Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 29, 1964
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 567 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
494
Mixed:
17
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
Dr. Strangelove is very simply one of the best films ever made. It easily takes the title of best comedy film. Wickedly smart and satirical, Dr. Strangelove still very much applies to the present day situation, 47 years later. SuperblyDr. Strangelove is very simply one of the best films ever made. It easily takes the title of best comedy film. Wickedly smart and satirical, Dr. Strangelove still very much applies to the present day situation, 47 years later. Superbly acted, well written, and directed by the great Kubrick, Strangelove delivers everything you could want from a movie: humor, drama, history, and a main character with Alien Hand Syndrome. No matter what kind of movies you like, Dr. Strangelove is for you. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
JayH.Sep 8, 2008
A brilliant black comedy, one of the best ever. The performances are sublime, especially George C. Scott. The direction is so on target. The writing is among the best ever. Superb in every way.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MartinLMay 21, 2009
Peter Sellers gave a great performance in all the roles he played in this movie, but George C. Scott stole the show. This movie is a great glimpse into the paranoia of the Cold War. It is an example of how powerful a comedy can be If done right.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
A satirical masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Apr 2, 2006
Being only fourteen years old, most of my friends found the movie dull. I, however, found the movie to be the greatest comedy I have ever seen, easily surpassing other critically-aclaimed works of other genres (cough... the Godfather). It Being only fourteen years old, most of my friends found the movie dull. I, however, found the movie to be the greatest comedy I have ever seen, easily surpassing other critically-aclaimed works of other genres (cough... the Godfather). It makes a statement about the workings of our government which is as true now as it was in their time. (Truer? Bush.) The wit is still sharp, and the movie feels much less lethargic than other slow-moving classics (cough... the Godfather). You must see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JosefK.Feb 21, 2007
The greatest movie ever made. Sorry Godfather & Citizen Kane, that's just the way it has to be.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaW.Jul 14, 2003
One of the best from one of the best.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ColossusAug 16, 2010
A Hollywood classic, Kubrick is a movie mastermind there is so many redeeming qualities in this movie. The acting was above par and There is no other movie out there that takes itself so serious but not so serious at the same time, there is aA Hollywood classic, Kubrick is a movie mastermind there is so many redeeming qualities in this movie. The acting was above par and There is no other movie out there that takes itself so serious but not so serious at the same time, there is a lot of comedic values in here strung over a very serious plot, It's hard to tell exactly what it is. This movie will have you in awe one second and you will laugh the next. I have never seen anything like it and I doubt I ever will again. One of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Bob_LoblawMay 1, 2014
Greatest satirical comedy film ever made, as well as the funniest death scene. **** Metacritic's outrageous rule of a minimum 150 characters.

Kubrick is the ****
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
It's not just one of Kubrick's best, it's one of the greatest comedies ever made. Black Comedy about Cold War Paranoia? Oh Come on. What else could you wan't from a film?
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Nesbitt10Dec 18, 2012
Stanley Kurbrick's brillant satire on the cold war is widely considered one of the funniest movies in cinematic history. A lone general gone mad gives the green light launching an A-Bomb attack on Russia, and the President now (Sellers) mustStanley Kurbrick's brillant satire on the cold war is widely considered one of the funniest movies in cinematic history. A lone general gone mad gives the green light launching an A-Bomb attack on Russia, and the President now (Sellers) must pull out all the stops to prevent this. This dark comedy is shot entirely in black and white with terrific production design. Astutely, Kubrick focuses on the actual nuclear event in itself, thus removing the issues of foreign politics. The films message simply put its this; man is not at the mercey of machines,but it in fact it's just the opposite. Petter Sellers is sensational playing several roles and the film has stood the test of time remaining undated. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NF123Aug 23, 2010
Feels like 2 movies in 1, the segments on the plane and in the air force base are largely solemn and serious, the War room however is comical and insane. But this works well as it conveys what the film is about, the lunacy of politicians andFeels like 2 movies in 1, the segments on the plane and in the air force base are largely solemn and serious, the War room however is comical and insane. But this works well as it conveys what the film is about, the lunacy of politicians and the effects of beaurocracy. Dr Strangelove himself only appears in the latter half of the film but god does Peter Sellers do a good job! In all 3 of his roles. It's a pity everyone knows the ending though because it's been done to death in popular culture (Along with the famous line "Mein Fuhrer! I can walk!" one of the funniest in history. However I will say the 5 minutes before the famous segment with major Kong is i think one of the best 5 minutes in cinematic history, especially with the countdown, of sorts. It is truly one of the most tense few minutes I've ever seen and the acting is brilliant! The look on their faces as they approach the target in almost too real. It deserves all of the praise it gets without doubt! Peter Sellers, you are one of the greats! Along of course with Kubrick Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaJan 27, 2012
A film that is a true masterpiece. It has it all; comedy,suspense and a well told story. The film truly shows how silly people in goverment can be. Not trying to say this is what actually happened during the cold war although I do have aA film that is a true masterpiece. It has it all; comedy,suspense and a well told story. The film truly shows how silly people in goverment can be. Not trying to say this is what actually happened during the cold war although I do have a suspicion. Overall an unbelievable film which could never be created today because of people's longing of a happy ending. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
ArthurD.Dec 23, 2006
I honestly don't get why this movie is being hyped so much. I watched it because everyone seems to be so positive about it, but this movie was so boring that I wanted to put it off halfways. It's absolutely NOT funny, or maybe I I honestly don't get why this movie is being hyped so much. I watched it because everyone seems to be so positive about it, but this movie was so boring that I wanted to put it off halfways. It's absolutely NOT funny, or maybe I just don't have any humor...or maybe you're all jumping on the bandwagon. I know that there are a lot of Kubrick fans out there who love everything that he has made, just because he made it! If it had been made by somebody else everyone would have disliked this movie! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
5
ArnROct 16, 2005
What an over rated movie! I give it a 5 only because I love most of Kubrick's work. If you want the real deal, without the comedy, catch Sydney Lumet's Fail Safe.
3 of 14 users found this helpful
1
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
One of the most overrated movies of all time. I think I chuckled or smiled once or twice. Mostly I was trying not to fall asleep.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
CharlieS.May 17, 2007
Anyone who has given this a 10 must have no taste at all, or are followers to the point of being lemmings. I own this movie, and I have never made it all the way through because it is sooooooooo boring. Now now, before you go ape, I do enjoy Anyone who has given this a 10 must have no taste at all, or are followers to the point of being lemmings. I own this movie, and I have never made it all the way through because it is sooooooooo boring. Now now, before you go ape, I do enjoy most classic movies; but in the case of this pile, where is this "black comedy" everyone refers to? There is not a single funny moment in this movie. Who are you people that think this is laughable at any point? The funniest thing to me is how much people force themselves to love Kubrick. His movies are self important slop. Let the stones fly! Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful
2
JJMooreNov 20, 2005
This was the most disturbing movie, I have ever seen. The ending was quickly done, while some comedic elements existed, nothing to keep the movie going.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
7
marshallm.Nov 4, 2005
I was too confused to really like it. it didn't make sense, maybe it would to ppl who knew about the war and all that stuff back then, but i don't. i admired it alot though, and there was some very good genius moments of comedy. I was too confused to really like it. it didn't make sense, maybe it would to ppl who knew about the war and all that stuff back then, but i don't. i admired it alot though, and there was some very good genius moments of comedy. but like i said, maybe it would have been better and funnier to me if i knew what was so ironic, and the satirycal. its one of those films you just gotta see for yourself. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
FrederickS.Sep 21, 2005
Dosen't deserve it's reputation.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Stanley Kubrick's black comedy about cold war paranoia.
Peter Sellars is outstanding (I'm not a big fan) although mainly for President Muffley & Cpt Mandrake rather than Strangelove himself.
The rest of the cast ham it up quite well but
Stanley Kubrick's black comedy about cold war paranoia.
Peter Sellars is outstanding (I'm not a big fan) although mainly for President Muffley & Cpt Mandrake rather than Strangelove himself.
The rest of the cast ham it up quite well but didn't think it was as funny as a lot of people make out.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Kubrickâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
EitanN.Oct 7, 2003
Even it is an old movie I enjoyed it and I usually don't like old movies. smart movie and makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelI.Jul 10, 2003
Kubrick is a genius!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancoisM.Jul 17, 2003
Brilliant! Black humour at its best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickHJun 22, 2005
Kubrick's best film (it deserved more than 4 ocscar nods and it should have won those 4). A true classic in every regard. He pulled me in with 2001: A Space Odyssey, he won me over with Clockwork Orange, he suprised my with Spartacus, Kubrick's best film (it deserved more than 4 ocscar nods and it should have won those 4). A true classic in every regard. He pulled me in with 2001: A Space Odyssey, he won me over with Clockwork Orange, he suprised my with Spartacus, and he made himself my favorite director of all time with this masterpiece. Everyone I know has seen Full Metal Jacket (some can even quote it word for word). I ask them "Ya know Stanely Kubrick....... the director? You know..." and all I get is a blank stare. It's really shocking that no one seems to know who he is but they know who directed stuff like Barbershop. He never got his just reward for being better than Speilberg (love Saving Private Ryan, hated ET thought), better than Woody Allen (hated Annie Hall, loved Sleeper), or even better than Mr. Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby = Random Oscar movie... Aviator rocked, Scorsese). To bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleA.Oct 11, 2003
No fighting in the war room.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeN.Aug 9, 2003
Essential. The best black comedy ever made. It is as serious as it is funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
The Cold War theme is unavoidably dated but Kubrick's conceptualization of lustful barbarism at the core of our pompous civilization is as brilliant, true, and daring as ever. Great comic performances, from the sly Peter Sellars to the The Cold War theme is unavoidably dated but Kubrick's conceptualization of lustful barbarism at the core of our pompous civilization is as brilliant, true, and daring as ever. Great comic performances, from the sly Peter Sellars to the clownish Slim Pickens. A nuclear war comedy... who could have brought it off other than Kubrick? Perhaps the finest satire from Hollywood other than the Manchurian Candidate. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Oct 25, 2004
How can you not dig a movie this groovy, baby? People who don't like this movie are Communists, there's something screwy with their fluids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful