Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: On the day of the NFL Draft, general manager Sonny Weaver (Kevin Costner) has the opportunity to save football in Cleveland when he trades for the number one pick. He must quickly decide what he's willing to sacrifice in pursuit of perfection as the lines between his personal andOn the day of the NFL Draft, general manager Sonny Weaver (Kevin Costner) has the opportunity to save football in Cleveland when he trades for the number one pick. He must quickly decide what he's willing to sacrifice in pursuit of perfection as the lines between his personal and professional life become blurred on a life-changing day for a few hundred young men with dreams of playing in the NFL. [Summit Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    75
    The film earns some big laughs, but it never sacrifices character for a punchline.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Apr 10, 2014
    75
    A sentimental, predictable, sometimes implausible but thoroughly entertaining, old-fashioned piece.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 10, 2014
    70
    This isn't so much a movie about sports as it is a riff on politics in the broad sense of the word, and the ways in which smart, insightful people play along to get along -- and then change the game for the better by following their gut.
  4. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Apr 9, 2014
    61
    While Draft Day is a very agreeable and predictable movie, it is also very timely.
  5. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 16, 2014
    50
    This literal-minded movie sells old pieties and washes away fear so thoroughly that it creates a new kind of fantasy, in which all's right with a very troubled world. [21 April 2014, p.110]
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    I don’t really buy Draft Day — it’s a shallow and evasive movie, built more around corporate wish fulfillment than around reality — but I have to say that it sells itself beautifully.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 10, 2014
    20
    Haven’t Cleveland fans suffered enough? Not only have they never won a Super Bowl, but now the Browns serve as the center of Ivan Reitman’s painfully creaky sports drama.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    I loved this movie. We were picking a movie based on the time it started, therefore, we didn't pick this movie with any expectations. WeI loved this movie. We were picking a movie based on the time it started, therefore, we didn't pick this movie with any expectations. We didn't even know this was the first weekend out. It was great seeing the cities matched to their football stadiums to set up a scene along with the crazy sports fans who take everything so seriously. I also now know why other people get so excited about draft day. The movie explains in almost simple terms, how draft day goes about for those of us who don't know much about football. I don't mind the embellishments or improbability of some of the situations. After all, it's a movie, not a documentary. The basic facts of a draft day were presented in a very highly entertaining manner and that's why I go to movies. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    First a disclaimer, I am a "draftnick" therefore the subject matter was of interest; however, I believe NON National Football League orientedFirst a disclaimer, I am a "draftnick" therefore the subject matter was of interest; however, I believe NON National Football League oriented individuals could enjoy this movie. The drama that was generated kept the viewer looking for where and when "twists" would become part of the story. The actors were solid with no one going over the top. The involving of actual drafts and the excitement its creates for its rapid fans helps explain why a non-sport event generate so much interest and passion. The movie showed the depth of research that is done team's player selections, as well as, the pressure on the coaches, GMs, & owners. I recommend this movie for most viewers. Transformer/Marvel comics fans no way Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    If you like sports movies, football, and Kevin Costner's style of acting/movie making, you will love this movie. I'm rather shocked by theIf you like sports movies, football, and Kevin Costner's style of acting/movie making, you will love this movie. I'm rather shocked by the poor ratings the film received as it delivers just what you'd expect. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2014
    7
    Kevin Costner loves sports and that is obvious by the many sports movies he has selected in his career. This movie is just plain fun butKevin Costner loves sports and that is obvious by the many sports movies he has selected in his career. This movie is just plain fun but totally by the numbers as it shows the gamesmanship in the War Rooms as General Manager's & Coaches livelihood is affected by the decisions they make. The players are just pieces of meat with a certain shelf life. The sad part is everyone gets paid except the diehard fans who have to suffer with bad decisions by management and the players whose only purpose is to be a free agent mercenary.as in Show Me The Money. The higher they're drafted the more money and security they get. I wish I could say there was some suspense in the movie but the truth is you know what Kevin Costner is going to do 15 minutes into the movie. Diehard football fans will enjoy this. Anyone else not into pro football don't waste your time. As for the ending it is preposterous as no number seven pick is ever worth what they traded it for. The only thing better would have been to see how the players drafted turned out. Unfortunately, the movie ends with draft. Just another propaganda piece for the NFL. Collapse
  5. May 14, 2014
    7
    Vontae Mack is certain. Very certain. He knows where he should be in today's NFL Draft - and he is insistent in telling Brown's GM SonnyVontae Mack is certain. Very certain. He knows where he should be in today's NFL Draft - and he is insistent in telling Brown's GM Sonny Weaver exactly how the team's pick should go down. But, as insistent as Vontae is, Sonny must listen to numerous voices today telling him exactly the same thing.

    Draft Day is all about positioning - Weaver trying to place the Browns in the best position to win in the future; the Seattle Seahawks GM, Tom Michaels, trying to leverage their Number One pick for a better shot at the future; and, among others, team owner Anthony Molina pressuring Weaver to mike the "right" decision.

    A lot of folks believe movies are all about the stars, the directors, the producers, and/or the producers. I've always believed a movie should be about the story. This story is pretty good - but, it isn't great.

    The characters, for the most part, work really well together. Sonny Weaver (Kevin Costner) is very believable. He carries all the emotional baggage he should for what he does. He's a man on a tightrope, and one misstep will send him into the abyss, and for a few moments, here - we believe he will fall. And we don't want him to. The antagonist - owner, Anthony Molina (Frank Langella), is perfect in his role; especially in his reaction to the Brown's first selection. The main football character is Vontae Mack (Chadwick Boseman) who gets the biggest surprise of his life - because he was true; and because he was right. You'll want to cheer for him at the appropriate moment.

    The character who doesn't fit is Ali (Jennifer Garner). Ali is never quite believable as a real part of this story. Part of this is due to the poor writing of her part, and the rest is because the lovely Garner is just not the right casting for this character. She's smart and pretty, but just doesn't come across as the tough, football junkie she claims to be. That's where this whole story breaks down.

    Nevertheless, the movie is a good watch. You'll enjoy the characters, as well as the action (negotiations) as they play out through the storyline.

    Go see this movie. Pay attention to the way Costner plays to his strengths; catch the power of Boseman's intensity (we need to see more of this guy!); enjoy Dennis Leary being, well, Dennis Leary; and ignore the ladies in this movie - they are there for window dressing; and that's too bad. The treatment of the womens' roles keeps this from being a great movie.
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    This was a bigger bomb than what Aldon Smith was carrying. I am a monster NFL fan and I think that they really dropped the ball here. FirstThis was a bigger bomb than what Aldon Smith was carrying. I am a monster NFL fan and I think that they really dropped the ball here. First off the whole movie is based on something that would never happen in a million years.
    *SPOILER ALERT*
    If a team was dumb enough to trade the next 3 years of 1st round picks, that is like striking gold. The team who received those picks would in no way, shape or form give those picks back!

    I give this a 6 because I think it showed how up and down a GM can be in one day, but I think there are alot bigger issues going on. Players calling because they are worried that they took drugs, or got someone pregnant.. If there were behind the scences story lines like that, than I think a movie like this will make 100+ million.
    Looking at the numbers, it looks like this picture cost $50m to make and after 2 weeks it has only made $20m. Unless this plans on staying in the theatres for 30 weeks, it will be a bigger loss than the broncos in the supa bowl.
    Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2014
    0
    Solid acting and the premise was very interesting but the painfully long run time as well as a plot that is incredibly unrealistic pretty muchSolid acting and the premise was very interesting but the painfully long run time as well as a plot that is incredibly unrealistic pretty much ruins it. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers