Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 874 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
663
Mixed:
92
Negative:
119
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
CapoRegimeOct 14, 2009
The film is proclaimed as a horror movie, but right at the start I'm starting to feel that they got it wrong. Drag me to hell is a comedy, directed by someone who's weird enough to make fun of putting or spraying something on the mouth.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
jonbOct 15, 2009
Seriously, has anyone ever read Thinner? Seriously?
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
McGreaseOct 17, 2009
I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a I honestly think that is the worst dollar I have ever spent from red box in my life. I would have rather gotten a four piece from mcdonalds then to have bought this movie. I think the funniest part of the movie was when my friend farted on a leather seat and it echoed through the room. This is cheese. String cheese. I dont even think blaggy would have eaten this cheese. Raimi has made the most greasy, skunk, and diarrhea filled horror movie in years. I seriously could of taken a dump on a camera lens that people would rather see than this trash. I would rather have my fingernails pulled off with pliers or be forced to smell a used diaper filled with Indian food. Get em next Raimi ... McGrease out. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
2
ChrisW.Jun 12, 2009
I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
benjaminpJun 1, 2009
This movie smells...Bad...Exremely BAD..I hope this movie takes a shower and does the get shot dance in the middle of the free way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MattMJun 2, 2009
This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly in theaters at Dance Flick will laugh loudly at his movie too. IT's not clever, it's not scary, it's not anything. Seriously insulting, Raimi lost it after Spiderman 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KevinL.Nov 2, 2009
I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are blatantly obvious to everyone in the audience. This movie is an unintentional parody of itself, watch it with that in mind. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
FrankPOct 25, 2009
"Exorcist" meets "Pee Wees Big Adventure" as imagined by a drunk third-grader. The only redeeming value of watching this movie was that I get to finally bump down "Romeo and Juliet" starring Leonardo DiCaprio as my worst movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
jesssOct 30, 2009
After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i highly advise you not to watch this as a horror fan but more of a comedy "shaun of the dead" type fan, not that it's that good. So disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NickS.Jun 15, 2009
wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not suspenseful - just bad. Give me Evil Dead, Dead Alive or Saw any-day over this nonsense of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisHJun 15, 2009
I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right after that?Terrible movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LJun 1, 2009
Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Movie 5... and this movie should be placed in a "Comedy" category, not in a "Horror/Suspense". Please drag this movie to hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheoneJun 20, 2009
Horror?!? How on earth critics & many people rate this film so high. Do u guys live in La La land?!? Those guys who created this film should have donated the money to poor rather making this film. It should be in top 3 of the top 10 worst Horror?!? How on earth critics & many people rate this film so high. Do u guys live in La La land?!? Those guys who created this film should have donated the money to poor rather making this film. It should be in top 3 of the top 10 worst movie in history. I would give -10, as it is not possible so I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveBJun 4, 2009
Oh my god. I walked out on this movie. Absolutely horrible, horrible, horrible. The parts that were supposed to be scary were, at best, funny in a pathetic way. I expected so much more from Sam Raimi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ManekiNJun 4, 2009
This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and nothing that happened after that changed my mind. Worst film I've seen at the cinema since Phantom of the Opera. Give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaneTJun 5, 2009
I'm so pissed at having having believed the bullshit reviews by idiots around the country about this movie. What a stupid piece of shit and waste of time. How insulting to put out a film so weak that it has to rely on loud, startling I'm so pissed at having having believed the bullshit reviews by idiots around the country about this movie. What a stupid piece of shit and waste of time. How insulting to put out a film so weak that it has to rely on loud, startling music and cliche sound effects to actually create a sense of terror. This has been so overdone and worked in the 70's, but now? Really? The star of the show was the music and the kitten which ends up getting knifed and thrown in the dirt. Disgusting! Shame on the movie and $&%k all you overpaid critics! I want my money back Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlyssaS.Jul 8, 2009
Worst movie EVER I cant believe you people liked it! I wanted my money back on this one and cant believe it made it to theatres aghhhhh BADDDDDDD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AshleyMAug 3, 2009
Really! I have no idea what you guys are talking about! Have you not seen the ridiculous scenes involving the old gypsy biting, actually Biting, with her toothless jaws at the main girl. I mean, anyone could have come up with something Really! I have no idea what you guys are talking about! Have you not seen the ridiculous scenes involving the old gypsy biting, actually Biting, with her toothless jaws at the main girl. I mean, anyone could have come up with something better, more realistic. Reminds me too, the scene in the trailer, where she roles over and finds the old gypsy laying right beside her. Yea, that went on a little too long with the whole biting again. It's just gross and obnoxious to the point where my acceptance towards the movie just lowered and lowered. I thought the storyline was going to be decent, especially when we haven't had a real Good horror movie in a longg time. But as time went on I realized that it was a waste of my $9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GrantNov 4, 2009
Really bad. Tries to be a so-gross-it's-funny, so-campy-it's-funny, so-bad-it's-funny movie but is only kinda gross in parts. Definitely not scary. Definitely not well-written (or well-cast -- the apple mac guy plays a college Really bad. Tries to be a so-gross-it's-funny, so-campy-it's-funny, so-bad-it's-funny movie but is only kinda gross in parts. Definitely not scary. Definitely not well-written (or well-cast -- the apple mac guy plays a college professor from a well-to-do family). The whole movie my friends and I were going "huh? why? what? gross! was that supposed to be funny? how long is this movie?" I tell you what--it cost a dollar to rent this from a red box and about 5 minutes to write this review and I feel this movie doesn't deserve either. Just skip it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
karlgOct 2, 2009
If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets boring. Gypsies are still frequently the victims of violence and discrimination, so i feel they're portrayal in this movie was in bad taste. On the plus side this movie has a talking goat. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DalliaGOct 27, 2009
The main character murders a poor kitten in it.... made me sick to my stomach and I couldn't enjoy the rest of the movie. I have lost all respect for Raimi. Horrible movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DukeFJun 11, 2009
This was a total piece of excrement. Do yourself a favor and read the user reviews...ignore the 83 average from the critics...this is more like a 23. You'd have to be a third grader to find this nonsense scary and while it had a few This was a total piece of excrement. Do yourself a favor and read the user reviews...ignore the 83 average from the critics...this is more like a 23. You'd have to be a third grader to find this nonsense scary and while it had a few funny moments, it had none of the "we know this is a bad movie so we're gonna run with it." magic that you all know and love. But it did manage to be loud, frenetic and somehow boring at same time, so I guess that's something, right? Total excrement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GilbertLJun 1, 2009
Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned effects jumping up and saying 'Boo' to the audience every few minutes. It's easy to tell when this will happen because the music will drop ominous hints and the sound effects become excruciatingly loud (a rusty gate, pounding on doors, all turned up to 11). If that doesn't lower the scare factor, then surely the Three Stooges inspired slapstick will. Frankly, I thought 'The Haunted Mansion' with Eddie Murphy was scarier and funnier than this. I certainly hope Mr. Raimi hasn't completely lost his filmmaking integrity by devoting so much time to all those Spiderman movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DonaldB.Jun 12, 2009
This is not a good movie. I fail to see stars in any aspect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BMJun 25, 2009
Worst movie i have EVER seen! I have given it a 1 based on the hilarity of the talking goat...and thats it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PhoenixJun 25, 2009
THIS has GOT to be the WORST movie I have seen in the past 10 years... are you people kidding me?? Who in their right mind would give this movie a "10"??? (( or anything higher than a 1 for that matter? )) Get Real!! The only good thing THIS has GOT to be the WORST movie I have seen in the past 10 years... are you people kidding me?? Who in their right mind would give this movie a "10"??? (( or anything higher than a 1 for that matter? )) Get Real!! The only good thing about this film being at the bottom of the list, is it will NOW be keeping the movie "BUGS" company... as it too falls in the catagory of WORST P.O.S. I've seen in a LONG TIME! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
IsaacS.Sep 25, 2009
This has got to be the worst horror flick ever. The most overrated horror movie of all time, with such bad acting, a way to simple plot, and an ending that makes you drop your money into the firey pit of hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristianRockNov 2, 2009
I had great expectations for this one but it failed miserably. Stiff performances from all actors, contrived storytelling and poor special effects, kitsch, not camp. It is a 'fun' movie, but only if you watch it to laugh at it and I had great expectations for this one but it failed miserably. Stiff performances from all actors, contrived storytelling and poor special effects, kitsch, not camp. It is a 'fun' movie, but only if you watch it to laugh at it and not with it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RobertB.Nov 3, 2009
This movie was just terrible. I don't know if it was the directors cut that made it terrible or just the lame effects. The girl getting puked in the mouth multiple times was ultra-lame. I can't believe this movie has rated as well This movie was just terrible. I don't know if it was the directors cut that made it terrible or just the lame effects. The girl getting puked in the mouth multiple times was ultra-lame. I can't believe this movie has rated as well as it did. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ArvinM.Oct 16, 2009
Wow even more stupid on DVD!
0 of 1 users found this helpful