Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 842 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
639
Mixed:
87
Negative:
116
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
Taoist_ImmortalJun 27, 2011
Drag Me to Hell is a perfect example of why CRITICS know what the hell (pun intended) they're talking about. This is one of those rare instances where the critics are the ones who praise a film (I mean, holy crap ... this film has like a 96%Drag Me to Hell is a perfect example of why CRITICS know what the hell (pun intended) they're talking about. This is one of those rare instances where the critics are the ones who praise a film (I mean, holy crap ... this film has like a 96% approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes) while the general public completely pans it. Guess what? After seeing this film, I can definitely say without a shadow of a doubt that all of the critics are absolutely, 100% correct. This is easily one of the greatest horror-thrillers of all time, the scariest horror-thriller of all time, and by far the most well-directed horror-thriller of all time. It's amazing how many people claimed that this film wasn't "scary" at all, when in fact they were probably wetting their damn pants everytime something popped out out of nowhere after the misdirection/suspenseful build-up that happens throughout the entire movie. Cheap? Maybe. Does it work? Absolutely. This film now ties with The Mist as being my two favorite horror-thrillers of all time. A great example of why critics are the only ones who should be making any comments about anything. Critics and myself, one of the few people who aren't a bunch of stupid morons who wouldn't know "good" from "bad" if their damn soul depended on it (another intended pun). Nearly ten major critics (from Entertainment Weekly to the Washington Post) gave this film a PERFECT score. Personally, I wouldn't give it higher than a 90/100 or a 9.0 out of 10 ... but it really sickens me to read what many of the movie-goers have said about this film. All those comments have done is prove just how stupid most people really are. The critics have it ... everyone else, kindly STFU

It's interesting how a lot of people (and I don't just mean on here) claim that this film wasn't the least bit scary ... and then they turn right around and admit that there were plenty of "jump scares" (which I guess is the term people are using) throughout. Okay ... so if suspenseful music/tension and misdirection leading to an inevitable, shocking "scare" isn't what "scary" is, then I'd really like to know what IS.

Of all of the horror thrillers I've seen in the last decade or so (1408, The Mist, The Others, Skeleton Key, The Descent, The Ring, 28 Weeks Later, Hills Have Eyes, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, House of Wax, etc., (too many more to name ... those are just off the top of my head)), Drag Me to Hell is BY FAR the scariest. If this film doesn't qualify as being "scary," then I really don't know what else in the entire damn world would qualify as such, because every single one of those other movies I just named (and pretty much every horror film ever, especially slasher-types) watch like the Care Bears movie compared to Drag Me to Hell.

Honestly, do people even THINK before they post reviews on sites like IMDB and Metacritic?

Yes, the movie IS full of cheap, "misdirect and then jump out at you" shock-scares ... that's what SCARY IS!

Of course, as with all horror thrillers, how "scary" it happens to be really depends on how, where, and when you watch it. For instance, if you watched this film with other people around during the daytime ... or even in a movie theater surrounded by other people, then it probably wouldn't come off that scary at all. I, on the other hand, watched this film by myself, in a dark room, in the middle of the night. Big difference. I actually considered closing my eyes at one point, but then I realized that the scares would have been even worse, as the loud, out-of-nowhere SOUNDS in this film are half the scare. At least with my eyes open I could see the nasty, crusty, hag of an old woman pop out out of nowhere and be expecting the loud-ass shriek that accompanies it.

It's one thing to NOT like the film, but to actually say that this movie wasn't scary is just plain ridiculous and stems from pure bias and spite. Because I can think of no other horror thriller in the last decade or two that even compares in terms of sheer fright and tension. If Drag Me to Hell isn't scary, then nothing in the world of cinema is. I pretty much cringed for the entire 100 minutes.

And yeah, there are still people who classify this as part "comedy," but until Sam Raimi himself openly says that (which he has NOT), I call bull. The fact of the matter is, a "comedic" horror film would be quite obvious in its tone and atmosphere. I've seen "comedic" horror films before, and this watches nothing like those. This was a film that took its plot very seriously,where exactly did it say "spoof" or "parody" to you? Drag Me to Hell was tense and unnerving the entire time. If you laughed during this, then that's something to get checked out. Because there was nothing even remotely funny about this movie. Disgusting, shocking, and terrifying? Yes.

Bottomline is, most horror thrillers slightly entertain but do not end up impressing me much. This one shocked me to the core.
Expand
30 of 36 users found this helpful306
All this user's reviews
9
justjakenitNov 29, 2010
This movie was advertised as a scary jump out of your seat horror movie. I feel bad for those of you that wanted to o see another jumpy crappy predictable horror film, but for anyone who is a true fan of film and are familiar with Raimi'sThis movie was advertised as a scary jump out of your seat horror movie. I feel bad for those of you that wanted to o see another jumpy crappy predictable horror film, but for anyone who is a true fan of film and are familiar with Raimi's earlier works (the Evil Dead series in particular) then you should have expected what you got. To me this movie was great it had moments where it scared you but it also had moments that made me cry from laughing. Guys it's supposed to be cheesy, that's his style and I find Drag Me to Hell to be the most original horror film in some time. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was because of the false advertising. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
bandgeeka17Aug 17, 2012
drag me to hell is a movie who have seen and understand raimi movies because his style is just not like any other.his movies reach such acclaim because they try to make a point on the current status of the horror genre and he makes light ofdrag me to hell is a movie who have seen and understand raimi movies because his style is just not like any other.his movies reach such acclaim because they try to make a point on the current status of the horror genre and he makes light of it. his best example of this is the evil dead 2. it delivers an amount of cheese that reminds me of his older movies. this movie is intentionally all cheese Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Tiki7690Aug 23, 2012
This movie is an incredible thrill ride. There are small laughs planted between and within the grand scares. Some dialogue is intentionally grin-inducing, and also some scares, too. The cheesy CGI isn't a con, because it perfectly fits inThis movie is an incredible thrill ride. There are small laughs planted between and within the grand scares. Some dialogue is intentionally grin-inducing, and also some scares, too. The cheesy CGI isn't a con, because it perfectly fits in with the craziness of the film. Even all of that can't water down how truly terrifying this movie can be, though.

It's campy, fun, and theatrical. A movie to watch with a group, because you'll all be laughing and freaking out and having a good time. But be warned: when the credits roll, you won't exactly feel good. The movie is haunting.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
LOmarGJun 2, 2012
It's scary, shocking, and excellently made. I felt a different type of fear while watching this. It's not your typical monster or possesion fright-fest. With the exception of a few CG effects, everything works rather well and reallyIt's scary, shocking, and excellently made. I felt a different type of fear while watching this. It's not your typical monster or possesion fright-fest. With the exception of a few CG effects, everything works rather well and really creates a sense of dread and suspense. One of the better horror movies I've seen in a while. You might not want to watch it alone, or before going to bed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Supernatural horror with here-and-there touches of satire is an irresistible modern Halloween pick.

Sam Raimiâ
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BelmsherAug 10, 2011
This is undoubtedly the best horror movie of the decade. I really was surprised when I read so many good reviews because I was absolutely convinced it would be the kind horror fans would praise but critics taunt... it was just the reverse.This is undoubtedly the best horror movie of the decade. I really was surprised when I read so many good reviews because I was absolutely convinced it would be the kind horror fans would praise but critics taunt... it was just the reverse. This shocked me. If you really appreciate horror movies, it's completely impossible this being a letdown. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Drag Me To Hell is one of my favourite horrors. Well, it is partially a comedy, too, but it can get pretty scary at times.
I just love the fact that it's not the usual stupid horror: full of gore and nothing behind it. Drag Me To Hell has a
Drag Me To Hell is one of my favourite horrors. Well, it is partially a comedy, too, but it can get pretty scary at times.
I just love the fact that it's not the usual stupid horror: full of gore and nothing behind it. Drag Me To Hell has a compelling and very interesting story, some good acting and it just a straight-out good film. Definitely high entertainment value and I'd recommend anyone who likes good horrors to watch it. Yes, it is funny sometimes, but what's wrong with that? Can't a horror be also funny?! Definitely a great surprise of a film!
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
dpaniaguaApr 1, 2013
Raimi has made the most crazy, fun, and terrifying horror movie in years. its the most amazing horror movie you will see! the cast leads stellar perfomances in their roles.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
diego9901Apr 5, 2013
como solo raimi lo sabe hacer crea otra pelicula de horror con tintes de comedio la cual no importa de q angulo la mires siempre dara resultado este es un gran regreso por parte de raimi al genero delterror
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 14, 2013
Perfect mix! Its scary but also so funny, you can't take this serious.
So don't expect too much and you will be surprised!
Every second of this movie is great!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
JustblazexApr 6, 2011
I saw this movie in theaters when it came out so my memory is a bit rusty... But after seeing the high score this got i have to call BS... first off the Gypsy woman put a curse on her... after not 1... not 2 but 3 house extensions and cursesI saw this movie in theaters when it came out so my memory is a bit rusty... But after seeing the high score this got i have to call BS... first off the Gypsy woman put a curse on her... after not 1... not 2 but 3 house extensions and curses the girl in the film because she can't pay for her damn house and its the one time the girl decides to deny someone on a loan.... seriously this movie was down right horrible and deserves about a 4... it wasn't scary and was barely even funny just a poorly written story Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
This is probably one of the scariest best directed and produced horror film in years. Sam Raimi has finally directed something worth seeing over and over again. The characters are so developed, intense scenes that I will never forget, andThis is probably one of the scariest best directed and produced horror film in years. Sam Raimi has finally directed something worth seeing over and over again. The characters are so developed, intense scenes that I will never forget, and just pure fun. That description I can't say for many horror movies and it might not have been the scariest, but I give props for a developed story that wasn't cheesy, and Lorna Raver playing the evil Mrs. Ganush. It was a smart horror movie; that is uncommon for the horror genre. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
9
SimonG.Jun 19, 2009
I usually come here to read some critic and user comments before going to a movie. Just to give me an idea. Not to save money. Just to make sure I'll spend some good time sitting at the movie theatre. I didn't do it for this one. I I usually come here to read some critic and user comments before going to a movie. Just to give me an idea. Not to save money. Just to make sure I'll spend some good time sitting at the movie theatre. I didn't do it for this one. I wasn't even planning to go the movies. A totally spontaneous decision I took with my girlfriend on a rainy day. I barely had the time to watch the trailer. I went there only to saw a return to horror from Sam Raimi, only to realize two things. First, the trailer doesn't sell the movie at all and isn't representative of the movie really is. Second, this is a great movie that met perfectly my expectations of seeing the new flick by the guy who did Evil Dead. So many people worship the Evil Dead trilogy and most of them didn Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Pelen23Jul 28, 2014
Funny and scary, well sam raimi is back to his roots. If you are looking for a typical horror ,you would be disappointed but if you like the 80s horror/ comedy then This is definitely for you . The film reminded me of my position in a bankFunny and scary, well sam raimi is back to his roots. If you are looking for a typical horror ,you would be disappointed but if you like the 80s horror/ comedy then This is definitely for you . The film reminded me of my position in a bank and I had to make similar decisions so I both disagree and sympathise Christine's situation. Lorna Raver is absolutely great as Mrs Ganush and the fight between Christine and Mrs Ganush is priceless. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
SeymourBAug 8, 2009
As a huge fan of the Evil Dead series I didn't expect much from the trailers I saw, and the fact that I haven't been impressed with much of what Raimi's done in the past decade or so. In turn I prepared myself to see another As a huge fan of the Evil Dead series I didn't expect much from the trailers I saw, and the fact that I haven't been impressed with much of what Raimi's done in the past decade or so. In turn I prepared myself to see another generic piece of crap (essentially nearly every horror movie of this decade), and that is likely what made this film so great. I enjoyed nearly every bit of it, and it felt like a glorious return-to-form for Raimi. However, I must say that the protgonist's acting was atrocious beyond stanard "b" type horror acting. I also personally felt she wasn't likable , but that is just my opinion because I don't care for protagonists that crave social acceptance. All-in-all I give Drag Me to Hell an 8 for being an overall fun movie to watch, despite the acting. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
BlogDog123May 26, 2011
This is the best horror flick I have seen in a while, and that is saying something, since I hardly watch horror at all (I get scared REALLY easily). A ton of moments made me go "eww" and "O_O", and those are reactions you are supposed to getThis is the best horror flick I have seen in a while, and that is saying something, since I hardly watch horror at all (I get scared REALLY easily). A ton of moments made me go "eww" and "O_O", and those are reactions you are supposed to get in a good horror movie. Also, I was TOTALLY not expecting the ending. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Oct 16, 2011
I cannot understand why people didn't like this film. Ok, it is kind of trash but "Drag me to Hell" is overall entertaining and filled with something that current horror films are missing: a good script
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This is a hilarious film which is also scary in the right places. Sam Raimi knows what he is doing in the horror genre and I am glad that the film doesn't take itself too seriously. It has a clever plot with a slightly predictable twist butThis is a hilarious film which is also scary in the right places. Sam Raimi knows what he is doing in the horror genre and I am glad that the film doesn't take itself too seriously. It has a clever plot with a slightly predictable twist but all in all everything works in Drag Me to Hell. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
KandraaOct 28, 2010
This movie seems kinda like a mocking spin on the traditional horror movies we are use to in this day and age. The parts that were meant to be scary were scary with a little twist of humour. It was very entertaining and didn't feel like aThis movie seems kinda like a mocking spin on the traditional horror movies we are use to in this day and age. The parts that were meant to be scary were scary with a little twist of humour. It was very entertaining and didn't feel like a complete waste of my time. So if you want a slightly cheesy, scary, and kinda funny horror movie pick this up. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
DedValveNov 3, 2010
Drag me to Hell is certainly a mixed movie. I went in expecting a horror movie and was greatly disappointed however what I watched was an incredibly hilarious, gory and downright stupid movie. It's not bad in any way, it was just marketed asDrag me to Hell is certainly a mixed movie. I went in expecting a horror movie and was greatly disappointed however what I watched was an incredibly hilarious, gory and downright stupid movie. It's not bad in any way, it was just marketed as a true horror. Drag me to Hell is actually a B horror movie, those movies that try to scare you but are so bad their good. It was a original, funny, had those "jump" moments that would scare and tension. In the end it was brilliant, I think the reason it had so many bad reviews is because people see it as a normal horror movie, and not a "B Horror" movie.

It's a watch.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
BryanFNov 3, 2009
I honestly don't know where these bad user reviews are coming from. With so many "Horror" movies out there that rely on nothing but shock value, I find Drag Me To Hell refreshing. What I liked most of all is Raimi's ability to I honestly don't know where these bad user reviews are coming from. With so many "Horror" movies out there that rely on nothing but shock value, I find Drag Me To Hell refreshing. What I liked most of all is Raimi's ability to create scares that you never see coming. It also has an ending that will leave your jaw dropped. My only complaint was there were 1 or 2 scenes where the lead actress's acting was less than impressive. If your tired of horror movie cliches, such as high heel shoes breaking and "don't go in there!" scenes, then watch this film, it will not disappoint. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BrandonJun 1, 2009
If you like Raimi's style of mixing genre's. Go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LewisHJun 13, 2009
One of the best horror movies i've ever seen!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DorinB.Jun 17, 2009
Scariest damn thing I have ever seen. I literally made a mess in my pants...haha! I don't think anyone would be brave to watch that movie alone! I wouldn't! Haha. Bye
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SamOct 20, 2009
When I first saw this movie I knew it was a horror comedy but I was annoyed more than anything. Then I watched Evil Dead 2, which I adored, and I thought back on this movie and I 'got' it. I gave it another chance and thought it When I first saw this movie I knew it was a horror comedy but I was annoyed more than anything. Then I watched Evil Dead 2, which I adored, and I thought back on this movie and I 'got' it. I gave it another chance and thought it was hysterical fun. Raimi builds up the countless jump scares in the film, but he doesn't use these scares as a way of 'legitimately' scaring you as most recent horror movies do: he uses them to entertain you, and they made me laugh incredibly hard. Despite the PG-13 rating and almost complete lack of blood (with the exception of an amusing nose bleed), it never feels like restrained Raimi, because the scares, story, and some of the characters are all so over the top and fun that he doesn't need buckets of blood to capture the insanity he so desires (not to say that the evil dead movies didn't use buckets of blood well). Evil Dead 2 may still be his masterpiece, but it's good to see that horror Raimi has still got it in him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ellyOct 26, 2009
Loved it! It had frightening jump-out-of-your-seat moments, creepy moments where you just cover your eyes, gross moments and I found a lot of those creepy/gross moments to be completely HILARIOUS!!! I will definitely be checking out the Evil Loved it! It had frightening jump-out-of-your-seat moments, creepy moments where you just cover your eyes, gross moments and I found a lot of those creepy/gross moments to be completely HILARIOUS!!! I will definitely be checking out the Evil Dead movies by Sam Raimi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TDKinDallasMay 29, 2009
This is the kind of movie that reminds you of why you love to go see movies. Bring a date and as many friends as you can. Better than any other movie so far this summer, including Star Trek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobP.May 30, 2009
Amidst all the cookie-cutter foolishness that's been plaguing the cinemas for years (Brangelina cheese; torture porn 'Saw' movies considered true horror; boring films trying justify their existence by pushing some limpid Amidst all the cookie-cutter foolishness that's been plaguing the cinemas for years (Brangelina cheese; torture porn 'Saw' movies considered true horror; boring films trying justify their existence by pushing some limpid philosophy onto a bored audience) comes our hero, Sam Raimi, bringing with him a film that pushes you to the edge of your seat, screaming happily and laughing with everyone else in the cinema. If there is a nomination for best (horror) film of the year, it must be 'Drag Me to Hell'; just because it involves the audience. I have never been this encompassed by a movie, ever. I was in commune with the other movie-goers; it was tremendous fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronJun 18, 2009
I saw this with my two brothers and we all loved it. There are some very funny over the top moments as well as moments that keep you tightening your grip on the arm rest. I am glad to know that there are still fun horror movies that I saw this with my two brothers and we all loved it. There are some very funny over the top moments as well as moments that keep you tightening your grip on the arm rest. I am glad to know that there are still fun horror movies that don't sacrifice a real script for knives and gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DSJun 2, 2009
This is a GREAT movie... As long as you know what you're getting yourself into. Regardless of what the trailers may show, be warned that this is not a run-of-the-mill horror movie. It is campy, it is cheesy, and you will be laughing as This is a GREAT movie... As long as you know what you're getting yourself into. Regardless of what the trailers may show, be warned that this is not a run-of-the-mill horror movie. It is campy, it is cheesy, and you will be laughing as often as jumping. All of the comments about the "CGI" are irrelevant, as this movie aims to be purposefully corny and low budget, even with the big bucks that Sam Raimi has to throw around these days. It's gross, it's offensive, and it's a hell of a good time. If this sounds like your kind of movie, you'd be a fool to miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlenJJun 20, 2009
This movie is a riot. It totally lambastes the method acting and synthetic plot sequence of most horror films. Altogether very entertaining and, just to address some weird criticisms, if you still take this film seriously after seeing it you This movie is a riot. It totally lambastes the method acting and synthetic plot sequence of most horror films. Altogether very entertaining and, just to address some weird criticisms, if you still take this film seriously after seeing it you need a lecture in irony Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanFJun 8, 2009
I believe this movie could have been better but for what it is, it was good. However, if someone is un-aware that the movie is made to be cheesy and comical, you will think it sucks. It is a comedic horror film. But at times it is very I believe this movie could have been better but for what it is, it was good. However, if someone is un-aware that the movie is made to be cheesy and comical, you will think it sucks. It is a comedic horror film. But at times it is very suspenseful and at times it's the most hilarious thing you've ever seen. It's worth watching, but if your expecting seeing a gory horror film that is going to be serious and thrilling, don't watch it, it's a joke, literally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimHJul 10, 2009
Finally, the damn Spiderman movies are over and Sam (and his brother) has come full circle, branding a suffering genre with his trademark style and glib wit. I say more cheesy horror and less spandex arachnophilia!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantZOct 31, 2009
Drag Me To Hell, has to be one of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Many of you may be complaining that it's tacky, cheesy and camp, but most OLD movies were like that. This differed from most movies by being genuinely Drag Me To Hell, has to be one of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Many of you may be complaining that it's tacky, cheesy and camp, but most OLD movies were like that. This differed from most movies by being genuinely interesting, and not centering around teenagers being murdered. More horror than humour. I must've jumped 10 times. ACE Worth a 96. Rounded up to 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoonwaffleMay 29, 2009
What an amazing time. way more frightening than all the stupid torture porn movies flooding the horror market these days, and a lot more fun too. it also perfectly embodies everything i love about sam raimi as a director. combining theWhat an amazing time. way more frightening than all the stupid torture porn movies flooding the horror market these days, and a lot more fun too. it also perfectly embodies everything i love about sam raimi as a director. combining the bizarre stomach-turning hilarity of his old evil dead movies with the skilled handling of the morality tales of his spiderman movies, the person sitting behind me actually left because they peed their pants. totally lifted my spirits and scared the crap out of me at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyB.May 29, 2009
The most thoroughly rewarding movie experience I've had in a very long time. Great fun from beginning to end. Forget all of the other summer blockbusters, this is THE ONE to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrispMay 31, 2009
So old school. So Raimi. So brilliant!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickD.May 31, 2009
i like kristian's comment a lot. i am sorry not every movie is a copy of the exorcist. Do you seriously go see horror movies looking for christian moral undertones and god saving people? This movie is awesome and is almost as good as i like kristian's comment a lot. i am sorry not every movie is a copy of the exorcist. Do you seriously go see horror movies looking for christian moral undertones and god saving people? This movie is awesome and is almost as good as evil dead 2. Its only fault is a lack of Bruce. the best pg 13 horror movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ckkJun 1, 2009
Scary but still funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonFJun 1, 2009
Ridiculous, expertly-paced, hilarious, frightening and loads of fun. This is film made by a man unrestricted for the first time in a decade, drunk on his own exuberance, working wonderfully within genre to deliver what I want so many summer Ridiculous, expertly-paced, hilarious, frightening and loads of fun. This is film made by a man unrestricted for the first time in a decade, drunk on his own exuberance, working wonderfully within genre to deliver what I want so many summer movies to be: engaging brain candy. This is the best horror flick I've seen in years, and I've seen way more than I should have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomCJun 1, 2009
I don't quite get the user reviews here which say this movie wasn't scary. I've seen a lot of horror flicks (most of them lousy) and this was one of a very rare few that actually kept me terrified to the very last shot. Yes, I don't quite get the user reviews here which say this movie wasn't scary. I've seen a lot of horror flicks (most of them lousy) and this was one of a very rare few that actually kept me terrified to the very last shot. Yes, we get some humor--some intended and some perhaps not--and yes, those flash-cuts of scary faces coming out at you are something of a horror cliché at this point, but.... I was genuinely scared a lot of the time. Otherwise, I was impressed with the very well-plotted script, the smart direction and the convincing performances. Yeah, there were moments I had the awful sensation of being dragged to hell. And isn't that why we go see horror movies in the first place? Totally recommended. One of the best I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SheriffNJun 13, 2009
I'm not going to sit here and say everything the man has put his hand to has been a work of genius (uh...Spider Man 3/Time cop??)--But when Raimi does make contact, he hits it 500 feet out of the park. Then, after rounding the bases 10 I'm not going to sit here and say everything the man has put his hand to has been a work of genius (uh...Spider Man 3/Time cop??)--But when Raimi does make contact, he hits it 500 feet out of the park. Then, after rounding the bases 10 times with superhuman speed, he rips the home plate umpire in half unleashing several thousand gallons of red and green food coloring into the crowd, who then become possessed by demons, A-Rod runs for his life, Gwar begins performing in center field..you get the idea. After a decade of horror movies that have catered to the extremes of cruelty, masochism, and the voyeuristic thirst for 'real life' violence (Saw, Hostel et al.), I felt refreshed and even uplifted experiencing 21st century Evil Dead style slapstick zombie-fu. I'll concede that the plot-Hot blond chick/time released deadly curse-is not terribly original, but some themes are turned on their head in unexpected ways. At times, the audience will find itself laughing with the bad guys (cheesy floating spirits/old vomit covered lady), at the painful blunders, poor judgment, and outright misery of the good guys (home loan officer and her boyfriend, the know it all university professor). Raimi respects that due to this topical character element, we may not want the heroine to succeed, and certainly we can say he does throw us several bones throughout the course of the film. The criticism that this film is not scary enough misses the point, and begs the question-with everything going on in the world, how can we possibly be scared by a movie? Saving that question for another day, lets just say that with Drag Me To Hell we have a classic horror storyline framed beautifully by one of the masters of the genre. I'm not ready to call it a cult classic, or put it in the same category as ED2 until the 'multiple watch' factor has been established, but if you're not thoroughly entertained by this film.....well....Release date for G-Force is July 24th. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllaKJun 15, 2009
Brilliant, imaginative and extremely funny! Would recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour. But it is one of those, you either get it or you don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeJun 1, 2009
A really fun fright-fest in the vein of the best horror films of the 60's and 70's, but with state-of-the-art FX! Scary, gross, but not gratuitous like much of the stuff that passes for horror these days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentP.Jun 16, 2009
Funny, scary, and outrageous. If you didn't get a kick out of this movie, you might want to ask yourself, "Am I a party pooper?" Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMJun 1, 2009
I've been a fan of Sam Raimi for some time...I remember seeing Army of Darkness in theaters and was hooked on its mixture of goofiness and horror. Then some time later I came across Evil Dead 1 and 2, and enjoyed those quite a bit. Drag I've been a fan of Sam Raimi for some time...I remember seeing Army of Darkness in theaters and was hooked on its mixture of goofiness and horror. Then some time later I came across Evil Dead 1 and 2, and enjoyed those quite a bit. Drag Me to Hell is Sam Raimi going back to familiar territory...it's very Evil Dead 2, in the sense that it balances its horror and comedy nicely to the point where they are also used simultaneously and this makes for moments of cringing and laughing at the same time...and I LOVE that (and so did the crowd I saw the movie with, lots of laughing and saying "gross" at the same time). The movie is about a young woman...a regular ole drink of water she is, just getting through life wanting what everyone else wants...a nice job, a relationship, and overall acceptance. Working at a bank she comes across a creepy lady in need of an extension on a loan...she knows she must deny the loan to help herself towards a promotion. Denying the loan causes a curse to put over her...and in 3 days, to hell with her...kicking and screaming. This is comedy/horror at its finest, it has moments of absurdity but when it tries to scare...it tries hard, and oft times succeeds even IF some of the "jump scares" come off as cliche. The casting is well done, Alison Lohman does a good job of adding a vulnerability to the character while getting a bit more frustrated and devious towards the end...Justin Long plays the boyfriend role, and he does it with a certain sympathy and bewilderment to whats going on in his girlfriends life. This isn't your typical CGI FX ladened summer film...a great and many of the effects are rather practically done with moments of CGI sprinkled throughout. Its a much simpler film in terms of execution...but thats what I loved about it. It wasn't trying to be anything more than a good "frightfest" that last a couple hours, this is the kinda film you don't intelligently discuss afterwards...but simply discuss with your friends how fun and disgusting it was. RECOMMENDED. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMJun 2, 2009
Yes, it's Sam Rami paying homage to his "Evil Dead" roots, but also another great & forgotten 50's horror film, "Night of the Demon," (English title "Curse of the Demon) right up to its very end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanSJun 3, 2009
As a big fan of Sam Raimi this movie was a bit of a disappointment for me. I thought that he reused a lot of his gags and ideas from the Evil Dead movies. It wasn't funny or scary the way the Evil Dead movies are. It all felt too forced As a big fan of Sam Raimi this movie was a bit of a disappointment for me. I thought that he reused a lot of his gags and ideas from the Evil Dead movies. It wasn't funny or scary the way the Evil Dead movies are. It all felt too forced and kind of uninspired. If Raimi's gonna keep making horror movies like this he needs to cast Bruce Campbell in them. Or at least put him in a new Evil Dead movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyMJun 5, 2009
Now THIS is what a horror movie should be. Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots with Drag Me to Hell, and it doesn't disappoint. In fact, it may be the most fun i've had at the movies in years. Hilarious, dark, and scary as Now THIS is what a horror movie should be. Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots with Drag Me to Hell, and it doesn't disappoint. In fact, it may be the most fun i've had at the movies in years. Hilarious, dark, and scary as HELL, Drag Me to Hell puts all the "horror" films of late to shame...complete shame.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
shauna.Jul 5, 2009
I never did see the trailer of this movie and didnt quite know what to expect. it was twisted, gruesome, hilarious, there were parts where it kept me holding my breath for god knows how long.. the few things that blew me off were the talkingI never did see the trailer of this movie and didnt quite know what to expect. it was twisted, gruesome, hilarious, there were parts where it kept me holding my breath for god knows how long.. the few things that blew me off were the talking goat, the constant re-emerging of that old lady (isnt that the Lamia's job to beleaguer chris?), the coin n button swap, the "ring" and numerous scenes where things gets into chris' mouth.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarolinaM.Jul 5, 2009
I am 19 and even I can appreciate how this is one of those rare horror gems that have come in this past decade. Lately I have cringed with the other Hollywood horror flicks but because they were horribly bad. This one made me squirm because I am 19 and even I can appreciate how this is one of those rare horror gems that have come in this past decade. Lately I have cringed with the other Hollywood horror flicks but because they were horribly bad. This one made me squirm because I desperately tried not to scream ( a bet). As for those who call the effects cheesy, I am proud to say I like this kind of cheesy. Although the idea of curses is overused, this movie had originality. Raimi & another masterpiece!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Jul 8, 2009
Amazing. From minute one right through till the end it was 100% classic Rami. I loved how I could go from horrified screaming to boistrous laughter all within a single breath. Not as gory and Rami's classic Evil Dead movies, but equally Amazing. From minute one right through till the end it was 100% classic Rami. I loved how I could go from horrified screaming to boistrous laughter all within a single breath. Not as gory and Rami's classic Evil Dead movies, but equally as gross in other ways. I was anticipating this movie for months and was worried I would be let down, but found that I was more satisfied then I thought would be possible. Those who don't like this movie probably don't understand Sam Rami's style of films and would be better off watching something lame like The Ring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Marc.D.Aug 6, 2009
A blast to watch from start to finish. Great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PrestonJOct 14, 2009
A movie who died the death of a bad marketing campaign. It wasn't a true horror film, and wasn't meant to be a true horror film. Its a spoof, or homage, to a now all but dead genre of films that are hilarious to watch and have the A movie who died the death of a bad marketing campaign. It wasn't a true horror film, and wasn't meant to be a true horror film. Its a spoof, or homage, to a now all but dead genre of films that are hilarious to watch and have the sole goal of being silly beyond reproach. Its not great cinema, its just highly entertaining, and sometimes that's more than enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HollyROct 17, 2009
Pretty cool movie. Lots of disgusting, gross stuff to make you squeal and scream! The 2 main actors (Christine and her lame boyfriend) however, were very average. I'm not sure if they were acting like mediocre actors on purpose to make Pretty cool movie. Lots of disgusting, gross stuff to make you squeal and scream! The 2 main actors (Christine and her lame boyfriend) however, were very average. I'm not sure if they were acting like mediocre actors on purpose to make the movie campy, or if they are just not great actors. I suspect the latter. Anyway, that was my main beef. I think it would have been a better movie with real actors who could act. The actors in the supporting roles were better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattCNov 8, 2009
The sheer amount of varied reactions on this page should really tell you everything you need to know. If you can turn your brain off, sit back and revel in a film that is over the top in its dark humour, its fx and its intent, and knows it, The sheer amount of varied reactions on this page should really tell you everything you need to know. If you can turn your brain off, sit back and revel in a film that is over the top in its dark humour, its fx and its intent, and knows it, then you'll probably like this. If you're looking for a gory hardcore horror flick, you probably won't. Personally, I got everything I wanted out of it. It was exactly what I expected Sam Raimi to deliver, and he did it superbly. Its not trying to change your life, its just trying to entertain you the best way it knows how. I thought it was awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvanPOct 20, 2009
While this movie isn't truly horrific, it is still incredible fun! There are some jumpy parts and gross out parts... but what makes this movie wonderful is that it is so entertaining! Just... fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewBOct 4, 2009
Great movie - in a league of its own. Will be up for an Oscar for Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MasonMay 29, 2009
i was dragged to hell and laughed the whole way! i loved it, but you regular folks beware. this isn't plain horror. this is horror/comedy, as only raimi can deliver. great ticket if you know what you are buying. an ending i will never forget!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 29, 2009
[***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Christine(Alison Lohman) saw her gypsy everywhere. And where this loan officer ends up, she'll be far from heaven. The gypsy is an anti-hero for every senior citizen who ever felt shamed by a [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Christine(Alison Lohman) saw her gypsy everywhere. And where this loan officer ends up, she'll be far from heaven. The gypsy is an anti-hero for every senior citizen who ever felt shamed by a youth-oriented society. Mrs. Ganush(Lorna Raver) is they're Rambo. "Drag Me to Hell", hands down, the best horror film since William Freidkin's "The Exorcist", delivers what it promises, a self-fulfilling prophecy, but by unexpectedly paying homage to Todd Haynes' 2003 film in the most galvanizing way imaginable. The tear running down her boyfriend's cheek is so melodramatic, so Douglas Sirk-like, the moviegoer instantly understands it's no accident that "Drag Me to Hell" ends, likewise, at a train station. In "Far From Heaven", Cathy Whitaker(Julianne Moore) watches her gardener Raymond Deagan(Dennis Haysberg) depart on a boxcar because he's from the wrong side of the tracks: the black side. With all the demonic mayhem going on in this sharply written, sharply acted genre film, it's not until the mimicking final scene that we realize the inherent social melodrama in Clay's breeding and Christine's lack of it; she grew up on a farm. Literally, the country girl ends up on the wrong side of the tracks: the subterranean side. All the more heartbreaking, all the more sudsy, Christine buys a new coat prior to meeting up with Clay Dalton(Justin Long) on the train station platform. For maximum soapy calibration, an engagement ring is in her fiance's possession. The coat she wears symbolizes the country girl's break with her "poor white trash" past. Too bad there's hell to pay. The crime? Social-climbing at the expense of an old woman's welfare. While "Drag Me to Hell" brings new energy into all the hoary archetypes(the haunted house, the cemetary at night) of the horror genre, it's the evocation of the star-crossed lovers that will ultimately resonate with the moviegoer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamT.May 29, 2009
The best horror movie in years. I saw two screenings of it and am absolutely in love. Haven't been that jumpy and giggly in a theater in a REALLY long time. Long live Sam Raimi!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesBMay 31, 2009
This movie may be the dumbest movie I've seen so far this year. And it is also the funniest. Do yourself a favor. If you can stomach nastiness and extremely dark comedy, go see it. You will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPHJun 11, 2009
Soon to be a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JAJun 11, 2009
The amount of haters here baffles me. Exactly what did you think you were getting into with this movie? On its own terms, it's about as good as this kind of thing can possibly be. I thought it awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ANJun 1, 2009
What a disappointment this was...the return of Sam Raimi to the stomping ground that made him a horror legend is about as exciting as watching that anything-but-red blood spurt all over the place in the Evil Dead movies. "Drag Me To Hell" What a disappointment this was...the return of Sam Raimi to the stomping ground that made him a horror legend is about as exciting as watching that anything-but-red blood spurt all over the place in the Evil Dead movies. "Drag Me To Hell" starts out promising enough, from a little boy being sucked into the dark reaches in 1969, to our present-day title victim getting on an old gypsy's bad side and putting up a heck of a fight for her life before she's cursed to burn in hell forever in three days. And it sustains momentum for about two-thirds of the movie, as we're introduced to compassionate, hateful, nondescript and forgettable characters who try to hasten or help our heroine to her predestined situation. But what would have been at least as watchable as "Spiderman 3" wimps out with one of the most predictable twists ever seen. Apparently Raimi thought the audience was stuck in 1969, which is about the last time this lame "surprise" ending would have worked. Raimi clearly was having fun as he made this, and the film has its moments (you may never look at Harvest cake the same way again) -- including several grotesque or hilarious ones that bring back memories of the best of the "Dead" films. But various miscues (watch the scene with the "there it is, there is isn't, there it is again" bruised lip) and parlor-trick special effects (pull that cloth napkin out of your mouth, please!), and the aforementioned anything but surprise ending drag this could-be near classic into the ninth circle of you know where. My score: C+, or 65/100 (rounded up to a 7). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimFJun 22, 2009
While I waswatching this film, I kept saying to myself, "Sam Raimi is a good director, this is a good idea, and the fx are awesome and inventive...but I don't like this film. I hate the characters, the pov has you identifying with While I waswatching this film, I kept saying to myself, "Sam Raimi is a good director, this is a good idea, and the fx are awesome and inventive...but I don't like this film. I hate the characters, the pov has you identifying with someone for a while and soon after they turn into a total sleaze. Then, it seems, pretty much everyone does. When I thought about the film more, however, and the film does provoke that, much more than most recent films, it seemed much more interesting, a sort of savage satire, similar to ones by Voltaire and Swift, where the entire human race is categorized as seamy and untrustworthy. In this light, the film is at least interesting, my only remaining problem being that, unlike, say, Voltaire's Candide, there is no pure and consistent character to anchor the satire. The closest one is the Indian fortuneteller, and he's just not that interesting. Worth seeing, though, and thinking and talking about as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
XouX.Jun 22, 2009
Its not as scary as some critics write it to be. i dunno maybe its because there's been like dozens of horror films in the past 6 months. this one however is a good movie. despite having cheap CGI and a confusing storyline it does have Its not as scary as some critics write it to be. i dunno maybe its because there's been like dozens of horror films in the past 6 months. this one however is a good movie. despite having cheap CGI and a confusing storyline it does have a interesting persona to it. its special and never really attempted. your typical sam raimi horror film. Didn't have this much fun since his evil dead films. its slapstick, gross and delivers a more then average thrill ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gaddicJun 23, 2009
A lot less complex than i expected but it's attractive direction form Sam Rami and the laughs plus the likeable ending it didn't fully disappoint. It's afilm that will no doubt grow on me as i watch it more and more. It's A lot less complex than i expected but it's attractive direction form Sam Rami and the laughs plus the likeable ending it didn't fully disappoint. It's afilm that will no doubt grow on me as i watch it more and more. It's quality though and quality never disappoints! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkLJun 29, 2009
I am gonna guess that the readers below me are under the age of 20 because you obviously don't know anything about horror film history. "the people who made "Drag Me to Hell"? wtf? You don't know who Sam Raimi is? You've never I am gonna guess that the readers below me are under the age of 20 because you obviously don't know anything about horror film history. "the people who made "Drag Me to Hell"? wtf? You don't know who Sam Raimi is? You've never seen the Evil Dead Trilogy? The fact that a person can give this movie a 1 or a zero is just sad and uneducated. Uneducated about horror films and films in general. Its a absolute shame that one of the best, one of the most fun films I have seen in years is being seen by dumb little brats who are so used to seeing crap that they don't even know when a refreshing, innovative, exciting film is placed right in front of them. This film is an absolute blast and will be regarded as an amazing horror film for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnPJun 3, 2009
Was a beautiful execution of a horror movie. Makes me look forward to what this master of horror is going to do with the next spider-man movie. And even looking farther into the future Hoping for Evil Dead remake or Get Bruce to lose some Was a beautiful execution of a horror movie. Makes me look forward to what this master of horror is going to do with the next spider-man movie. And even looking farther into the future Hoping for Evil Dead remake or Get Bruce to lose some weight and do Evil Dead 4!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CoryKJun 6, 2009
A definite "you need to yell at the characters in the movie theater" kind of movie. I had so much fun. Reminds me of old Raimi stuff, but with updated special effects, better camera work, and great horrific violence and ooze. I had to turn A definite "you need to yell at the characters in the movie theater" kind of movie. I had so much fun. Reminds me of old Raimi stuff, but with updated special effects, better camera work, and great horrific violence and ooze. I had to turn away from the screen a few times too... eating popcorn and watching this movie at times does not mix. I had so much fun with the audience watching this. An instant classic in my mind, and it's great to feel like you get your money's worth. Fun, fun, fun! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KelleyCJun 8, 2009
I was looking forward to this movie for a long time. After I saw all the great reviews, I was stoked. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I found the movie to be a disappointment. The "scare-factor" of the old lady dwindled over time, I was looking forward to this movie for a long time. After I saw all the great reviews, I was stoked. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I found the movie to be a disappointment. The "scare-factor" of the old lady dwindled over time, and the demon figure that she summoned (in scenes which were far scarier) was used too little in the movie. Much of the "horror" with the old lady was funny gross-out stuff, which wasn't particularly scary... just "Ewwww! - inducing". The events at the end were ridiculously predictable, which made for an anti-climactic final 10 minutes. There are a few good jolts, and I'll give marks for attempting something different from recent horror flicks. It's a good diversion, but doesn't live up to the hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RossWJul 28, 2009
I thought this movie was pretty good in many different ways. The story line was solid. The acting was really good. There were scary parts, gross parts and funny parts (although mostly the cinema just laughed nervously to ease the tension). I thought this movie was pretty good in many different ways. The story line was solid. The acting was really good. There were scary parts, gross parts and funny parts (although mostly the cinema just laughed nervously to ease the tension). Great film, definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbJul 6, 2009
Kind of disappointing, after all the great reviews I had read. I love Sam Raimi's classic horror/humor work... and this one delivered some great moments, both in the horror and the humor departments. However, the 'twist Kind of disappointing, after all the great reviews I had read. I love Sam Raimi's classic horror/humor work... and this one delivered some great moments, both in the horror and the humor departments. However, the 'twist ending' could be seen coming a mile away, and as other reviewers have noted, there was really one one human being in the film with any truly redeeming qualities (Justin Long's character). I have to say that overall it is much better than most of the movies being made in this genre over the past several years. [The talking goat seance scene was hilarious.] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmySAug 29, 2009
I agree with the critics. This is a great horror movie in every way. The acting is good and so is the music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UptonKAug 3, 2009
This movie is a great horror comic book. Looking for reality? Don't look here. Looking for cheap thrills, broadly drawn scenes and eye-popping guffaws? Yep, this is the place. The acting is as shallow as the writing and both work about This movie is a great horror comic book. Looking for reality? Don't look here. Looking for cheap thrills, broadly drawn scenes and eye-popping guffaws? Yep, this is the place. The acting is as shallow as the writing and both work about 80% of the time. I couldn't help but wonder what the film might have been like had they taken the story seriously by casting age appropriate actors in the leads, and substituting the crayons they wrote the script with for mechanical pencils. This is tasty stuff - fluff, but not your usual horror film. Sam Raimi Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
konkonasAug 30, 2009
A reinvention of classic horror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomV.Sep 16, 2009
I was afraid to see this, especially because I adore some of Raimi's films. But after reading reviews in some interesting Dutch papers, I started feeling confident about it. And the movie delivered perfectly. What a good old horror I was afraid to see this, especially because I adore some of Raimi's films. But after reading reviews in some interesting Dutch papers, I started feeling confident about it. And the movie delivered perfectly. What a good old horror movie should look like, Drag me to Hell was fantastic. I laughed, scared and had my mouth open after the brilliant ending. Raimi's back in the game, and on top immediately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThayerH.Nov 1, 2009
A deceivingly light-hearted movie that shifts between horror and comedy without missing a beat. Wrap it all up with one of the most intense and satisfying endings I have seen in a long time, and you have yourself true cinematic gold. The A deceivingly light-hearted movie that shifts between horror and comedy without missing a beat. Wrap it all up with one of the most intense and satisfying endings I have seen in a long time, and you have yourself true cinematic gold. The ONLY people who do not/would not like this movie are those who do not understand it. Pay no attention to the red reviews preceding my own--they are the type that go see Saw every year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
dannnnnnyNov 3, 2009
Not that bad at all! It wasn't too scarry tho. I went with my girlfriend cause i thought it would scare her! CLASSIC. It made us both laugh more than be scared. I still thought it was a great movie. it was creeeepy at times but mostly funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattT.Oct 14, 2009
Lets put it this way; my wife and I watched it with our teenage daughter. She thought it was terrible, we thought it was the scariest, wittiest movie so far this year. Classic Raimi. I was worried that it wouldn't live up tho the hype, Lets put it this way; my wife and I watched it with our teenage daughter. She thought it was terrible, we thought it was the scariest, wittiest movie so far this year. Classic Raimi. I was worried that it wouldn't live up tho the hype, but it did. Low body count, but tons of scary fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidF.Oct 26, 2009
This is not your average scary movie. Some parts are cheesy, some parts are funny, and some parts are just plain scary. When these parts come together however they make one heck of an entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
nickolass.Oct 31, 2009
Best image: fly going in one nostril, coming out the other. Move makes no effort at sustaining a willful suspension of disbelief. Spining a supernatural horror story out of the mortgage crisis is pretty witty. Waifish Lohman's best Best image: fly going in one nostril, coming out the other. Move makes no effort at sustaining a willful suspension of disbelief. Spining a supernatural horror story out of the mortgage crisis is pretty witty. Waifish Lohman's best feature is her big brown strange eyes. Some good informal contemporary dialogue. Funny really, not scary. Tone is too uneven: the movie plays it straight, then campy. Stupid: Indian psychic translating Spanish for main Lohman's benefit. Good ending, surprising {at least for me.] Seance boring. Second best image: Lohman's hard nipples showing through her wet T while standing knee-deep in mud in Gypsy woman's open grave. Guess, it would make a pretty good Halloween date movie, but still pretty lame. Old Gypsy looks like a cross between Marilyn Manson and the crazy dude from Fargo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CHRISB.May 29, 2009
Loved It! Not really scary, but a lot of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexH.May 29, 2009
This was my first horror movie, and to say it, I don't think I will see a better film in this genre for these next 10 years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 29, 2009
Is that where we stand now as a society? the quality of our CGI? also, it's a throwback...it's supposed to be cheap. open mind!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshT.May 29, 2009
Best horror movie to come out this decade. I wanted to see it again as soon as I left the theatre. It's as fresh as it is retro. And it's fun the way horror movies are supposed to be unlike the superfluous sadist torture porns that Best horror movie to come out this decade. I wanted to see it again as soon as I left the theatre. It's as fresh as it is retro. And it's fun the way horror movies are supposed to be unlike the superfluous sadist torture porns that come out left and right these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickHMay 31, 2009
It was one of the better scary/horror movies I've seen in a while, but that doesn't mean I will hail it as amazing. The graphics were strange and unfitting, the dialogue was often awkward, the acting was alright, I think the It was one of the better scary/horror movies I've seen in a while, but that doesn't mean I will hail it as amazing. The graphics were strange and unfitting, the dialogue was often awkward, the acting was alright, I think the seyance scene was absolutely ridiculous, unnecessary, and damaging to the movie. But it was still enjoyable with a good ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CadManJun 12, 2009
duke f is mentally retarded.ignore him,he jerks off to ben afflick.fag. drag me to hell is the best horror film in years and raimis best ever film.amazing fun,hilarious,scary,a thrill ride of pure horror madnesss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilipJun 14, 2009
Pure entertainment! Every aspect of the film is made for that one purpose and it works beautifully! It's 40% horror and 60% comedy - but that's what you'll love about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JordanJun 18, 2009
was a great movie till the ending, really, there was no need for that dammit! to me if you want to really enjoy this movie, just don't watch the last minute of it, and it will be amazing, but that last minute almost ruins the entire movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerDrainvilleJun 26, 2009
Drag Me to Hell is a disgusting, clever, and suspenseful roller coaster of terror. Its over-the-top grotesque scenes will have you cringing and leaving the theater in complete satisfaction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HCraneJul 19, 2009
I'm gonna say that the people who rated this poorly are people who were looking for a serious horror movie and something completely different. Also I'm guessing they've never seen Evil Dead or Army of Darkness. Whoever said I'm gonna say that the people who rated this poorly are people who were looking for a serious horror movie and something completely different. Also I'm guessing they've never seen Evil Dead or Army of Darkness. Whoever said that the Grudge is better than this needs to be punched hard in the mouth, because that movie is trash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlistairM.Jul 22, 2009
This is the best kind of horror movie. It makes you jump not because of fright but of the unexpected. It makes you laugh because it's absurd and it makes you squirm because it's pretty gross. MY GOD I LOVED THIS MOVIE!! as did the This is the best kind of horror movie. It makes you jump not because of fright but of the unexpected. It makes you laugh because it's absurd and it makes you squirm because it's pretty gross. MY GOD I LOVED THIS MOVIE!! as did the rest of the cinema since we all laughed groaned and yelped in unison. Welcome back Sam! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickBJul 24, 2009
This movie is incredibly unique and brilliant in its own way. To fully appreciate this movie, you must be aware that this film is not only a horror movie, but a dark comedy as well. Without knowing, you may think, as many do, that this is This movie is incredibly unique and brilliant in its own way. To fully appreciate this movie, you must be aware that this film is not only a horror movie, but a dark comedy as well. Without knowing, you may think, as many do, that this is only a ridiculous horror film when it is so much more. Before seeing this film, I had never seen the Evil Dead Trilogy despite hearing much about them. However, because I loved this film so much, I saw them only was able to appreciate Drag Me to Hell even more. The acting, though not award worthy, suits the movie perfectly, and all the details are there. The directing is excellent, the score is chilling, the special effects are wonderfully, (and intentionally) cheesy, and even the sound mixing adds to the experience. Overall, if you love campy movies and can appreciate a film that is funny and yet terrifying, see it as soon as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvinCAug 11, 2009
Cool film. Not much of a buyer though.The scenes did scare the crap out of me though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinDAug 12, 2009
This movie was supposed to be terrifying? I can't be too critical because I honestly did like it to an extent. It's a charming, fun film with solid acting and a fast pace, but I can't honestly say that it was the scarefest This movie was supposed to be terrifying? I can't be too critical because I honestly did like it to an extent. It's a charming, fun film with solid acting and a fast pace, but I can't honestly say that it was the scarefest I'd been hoping it would be. That said, it's still nice to see Raimi go back to his roots for a change, and that in itself makes this movie better than most of the recycled tripe to come out as of late. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleFeb 26, 2016
Drag Me to Hell is a horrifically terrifying horror film that has a way of infesting itself in your mind and possessing your thoughts after you finish watching it. It can be a touch predictable at times and can be a little silly, but neitherDrag Me to Hell is a horrifically terrifying horror film that has a way of infesting itself in your mind and possessing your thoughts after you finish watching it. It can be a touch predictable at times and can be a little silly, but neither of those detract much from the overall product, which is a truly scary film that chills, thrills, and flat out scares the viewer with glee. Director Sam Raimi creates a thoroughly unsettling atmosphere and a great accompanying score and sound effects really help to create that mood. Drag Me to Hell was heavily criticized upon its release for being too silly and not being scary enough. I disagree on both accounts. Obviously I thought it was scary, but I never found any of it comedic. There were moments that broke the tension and were kind of funny, but that happens in every movie. Here, the few funny moments were intended and the scary moments were effective. This is not some cheesy horror-comedy mash-up, this is just regular old horror and a creepily unsettling one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 9, 2015
Drag Me to Hell has pretty good acting, an interesting story and plausible characters(Not all but the main 2).But, the special effects were not that good the story is cliché and I know it is supposed to be a comedy at the same time but someDrag Me to Hell has pretty good acting, an interesting story and plausible characters(Not all but the main 2).But, the special effects were not that good the story is cliché and I know it is supposed to be a comedy at the same time but some scenes are just stupid. If you want to make a horror/comedy movie at least assume it and don't throw like 2-3 "funny scenes." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews