Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 852 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
646
Mixed:
89
Negative:
117
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
KevinL.Nov 2, 2009
I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead I'm at a complete loss to understand all the positive reviews from critics. This movie was completely predictable, often resorting to extreme loud noise in a desperate bid to elicit some sort of scare from the audience that will instead leave you constantly adjusting your volume. The characters are flat, unrealistic and incredibly stupid. Often failing to recognize things that are blatantly obvious to everyone in the audience. This movie is an unintentional parody of itself, watch it with that in mind. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
GilbertLJun 1, 2009
Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned Horror movies have come to rely on using sound effects and music to scare audiences instead of putting any effort on having a story creep an audience out. Keeping this in mind, this movie is a non-stop scare fest with the aforementioned effects jumping up and saying 'Boo' to the audience every few minutes. It's easy to tell when this will happen because the music will drop ominous hints and the sound effects become excruciatingly loud (a rusty gate, pounding on doors, all turned up to 11). If that doesn't lower the scare factor, then surely the Three Stooges inspired slapstick will. Frankly, I thought 'The Haunted Mansion' with Eddie Murphy was scarier and funnier than this. I certainly hope Mr. Raimi hasn't completely lost his filmmaking integrity by devoting so much time to all those Spiderman movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristianRockNov 2, 2009
I had great expectations for this one but it failed miserably. Stiff performances from all actors, contrived storytelling and poor special effects, kitsch, not camp. It is a 'fun' movie, but only if you watch it to laugh at it and I had great expectations for this one but it failed miserably. Stiff performances from all actors, contrived storytelling and poor special effects, kitsch, not camp. It is a 'fun' movie, but only if you watch it to laugh at it and not with it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PhilSAug 17, 2009
Absolute drivel. The rave reviews clearly focus on a movie with the same title on Bizarro Earth, because the one I saw hardly deserves the eight bucks I threw at it. I can't even believe I am admitting I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrentJNov 15, 2009
I can't believe the critics loved this one. It was a totally cheesy movie. A few scary scenes & a few funny ones, but overall a pretty stupid movie.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
3
Watermelon789Jul 22, 2011
Kinda weird in my case to rate a negative score to a positive movie, anyway, expecting something scary isn't the right thing in here. Drag me too hell is stupid, and idiotically funny, i felt that it wasn't taking the main theme seriously,Kinda weird in my case to rate a negative score to a positive movie, anyway, expecting something scary isn't the right thing in here. Drag me too hell is stupid, and idiotically funny, i felt that it wasn't taking the main theme seriously, while it does some creepy sound effects, it isn't entertaining or tense as other Horror movies. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
HyperboleJan 17, 2012
It's a bad movie. Not in a good Sam Raimi way either. It is just boring and not serious scary or funny scary. It's an hour and 39 minutes long but feels a good 40 minutes longer. Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi and a crazy old gypsyIt's a bad movie. Not in a good Sam Raimi way either. It is just boring and not serious scary or funny scary. It's an hour and 39 minutes long but feels a good 40 minutes longer. Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi and a crazy old gypsy woman....how did this go wrong. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
jppl1999Jul 13, 2015
You can always try to overthink stuff, and in this case, a movie. Then, the real problem lies on why do critics think this as a horror movie deserves an 83. Sometimes I think about it and I kind of understand the reason, because the majorityYou can always try to overthink stuff, and in this case, a movie. Then, the real problem lies on why do critics think this as a horror movie deserves an 83. Sometimes I think about it and I kind of understand the reason, because the majority of them say it is funny, or comedic, or hilarious, etc... And yes! It gets to be funny, but I just don't see it as a "Thriller, Horror" film worth 83 over 100. I just don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JoellemmNov 19, 2016
Have people watched a different movie? Its not funny, or scary. Plot is simplistic, yet still done poorly. How is there plot holes when the plot is essentially just a collection of what has already been done. Sam Raimi's The Evil Dead wasHave people watched a different movie? Its not funny, or scary. Plot is simplistic, yet still done poorly. How is there plot holes when the plot is essentially just a collection of what has already been done. Sam Raimi's The Evil Dead was overrated, and this is way worse than that (didn't know he directed this till I had watched it so not biased). The acting is poor, its cheesy, and the tone changes every moment. This film is for idiots, I am sure of it. It spells everything out; where is the subtlety? I couldn't stop rolling my eyes. It does what it sets out to do so its quite hard to criticise, but that just means it was flawed from the start. Please tell me big budget horror has more to offer than this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CapoRegimeOct 14, 2009
The film is proclaimed as a horror movie, but right at the start I'm starting to feel that they got it wrong. Drag me to hell is a comedy, directed by someone who's weird enough to make fun of putting or spraying something on the mouth.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
ChrisW.Jun 12, 2009
I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously I went to see this movie on the basis of the acclaim this film has got from the media and reviews, how wrong so many people are. This was a shockingly bad movie that I would advise other potential viewers to stay away from. Seriously don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
jesssOct 30, 2009
After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing After all the hype about this film, i thought i was going to be in for a real treat, how wrong was i. The film was advertised as a horror however this it definately wasn't, it was ridiculous how stupid the film was i was laughing throughout at the stupidity, i mean how patronising can a person be to think that the audience would be scared of this mediocre dribble drabble of a film. i highly advise you not to watch this as a horror fan but more of a comedy "shaun of the dead" type fan, not that it's that good. So disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NickS.Jun 15, 2009
wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not wow - what a bad flick! I am a horror, cheesy and campy film lover - but Drag me to hell was so boring, nothing ever happened, the seaonce scene was so long and lame - the movie had no payoff what so ever, not funny, not campy, not gory, not suspenseful - just bad. Give me Evil Dead, Dead Alive or Saw any-day over this nonsense of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LJun 1, 2009
Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Disappointing. I hate when the trailer shows a very scary horror movie and in fact it feels more like a comedy. Do not (I repeat) do not expect to be scared, prepared to laugh and regret the money you spent watching this. This is like Scary Movie 5... and this movie should be placed in a "Comedy" category, not in a "Horror/Suspense". Please drag this movie to hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ManekiNJun 4, 2009
This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and This film was a real disappointment, the 'jump' moments were far too numerous, and by and large achieved solely by the fact that this was the loudest film I have ever seen, by a long shot. Wanted to walk out half way through, and nothing that happened after that changed my mind. Worst film I've seen at the cinema since Phantom of the Opera. Give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaneTJun 5, 2009
I'm so pissed at having having believed the bullshit reviews by idiots around the country about this movie. What a stupid piece of shit and waste of time. How insulting to put out a film so weak that it has to rely on loud, startling I'm so pissed at having having believed the bullshit reviews by idiots around the country about this movie. What a stupid piece of shit and waste of time. How insulting to put out a film so weak that it has to rely on loud, startling music and cliche sound effects to actually create a sense of terror. This has been so overdone and worked in the 70's, but now? Really? The star of the show was the music and the kitten which ends up getting knifed and thrown in the dirt. Disgusting! Shame on the movie and $&%k all you overpaid critics! I want my money back Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AshleyMAug 3, 2009
Really! I have no idea what you guys are talking about! Have you not seen the ridiculous scenes involving the old gypsy biting, actually Biting, with her toothless jaws at the main girl. I mean, anyone could have come up with something Really! I have no idea what you guys are talking about! Have you not seen the ridiculous scenes involving the old gypsy biting, actually Biting, with her toothless jaws at the main girl. I mean, anyone could have come up with something better, more realistic. Reminds me too, the scene in the trailer, where she roles over and finds the old gypsy laying right beside her. Yea, that went on a little too long with the whole biting again. It's just gross and obnoxious to the point where my acceptance towards the movie just lowered and lowered. I thought the storyline was going to be decent, especially when we haven't had a real Good horror movie in a longg time. But as time went on I realized that it was a waste of my $9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DonaldB.Jun 12, 2009
This is not a good movie. I fail to see stars in any aspect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RobertB.Nov 3, 2009
This movie was just terrible. I don't know if it was the directors cut that made it terrible or just the lame effects. The girl getting puked in the mouth multiple times was ultra-lame. I can't believe this movie has rated as well This movie was just terrible. I don't know if it was the directors cut that made it terrible or just the lame effects. The girl getting puked in the mouth multiple times was ultra-lame. I can't believe this movie has rated as well as it did. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
LarryK.Oct 18, 2009
I laughed throughout the movie and I thought for sure the other members of the audience, who were trying so hard to be sooooooo scared, were going to kill me. My score of 2 was arrived at by giving the movie a 7 for humor and a -5 for I laughed throughout the movie and I thought for sure the other members of the audience, who were trying so hard to be sooooooo scared, were going to kill me. My score of 2 was arrived at by giving the movie a 7 for humor and a -5 for horror. "Here kitty kitty kitty." LOL! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Psyco6Mar 18, 2012
I saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed theI saw this movie when it came out, I expected it to be some what scary but i laughed at the parts where it was suppose to be scary. The things in this movie are just dumb. I watched this movie with a friend of mine at night at laughed the entire movie. The acting is bad, the lines are cheesy,and the plot is even more dumb. At one part she's getting attacked and for some reason she has an anvil tied to a string above the spot where her attacker is, and just happens to have an ice skate next to the rope. The end is the worst part of all. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Aug 27, 2012
I am truely in disarray at what the critics thought was so great about this film. It was the furthest thing from scary, and the so called funny moments where unrecognizable. Boring and pretty stupid overall.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
2
bombermann64Aug 1, 2015
I thought this movie was going to be very good so I was never biased against it. I watched it alone in the dark so that wasn't the problem. This movie is just an abysmal movie. It was never really scary. It had some jump scares but they rangeI thought this movie was going to be very good so I was never biased against it. I watched it alone in the dark so that wasn't the problem. This movie is just an abysmal movie. It was never really scary. It had some jump scares but they range from very slightly startling to laughable. Some of the special effects in the movie are so bad that they take you out of the experience. If they are trying to be comical that didn't work either. If they didn't have the budget for the kind of special effects they needed they shouldn't have tried to do them anyway. The character is pretty annoying as well. There aren't really any redeeming qualities. Watch something else. I wish I had. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
UnbiasRatingsMay 5, 2015
I'm a big horror genre fan and out of all the movies I have seen so far, this is probably the worst movie. The scenes are way too gross and too much editing has been done which makes the movie look very childish and unreal. Also, the actorsI'm a big horror genre fan and out of all the movies I have seen so far, this is probably the worst movie. The scenes are way too gross and too much editing has been done which makes the movie look very childish and unreal. Also, the actors were loosing their focus inbetween some of the scenes (multiple times) and both, the editing crew and the directer, were too careless to notice. Even the end was extremely straight forward and predictable. The only reason I gave it 2 points was because the old woman was spot on! She was the best actor in the entire movie. Almost everything else was very disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MattMJun 2, 2009
This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He This is the worst movie on the planet. It's probably really insulting to fans of Army of Darkness etc. Not a single thing about it is entertaining. Raimi knows he has a cult following and those people would see this movie regardless. He took advantage of that fact and made a by-the-book, boring, silly gross movie. Nothing like his older work. Just dumb. Same people who laugh loudly in theaters at Dance Flick will laugh loudly at his movie too. IT's not clever, it's not scary, it's not anything. Seriously insulting, Raimi lost it after Spiderman 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisHJun 15, 2009
I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right I'm dumbfounded by the 83 this movie received. I just really don't believe i watched the same movie. I did not think this movie is worth anyone's time and actually walked out an hour into the movie. Maybe it got good right after that?Terrible movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
karlgOct 2, 2009
If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets If you are expecting an evil-dead-like movie like i was, you should watch the first scene, the seance scene, and the last scene, and SKIP the rest. Nothing in this movie is as funny or scary, and every scene is dragged out so long it gets boring. Gypsies are still frequently the victims of violence and discrimination, so i feel they're portrayal in this movie was in bad taste. On the plus side this movie has a talking goat. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DukeFJun 11, 2009
This was a total piece of excrement. Do yourself a favor and read the user reviews...ignore the 83 average from the critics...this is more like a 23. You'd have to be a third grader to find this nonsense scary and while it had a few This was a total piece of excrement. Do yourself a favor and read the user reviews...ignore the 83 average from the critics...this is more like a 23. You'd have to be a third grader to find this nonsense scary and while it had a few funny moments, it had none of the "we know this is a bad movie so we're gonna run with it." magic that you all know and love. But it did manage to be loud, frenetic and somehow boring at same time, so I guess that's something, right? Total excrement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BMJun 25, 2009
Worst movie i have EVER seen! I have given it a 1 based on the hilarity of the talking goat...and thats it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
lizzietMay 31, 2009
Some parts were just completely stupid , and badly made. the acting wasn't very good. and the end dragged on too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful