Drag Me to Hell

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 605 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Drag Me to Hell is a perfect example of why CRITICS know what the hell (pun intended) they're talking about. This is one of those rare instances where the critics are the ones who praise a film (I mean, holy crap ... this film has like a 96% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes) while the general public completely pans it. Guess what? After seeing this film, I can definitely say without aDrag Me to Hell is a perfect example of why CRITICS know what the hell (pun intended) they're talking about. This is one of those rare instances where the critics are the ones who praise a film (I mean, holy crap ... this film has like a 96% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes) while the general public completely pans it. Guess what? After seeing this film, I can definitely say without a shadow of a doubt that all of the critics are absolutely, 100% correct. This is easily one of the greatest horror-thrillers of all time, the scariest horror-thriller of all time, and by far the most well-directed horror-thriller of all time. It's amazing how many people claimed that this film wasn't "scary" at all, when in fact they were probably wetting their damn pants everytime something popped out out of nowhere after the misdirection/suspenseful build-up that happens throughout the entire movie. Cheap? Maybe. Does it work? Absolutely. This film now ties with The Mist as being my two favorite horror-thrillers of all time. A great example of why critics are the only ones who should be making any comments about anything. Critics and myself, one of the few people who aren't a bunch of stupid morons who wouldn't know "good" from "bad" if their damn soul depended on it (another intended pun). Nearly ten major critics (from Entertainment Weekly to the Washington Post) gave this film a PERFECT score. Personally, I wouldn't give it higher than a 90/100 or a 9.0 out of 10 ... but it really sickens me to read what many of the movie-goers have said about this film. All those comments have done is prove just how stupid most people really are. The critics have it ... everyone else, kindly STFU

    It's interesting how a lot of people (and I don't just mean on here) claim that this film wasn't the least bit scary ... and then they turn right around and admit that there were plenty of "jump scares" (which I guess is the term people are using) throughout. Okay ... so if suspenseful music/tension and misdirection leading to an inevitable, shocking "scare" isn't what "scary" is, then I'd really like to know what IS.

    Of all of the horror thrillers I've seen in the last decade or so (1408, The Mist, The Others, Skeleton Key, The Descent, The Ring, 28 Weeks Later, Hills Have Eyes, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, House of Wax, etc., (too many more to name ... those are just off the top of my head)), Drag Me to Hell is BY FAR the scariest. If this film doesn't qualify as being "scary," then I really don't know what else in the entire damn world would qualify as such, because every single one of those other movies I just named (and pretty much every horror film ever, especially slasher-types) watch like the Care Bears movie compared to Drag Me to Hell.

    Honestly, do people even THINK before they post reviews on sites like IMDB and Metacritic?

    Yes, the movie IS full of cheap, "misdirect and then jump out at you" shock-scares ... that's what SCARY IS!

    Of course, as with all horror thrillers, how "scary" it happens to be really depends on how, where, and when you watch it. For instance, if you watched this film with other people around during the daytime ... or even in a movie theater surrounded by other people, then it probably wouldn't come off that scary at all. I, on the other hand, watched this film by myself, in a dark room, in the middle of the night. Big difference. I actually considered closing my eyes at one point, but then I realized that the scares would have been even worse, as the loud, out-of-nowhere SOUNDS in this film are half the scare. At least with my eyes open I could see the nasty, crusty, hag of an old woman pop out out of nowhere and be expecting the loud-ass shriek that accompanies it.

    It's one thing to NOT like the film, but to actually say that this movie wasn't scary is just plain ridiculous and stems from pure bias and spite. Because I can think of no other horror thriller in the last decade or two that even compares in terms of sheer fright and tension. If Drag Me to Hell isn't scary, then nothing in the world of cinema is. I pretty much cringed for the entire 100 minutes.

    And yeah, there are still people who classify this as part "comedy," but until Sam Raimi himself openly says that (which he has NOT), I call bull. The fact of the matter is, a "comedic" horror film would be quite obvious in its tone and atmosphere. I've seen "comedic" horror films before, and this watches nothing like those. This was a film that took its plot very seriously,where exactly did it say "spoof" or "parody" to you? Drag Me to Hell was tense and unnerving the entire time. If you laughed during this, then that's something to get checked out. Because there was nothing even remotely funny about this movie. Disgusting, shocking, and terrifying? Yes.

    Bottomline is, most horror thrillers slightly entertain but do not end up impressing me much. This one shocked me to the core.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    como solo raimi lo sabe hacer crea otra pelicula de horror con tintes de comedio la cual no importa de q angulo la mires siempre dara resultado este es un gran regreso por parte de raimi al genero delterror
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    This movie was advertised as a scary jump out of your seat horror movie. I feel bad for those of you that wanted to o see another jumpy crappy predictable horror film, but for anyone who is a true fan of film and are familiar with Raimi's earlier works (the Evil Dead series in particular) then you should have expected what you got. To me this movie was great it had moments where it scaredThis movie was advertised as a scary jump out of your seat horror movie. I feel bad for those of you that wanted to o see another jumpy crappy predictable horror film, but for anyone who is a true fan of film and are familiar with Raimi's earlier works (the Evil Dead series in particular) then you should have expected what you got. To me this movie was great it had moments where it scared you but it also had moments that made me cry from laughing. Guys it's supposed to be cheesy, that's his style and I find Drag Me to Hell to be the most original horror film in some time. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was because of the false advertising. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    drag me to hell is a movie who have seen and understand raimi movies because his style is just not like any other.his movies reach such acclaim because they try to make a point on the current status of the horror genre and he makes light of it. his best example of this is the evil dead 2. it delivers an amount of cheese that reminds me of his older movies. this movie is intentionally all cheese
  5. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    This movie is an incredible thrill ride. There are small laughs planted between and within the grand scares. Some dialogue is intentionally grin-inducing, and also some scares, too. The cheesy CGI isn't a con, because it perfectly fits in with the craziness of the film. Even all of that can't water down how truly terrifying this movie can be, though.

    It's campy, fun, and theatrical. A
    This movie is an incredible thrill ride. There are small laughs planted between and within the grand scares. Some dialogue is intentionally grin-inducing, and also some scares, too. The cheesy CGI isn't a con, because it perfectly fits in with the craziness of the film. Even all of that can't water down how truly terrifying this movie can be, though.

    It's campy, fun, and theatrical. A movie to watch with a group, because you'll all be laughing and freaking out and having a good time. But be warned: when the credits roll, you won't exactly feel good. The movie is haunting.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    It's scary, shocking, and excellently made. I felt a different type of fear while watching this. It's not your typical monster or possesion fright-fest. With the exception of a few CG effects, everything works rather well and really creates a sense of dread and suspense. One of the better horror movies I've seen in a while. You might not want to watch it alone, or before going to bed.
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Supernatural horror with here-and-there touches of satire is an irresistible modern Halloween pick.

    Sam Raimiâ
    Expand
  8. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    This is undoubtedly the best horror movie of the decade. I really was surprised when I read so many good reviews because I was absolutely convinced it would be the kind horror fans would praise but critics taunt... it was just the reverse. This shocked me. If you really appreciate horror movies, it's completely impossible this being a letdown.
  9. FrankP
    Oct 25, 2009
    0
    "Exorcist" meets "Pee Wees Big Adventure" as imagined by a drunk third-grader. The only redeeming value of watching this movie was that I get to finally bump down "Romeo and Juliet" starring Leonardo DiCaprio as my worst movie of all time.
  10. jesss
    Oct 30, 2009
    2
    After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i highly advise you not to watch this as a horror fan but more of a comedy "shaun of the dead" type fan, not that it's that good. So disappointed. Expand
  11. ChrisH
    Jun 15, 2009
    1
    I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right after that?Terrible movie.
  12. Grant
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    Really bad. Tries to be a so-gross-it's-funny, so-campy-it's-funny, so-bad-it's-funny movie but is only kinda gross in parts. Definitely not scary. Definitely not well-written (or well-cast -- the apple mac guy plays a college professor from a well-to-do family). The whole movie my friends and I were going "huh? why? what? gross! was that supposed to be funny? how long is Really bad. Tries to be a so-gross-it's-funny, so-campy-it's-funny, so-bad-it's-funny movie but is only kinda gross in parts. Definitely not scary. Definitely not well-written (or well-cast -- the apple mac guy plays a college professor from a well-to-do family). The whole movie my friends and I were going "huh? why? what? gross! was that supposed to be funny? how long is this movie?" I tell you what--it cost a dollar to rent this from a red box and about 5 minutes to write this review and I feel this movie doesn't deserve either. Just skip it. Expand
  13. karlg
    Oct 2, 2009
    1
    If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets boring. Gypsies are still frequently the victims of violence and discrimination, so i feel they're portrayal in this movie was in bad taste. On the If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets boring. Gypsies are still frequently the victims of violence and discrimination, so i feel they're portrayal in this movie was in bad taste. On the plus side this movie has a talking goat. Expand
  14. DalliaG
    Oct 27, 2009
    0
    The main character murders a poor kitten in it.... made me sick to my stomach and I couldn't enjoy the rest of the movie. I have lost all respect for Raimi. Horrible movie.
  15. Phoenix
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    THIS has GOT to be the WORST movie I have seen in the past 10 years... are you people kidding me?? Who in their right mind would give this movie a "10"??? (( or anything higher than a 1 for that matter? )) Get Real!! The only good thing about this film being at the bottom of the list, is it will NOW be keeping the movie "BUGS" company... as it too falls in the catagory of WORST P.O.S. THIS has GOT to be the WORST movie I have seen in the past 10 years... are you people kidding me?? Who in their right mind would give this movie a "10"??? (( or anything higher than a 1 for that matter? )) Get Real!! The only good thing about this film being at the bottom of the list, is it will NOW be keeping the movie "BUGS" company... as it too falls in the catagory of WORST P.O.S. I've seen in a LONG TIME! Expand
  16. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Drag Me To Hell is one of my favourite horrors. Well, it is partially a comedy, too, but it can get pretty scary at times.
    I just love the fact that it's not the usual stupid horror: full of gore and nothing behind it. Drag Me To Hell has a compelling and very interesting story, some good acting and it just a straight-out good film. Definitely high entertainment value and I'd recommend
    Drag Me To Hell is one of my favourite horrors. Well, it is partially a comedy, too, but it can get pretty scary at times.
    I just love the fact that it's not the usual stupid horror: full of gore and nothing behind it. Drag Me To Hell has a compelling and very interesting story, some good acting and it just a straight-out good film. Definitely high entertainment value and I'd recommend anyone who likes good horrors to watch it. Yes, it is funny sometimes, but what's wrong with that? Can't a horror be also funny?! Definitely a great surprise of a film!
    Expand
  17. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Raimi has made the most crazy, fun, and terrifying horror movie in years. its the most amazing horror movie you will see! the cast leads stellar perfomances in their roles.
  18. May 14, 2013
    10
    Perfect mix! Its scary but also so funny, you can't take this serious.
    So don't expect too much and you will be surprised!
    Every second of this movie is great!
  19. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    I saw this movie in theaters when it came out so my memory is a bit rusty... But after seeing the high score this got i have to call BS... first off the Gypsy woman put a curse on her... after not 1... not 2 but 3 house extensions and curses the girl in the film because she can't pay for her damn house and its the one time the girl decides to deny someone on a loan.... seriously this movieI saw this movie in theaters when it came out so my memory is a bit rusty... But after seeing the high score this got i have to call BS... first off the Gypsy woman put a curse on her... after not 1... not 2 but 3 house extensions and curses the girl in the film because she can't pay for her damn house and its the one time the girl decides to deny someone on a loan.... seriously this movie was down right horrible and deserves about a 4... it wasn't scary and was barely even funny just a poorly written story Expand
  20. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    This is probably one of the scariest best directed and produced horror film in years. Sam Raimi has finally directed something worth seeing over and over again. The characters are so developed, intense scenes that I will never forget, and just pure fun. That description I can't say for many horror movies and it might not have been the scariest, but I give props for a developed story thatThis is probably one of the scariest best directed and produced horror film in years. Sam Raimi has finally directed something worth seeing over and over again. The characters are so developed, intense scenes that I will never forget, and just pure fun. That description I can't say for many horror movies and it might not have been the scariest, but I give props for a developed story that wasn't cheesy, and Lorna Raver playing the evil Mrs. Ganush. It was a smart horror movie; that is uncommon for the horror genre. Expand
  21. Dave
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    My wife and I made it through the first 15 minutes and wrote off the $5 pay-per-view fee as a total loss. If you have a sudden desire to watch this movie, don't.
  22. BrentJ
    Nov 15, 2009
    3
    I can't believe the critics loved this one. It was a totally cheesy movie. A few scary scenes & a few funny ones, but overall a pretty stupid movie.
  23. CurtisH
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Worst crap I have ever seen. Please god, I wish I could erase this retarded trash from my memory. Do not see this!!
  24. CapoRegime
    Oct 14, 2009
    2
    The film is proclaimed as a horror movie, but right at the start I'm starting to feel that they got it wrong. Drag me to hell is a comedy, directed by someone who's weird enough to make fun of putting or spraying something on the mouth.
  25. jonb
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    Seriously, has anyone ever read Thinner? Seriously?
  26. KevinL.
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are blatantly obvious to everyone in the audience. This movie is an unintentional parody of itself, watch it with that in mind. Expand
  27. SimonG.
    Jun 19, 2009
    9
    I usually come here to read some critic and user comments before going to a movie. Just to give me an idea. Not to save money. Just to make sure I'll spend some good time sitting at the movie theatre. I didn't do it for this one. I wasn't even planning to go the movies. A totally spontaneous decision I took with my girlfriend on a rainy day. I barely had the time to watch I usually come here to read some critic and user comments before going to a movie. Just to give me an idea. Not to save money. Just to make sure I'll spend some good time sitting at the movie theatre. I didn't do it for this one. I wasn't even planning to go the movies. A totally spontaneous decision I took with my girlfriend on a rainy day. I barely had the time to watch the trailer. I went there only to saw a return to horror from Sam Raimi, only to realize two things. First, the trailer doesn't sell the movie at all and isn't representative of the movie really is. Second, this is a great movie that met perfectly my expectations of seeing the new flick by the guy who did Evil Dead. So many people worship the Evil Dead trilogy and most of them didn Expand
  28. RobertB.
    Nov 3, 2009
    2
    This movie was just terrible. I don't know if it was the directors cut that made it terrible or just the lame effects. The girl getting puked in the mouth multiple times was ultra-lame. I can't believe this movie has rated as well as it did.
  29. McGrease
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a leather seat and it echoed through the room. This is cheese. String cheese. I dont even think blaggy would have eaten this cheese. Raimi has made the I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a leather seat and it echoed through the room. This is cheese. String cheese. I dont even think blaggy would have eaten this cheese. Raimi has made the most greasy, skunk, and diarrhea filled horror movie in years. I seriously could of taken a dump on a camera lens that people would rather see than this trash. I would rather have my fingernails pulled off with pliers or be forced to smell a used diaper filled with Indian food. Get em next Raimi ... McGrease out. Expand
  30. SeymourB
    Aug 8, 2009
    8
    As a huge fan of the Evil Dead series I didn't expect much from the trailers I saw, and the fact that I haven't been impressed with much of what Raimi's done in the past decade or so. In turn I prepared myself to see another generic piece of crap (essentially nearly every horror movie of this decade), and that is likely what made this film so great. I enjoyed nearly every As a huge fan of the Evil Dead series I didn't expect much from the trailers I saw, and the fact that I haven't been impressed with much of what Raimi's done in the past decade or so. In turn I prepared myself to see another generic piece of crap (essentially nearly every horror movie of this decade), and that is likely what made this film so great. I enjoyed nearly every bit of it, and it felt like a glorious return-to-form for Raimi. However, I must say that the protgonist's acting was atrocious beyond stanard "b" type horror acting. I also personally felt she wasn't likable , but that is just my opinion because I don't care for protagonists that crave social acceptance. All-in-all I give Drag Me to Hell an 8 for being an overall fun movie to watch, despite the acting. Expand
  31. ChristianRock
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    I had great expectations for this one but it failed miserably. Stiff performances from all actors, contrived storytelling and poor special effects, kitsch, not camp. It is a 'fun' movie, but only if you watch it to laugh at it and not with it.
  32. May 26, 2011
    8
    This is the best horror flick I have seen in a while, and that is saying something, since I hardly watch horror at all (I get scared REALLY easily). A ton of moments made me go "eww" and "O_O", and those are reactions you are supposed to get in a good horror movie. Also, I was TOTALLY not expecting the ending.
  33. Oct 16, 2011
    7
    I cannot understand why people didn't like this film. Ok, it is kind of trash but "Drag me to Hell" is overall entertaining and filled with something that current horror films are missing: a good script
  34. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    This is a hilarious film which is also scary in the right places. Sam Raimi knows what he is doing in the horror genre and I am glad that the film doesn't take itself too seriously. It has a clever plot with a slightly predictable twist but all in all everything works in Drag Me to Hell.
  35. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Funny and scary, well sam raimi is back to his roots. If you are looking for a typical horror ,you would be disappointed but if you like the 80s horror/ comedy then This is definitely for you . The film reminded me of my position in a bank and I had to make similar decisions so I both disagree and sympathise Christine's situation. Lorna Raver is absolutely great as Mrs Ganush and theFunny and scary, well sam raimi is back to his roots. If you are looking for a typical horror ,you would be disappointed but if you like the 80s horror/ comedy then This is definitely for you . The film reminded me of my position in a bank and I had to make similar decisions so I both disagree and sympathise Christine's situation. Lorna Raver is absolutely great as Mrs Ganush and the fight between Christine and Mrs Ganush is priceless. Expand
  36. Sep 19, 2011
    5
    The movie tried to make it look itself as "Evil Dead"; With poor CG and weak character development, Sam Raimi's "Drag me to Hell" is a movie way cheesier than that.
  37. GrahamR
    Nov 15, 2009
    4
    I was really looking forward to this and it was such a big let down! It was watchable as a one-off, but I wouldn't watch it again. It was far more funny than scary. The ending was so obvious, my wife and I knew it was coming and so did everyone else in the cinema. I have seen worse, but this was very poor.
  38. Sep 26, 2010
    0
    I will give this movie and the positive reviews the benefit of the doubt and assume it was much better in theatres. However, I watched it on HBO and it was frustratingly bad. The dialogue was superficial, seemingly written just to string together the story in between the screaming and supernatural events throughout. From the moment the the old women appears on screen in thatI will give this movie and the positive reviews the benefit of the doubt and assume it was much better in theatres. However, I watched it on HBO and it was frustratingly bad. The dialogue was superficial, seemingly written just to string together the story in between the screaming and supernatural events throughout. From the moment the the old women appears on screen in that trying-too-hard-to-be-creepy garb, I predicted that she was going to curse the main character. Everything that happens to the main character after that is just confusing and random. Many of the disturbances that plague the main character are, of course, not pleasant, you would not want them to happen to you. BUT finding a scarf in your throat and having to pull it out is not that terrifying. This and many other similar things happen just as fillers.

    The pace is ridiculous. The beginning is slow and drawn out yet it fails to establish an eerie vibe or build any suspense. When the random disturbances really start, they are almost non-stop until right before the ending. It is such overkill.

    The CGI effects are too cheap and unrealistic to be scary but not obviously cheesy enough to be funny. Whether it was meant to be funny/ cheesy or realistic/ scary, it did not look intentional. The girl is being taunted by a cartoon shadow. Seriously.

    The characters were total idiots with no substance. There is some random back story for the main character thrown in, more as a side note, toward the middle of the movie but it is irrelevant because that information is never really brought up again. She goes from young soft-spoken girl in business attire to flighty and confused to screeching one liners like "That's yours **** and I don't believe any of it. The boyfriend character is just there to react to the girl's changing behavior by brushing it off until he finally sees something himself and is proven wrong. Again, very original. I could go on and on. Seriously, it was insulting.
    Expand
  39. Jan 12, 2014
    4
    A mediocre movie that pulls all of the same strings of bad, churned out American horror movies.

    After seeing this movie featured on several lists of top horror movies, I figured this might be the next 'The Orphan' on a trend to change my mind about Hollywood and horror. Instead what I got was cliches about 'foreign occult", mediums that for some reason, speak in Spanish, endless hot
    A mediocre movie that pulls all of the same strings of bad, churned out American horror movies.

    After seeing this movie featured on several lists of top horror movies, I figured this might be the next 'The Orphan' on a trend to change my mind about Hollywood and horror.

    Instead what I got was cliches about 'foreign occult", mediums that for some reason, speak in Spanish, endless hot and cold moments trying to build suspense before breaking off into nothing, and of course, the flat, "twist" ending, which was predictable to me (always check the most important things twice, especially when they're wrapped up).

    I'm more surprised by the positive ratings that this mediocre flick has received, though this may owe itself in no small part to the gradual slip of this industry, which thankfully I have missed.
    Expand
  40. Oct 28, 2010
    7
    This movie seems kinda like a mocking spin on the traditional horror movies we are use to in this day and age. The parts that were meant to be scary were scary with a little twist of humour. It was very entertaining and didn't feel like a complete waste of my time. So if you want a slightly cheesy, scary, and kinda funny horror movie pick this up.
  41. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    Drag me to Hell is certainly a mixed movie. I went in expecting a horror movie and was greatly disappointed however what I watched was an incredibly hilarious, gory and downright stupid movie. It's not bad in any way, it was just marketed as a true horror. Drag me to Hell is actually a B horror movie, those movies that try to scare you but are so bad their good. It was a original, funny,Drag me to Hell is certainly a mixed movie. I went in expecting a horror movie and was greatly disappointed however what I watched was an incredibly hilarious, gory and downright stupid movie. It's not bad in any way, it was just marketed as a true horror. Drag me to Hell is actually a B horror movie, those movies that try to scare you but are so bad their good. It was a original, funny, had those "jump" moments that would scare and tension. In the end it was brilliant, I think the reason it had so many bad reviews is because people see it as a normal horror movie, and not a "B Horror" movie.

    It's a watch.
    Expand
  42. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    Definitely not a bad movie. Its more funny than scary. The acting isnt too good but that doesnt take away from the movie entirely.
    They couldve added a little more though, some scenes feel kinda empty.
    Overall, a pretty good movie. Funny, slightly smart, and scary.
  43. Jan 17, 2012
    3
    It's a bad movie. Not in a good Sam Raimi way either. It is just boring and not serious scary or funny scary. It's an hour and 39 minutes long but feels a good 40 minutes longer. Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi and a crazy old gypsy woman....how did this go wrong.
  44. Nov 5, 2010
    0
    This f*****g movie is full of s**t i hate it, it's disgusting, I usually like horror movies but this one goes to far, it's awful, i have never given a movie this bad a review.
  45. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    How can any reasonable human being give this movie a good rating? I abhorred every second of Drag Me to Hell and despite admitting that it wasn’t badly made in terms of set design, cinematography, or editing, for example, it suffers from a director who can’t seem to decide if he wants to make a parody on horror movies or an actual horror movie and ends up making one of the hugest pieces ofHow can any reasonable human being give this movie a good rating? I abhorred every second of Drag Me to Hell and despite admitting that it wasn’t badly made in terms of set design, cinematography, or editing, for example, it suffers from a director who can’t seem to decide if he wants to make a parody on horror movies or an actual horror movie and ends up making one of the hugest pieces of in recent years (I could, in fact, re-use all of these words when writing a review for The Cabin in the Woods, another outrageously overrated rubbish). Limiting himself to a PG-13 rating, Raimi at least spares the audience more atrociously surrealistic CGI gore effects, but the 3rd highest as well as lowest of MPAA classifications still leaves space for idiotic dialogs, shameless copying from other horror flicks, and blatant predictability. I’m not saying that I wasn’t frightened by parts of it, yet for most of the time, I was offended and disgusted by this ghastly made movie. Critics that call it ironic or even hilarious just have to be paid by Universal Pictures since there is no other valid explanation for entitling a movie ‘ironic’ when it obviously isn’t aware of how stupid it is. And now don’t come to me with “it’s only for the purpose of entertainment” besides all of that it’s still a dull and dreary movie that is laden with tons of clichés. Drag Me to Hell? Drag me out of the cinema! Expand
  46. benjaminp
    Jun 1, 2009
    0
    This movie smells...Bad...Exremely BAD..I hope this movie takes a shower and does the get shot dance in the middle of the free way.
  47. NelsonM
    Oct 20, 2009
    5
    I've been looking forward to seeing this movie after reading so many good reviews and I have come to the conclusion never to read reviews again as I think reviews are based on excellent marketing concepts. The movie was not scary at all, the special effects could have been much better. the storyline was not boring and i regard this movie as a teenager fantasy horror good to watch as I've been looking forward to seeing this movie after reading so many good reviews and I have come to the conclusion never to read reviews again as I think reviews are based on excellent marketing concepts. The movie was not scary at all, the special effects could have been much better. the storyline was not boring and i regard this movie as a teenager fantasy horror good to watch as a Sunday afternoon show with popcorn. If you want to see a good horror that scares you, don't watch this! Expand
  48. BryanF
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I honestly don't know where these bad user reviews are coming from. With so many "Horror" movies out there that rely on nothing but shock value, I find Drag Me To Hell refreshing. What I liked most of all is Raimi's ability to create scares that you never see coming. It also has an ending that will leave your jaw dropped. My only complaint was there were 1 or 2 scenes where the I honestly don't know where these bad user reviews are coming from. With so many "Horror" movies out there that rely on nothing but shock value, I find Drag Me To Hell refreshing. What I liked most of all is Raimi's ability to create scares that you never see coming. It also has an ending that will leave your jaw dropped. My only complaint was there were 1 or 2 scenes where the lead actress's acting was less than impressive. If your tired of horror movie cliches, such as high heel shoes breaking and "don't go in there!" scenes, then watch this film, it will not disappoint. Expand
  49. GilbertL
    Jun 1, 2009
    3
    Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned effects jumping up and saying 'Boo' to the audience every few minutes. It's easy to tell when this will happen because the music will drop Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned effects jumping up and saying 'Boo' to the audience every few minutes. It's easy to tell when this will happen because the music will drop ominous hints and the sound effects become excruciatingly loud (a rusty gate, pounding on doors, all turned up to 11). If that doesn't lower the scare factor, then surely the Three Stooges inspired slapstick will. Frankly, I thought 'The Haunted Mansion' with Eddie Murphy was scarier and funnier than this. I certainly hope Mr. Raimi hasn't completely lost his filmmaking integrity by devoting so much time to all those Spiderman movies. Expand
  50. DonaldB.
    Jun 12, 2009
    2
    This is not a good movie. I fail to see stars in any aspect.
  51. Brandon
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    If you like Raimi's style of mixing genre's. Go see it.
  52. LewisH
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    One of the best horror movies i've ever seen!!!
  53. DorinB.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Scariest damn thing I have ever seen. I literally made a mess in my pants...haha! I don't think anyone would be brave to watch that movie alone! I wouldn't! Haha. Bye
  54. MikeG.
    Jun 19, 2009
    6
    83? This movie was just OK-some thrills, some laughs, a few gross out moments, and the obligatory twist ending that you can see coming like a train. Rent-don't buy- the DVD in 3 months.
  55. BM
    Jun 25, 2009
    1
    Worst movie i have EVER seen! I have given it a 1 based on the hilarity of the talking goat...and thats it.
  56. ArvinM.
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    Wow even more stupid on DVD!
  57. Aug 19, 2010
    4
    Bank worker eyes Assistant Manager promotion, old woman comes in bank & begs not to be evicted, computer says no, old woman puts curse on bank worker, gets harebrained & farcical.
    Sam Raimi with his usual mix of comedy/horror but definitely without the charm that the Evil Dead films had.
    Cliched characters & plot, twist that you can see coming & ends up being more annoying than fun. The
    Bank worker eyes Assistant Manager promotion, old woman comes in bank & begs not to be evicted, computer says no, old woman puts curse on bank worker, gets harebrained & farcical.
    Sam Raimi with his usual mix of comedy/horror but definitely without the charm that the Evil Dead films had.
    Cliched characters & plot, twist that you can see coming & ends up being more annoying than fun.
    The goat was pretty cool though.
    Expand
  58. May 6, 2011
    5
    This movie was full of unnecessary gross scenes. Scary, no. Will it make you jump? Yes. Overall it was okay, I finished watching it. But the plot was not very original and very predictable. I would not recommended this movie to anyone. I don't know if i saw the same movie as the critics...
  59. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the only movie I have ever shut off half way through. It was the cheesiest, campiest, worst acted and laughably directed pile of fecal matter of a film I have ever had the misfortune of encountering. Wow - I cant believe people actually liked this awful excuse for a film. It makes me want to scream when characters act ridiculously to events that befall them. Spoiler Alert: Like Lohman's character the day after being viciously gummed and stabbing an old lady in the neck... "Maybe I should have given her an extension on that loan..." WHAT??? You stabbed an old witch in the neck!!!! Are you kidding me? The writers should have listen to this trash on continuous playback for all eternity. I can't imagine a worse hell. Expand
  60. Jul 29, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really just disgusting and that's all that can be said about this horrible flick. The opening scene was bad, and usually, a movie doesn't get any better after that. The whole premise is fairly ridiculous to start out with. The main character obviously is a good person, why would she be cursed ? She had no control over the situation the old woman was in, and she was not responsible. The entire film is filled with senseless dialogue and actions that don't make any sense. It could be a comedy, a bad one, something like 'Revenge of the repossessed homeowner'... Expand
  61. Jul 22, 2011
    3
    Kinda weird in my case to rate a negative score to a positive movie, anyway, expecting something scary isn't the right thing in here. Drag me too hell is stupid, and idiotically funny, i felt that it wasn't taking the main theme seriously, while it does some creepy sound effects, it isn't entertaining or tense as other Horror movies.
  62. May 24, 2012
    6
    An average film that has weird acting, disturbing scenes, crazy demons, great plot and some scary moments.....
  63. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    Drag Me to Hell is a fun, campy and silly film, but it seems that laughs seem to be more important than scares in this film and is often predictable at times. Overall, Raimi's long-awaited return to horror may be entertaining but it lacks horror and provides a laughs rather than scares.
  64. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    i cant believe this is critic acclaimed !!!first of all flying handkerchief ,possessed guy dancing around the table,talking goat,and so called cheap gross COMEDY is seriously not scary,waste of time and the lamest movie i've ever seen ever.this is the worst acclaimed movie ..they even call the ending a surprise and seriously just spell the movie and just be done with it.the only surprisei cant believe this is critic acclaimed !!!first of all flying handkerchief ,possessed guy dancing around the table,talking goat,and so called cheap gross COMEDY is seriously not scary,waste of time and the lamest movie i've ever seen ever.this is the worst acclaimed movie ..they even call the ending a surprise and seriously just spell the movie and just be done with it.the only surprise and scary is how the rating is so high. Expand
  65. Mar 18, 2012
    2
    I saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed the entire movie. The acting is bad, the lines are cheesy,and the plot is even more dumb. At one part she's getting attacked and for some reason she has anI saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed the entire movie. The acting is bad, the lines are cheesy,and the plot is even more dumb. At one part she's getting attacked and for some reason she has an anvil tied to a string above the spot where her attacker is, and just happens to have an ice skate next to the rope. The end is the worst part of all. Expand
  66. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    I truly love horror movies. I love many of them, The Shining, Paranormal Activity, Saw, The Sixth Sense, Signs, Silence of the Lambs, ALL instant classics. When I heard about Drag Me To Hell I was super excited, rarely is there a horror movie with such great reviews. When I finally watched it, I was disappointed to say the least. This movie is so ridiculously over rated and not scary itI truly love horror movies. I love many of them, The Shining, Paranormal Activity, Saw, The Sixth Sense, Signs, Silence of the Lambs, ALL instant classics. When I heard about Drag Me To Hell I was super excited, rarely is there a horror movie with such great reviews. When I finally watched it, I was disappointed to say the least. This movie is so ridiculously over rated and not scary it hurt me to watch. I am baffled at how reviewers can speak so highly of it. It's truly one of the worst films I've ever seen, no part of it was good, the plot was mediocre, the 'intense' scenes weren't even mildly enjoyable, and the ending was abominable. As I read the other positive reviews I feel as if the reviewers and I watched two different films. Do yourself a favor and avoid this movie at all costs unless you are extremely easily scared, or you just want something to make fun of for 90 minutes. Expand
  67. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    This movie was so disgustingly bad that I had to create an account just to express the hate that grew throughout the movie. After reading what other critic said about this movie I had gained somewhat high expectations, what was left of them drowned in the useless **** ending that any 3 year old could have guessed from watching 3 seconds of that ****

    I feel that this movie raped my life -
    This movie was so disgustingly bad that I had to create an account just to express the hate that grew throughout the movie. After reading what other critic said about this movie I had gained somewhat high expectations, what was left of them drowned in the useless **** ending that any 3 year old could have guessed from watching 3 seconds of that ****

    I feel that this movie raped my life - I want my time back.
    Expand
  68. Aug 19, 2012
    1
    This movie was quiet weird. It started off okay but in the final half and hour i don't know what happened. The movie went from high standard to worse than a syfy movie. The main character is completely unrealistic in her response to what is going on. Drag me to hell is complete crap and the movie made me wishing i was being dragged to hell while watching this so called horror film.
  69. Aug 27, 2012
    2
    I am truely in disarray at what the critics thought was so great about this film. It was the furthest thing from scary, and the so called funny moments where unrecognizable. Boring and pretty stupid overall.
  70. Mar 18, 2013
    4
    This movie could only scare me if I was 5 years old, and they would force me to watch this movie in a forest at midnight. The problem is that I am an adult, thus this movie just stinks to me. Bad story, no tension etc... Avoid it...
  71. May 25, 2013
    1
    I gave up on this movie 1 hour in.. Horribly boring and predictable movie. Really one of the worst movies i have ever seen. Not a single scary moment, just a ridiculous amount of pathetic attempts.. And really? A goat that yells out Really?... :S This movie is pure crap. The lead actress was not convincing at all. I want my hour back...
  72. Feb 9, 2013
    1
    I cant believe that anyone could rate it more than 3 but it seems that critics watch it from other dimensions this is one of worst movie that I ever see and it make worse that it 's from one of my favorite directors
  73. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand why critics liked this movie. It's awful. It is really predictable, the talking ship and the gyspsy lady are ridicously hillarious and I'm not sure if this film was comedy or horror movie. Do a favour to you selfs, don't watch that film 4/10 for the actors which were ok Expand
  74. Jul 23, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give it a 1 because the old woman without dentures french kissing the protagonist and, why not, sharing large amounts of corporal liquids while at it, is legitimately horrifying.

    Beside that, the film it's just awful. Every character it's a prick. The protagonist seems almost human, until she goes and slice her little kitten in a lame attempt to stop her curse. Despite that, she seems outraged when the mediums gets ready to do the same to a random goat.

    Then what else we got... conveniently hanging anvils, Kalinka dancing possessed mediums, and dying old hags with a terminator stamina and a liking for young blond chicks mouth rape. And in all this, I couldn't tell if this was supposed to be funny, scary, or both, and maybe this is the biggest fault of this movie.

    Then, an envelope containing the crucial item for the protagonist survival gets lost in a bunch of random papers, and when she finds it she doesn't check if it's actually the right envelope... I wonder what this will lead to.
    Really, one of the most awful film I've ever seen.
    Expand
  75. Jul 23, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Drag Me to Hell: 4 out of 10: Great another movie that achieved universal critical acclaim that I did not enjoy. Oh make matters worse it is a horror film (which almost never achieves universal acclaim and which I love) and is by director Sam Raimi whom I genuinely enjoy.

    Drag me to Hell is all about gypsy curses. In the tradition of the superior Thinner and Buffy the Vampire Slayer our heroine Alison Lohman is a bank manager who turns down a third extension on an old gypsy’s house mortgage causing her to lose the home.. (Lohman is eyeing a promotion and her boss told her to be tough) The Gypsy in question attacks Lohman (in the films best scene) and then places a curse on her. She has three days to get rid of the curse or she will literally be dragged to hell.

    In those three days, the demon in question will torment Lohman, so far so good. Then the movie falls of the rails. Lohman does something so horrific and unnecessary to get rid of the curse she becomes a Black Hat extraordinaire. Now a twist like that certainly can work if the film acknowledges it, but Raimi keeps his cards too close to the vest.

    It quickly comes apparent that Lohman, despite acting as a younger, blonder, more innocent Kirsten Dunst, is the most evil thing in the film. The film simply does not really pull this switcheroo off or may not even realize it on some level.

    The main fault lies with the lead performance of Alison Lohman who seems to skip through the movie with one confused expression, another confused expression and a decent scream. Raimi knows his buttons too well and fixates on violating the chaste Loman’s mouth with flies, maggots, blood, fists, entire arms, and in the most disgusting thing ever; an old ladies mouth without her dentures.

    Loman cannot pull off a fun evil so instead she is more the brain-dead banal evil. This is a role that requires a Linda Ferrentino style touch. I simply do not think Loman had the chops for the role.

    The films tone is strange as well. Many scenes are clearly tongue in cheek (a giant anvil held by a rope for instance) but others are so horrific (The aforementioned horrible act that shall not be named) that it takes one out of the story.

    The rest of the cast is decent with Justin Long giving a particularly strong performance as the really nice guy with the evil girlfriend from hell. (Well going to hell... you know what I mean.) Long is best known as the Apple guy and the film keeps sticking him in front of Apple product placements handicapping his effectiveness.

    There is also some strangely bad CGI in the mix. While Raimi really knows how to push the gross-out buttons and the jump scares, he would have been better off with some old school effects.

    Overall I am beyond disappointed. Nevertheless, I guess once again I will be that guy who didn’t like the film everyone else loved. It is “Rushmore” all over again.
    Expand
  76. Sam
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    When I first saw this movie I knew it was a horror comedy but I was annoyed more than anything. Then I watched Evil Dead 2, which I adored, and I thought back on this movie and I 'got' it. I gave it another chance and thought it was hysterical fun. Raimi builds up the countless jump scares in the film, but he doesn't use these scares as a way of 'legitimately' When I first saw this movie I knew it was a horror comedy but I was annoyed more than anything. Then I watched Evil Dead 2, which I adored, and I thought back on this movie and I 'got' it. I gave it another chance and thought it was hysterical fun. Raimi builds up the countless jump scares in the film, but he doesn't use these scares as a way of 'legitimately' scaring you as most recent horror movies do: he uses them to entertain you, and they made me laugh incredibly hard. Despite the PG-13 rating and almost complete lack of blood (with the exception of an amusing nose bleed), it never feels like restrained Raimi, because the scares, story, and some of the characters are all so over the top and fun that he doesn't need buckets of blood to capture the insanity he so desires (not to say that the evil dead movies didn't use buckets of blood well). Evil Dead 2 may still be his masterpiece, but it's good to see that horror Raimi has still got it in him. Expand
  77. elly
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Loved it! It had frightening jump-out-of-your-seat moments, creepy moments where you just cover your eyes, gross moments and I found a lot of those creepy/gross moments to be completely HILARIOUS!!! I will definitely be checking out the Evil Dead movies by Sam Raimi.
  78. TDKinDallas
    May 29, 2009
    9
    This is the kind of movie that reminds you of why you love to go see movies. Bring a date and as many friends as you can. Better than any other movie so far this summer, including Star Trek.
  79. JacobP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Amidst all the cookie-cutter foolishness that's been plaguing the cinemas for years (Brangelina cheese; torture porn 'Saw' movies considered true horror; boring films trying justify their existence by pushing some limpid philosophy onto a bored audience) comes our hero, Sam Raimi, bringing with him a film that pushes you to the edge of your seat, screaming happily and Amidst all the cookie-cutter foolishness that's been plaguing the cinemas for years (Brangelina cheese; torture porn 'Saw' movies considered true horror; boring films trying justify their existence by pushing some limpid philosophy onto a bored audience) comes our hero, Sam Raimi, bringing with him a film that pushes you to the edge of your seat, screaming happily and laughing with everyone else in the cinema. If there is a nomination for best (horror) film of the year, it must be 'Drag Me to Hell'; just because it involves the audience. I have never been this encompassed by a movie, ever. I was in commune with the other movie-goers; it was tremendous fun. Expand
  80. ChrisW.
    Jun 12, 2009
    2
    I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously don't waste your money.
  81. Aaron
    Jun 18, 2009
    8
    I saw this with my two brothers and we all loved it. There are some very funny over the top moments as well as moments that keep you tightening your grip on the arm rest. I am glad to know that there are still fun horror movies that don't sacrifice a real script for knives and gore.
  82. DS
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    This is a GREAT movie... As long as you know what you're getting yourself into. Regardless of what the trailers may show, be warned that this is not a run-of-the-mill horror movie. It is campy, it is cheesy, and you will be laughing as often as jumping. All of the comments about the "CGI" are irrelevant, as this movie aims to be purposefully corny and low budget, even with the big This is a GREAT movie... As long as you know what you're getting yourself into. Regardless of what the trailers may show, be warned that this is not a run-of-the-mill horror movie. It is campy, it is cheesy, and you will be laughing as often as jumping. All of the comments about the "CGI" are irrelevant, as this movie aims to be purposefully corny and low budget, even with the big bucks that Sam Raimi has to throw around these days. It's gross, it's offensive, and it's a hell of a good time. If this sounds like your kind of movie, you'd be a fool to miss it. Expand
  83. GlenJ
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    This movie is a riot. It totally lambastes the method acting and synthetic plot sequence of most horror films. Altogether very entertaining and, just to address some weird criticisms, if you still take this film seriously after seeing it you need a lecture in irony
  84. MattM
    Jun 2, 2009
    1
    This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly in theaters at Dance Flick will laugh loudly at his movie too. IT's not clever, it's not scary, it's not anything. Seriously insulting, Raimi lost it after Spiderman 2. Expand
  85. RyanF
    Jun 8, 2009
    7
    I believe this movie could have been better but for what it is, it was good. However, if someone is un-aware that the movie is made to be cheesy and comical, you will think it sucks. It is a comedic horror film. But at times it is very suspenseful and at times it's the most hilarious thing you've ever seen. It's worth watching, but if your expecting seeing a gory horror I believe this movie could have been better but for what it is, it was good. However, if someone is un-aware that the movie is made to be cheesy and comical, you will think it sucks. It is a comedic horror film. But at times it is very suspenseful and at times it's the most hilarious thing you've ever seen. It's worth watching, but if your expecting seeing a gory horror film that is going to be serious and thrilling, don't watch it, it's a joke, literally. Expand
  86. TimH
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Finally, the damn Spiderman movies are over and Sam (and his brother) has come full circle, branding a suffering genre with his trademark style and glib wit. I say more cheesy horror and less spandex arachnophilia!
  87. JasonC.
    Aug 10, 2009
    5
    It's a reflection of the sad state of horror films when B-grade mediocrity is rewarded with critical acclaim. Interesting story but so poorly written and acted that it quickly becomes a yawnfest as you kill time waiting for the inevitable 'twist' at the end. No real scares or thrills to be had here...boring, predictable shlock.
  88. GrantZ
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Drag Me To Hell, has to be one of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Many of you may be complaining that it's tacky, cheesy and camp, but most OLD movies were like that. This differed from most movies by being genuinely interesting, and not centering around teenagers being murdered. More horror than humour. I must've jumped 10 times. ACE Worth a 96. Rounded up to 10.
  89. JayH
    Oct 8, 2009
    6
    This is a pretty cool horror movie, good performances, especially from Alison Lohman (who reminds me a lot of Amy Adams). Good special effects, suspenseful and plenty of gore for those who like that sort of thing.
  90. Moonwaffle
    May 29, 2009
    10
    What an amazing time. way more frightening than all the stupid torture porn movies flooding the horror market these days, and a lot more fun too. it also perfectly embodies everything i love about sam raimi as a director. combining the bizarre stomach-turning hilarity of his old evil dead movies with the skilled handling of the morality tales of his spiderman movies, the person sittingWhat an amazing time. way more frightening than all the stupid torture porn movies flooding the horror market these days, and a lot more fun too. it also perfectly embodies everything i love about sam raimi as a director. combining the bizarre stomach-turning hilarity of his old evil dead movies with the skilled handling of the morality tales of his spiderman movies, the person sitting behind me actually left because they peed their pants. totally lifted my spirits and scared the crap out of me at the same time. Expand
  91. TroyB.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    The most thoroughly rewarding movie experience I've had in a very long time. Great fun from beginning to end. Forget all of the other summer blockbusters, this is THE ONE to see.
  92. VolkerM.
    May 31, 2009
    6
    Let's face it: this is nothing more than an extended episode of "Tales of the Crypt": too supernatural to be really scary, too wacky to instill truly deep-seated fear. With nobody to emphasize with and no relevant subtext to discover, I was just left waiting to see, what will happen next... also: the racial type casting is worrisome.
  93. chrisp
    May 31, 2009
    10
    So old school. So Raimi. So brilliant!!!
  94. paul
    May 31, 2009
    4
    Over rated. A movie that attepts to get scares by being loud. Loud music, Loud weird noises, Loud screams, Just loud, sloppy. I would not recommend for anyone over the age of 16.
  95. PatrickD.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    i like kristian's comment a lot. i am sorry not every movie is a copy of the exorcist. Do you seriously go see horror movies looking for christian moral undertones and god saving people? This movie is awesome and is almost as good as evil dead 2. Its only fault is a lack of Bruce. the best pg 13 horror movie ever.
  96. ckk
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    Scary but still funny.
  97. JonF
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    Ridiculous, expertly-paced, hilarious, frightening and loads of fun. This is film made by a man unrestricted for the first time in a decade, drunk on his own exuberance, working wonderfully within genre to deliver what I want so many summer movies to be: engaging brain candy. This is the best horror flick I've seen in years, and I've seen way more than I should have.
  98. ThomC
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    I don't quite get the user reviews here which say this movie wasn't scary. I've seen a lot of horror flicks (most of them lousy) and this was one of a very rare few that actually kept me terrified to the very last shot. Yes, we get some humor--some intended and some perhaps not--and yes, those flash-cuts of scary faces coming out at you are something of a horror I don't quite get the user reviews here which say this movie wasn't scary. I've seen a lot of horror flicks (most of them lousy) and this was one of a very rare few that actually kept me terrified to the very last shot. Yes, we get some humor--some intended and some perhaps not--and yes, those flash-cuts of scary faces coming out at you are something of a horror cliché at this point, but.... I was genuinely scared a lot of the time. Otherwise, I was impressed with the very well-plotted script, the smart direction and the convincing performances. Yeah, there were moments I had the awful sensation of being dragged to hell. And isn't that why we go see horror movies in the first place? Totally recommended. One of the best I've ever seen. Expand
  99. SheriffN
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    I'm not going to sit here and say everything the man has put his hand to has been a work of genius (uh...Spider Man 3/Time cop??)--But when Raimi does make contact, he hits it 500 feet out of the park. Then, after rounding the bases 10 times with superhuman speed, he rips the home plate umpire in half unleashing several thousand gallons of red and green food coloring into the crowd, I'm not going to sit here and say everything the man has put his hand to has been a work of genius (uh...Spider Man 3/Time cop??)--But when Raimi does make contact, he hits it 500 feet out of the park. Then, after rounding the bases 10 times with superhuman speed, he rips the home plate umpire in half unleashing several thousand gallons of red and green food coloring into the crowd, who then become possessed by demons, A-Rod runs for his life, Gwar begins performing in center field..you get the idea. After a decade of horror movies that have catered to the extremes of cruelty, masochism, and the voyeuristic thirst for 'real life' violence (Saw, Hostel et al.), I felt refreshed and even uplifted experiencing 21st century Evil Dead style slapstick zombie-fu. I'll concede that the plot-Hot blond chick/time released deadly curse-is not terribly original, but some themes are turned on their head in unexpected ways. At times, the audience will find itself laughing with the bad guys (cheesy floating spirits/old vomit covered lady), at the painful blunders, poor judgment, and outright misery of the good guys (home loan officer and her boyfriend, the know it all university professor). Raimi respects that due to this topical character element, we may not want the heroine to succeed, and certainly we can say he does throw us several bones throughout the course of the film. The criticism that this film is not scary enough misses the point, and begs the question-with everything going on in the world, how can we possibly be scared by a movie? Saving that question for another day, lets just say that with Drag Me To Hell we have a classic horror storyline framed beautifully by one of the masters of the genre. I'm not ready to call it a cult classic, or put it in the same category as ED2 until the 'multiple watch' factor has been established, but if you're not thoroughly entertained by this film.....well....Release date for G-Force is July 24th. Expand
  100. AllaK
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, imaginative and extremely funny! Would recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour. But it is one of those, you either get it or you don
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 80
    Thrilling and often hilarious, it’s good to see one of Hollywood’s most inventive directors fully reinvigorated. On this form, Spider-Man 4 should be a belter.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    80
    The picture is single-mindedly devoted to pushing the audience's buttons, and who better than Raimi to do the honors?
  3. Raimi's still very much up to his old tricks, retaining that deliriously over-the-top brand of Grand Guignol horror that he had abandoned by the mid-'90s in pursuit of other genres.