Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 860 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
654
Mixed:
89
Negative:
117
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SeymourBAug 8, 2009
As a huge fan of the Evil Dead series I didn't expect much from the trailers I saw, and the fact that I haven't been impressed with much of what Raimi's done in the past decade or so. In turn I prepared myself to see another As a huge fan of the Evil Dead series I didn't expect much from the trailers I saw, and the fact that I haven't been impressed with much of what Raimi's done in the past decade or so. In turn I prepared myself to see another generic piece of crap (essentially nearly every horror movie of this decade), and that is likely what made this film so great. I enjoyed nearly every bit of it, and it felt like a glorious return-to-form for Raimi. However, I must say that the protgonist's acting was atrocious beyond stanard "b" type horror acting. I also personally felt she wasn't likable , but that is just my opinion because I don't care for protagonists that crave social acceptance. All-in-all I give Drag Me to Hell an 8 for being an overall fun movie to watch, despite the acting. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SamOct 20, 2009
When I first saw this movie I knew it was a horror comedy but I was annoyed more than anything. Then I watched Evil Dead 2, which I adored, and I thought back on this movie and I 'got' it. I gave it another chance and thought it When I first saw this movie I knew it was a horror comedy but I was annoyed more than anything. Then I watched Evil Dead 2, which I adored, and I thought back on this movie and I 'got' it. I gave it another chance and thought it was hysterical fun. Raimi builds up the countless jump scares in the film, but he doesn't use these scares as a way of 'legitimately' scaring you as most recent horror movies do: he uses them to entertain you, and they made me laugh incredibly hard. Despite the PG-13 rating and almost complete lack of blood (with the exception of an amusing nose bleed), it never feels like restrained Raimi, because the scares, story, and some of the characters are all so over the top and fun that he doesn't need buckets of blood to capture the insanity he so desires (not to say that the evil dead movies didn't use buckets of blood well). Evil Dead 2 may still be his masterpiece, but it's good to see that horror Raimi has still got it in him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ellyOct 26, 2009
Loved it! It had frightening jump-out-of-your-seat moments, creepy moments where you just cover your eyes, gross moments and I found a lot of those creepy/gross moments to be completely HILARIOUS!!! I will definitely be checking out the Evil Loved it! It had frightening jump-out-of-your-seat moments, creepy moments where you just cover your eyes, gross moments and I found a lot of those creepy/gross moments to be completely HILARIOUS!!! I will definitely be checking out the Evil Dead movies by Sam Raimi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TDKinDallasMay 29, 2009
This is the kind of movie that reminds you of why you love to go see movies. Bring a date and as many friends as you can. Better than any other movie so far this summer, including Star Trek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobP.May 30, 2009
Amidst all the cookie-cutter foolishness that's been plaguing the cinemas for years (Brangelina cheese; torture porn 'Saw' movies considered true horror; boring films trying justify their existence by pushing some limpid Amidst all the cookie-cutter foolishness that's been plaguing the cinemas for years (Brangelina cheese; torture porn 'Saw' movies considered true horror; boring films trying justify their existence by pushing some limpid philosophy onto a bored audience) comes our hero, Sam Raimi, bringing with him a film that pushes you to the edge of your seat, screaming happily and laughing with everyone else in the cinema. If there is a nomination for best (horror) film of the year, it must be 'Drag Me to Hell'; just because it involves the audience. I have never been this encompassed by a movie, ever. I was in commune with the other movie-goers; it was tremendous fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronJun 18, 2009
I saw this with my two brothers and we all loved it. There are some very funny over the top moments as well as moments that keep you tightening your grip on the arm rest. I am glad to know that there are still fun horror movies that I saw this with my two brothers and we all loved it. There are some very funny over the top moments as well as moments that keep you tightening your grip on the arm rest. I am glad to know that there are still fun horror movies that don't sacrifice a real script for knives and gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DSJun 2, 2009
This is a GREAT movie... As long as you know what you're getting yourself into. Regardless of what the trailers may show, be warned that this is not a run-of-the-mill horror movie. It is campy, it is cheesy, and you will be laughing as This is a GREAT movie... As long as you know what you're getting yourself into. Regardless of what the trailers may show, be warned that this is not a run-of-the-mill horror movie. It is campy, it is cheesy, and you will be laughing as often as jumping. All of the comments about the "CGI" are irrelevant, as this movie aims to be purposefully corny and low budget, even with the big bucks that Sam Raimi has to throw around these days. It's gross, it's offensive, and it's a hell of a good time. If this sounds like your kind of movie, you'd be a fool to miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlenJJun 20, 2009
This movie is a riot. It totally lambastes the method acting and synthetic plot sequence of most horror films. Altogether very entertaining and, just to address some weird criticisms, if you still take this film seriously after seeing it you This movie is a riot. It totally lambastes the method acting and synthetic plot sequence of most horror films. Altogether very entertaining and, just to address some weird criticisms, if you still take this film seriously after seeing it you need a lecture in irony Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanFJun 8, 2009
I believe this movie could have been better but for what it is, it was good. However, if someone is un-aware that the movie is made to be cheesy and comical, you will think it sucks. It is a comedic horror film. But at times it is very I believe this movie could have been better but for what it is, it was good. However, if someone is un-aware that the movie is made to be cheesy and comical, you will think it sucks. It is a comedic horror film. But at times it is very suspenseful and at times it's the most hilarious thing you've ever seen. It's worth watching, but if your expecting seeing a gory horror film that is going to be serious and thrilling, don't watch it, it's a joke, literally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimHJul 10, 2009
Finally, the damn Spiderman movies are over and Sam (and his brother) has come full circle, branding a suffering genre with his trademark style and glib wit. I say more cheesy horror and less spandex arachnophilia!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantZOct 31, 2009
Drag Me To Hell, has to be one of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Many of you may be complaining that it's tacky, cheesy and camp, but most OLD movies were like that. This differed from most movies by being genuinely Drag Me To Hell, has to be one of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Many of you may be complaining that it's tacky, cheesy and camp, but most OLD movies were like that. This differed from most movies by being genuinely interesting, and not centering around teenagers being murdered. More horror than humour. I must've jumped 10 times. ACE Worth a 96. Rounded up to 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoonwaffleMay 29, 2009
What an amazing time. way more frightening than all the stupid torture porn movies flooding the horror market these days, and a lot more fun too. it also perfectly embodies everything i love about sam raimi as a director. combining theWhat an amazing time. way more frightening than all the stupid torture porn movies flooding the horror market these days, and a lot more fun too. it also perfectly embodies everything i love about sam raimi as a director. combining the bizarre stomach-turning hilarity of his old evil dead movies with the skilled handling of the morality tales of his spiderman movies, the person sitting behind me actually left because they peed their pants. totally lifted my spirits and scared the crap out of me at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyB.May 29, 2009
The most thoroughly rewarding movie experience I've had in a very long time. Great fun from beginning to end. Forget all of the other summer blockbusters, this is THE ONE to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrispMay 31, 2009
So old school. So Raimi. So brilliant!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickD.May 31, 2009
i like kristian's comment a lot. i am sorry not every movie is a copy of the exorcist. Do you seriously go see horror movies looking for christian moral undertones and god saving people? This movie is awesome and is almost as good as i like kristian's comment a lot. i am sorry not every movie is a copy of the exorcist. Do you seriously go see horror movies looking for christian moral undertones and god saving people? This movie is awesome and is almost as good as evil dead 2. Its only fault is a lack of Bruce. the best pg 13 horror movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ckkJun 1, 2009
Scary but still funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonFJun 1, 2009
Ridiculous, expertly-paced, hilarious, frightening and loads of fun. This is film made by a man unrestricted for the first time in a decade, drunk on his own exuberance, working wonderfully within genre to deliver what I want so many summer Ridiculous, expertly-paced, hilarious, frightening and loads of fun. This is film made by a man unrestricted for the first time in a decade, drunk on his own exuberance, working wonderfully within genre to deliver what I want so many summer movies to be: engaging brain candy. This is the best horror flick I've seen in years, and I've seen way more than I should have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomCJun 1, 2009
I don't quite get the user reviews here which say this movie wasn't scary. I've seen a lot of horror flicks (most of them lousy) and this was one of a very rare few that actually kept me terrified to the very last shot. Yes, I don't quite get the user reviews here which say this movie wasn't scary. I've seen a lot of horror flicks (most of them lousy) and this was one of a very rare few that actually kept me terrified to the very last shot. Yes, we get some humor--some intended and some perhaps not--and yes, those flash-cuts of scary faces coming out at you are something of a horror cliché at this point, but.... I was genuinely scared a lot of the time. Otherwise, I was impressed with the very well-plotted script, the smart direction and the convincing performances. Yeah, there were moments I had the awful sensation of being dragged to hell. And isn't that why we go see horror movies in the first place? Totally recommended. One of the best I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SheriffNJun 13, 2009
I'm not going to sit here and say everything the man has put his hand to has been a work of genius (uh...Spider Man 3/Time cop??)--But when Raimi does make contact, he hits it 500 feet out of the park. Then, after rounding the bases 10 I'm not going to sit here and say everything the man has put his hand to has been a work of genius (uh...Spider Man 3/Time cop??)--But when Raimi does make contact, he hits it 500 feet out of the park. Then, after rounding the bases 10 times with superhuman speed, he rips the home plate umpire in half unleashing several thousand gallons of red and green food coloring into the crowd, who then become possessed by demons, A-Rod runs for his life, Gwar begins performing in center field..you get the idea. After a decade of horror movies that have catered to the extremes of cruelty, masochism, and the voyeuristic thirst for 'real life' violence (Saw, Hostel et al.), I felt refreshed and even uplifted experiencing 21st century Evil Dead style slapstick zombie-fu. I'll concede that the plot-Hot blond chick/time released deadly curse-is not terribly original, but some themes are turned on their head in unexpected ways. At times, the audience will find itself laughing with the bad guys (cheesy floating spirits/old vomit covered lady), at the painful blunders, poor judgment, and outright misery of the good guys (home loan officer and her boyfriend, the know it all university professor). Raimi respects that due to this topical character element, we may not want the heroine to succeed, and certainly we can say he does throw us several bones throughout the course of the film. The criticism that this film is not scary enough misses the point, and begs the question-with everything going on in the world, how can we possibly be scared by a movie? Saving that question for another day, lets just say that with Drag Me To Hell we have a classic horror storyline framed beautifully by one of the masters of the genre. I'm not ready to call it a cult classic, or put it in the same category as ED2 until the 'multiple watch' factor has been established, but if you're not thoroughly entertained by this film.....well....Release date for G-Force is July 24th. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllaKJun 15, 2009
Brilliant, imaginative and extremely funny! Would recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour. But it is one of those, you either get it or you don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeJun 1, 2009
A really fun fright-fest in the vein of the best horror films of the 60's and 70's, but with state-of-the-art FX! Scary, gross, but not gratuitous like much of the stuff that passes for horror these days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentP.Jun 16, 2009
Funny, scary, and outrageous. If you didn't get a kick out of this movie, you might want to ask yourself, "Am I a party pooper?" Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMJun 1, 2009
I've been a fan of Sam Raimi for some time...I remember seeing Army of Darkness in theaters and was hooked on its mixture of goofiness and horror. Then some time later I came across Evil Dead 1 and 2, and enjoyed those quite a bit. Drag I've been a fan of Sam Raimi for some time...I remember seeing Army of Darkness in theaters and was hooked on its mixture of goofiness and horror. Then some time later I came across Evil Dead 1 and 2, and enjoyed those quite a bit. Drag Me to Hell is Sam Raimi going back to familiar territory...it's very Evil Dead 2, in the sense that it balances its horror and comedy nicely to the point where they are also used simultaneously and this makes for moments of cringing and laughing at the same time...and I LOVE that (and so did the crowd I saw the movie with, lots of laughing and saying "gross" at the same time). The movie is about a young woman...a regular ole drink of water she is, just getting through life wanting what everyone else wants...a nice job, a relationship, and overall acceptance. Working at a bank she comes across a creepy lady in need of an extension on a loan...she knows she must deny the loan to help herself towards a promotion. Denying the loan causes a curse to put over her...and in 3 days, to hell with her...kicking and screaming. This is comedy/horror at its finest, it has moments of absurdity but when it tries to scare...it tries hard, and oft times succeeds even IF some of the "jump scares" come off as cliche. The casting is well done, Alison Lohman does a good job of adding a vulnerability to the character while getting a bit more frustrated and devious towards the end...Justin Long plays the boyfriend role, and he does it with a certain sympathy and bewilderment to whats going on in his girlfriends life. This isn't your typical CGI FX ladened summer film...a great and many of the effects are rather practically done with moments of CGI sprinkled throughout. Its a much simpler film in terms of execution...but thats what I loved about it. It wasn't trying to be anything more than a good "frightfest" that last a couple hours, this is the kinda film you don't intelligently discuss afterwards...but simply discuss with your friends how fun and disgusting it was. RECOMMENDED. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMJun 2, 2009
Yes, it's Sam Rami paying homage to his "Evil Dead" roots, but also another great & forgotten 50's horror film, "Night of the Demon," (English title "Curse of the Demon) right up to its very end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanSJun 3, 2009
As a big fan of Sam Raimi this movie was a bit of a disappointment for me. I thought that he reused a lot of his gags and ideas from the Evil Dead movies. It wasn't funny or scary the way the Evil Dead movies are. It all felt too forced As a big fan of Sam Raimi this movie was a bit of a disappointment for me. I thought that he reused a lot of his gags and ideas from the Evil Dead movies. It wasn't funny or scary the way the Evil Dead movies are. It all felt too forced and kind of uninspired. If Raimi's gonna keep making horror movies like this he needs to cast Bruce Campbell in them. Or at least put him in a new Evil Dead movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyMJun 5, 2009
Now THIS is what a horror movie should be. Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots with Drag Me to Hell, and it doesn't disappoint. In fact, it may be the most fun i've had at the movies in years. Hilarious, dark, and scary as Now THIS is what a horror movie should be. Sam Raimi returns to his Evil Dead roots with Drag Me to Hell, and it doesn't disappoint. In fact, it may be the most fun i've had at the movies in years. Hilarious, dark, and scary as HELL, Drag Me to Hell puts all the "horror" films of late to shame...complete shame.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
shauna.Jul 5, 2009
I never did see the trailer of this movie and didnt quite know what to expect. it was twisted, gruesome, hilarious, there were parts where it kept me holding my breath for god knows how long.. the few things that blew me off were the talkingI never did see the trailer of this movie and didnt quite know what to expect. it was twisted, gruesome, hilarious, there were parts where it kept me holding my breath for god knows how long.. the few things that blew me off were the talking goat, the constant re-emerging of that old lady (isnt that the Lamia's job to beleaguer chris?), the coin n button swap, the "ring" and numerous scenes where things gets into chris' mouth.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarolinaM.Jul 5, 2009
I am 19 and even I can appreciate how this is one of those rare horror gems that have come in this past decade. Lately I have cringed with the other Hollywood horror flicks but because they were horribly bad. This one made me squirm because I am 19 and even I can appreciate how this is one of those rare horror gems that have come in this past decade. Lately I have cringed with the other Hollywood horror flicks but because they were horribly bad. This one made me squirm because I desperately tried not to scream ( a bet). As for those who call the effects cheesy, I am proud to say I like this kind of cheesy. Although the idea of curses is overused, this movie had originality. Raimi & another masterpiece!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Jul 8, 2009
Amazing. From minute one right through till the end it was 100% classic Rami. I loved how I could go from horrified screaming to boistrous laughter all within a single breath. Not as gory and Rami's classic Evil Dead movies, but equally Amazing. From minute one right through till the end it was 100% classic Rami. I loved how I could go from horrified screaming to boistrous laughter all within a single breath. Not as gory and Rami's classic Evil Dead movies, but equally as gross in other ways. I was anticipating this movie for months and was worried I would be let down, but found that I was more satisfied then I thought would be possible. Those who don't like this movie probably don't understand Sam Rami's style of films and would be better off watching something lame like The Ring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Marc.D.Aug 6, 2009
A blast to watch from start to finish. Great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful