was tense and in mourning. Only 2 years previously, the United States had looked down the barrel of total nuclear commitment during the Cuban Missile Crisis. And it was still reeling over the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. The only certainty was that nothing was certain. What began as fanciful musing became a question of: "What if"? The film was nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Actor for Peter Sellers. Peter Sellers gives an impressive performance as not only one character, but as three: British officer Mandrake, Predsident Muffly, and Dr. Strangelove. His performance is so well done that the casual movie goer would most likely never know he plays all three parts. If you are into Kubrik, dark comedies, or just good cinema then check this out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
This movie might be a little overrated by today's standards, but it is still very enjoyable. It has the perfect mixture of smart and idiotic humor. The writing is brilliant. The acting is amazing, especially that of Sellers. It really is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCNov 22, 2011
This is what i called i great black humor movie, if i can bring some person from dead that would be Stanley Kubrick, this movie show that he was a **** genius , mixing drama and humor in such a perfect way, i must give it 10 because i can notThis is what i called i great black humor movie, if i can bring some person from dead that would be Stanley Kubrick, this movie show that he was a **** genius , mixing drama and humor in such a perfect way, i must give it 10 because i can not give it a 100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews