Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 854 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
648
Mixed:
89
Negative:
117
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChadS.May 29, 2009
[***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Christine(Alison Lohman) saw her gypsy everywhere. And where this loan officer ends up, she'll be far from heaven. The gypsy is an anti-hero for every senior citizen who ever felt shamed by a [***SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT***] Christine(Alison Lohman) saw her gypsy everywhere. And where this loan officer ends up, she'll be far from heaven. The gypsy is an anti-hero for every senior citizen who ever felt shamed by a youth-oriented society. Mrs. Ganush(Lorna Raver) is they're Rambo. "Drag Me to Hell", hands down, the best horror film since William Freidkin's "The Exorcist", delivers what it promises, a self-fulfilling prophecy, but by unexpectedly paying homage to Todd Haynes' 2003 film in the most galvanizing way imaginable. The tear running down her boyfriend's cheek is so melodramatic, so Douglas Sirk-like, the moviegoer instantly understands it's no accident that "Drag Me to Hell" ends, likewise, at a train station. In "Far From Heaven", Cathy Whitaker(Julianne Moore) watches her gardener Raymond Deagan(Dennis Haysberg) depart on a boxcar because he's from the wrong side of the tracks: the black side. With all the demonic mayhem going on in this sharply written, sharply acted genre film, it's not until the mimicking final scene that we realize the inherent social melodrama in Clay's breeding and Christine's lack of it; she grew up on a farm. Literally, the country girl ends up on the wrong side of the tracks: the subterranean side. All the more heartbreaking, all the more sudsy, Christine buys a new coat prior to meeting up with Clay Dalton(Justin Long) on the train station platform. For maximum soapy calibration, an engagement ring is in her fiance's possession. The coat she wears symbolizes the country girl's break with her "poor white trash" past. Too bad there's hell to pay. The crime? Social-climbing at the expense of an old woman's welfare. While "Drag Me to Hell" brings new energy into all the hoary archetypes(the haunted house, the cemetary at night) of the horror genre, it's the evocation of the star-crossed lovers that will ultimately resonate with the moviegoer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamT.May 29, 2009
The best horror movie in years. I saw two screenings of it and am absolutely in love. Haven't been that jumpy and giggly in a theater in a REALLY long time. Long live Sam Raimi!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesBMay 31, 2009
This movie may be the dumbest movie I've seen so far this year. And it is also the funniest. Do yourself a favor. If you can stomach nastiness and extremely dark comedy, go see it. You will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPHJun 11, 2009
Soon to be a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JAJun 11, 2009
The amount of haters here baffles me. Exactly what did you think you were getting into with this movie? On its own terms, it's about as good as this kind of thing can possibly be. I thought it awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ANJun 1, 2009
What a disappointment this was...the return of Sam Raimi to the stomping ground that made him a horror legend is about as exciting as watching that anything-but-red blood spurt all over the place in the Evil Dead movies. "Drag Me To Hell" What a disappointment this was...the return of Sam Raimi to the stomping ground that made him a horror legend is about as exciting as watching that anything-but-red blood spurt all over the place in the Evil Dead movies. "Drag Me To Hell" starts out promising enough, from a little boy being sucked into the dark reaches in 1969, to our present-day title victim getting on an old gypsy's bad side and putting up a heck of a fight for her life before she's cursed to burn in hell forever in three days. And it sustains momentum for about two-thirds of the movie, as we're introduced to compassionate, hateful, nondescript and forgettable characters who try to hasten or help our heroine to her predestined situation. But what would have been at least as watchable as "Spiderman 3" wimps out with one of the most predictable twists ever seen. Apparently Raimi thought the audience was stuck in 1969, which is about the last time this lame "surprise" ending would have worked. Raimi clearly was having fun as he made this, and the film has its moments (you may never look at Harvest cake the same way again) -- including several grotesque or hilarious ones that bring back memories of the best of the "Dead" films. But various miscues (watch the scene with the "there it is, there is isn't, there it is again" bruised lip) and parlor-trick special effects (pull that cloth napkin out of your mouth, please!), and the aforementioned anything but surprise ending drag this could-be near classic into the ninth circle of you know where. My score: C+, or 65/100 (rounded up to a 7). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimFJun 22, 2009
While I waswatching this film, I kept saying to myself, "Sam Raimi is a good director, this is a good idea, and the fx are awesome and inventive...but I don't like this film. I hate the characters, the pov has you identifying with While I waswatching this film, I kept saying to myself, "Sam Raimi is a good director, this is a good idea, and the fx are awesome and inventive...but I don't like this film. I hate the characters, the pov has you identifying with someone for a while and soon after they turn into a total sleaze. Then, it seems, pretty much everyone does. When I thought about the film more, however, and the film does provoke that, much more than most recent films, it seemed much more interesting, a sort of savage satire, similar to ones by Voltaire and Swift, where the entire human race is categorized as seamy and untrustworthy. In this light, the film is at least interesting, my only remaining problem being that, unlike, say, Voltaire's Candide, there is no pure and consistent character to anchor the satire. The closest one is the Indian fortuneteller, and he's just not that interesting. Worth seeing, though, and thinking and talking about as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
XouX.Jun 22, 2009
Its not as scary as some critics write it to be. i dunno maybe its because there's been like dozens of horror films in the past 6 months. this one however is a good movie. despite having cheap CGI and a confusing storyline it does have Its not as scary as some critics write it to be. i dunno maybe its because there's been like dozens of horror films in the past 6 months. this one however is a good movie. despite having cheap CGI and a confusing storyline it does have a interesting persona to it. its special and never really attempted. your typical sam raimi horror film. Didn't have this much fun since his evil dead films. its slapstick, gross and delivers a more then average thrill ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gaddicJun 23, 2009
A lot less complex than i expected but it's attractive direction form Sam Rami and the laughs plus the likeable ending it didn't fully disappoint. It's afilm that will no doubt grow on me as i watch it more and more. It's A lot less complex than i expected but it's attractive direction form Sam Rami and the laughs plus the likeable ending it didn't fully disappoint. It's afilm that will no doubt grow on me as i watch it more and more. It's quality though and quality never disappoints! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkLJun 29, 2009
I am gonna guess that the readers below me are under the age of 20 because you obviously don't know anything about horror film history. "the people who made "Drag Me to Hell"? wtf? You don't know who Sam Raimi is? You've never I am gonna guess that the readers below me are under the age of 20 because you obviously don't know anything about horror film history. "the people who made "Drag Me to Hell"? wtf? You don't know who Sam Raimi is? You've never seen the Evil Dead Trilogy? The fact that a person can give this movie a 1 or a zero is just sad and uneducated. Uneducated about horror films and films in general. Its a absolute shame that one of the best, one of the most fun films I have seen in years is being seen by dumb little brats who are so used to seeing crap that they don't even know when a refreshing, innovative, exciting film is placed right in front of them. This film is an absolute blast and will be regarded as an amazing horror film for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnPJun 3, 2009
Was a beautiful execution of a horror movie. Makes me look forward to what this master of horror is going to do with the next spider-man movie. And even looking farther into the future Hoping for Evil Dead remake or Get Bruce to lose some Was a beautiful execution of a horror movie. Makes me look forward to what this master of horror is going to do with the next spider-man movie. And even looking farther into the future Hoping for Evil Dead remake or Get Bruce to lose some weight and do Evil Dead 4!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CoryKJun 6, 2009
A definite "you need to yell at the characters in the movie theater" kind of movie. I had so much fun. Reminds me of old Raimi stuff, but with updated special effects, better camera work, and great horrific violence and ooze. I had to turn A definite "you need to yell at the characters in the movie theater" kind of movie. I had so much fun. Reminds me of old Raimi stuff, but with updated special effects, better camera work, and great horrific violence and ooze. I had to turn away from the screen a few times too... eating popcorn and watching this movie at times does not mix. I had so much fun with the audience watching this. An instant classic in my mind, and it's great to feel like you get your money's worth. Fun, fun, fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KelleyCJun 8, 2009
I was looking forward to this movie for a long time. After I saw all the great reviews, I was stoked. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I found the movie to be a disappointment. The "scare-factor" of the old lady dwindled over time, I was looking forward to this movie for a long time. After I saw all the great reviews, I was stoked. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I found the movie to be a disappointment. The "scare-factor" of the old lady dwindled over time, and the demon figure that she summoned (in scenes which were far scarier) was used too little in the movie. Much of the "horror" with the old lady was funny gross-out stuff, which wasn't particularly scary... just "Ewwww! - inducing". The events at the end were ridiculously predictable, which made for an anti-climactic final 10 minutes. There are a few good jolts, and I'll give marks for attempting something different from recent horror flicks. It's a good diversion, but doesn't live up to the hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RossWJul 28, 2009
I thought this movie was pretty good in many different ways. The story line was solid. The acting was really good. There were scary parts, gross parts and funny parts (although mostly the cinema just laughed nervously to ease the tension). I thought this movie was pretty good in many different ways. The story line was solid. The acting was really good. There were scary parts, gross parts and funny parts (although mostly the cinema just laughed nervously to ease the tension). Great film, definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbJul 6, 2009
Kind of disappointing, after all the great reviews I had read. I love Sam Raimi's classic horror/humor work... and this one delivered some great moments, both in the horror and the humor departments. However, the 'twist Kind of disappointing, after all the great reviews I had read. I love Sam Raimi's classic horror/humor work... and this one delivered some great moments, both in the horror and the humor departments. However, the 'twist ending' could be seen coming a mile away, and as other reviewers have noted, there was really one one human being in the film with any truly redeeming qualities (Justin Long's character). I have to say that overall it is much better than most of the movies being made in this genre over the past several years. [The talking goat seance scene was hilarious.] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmySAug 29, 2009
I agree with the critics. This is a great horror movie in every way. The acting is good and so is the music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
UptonKAug 3, 2009
This movie is a great horror comic book. Looking for reality? Don't look here. Looking for cheap thrills, broadly drawn scenes and eye-popping guffaws? Yep, this is the place. The acting is as shallow as the writing and both work about This movie is a great horror comic book. Looking for reality? Don't look here. Looking for cheap thrills, broadly drawn scenes and eye-popping guffaws? Yep, this is the place. The acting is as shallow as the writing and both work about 80% of the time. I couldn't help but wonder what the film might have been like had they taken the story seriously by casting age appropriate actors in the leads, and substituting the crayons they wrote the script with for mechanical pencils. This is tasty stuff - fluff, but not your usual horror film. Sam Raimi Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
konkonasAug 30, 2009
A reinvention of classic horror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomV.Sep 16, 2009
I was afraid to see this, especially because I adore some of Raimi's films. But after reading reviews in some interesting Dutch papers, I started feeling confident about it. And the movie delivered perfectly. What a good old horror I was afraid to see this, especially because I adore some of Raimi's films. But after reading reviews in some interesting Dutch papers, I started feeling confident about it. And the movie delivered perfectly. What a good old horror movie should look like, Drag me to Hell was fantastic. I laughed, scared and had my mouth open after the brilliant ending. Raimi's back in the game, and on top immediately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThayerH.Nov 1, 2009
A deceivingly light-hearted movie that shifts between horror and comedy without missing a beat. Wrap it all up with one of the most intense and satisfying endings I have seen in a long time, and you have yourself true cinematic gold. The A deceivingly light-hearted movie that shifts between horror and comedy without missing a beat. Wrap it all up with one of the most intense and satisfying endings I have seen in a long time, and you have yourself true cinematic gold. The ONLY people who do not/would not like this movie are those who do not understand it. Pay no attention to the red reviews preceding my own--they are the type that go see Saw every year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
dannnnnnyNov 3, 2009
Not that bad at all! It wasn't too scarry tho. I went with my girlfriend cause i thought it would scare her! CLASSIC. It made us both laugh more than be scared. I still thought it was a great movie. it was creeeepy at times but mostly funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattT.Oct 14, 2009
Lets put it this way; my wife and I watched it with our teenage daughter. She thought it was terrible, we thought it was the scariest, wittiest movie so far this year. Classic Raimi. I was worried that it wouldn't live up tho the hype, Lets put it this way; my wife and I watched it with our teenage daughter. She thought it was terrible, we thought it was the scariest, wittiest movie so far this year. Classic Raimi. I was worried that it wouldn't live up tho the hype, but it did. Low body count, but tons of scary fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidF.Oct 26, 2009
This is not your average scary movie. Some parts are cheesy, some parts are funny, and some parts are just plain scary. When these parts come together however they make one heck of an entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
nickolass.Oct 31, 2009
Best image: fly going in one nostril, coming out the other. Move makes no effort at sustaining a willful suspension of disbelief. Spining a supernatural horror story out of the mortgage crisis is pretty witty. Waifish Lohman's best Best image: fly going in one nostril, coming out the other. Move makes no effort at sustaining a willful suspension of disbelief. Spining a supernatural horror story out of the mortgage crisis is pretty witty. Waifish Lohman's best feature is her big brown strange eyes. Some good informal contemporary dialogue. Funny really, not scary. Tone is too uneven: the movie plays it straight, then campy. Stupid: Indian psychic translating Spanish for main Lohman's benefit. Good ending, surprising {at least for me.] Seance boring. Second best image: Lohman's hard nipples showing through her wet T while standing knee-deep in mud in Gypsy woman's open grave. Guess, it would make a pretty good Halloween date movie, but still pretty lame. Old Gypsy looks like a cross between Marilyn Manson and the crazy dude from Fargo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CHRISB.May 29, 2009
Loved It! Not really scary, but a lot of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexH.May 29, 2009
This was my first horror movie, and to say it, I don't think I will see a better film in this genre for these next 10 years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 29, 2009
Is that where we stand now as a society? the quality of our CGI? also, it's a throwback...it's supposed to be cheap. open mind!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshT.May 29, 2009
Best horror movie to come out this decade. I wanted to see it again as soon as I left the theatre. It's as fresh as it is retro. And it's fun the way horror movies are supposed to be unlike the superfluous sadist torture porns that Best horror movie to come out this decade. I wanted to see it again as soon as I left the theatre. It's as fresh as it is retro. And it's fun the way horror movies are supposed to be unlike the superfluous sadist torture porns that come out left and right these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickHMay 31, 2009
It was one of the better scary/horror movies I've seen in a while, but that doesn't mean I will hail it as amazing. The graphics were strange and unfitting, the dialogue was often awkward, the acting was alright, I think the It was one of the better scary/horror movies I've seen in a while, but that doesn't mean I will hail it as amazing. The graphics were strange and unfitting, the dialogue was often awkward, the acting was alright, I think the seyance scene was absolutely ridiculous, unnecessary, and damaging to the movie. But it was still enjoyable with a good ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CadManJun 12, 2009
duke f is mentally retarded.ignore him,he jerks off to ben afflick.fag. drag me to hell is the best horror film in years and raimis best ever film.amazing fun,hilarious,scary,a thrill ride of pure horror madnesss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful