Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 29, 1964
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 571 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
497
Mixed:
18
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EitanN.Oct 7, 2003
Even it is an old movie I enjoyed it and I usually don't like old movies. smart movie and makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancoisM.Jul 17, 2003
Brilliant! Black humour at its best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickHJun 22, 2005
Kubrick's best film (it deserved more than 4 ocscar nods and it should have won those 4). A true classic in every regard. He pulled me in with 2001: A Space Odyssey, he won me over with Clockwork Orange, he suprised my with Spartacus, Kubrick's best film (it deserved more than 4 ocscar nods and it should have won those 4). A true classic in every regard. He pulled me in with 2001: A Space Odyssey, he won me over with Clockwork Orange, he suprised my with Spartacus, and he made himself my favorite director of all time with this masterpiece. Everyone I know has seen Full Metal Jacket (some can even quote it word for word). I ask them "Ya know Stanely Kubrick....... the director? You know..." and all I get is a blank stare. It's really shocking that no one seems to know who he is but they know who directed stuff like Barbershop. He never got his just reward for being better than Speilberg (love Saving Private Ryan, hated ET thought), better than Woody Allen (hated Annie Hall, loved Sleeper), or even better than Mr. Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby = Random Oscar movie... Aviator rocked, Scorsese). To bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayH.Sep 8, 2008
A brilliant black comedy, one of the best ever. The performances are sublime, especially George C. Scott. The direction is so on target. The writing is among the best ever. Superb in every way.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MartinLMay 21, 2009
Peter Sellers gave a great performance in all the roles he played in this movie, but George C. Scott stole the show. This movie is a great glimpse into the paranoia of the Cold War. It is an example of how powerful a comedy can be If done right.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
A satirical masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KyleA.Oct 11, 2003
No fighting in the war room.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeN.Aug 9, 2003
Essential. The best black comedy ever made. It is as serious as it is funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
The Cold War theme is unavoidably dated but Kubrick's conceptualization of lustful barbarism at the core of our pompous civilization is as brilliant, true, and daring as ever. Great comic performances, from the sly Peter Sellars to the The Cold War theme is unavoidably dated but Kubrick's conceptualization of lustful barbarism at the core of our pompous civilization is as brilliant, true, and daring as ever. Great comic performances, from the sly Peter Sellars to the clownish Slim Pickens. A nuclear war comedy... who could have brought it off other than Kubrick? Perhaps the finest satire from Hollywood other than the Manchurian Candidate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Oct 25, 2004
How can you not dig a movie this groovy, baby? People who don't like this movie are Communists, there's something screwy with their fluids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolineNov 20, 2005
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanceR.Nov 30, 2005
If I were to recognize this film as a work of 'genius', then I would be making allusions to my own ability to identify genius, thus implying a capacity to relate to what it is to actually possess genius. It would hence be If I were to recognize this film as a work of 'genius', then I would be making allusions to my own ability to identify genius, thus implying a capacity to relate to what it is to actually possess genius. It would hence be impossible for me to express my feelings on this film without seeming a bit pretentious. But is it not pretentious to fear appearing pretentious? In the end, I simply can't betray my desire to praise this film, even if it means I'm a pretentious genius. So be warned; watching this film will forever transform you into a pretentious genius (or a critic), if you are not already a member of that caste. It is that powerful. And there's absolutely nothing wrong with that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 28, 2005
Ok Kubrick is a marvellous director but please do not deny Sellers his just reward. He was the greatest comedy genius of all time and there will never be anybody like him again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Apr 2, 2006
Being only fourteen years old, most of my friends found the movie dull. I, however, found the movie to be the greatest comedy I have ever seen, easily surpassing other critically-aclaimed works of other genres (cough... the Godfather). It Being only fourteen years old, most of my friends found the movie dull. I, however, found the movie to be the greatest comedy I have ever seen, easily surpassing other critically-aclaimed works of other genres (cough... the Godfather). It makes a statement about the workings of our government which is as true now as it was in their time. (Truer? Bush.) The wit is still sharp, and the movie feels much less lethargic than other slow-moving classics (cough... the Godfather). You must see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BrianH.Jan 6, 2007
The reason I became a Kubrick fan in the first place. Who else could carry off "nucular" war as a satirical comedy. Numbr 2 on my all time favorite list, just behind Casablanca.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosefK.Feb 21, 2007
The greatest movie ever made. Sorry Godfather & Citizen Kane, that's just the way it has to be.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JonathanR.Feb 9, 2008
"Like fryin' chickens in the barnyard!!" I could strap in Clockwork Orange-style and watch this movie for the rest of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SlimP.Jun 7, 2008
To the reviewers who do not understand a classic satire, this film was FILMED in 1962-1963 during the PEAK of the Cold War. ITs a politically oriented film at the ludicrous idea of "Total Thermonuclear Commitment" of nuclear arms being To the reviewers who do not understand a classic satire, this film was FILMED in 1962-1963 during the PEAK of the Cold War. ITs a politically oriented film at the ludicrous idea of "Total Thermonuclear Commitment" of nuclear arms being spewed out by the Neo Conservative right wing of the Republican Party at the time. Please keep it in contexts to all the young dumbed down movie goers who don't know what GOOD is anymore. This movie is one of the ones who truly deserves a 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBobJun 25, 2009
This was a great movie. Don't listen to lee b. werner von brauhn might have been german, but he was a great man, and led our country into the future of space exploration.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Jul 27, 2009
Dr Strangelove is the comedy version of the movie Failsafe,where a Churchillian typeNeoconservative advisor to the Defense Department(sound familer?)played by Walter Matthue advises an all out attack on the Soviet Union,when a B-52 Dr Strangelove is the comedy version of the movie Failsafe,where a Churchillian typeNeoconservative advisor to the Defense Department(sound familer?)played by Walter Matthue advises an all out attack on the Soviet Union,when a B-52 mistakenly crosses into Russian airspace during a war game.Kuburick refreshingly does do the left-right cliches in Strangelove.The Red menace was rattling sabers all over the globe in that period,from erecting the Berlin Wall,Cuba,SothEast Asia.The famous German scientists-Von Braun,Dornberger,Oberth,Rudolf were always in the headlies while they ran NASA.We see the British officer protrayed hilariously by Sellersas well.The President is the personification of Adlai Stevenson.All of this makes the film both topical,and timeless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Dec 1, 2003
I first saw this as a 15-year-old Air Force dependent. I was an avid reader of Mad Magazine while living in various military jurisdictions. I understood this was a very special film because it called bullshit on the cold war. No one laughed I first saw this as a 15-year-old Air Force dependent. I was an avid reader of Mad Magazine while living in various military jurisdictions. I understood this was a very special film because it called bullshit on the cold war. No one laughed harder than the very people who flew, serviced and commanded the planes, who were at the time sitting in the theatre with me. This is the film Kubrick got away with. Once he saw he didn't have to compromise his artistic vision to succeed, he never looked back. Look what followed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMulroneycakes,OrHowILearnedToLoveBrevityInNJul 13, 2003
Absolute class. Take a look at the NY Times link; it's from 1964 itself and is as interesting in its own way as the film is. Only problem with the film is the abrupt ending: the final scene in the War Room seems a little...mistimed. Absolute class. Take a look at the NY Times link; it's from 1964 itself and is as interesting in its own way as the film is. Only problem with the film is the abrupt ending: the final scene in the War Room seems a little...mistimed. Tiny niggle though. This is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaW.Jul 14, 2003
One of the best from one of the best.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BuckT.Dec 10, 2004
Arguably the greatest comedy every, from arguably the greatest director ever ... the performances are top notch and the subject matter cuts to the quick. It answers the question "how do you make people laugh about what terrifies them most?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Jan 24, 2004
Ingenious satire! One of the funniest ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Jan 28, 2005
This is one of the greatest and one of the most awe inspiring films that has ever been made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyApr 29, 2006
A brilliant movie by Mr. Kubrick. Dr. Strangelove is a genuine black comedy that was crazy for that time and crazy for ours. The movie shines because of it's authenticity and the great and versatile acting by Peter Sellers. The movies A brilliant movie by Mr. Kubrick. Dr. Strangelove is a genuine black comedy that was crazy for that time and crazy for ours. The movie shines because of it's authenticity and the great and versatile acting by Peter Sellers. The movies name is a character in the movie obviously but he doesn't come into the picture until about an hour in. Dr. Strangelove is a extremely smart person but at the same time a nutter. He is from germany and mistakenly calls the president " Mein Fuhrer" a couple of times and his hand would start shooting up making the nazi hand gesture or signal if you will. Which did show the brilliant comedic virtues of Stanley Kubrick. Another fabulous adaptation from a novel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Aug 11, 2006
Easily one the the best films of all time, and, THE best comedy ever made. Only Kubrick could have made this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinC.Oct 3, 2007
For those of you too young to recall or to lazy research the height of the Cold War, the movie is technically very accurate (unlike Fail-Safe). In fact, the equivalent of "Attack Plan R" still exists today(and we're still flying the For those of you too young to recall or to lazy research the height of the Cold War, the movie is technically very accurate (unlike Fail-Safe). In fact, the equivalent of "Attack Plan R" still exists today(and we're still flying the same bombers and tankers --scary). Those of you who miss the bone dry humor are missing out. I used to show the scene where Peter Sellers is captured to my troops, to show them how Americans are perceived, and I use quotes like -- "I don't think it's fair to condemn an entire program because of a single slip up." -- in business all the time. So, the delicious script, the fantastic camera work and lighting and the terrific characterizations make this a winner Boys, the world was a different place then; you have to slip into the millieu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinS.Nov 10, 2008
This film is magnificent, somehow it is able to perfectly highlight the stupidity of mutually assured destruction, without showing pictures of ruined cities or people dying of radiation sickness. It never makes light of the situation and yet This film is magnificent, somehow it is able to perfectly highlight the stupidity of mutually assured destruction, without showing pictures of ruined cities or people dying of radiation sickness. It never makes light of the situation and yet is able to remain funny, an extraordinary feat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful