Drag Me to Hell

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 606 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrankP
    Oct 25, 2009
    0
    "Exorcist" meets "Pee Wees Big Adventure" as imagined by a drunk third-grader. The only redeeming value of watching this movie was that I get to finally bump down "Romeo and Juliet" starring Leonardo DiCaprio as my worst movie of all time.
  2. jesss
    Oct 30, 2009
    2
    After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i highly advise you not to watch this as a horror fan but more of a comedy "shaun of the dead" type fan, not that it's that good. So disappointed. Expand
  3. ChrisH
    Jun 15, 2009
    1
    I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right after that?Terrible movie.
  4. Grant
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    Really bad. Tries to be a so-gross-it's-funny, so-campy-it's-funny, so-bad-it's-funny movie but is only kinda gross in parts. Definitely not scary. Definitely not well-written (or well-cast -- the apple mac guy plays a college professor from a well-to-do family). The whole movie my friends and I were going "huh? why? what? gross! was that supposed to be funny? how long is Really bad. Tries to be a so-gross-it's-funny, so-campy-it's-funny, so-bad-it's-funny movie but is only kinda gross in parts. Definitely not scary. Definitely not well-written (or well-cast -- the apple mac guy plays a college professor from a well-to-do family). The whole movie my friends and I were going "huh? why? what? gross! was that supposed to be funny? how long is this movie?" I tell you what--it cost a dollar to rent this from a red box and about 5 minutes to write this review and I feel this movie doesn't deserve either. Just skip it. Expand
  5. karlg
    Oct 2, 2009
    1
    If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets boring. Gypsies are still frequently the victims of violence and discrimination, so i feel they're portrayal in this movie was in bad taste. On the If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets boring. Gypsies are still frequently the victims of violence and discrimination, so i feel they're portrayal in this movie was in bad taste. On the plus side this movie has a talking goat. Expand
  6. DalliaG
    Oct 27, 2009
    0
    The main character murders a poor kitten in it.... made me sick to my stomach and I couldn't enjoy the rest of the movie. I have lost all respect for Raimi. Horrible movie.
  7. Phoenix
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    THIS has GOT to be the WORST movie I have seen in the past 10 years... are you people kidding me?? Who in their right mind would give this movie a "10"??? (( or anything higher than a 1 for that matter? )) Get Real!! The only good thing about this film being at the bottom of the list, is it will NOW be keeping the movie "BUGS" company... as it too falls in the catagory of WORST P.O.S. THIS has GOT to be the WORST movie I have seen in the past 10 years... are you people kidding me?? Who in their right mind would give this movie a "10"??? (( or anything higher than a 1 for that matter? )) Get Real!! The only good thing about this film being at the bottom of the list, is it will NOW be keeping the movie "BUGS" company... as it too falls in the catagory of WORST P.O.S. I've seen in a LONG TIME! Expand
  8. Dave
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    My wife and I made it through the first 15 minutes and wrote off the $5 pay-per-view fee as a total loss. If you have a sudden desire to watch this movie, don't.
  9. BrentJ
    Nov 15, 2009
    3
    I can't believe the critics loved this one. It was a totally cheesy movie. A few scary scenes & a few funny ones, but overall a pretty stupid movie.
  10. CurtisH
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Worst crap I have ever seen. Please god, I wish I could erase this retarded trash from my memory. Do not see this!!
  11. CapoRegime
    Oct 14, 2009
    2
    The film is proclaimed as a horror movie, but right at the start I'm starting to feel that they got it wrong. Drag me to hell is a comedy, directed by someone who's weird enough to make fun of putting or spraying something on the mouth.
  12. jonb
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    Seriously, has anyone ever read Thinner? Seriously?
  13. KevinL.
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are blatantly obvious to everyone in the audience. This movie is an unintentional parody of itself, watch it with that in mind. Expand
  14. RobertB.
    Nov 3, 2009
    2
    This movie was just terrible. I don't know if it was the directors cut that made it terrible or just the lame effects. The girl getting puked in the mouth multiple times was ultra-lame. I can't believe this movie has rated as well as it did.
  15. McGrease
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a leather seat and it echoed through the room. This is cheese. String cheese. I dont even think blaggy would have eaten this cheese. Raimi has made the I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a leather seat and it echoed through the room. This is cheese. String cheese. I dont even think blaggy would have eaten this cheese. Raimi has made the most greasy, skunk, and diarrhea filled horror movie in years. I seriously could of taken a dump on a camera lens that people would rather see than this trash. I would rather have my fingernails pulled off with pliers or be forced to smell a used diaper filled with Indian food. Get em next Raimi ... McGrease out. Expand
  16. ChristianRock
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    I had great expectations for this one but it failed miserably. Stiff performances from all actors, contrived storytelling and poor special effects, kitsch, not camp. It is a 'fun' movie, but only if you watch it to laugh at it and not with it.
  17. Sep 26, 2010
    0
    I will give this movie and the positive reviews the benefit of the doubt and assume it was much better in theatres. However, I watched it on HBO and it was frustratingly bad. The dialogue was superficial, seemingly written just to string together the story in between the screaming and supernatural events throughout. From the moment the the old women appears on screen in thatI will give this movie and the positive reviews the benefit of the doubt and assume it was much better in theatres. However, I watched it on HBO and it was frustratingly bad. The dialogue was superficial, seemingly written just to string together the story in between the screaming and supernatural events throughout. From the moment the the old women appears on screen in that trying-too-hard-to-be-creepy garb, I predicted that she was going to curse the main character. Everything that happens to the main character after that is just confusing and random. Many of the disturbances that plague the main character are, of course, not pleasant, you would not want them to happen to you. BUT finding a scarf in your throat and having to pull it out is not that terrifying. This and many other similar things happen just as fillers.

    The pace is ridiculous. The beginning is slow and drawn out yet it fails to establish an eerie vibe or build any suspense. When the random disturbances really start, they are almost non-stop until right before the ending. It is such overkill.

    The CGI effects are too cheap and unrealistic to be scary but not obviously cheesy enough to be funny. Whether it was meant to be funny/ cheesy or realistic/ scary, it did not look intentional. The girl is being taunted by a cartoon shadow. Seriously.

    The characters were total idiots with no substance. There is some random back story for the main character thrown in, more as a side note, toward the middle of the movie but it is irrelevant because that information is never really brought up again. She goes from young soft-spoken girl in business attire to flighty and confused to screeching one liners like "That's yours **** and I don't believe any of it. The boyfriend character is just there to react to the girl's changing behavior by brushing it off until he finally sees something himself and is proven wrong. Again, very original. I could go on and on. Seriously, it was insulting.
    Expand
  18. Jan 17, 2012
    3
    It's a bad movie. Not in a good Sam Raimi way either. It is just boring and not serious scary or funny scary. It's an hour and 39 minutes long but feels a good 40 minutes longer. Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi and a crazy old gypsy woman....how did this go wrong.
  19. Nov 5, 2010
    0
    This f*****g movie is full of s**t i hate it, it's disgusting, I usually like horror movies but this one goes to far, it's awful, i have never given a movie this bad a review.
  20. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    How can any reasonable human being give this movie a good rating? I abhorred every second of Drag Me to Hell and despite admitting that it wasn’t badly made in terms of set design, cinematography, or editing, for example, it suffers from a director who can’t seem to decide if he wants to make a parody on horror movies or an actual horror movie and ends up making one of the hugest pieces ofHow can any reasonable human being give this movie a good rating? I abhorred every second of Drag Me to Hell and despite admitting that it wasn’t badly made in terms of set design, cinematography, or editing, for example, it suffers from a director who can’t seem to decide if he wants to make a parody on horror movies or an actual horror movie and ends up making one of the hugest pieces of in recent years (I could, in fact, re-use all of these words when writing a review for The Cabin in the Woods, another outrageously overrated rubbish). Limiting himself to a PG-13 rating, Raimi at least spares the audience more atrociously surrealistic CGI gore effects, but the 3rd highest as well as lowest of MPAA classifications still leaves space for idiotic dialogs, shameless copying from other horror flicks, and blatant predictability. I’m not saying that I wasn’t frightened by parts of it, yet for most of the time, I was offended and disgusted by this ghastly made movie. Critics that call it ironic or even hilarious just have to be paid by Universal Pictures since there is no other valid explanation for entitling a movie ‘ironic’ when it obviously isn’t aware of how stupid it is. And now don’t come to me with “it’s only for the purpose of entertainment” besides all of that it’s still a dull and dreary movie that is laden with tons of clichés. Drag Me to Hell? Drag me out of the cinema! Expand
  21. benjaminp
    Jun 1, 2009
    0
    This movie smells...Bad...Exremely BAD..I hope this movie takes a shower and does the get shot dance in the middle of the free way.
  22. GilbertL
    Jun 1, 2009
    3
    Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned effects jumping up and saying 'Boo' to the audience every few minutes. It's easy to tell when this will happen because the music will drop Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned effects jumping up and saying 'Boo' to the audience every few minutes. It's easy to tell when this will happen because the music will drop ominous hints and the sound effects become excruciatingly loud (a rusty gate, pounding on doors, all turned up to 11). If that doesn't lower the scare factor, then surely the Three Stooges inspired slapstick will. Frankly, I thought 'The Haunted Mansion' with Eddie Murphy was scarier and funnier than this. I certainly hope Mr. Raimi hasn't completely lost his filmmaking integrity by devoting so much time to all those Spiderman movies. Expand
  23. DonaldB.
    Jun 12, 2009
    2
    This is not a good movie. I fail to see stars in any aspect.
  24. BM
    Jun 25, 2009
    1
    Worst movie i have EVER seen! I have given it a 1 based on the hilarity of the talking goat...and thats it.
  25. ArvinM.
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    Wow even more stupid on DVD!
  26. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the only movie I have ever shut off half way through. It was the cheesiest, campiest, worst acted and laughably directed pile of fecal matter of a film I have ever had the misfortune of encountering. Wow - I cant believe people actually liked this awful excuse for a film. It makes me want to scream when characters act ridiculously to events that befall them. Spoiler Alert: Like Lohman's character the day after being viciously gummed and stabbing an old lady in the neck... "Maybe I should have given her an extension on that loan..." WHAT??? You stabbed an old witch in the neck!!!! Are you kidding me? The writers should have listen to this trash on continuous playback for all eternity. I can't imagine a worse hell. Expand
  27. Jul 29, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really just disgusting and that's all that can be said about this horrible flick. The opening scene was bad, and usually, a movie doesn't get any better after that. The whole premise is fairly ridiculous to start out with. The main character obviously is a good person, why would she be cursed ? She had no control over the situation the old woman was in, and she was not responsible. The entire film is filled with senseless dialogue and actions that don't make any sense. It could be a comedy, a bad one, something like 'Revenge of the repossessed homeowner'... Expand
  28. Jul 22, 2011
    3
    Kinda weird in my case to rate a negative score to a positive movie, anyway, expecting something scary isn't the right thing in here. Drag me too hell is stupid, and idiotically funny, i felt that it wasn't taking the main theme seriously, while it does some creepy sound effects, it isn't entertaining or tense as other Horror movies.
  29. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    i cant believe this is critic acclaimed !!!first of all flying handkerchief ,possessed guy dancing around the table,talking goat,and so called cheap gross COMEDY is seriously not scary,waste of time and the lamest movie i've ever seen ever.this is the worst acclaimed movie ..they even call the ending a surprise and seriously just spell the movie and just be done with it.the only surprisei cant believe this is critic acclaimed !!!first of all flying handkerchief ,possessed guy dancing around the table,talking goat,and so called cheap gross COMEDY is seriously not scary,waste of time and the lamest movie i've ever seen ever.this is the worst acclaimed movie ..they even call the ending a surprise and seriously just spell the movie and just be done with it.the only surprise and scary is how the rating is so high. Expand
  30. Mar 18, 2012
    2
    I saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed the entire movie. The acting is bad, the lines are cheesy,and the plot is even more dumb. At one part she's getting attacked and for some reason she has anI saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed the entire movie. The acting is bad, the lines are cheesy,and the plot is even more dumb. At one part she's getting attacked and for some reason she has an anvil tied to a string above the spot where her attacker is, and just happens to have an ice skate next to the rope. The end is the worst part of all. Expand
  31. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    I truly love horror movies. I love many of them, The Shining, Paranormal Activity, Saw, The Sixth Sense, Signs, Silence of the Lambs, ALL instant classics. When I heard about Drag Me To Hell I was super excited, rarely is there a horror movie with such great reviews. When I finally watched it, I was disappointed to say the least. This movie is so ridiculously over rated and not scary itI truly love horror movies. I love many of them, The Shining, Paranormal Activity, Saw, The Sixth Sense, Signs, Silence of the Lambs, ALL instant classics. When I heard about Drag Me To Hell I was super excited, rarely is there a horror movie with such great reviews. When I finally watched it, I was disappointed to say the least. This movie is so ridiculously over rated and not scary it hurt me to watch. I am baffled at how reviewers can speak so highly of it. It's truly one of the worst films I've ever seen, no part of it was good, the plot was mediocre, the 'intense' scenes weren't even mildly enjoyable, and the ending was abominable. As I read the other positive reviews I feel as if the reviewers and I watched two different films. Do yourself a favor and avoid this movie at all costs unless you are extremely easily scared, or you just want something to make fun of for 90 minutes. Expand
  32. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    This movie was so disgustingly bad that I had to create an account just to express the hate that grew throughout the movie. After reading what other critic said about this movie I had gained somewhat high expectations, what was left of them drowned in the useless **** ending that any 3 year old could have guessed from watching 3 seconds of that ****

    I feel that this movie raped my life -
    This movie was so disgustingly bad that I had to create an account just to express the hate that grew throughout the movie. After reading what other critic said about this movie I had gained somewhat high expectations, what was left of them drowned in the useless **** ending that any 3 year old could have guessed from watching 3 seconds of that ****

    I feel that this movie raped my life - I want my time back.
    Expand
  33. Aug 19, 2012
    1
    This movie was quiet weird. It started off okay but in the final half and hour i don't know what happened. The movie went from high standard to worse than a syfy movie. The main character is completely unrealistic in her response to what is going on. Drag me to hell is complete crap and the movie made me wishing i was being dragged to hell while watching this so called horror film.
  34. Aug 27, 2012
    2
    I am truely in disarray at what the critics thought was so great about this film. It was the furthest thing from scary, and the so called funny moments where unrecognizable. Boring and pretty stupid overall.
  35. May 25, 2013
    1
    I gave up on this movie 1 hour in.. Horribly boring and predictable movie. Really one of the worst movies i have ever seen. Not a single scary moment, just a ridiculous amount of pathetic attempts.. And really? A goat that yells out Really?... :S This movie is pure crap. The lead actress was not convincing at all. I want my hour back...
  36. Feb 9, 2013
    1
    I cant believe that anyone could rate it more than 3 but it seems that critics watch it from other dimensions this is one of worst movie that I ever see and it make worse that it 's from one of my favorite directors
  37. Jul 23, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give it a 1 because the old woman without dentures french kissing the protagonist and, why not, sharing large amounts of corporal liquids while at it, is legitimately horrifying.

    Beside that, the film it's just awful. Every character it's a prick. The protagonist seems almost human, until she goes and slice her little kitten in a lame attempt to stop her curse. Despite that, she seems outraged when the mediums gets ready to do the same to a random goat.

    Then what else we got... conveniently hanging anvils, Kalinka dancing possessed mediums, and dying old hags with a terminator stamina and a liking for young blond chicks mouth rape. And in all this, I couldn't tell if this was supposed to be funny, scary, or both, and maybe this is the biggest fault of this movie.

    Then, an envelope containing the crucial item for the protagonist survival gets lost in a bunch of random papers, and when she finds it she doesn't check if it's actually the right envelope... I wonder what this will lead to.
    Really, one of the most awful film I've ever seen.
    Expand
  38. ChrisW.
    Jun 12, 2009
    2
    I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously don't waste your money.
  39. MattM
    Jun 2, 2009
    1
    This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly in theaters at Dance Flick will laugh loudly at his movie too. IT's not clever, it's not scary, it's not anything. Seriously insulting, Raimi lost it after Spiderman 2. Expand
  40. NickS.
    Jun 15, 2009
    2
    wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not suspenseful - just bad. Give me Evil Dead, Dead Alive or Saw any-day over this nonsense of a movie.
  41. L
    Jun 1, 2009
    2
    Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Movie 5... and this movie should be placed in a "Comedy" category, not in a "Horror/Suspense". Please drag this movie to hell.
  42. Theone
    Jun 20, 2009
    0
    Horror?!? How on earth critics & many people rate this film so high. Do u guys live in La La land?!? Those guys who created this film should have donated the money to poor rather making this film. It should be in top 3 of the top 10 worst movie in history. I would give -10, as it is not possible so I
  43. SteveB
    Jun 4, 2009
    0
    Oh my god. I walked out on this movie. Absolutely horrible, horrible, horrible. The parts that were supposed to be scary were, at best, funny in a pathetic way. I expected so much more from Sam Raimi.
  44. ManekiN
    Jun 4, 2009
    2
    This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and nothing that happened after that changed my mind. Worst film I've seen at the cinema since Phantom of the Opera. Give it a miss.
  45. DaneT
    Jun 5, 2009
    2
    I'm so pissed at having having believed the bullshit reviews by idiots around the country about this movie. What a stupid piece of shit and waste of time. How insulting to put out a film so weak that it has to rely on loud, startling music and cliche sound effects to actually create a sense of terror. This has been so overdone and worked in the 70's, but now? Really? The star of I'm so pissed at having having believed the bullshit reviews by idiots around the country about this movie. What a stupid piece of shit and waste of time. How insulting to put out a film so weak that it has to rely on loud, startling music and cliche sound effects to actually create a sense of terror. This has been so overdone and worked in the 70's, but now? Really? The star of the show was the music and the kitten which ends up getting knifed and thrown in the dirt. Disgusting! Shame on the movie and $&%k all you overpaid critics! I want my money back Expand
  46. AlyssaS.
    Jul 8, 2009
    0
    Worst movie EVER I cant believe you people liked it! I wanted my money back on this one and cant believe it made it to theatres aghhhhh BADDDDDDD!!!
  47. AshleyM
    Aug 3, 2009
    2
    Really! I have no idea what you guys are talking about! Have you not seen the ridiculous scenes involving the old gypsy biting, actually Biting, with her toothless jaws at the main girl. I mean, anyone could have come up with something better, more realistic. Reminds me too, the scene in the trailer, where she roles over and finds the old gypsy laying right beside her. Yea, that went on a Really! I have no idea what you guys are talking about! Have you not seen the ridiculous scenes involving the old gypsy biting, actually Biting, with her toothless jaws at the main girl. I mean, anyone could have come up with something better, more realistic. Reminds me too, the scene in the trailer, where she roles over and finds the old gypsy laying right beside her. Yea, that went on a little too long with the whole biting again. It's just gross and obnoxious to the point where my acceptance towards the movie just lowered and lowered. I thought the storyline was going to be decent, especially when we haven't had a real Good horror movie in a longg time. But as time went on I realized that it was a waste of my $9. Expand
  48. DukeF
    Jun 11, 2009
    1
    This was a total piece of excrement. Do yourself a favor and read the user reviews...ignore the 83 average from the critics...this is more like a 23. You'd have to be a third grader to find this nonsense scary and while it had a few funny moments, it had none of the "we know this is a bad movie so we're gonna run with it." magic that you all know and love. But it did manage to This was a total piece of excrement. Do yourself a favor and read the user reviews...ignore the 83 average from the critics...this is more like a 23. You'd have to be a third grader to find this nonsense scary and while it had a few funny moments, it had none of the "we know this is a bad movie so we're gonna run with it." magic that you all know and love. But it did manage to be loud, frenetic and somehow boring at same time, so I guess that's something, right? Total excrement. Expand
  49. IsaacS.
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    This has got to be the worst horror flick ever. The most overrated horror movie of all time, with such bad acting, a way to simple plot, and an ending that makes you drop your money into the firey pit of hell.
  50. LarryK.
    Oct 18, 2009
    2
    I laughed throughout the movie and I thought for sure the other members of the audience, who were trying so hard to be sooooooo scared, were going to kill me. My score of 2 was arrived at by giving the movie a 7 for humor and a -5 for horror. "Here kitty kitty kitty." LOL!
  51. lizziet
    May 31, 2009
    1
    Some parts were just completely stupid , and badly made. the acting wasn't very good. and the end dragged on too long.
  52. PhilS
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    Absolute drivel. The rave reviews clearly focus on a movie with the same title on Bizarro Earth, because the one I saw hardly deserves the eight bucks I threw at it. I can't even believe I am admitting I saw it.
  53. JuanL
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Very bad movie. It is not funny and far away from terrifying. A waste of time and money. I was at the point of leave from the theater.
  54. Jul 13, 2015
    3
    You can always try to overthink stuff, and in this case, a movie. Then, the real problem lies on why do critics think this as a horror movie deserves an 83. Sometimes I think about it and I kind of understand the reason, because the majority of them say it is funny, or comedic, or hilarious, etc... And yes! It gets to be funny, but I just don't see it as a "Thriller, Horror" film worth 83You can always try to overthink stuff, and in this case, a movie. Then, the real problem lies on why do critics think this as a horror movie deserves an 83. Sometimes I think about it and I kind of understand the reason, because the majority of them say it is funny, or comedic, or hilarious, etc... And yes! It gets to be funny, but I just don't see it as a "Thriller, Horror" film worth 83 over 100. I just don't get it. Expand
  55. Aug 1, 2015
    2
    I thought this movie was going to be very good so I was never biased against it. I watched it alone in the dark so that wasn't the problem. This movie is just an abysmal movie. It was never really scary. It had some jump scares but they range from very slightly startling to laughable. Some of the special effects in the movie are so bad that they take you out of the experience. If they areI thought this movie was going to be very good so I was never biased against it. I watched it alone in the dark so that wasn't the problem. This movie is just an abysmal movie. It was never really scary. It had some jump scares but they range from very slightly startling to laughable. Some of the special effects in the movie are so bad that they take you out of the experience. If they are trying to be comical that didn't work either. If they didn't have the budget for the kind of special effects they needed they shouldn't have tried to do them anyway. The character is pretty annoying as well. There aren't really any redeeming qualities. Watch something else. I wish I had. Expand
  56. May 5, 2015
    2
    I'm a big horror genre fan and out of all the movies I have seen so far, this is probably the worst movie. The scenes are way too gross and too much editing has been done which makes the movie look very childish and unreal. Also, the actors were loosing their focus inbetween some of the scenes (multiple times) and both, the editing crew and the directer, were too careless to notice. EvenI'm a big horror genre fan and out of all the movies I have seen so far, this is probably the worst movie. The scenes are way too gross and too much editing has been done which makes the movie look very childish and unreal. Also, the actors were loosing their focus inbetween some of the scenes (multiple times) and both, the editing crew and the directer, were too careless to notice. Even the end was extremely straight forward and predictable. The only reason I gave it 2 points was because the old woman was spot on! She was the best actor in the entire movie. Almost everything else was very disappointing. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 80
    Thrilling and often hilarious, it’s good to see one of Hollywood’s most inventive directors fully reinvigorated. On this form, Spider-Man 4 should be a belter.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    80
    The picture is single-mindedly devoted to pushing the audience's buttons, and who better than Raimi to do the honors?
  3. Raimi's still very much up to his old tricks, retaining that deliriously over-the-top brand of Grand Guignol horror that he had abandoned by the mid-'90s in pursuit of other genres.