Dragon Wars: D-War

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 123
  2. Negative: 84 out of 123

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BenjaminP
    Oct 6, 2007
    0
    What the... this movie is about koreans partiotism. it's a piece of crap
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    2
    Completely brainless with one or 2 creative little set pieces. Avoid D-War... I mean just look at the name. It's dragons breaking crap for an hour and some...
  3. RichC.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    Save you time & money. You can probably see the same thing on Sat morning kids show.
  4. TobbyS.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    The worst movie I ever saw. Korean people needs some creativity. Hyndai, Sumsong, Kia, LG.....and now, D-War? Do not always copy Japanese. Be original!!!!!!! If someone pay me $100 to see the movie again, I will pay $100 to not to see. I just can not believe that I went to see this movie.
  5. AnneR.
    Feb 20, 2008
    2
    Wanted to like this movie, but no. Just...no. Acting was horrendous. Plot? What plot? And when it comes to action...meh...I could go either way. The special effects were probably the only good thing about it. The dragons and explosions were top-notch. Too bad they went to waste on a movie that had me leaving the theater listing the things I hated about it.
  6. TomH.
    Jul 3, 2008
    1
    This was actually the worst films i have evr seen. It was dull, it had a shocking ending, the cgi wasnt too great and it was a waste of £10!
  7. MichaelH.
    Sep 16, 2007
    1
    The WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. And that includes "Santa Claus Conquers the Martians." There is no story structure. There is no attempt to make you empathize with the main characters. You get slammed with a half-hour of exposition at the beginning, and it's bad exposition. It's so confusing that you have no idea what they were trying to set up in the first place. The WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. And that includes "Santa Claus Conquers the Martians." There is no story structure. There is no attempt to make you empathize with the main characters. You get slammed with a half-hour of exposition at the beginning, and it's bad exposition. It's so confusing that you have no idea what they were trying to set up in the first place. The next quarter of the film is devoted to a bunch of cuts between the male lead and the female lead, while the male lead looks for her. Then there's a battle between fantasy creatures and modern military technology in the middle of LA, with total disregard for civilian life by the military. The chopper pilots are hilariously bad. I feel like this sequence was one of the major reasons this film was made. You can tell the director liked it, because you see the main characters for all of two minutes in this roughly 20 minute battle. Oh, and another thing. This movie fails at creating tension in every way imagineable. I know every movie does this, but none so blatant as this one. When the bad guy is two feet from his goal, and he just stands there and stares at his goal, easily within reach... WHY NOT STRIKE ALREADY!? That happens maybe 10 times in the entire film. The special effects amalgam at the end between the two giant serpents, good and evil, is also something that you can tell the director really wanted to do. Too bad it fails for using special effects on par with a film like Independence Day, an 11-year-old film. Aside from all of these flaws, add in non-sequitur dialog that is badly delivered, a "tragic" ending that is practically joyous when the credits roll, and a bad guy with dubbed Korean lines who overacts like it's going out of style, and you have what can easily be called the worst movie ever made. I honestly don't know what studio in their right mind would've picked this one up. Don't waste your time or money. I would've walked out on this movie if I hadn't been there with friends. Expand
  8. CharlsK.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    This is the worst movie I ever saw in my life. Gozilla wanna be? I guess Korean people does not have any originality. Kia, Hyndai, Sumsong, LG......its all copy of Japanese. Envy, I guess. I just can not believe that I paid to see this movie. If someone pay me $100 to see this movie, I will pay $100 to not to see again. I just don't understand who vote for 10 , 9 and 7. I bet they This is the worst movie I ever saw in my life. Gozilla wanna be? I guess Korean people does not have any originality. Kia, Hyndai, Sumsong, LG......its all copy of Japanese. Envy, I guess. I just can not believe that I paid to see this movie. If someone pay me $100 to see this movie, I will pay $100 to not to see again. I just don't understand who vote for 10 , 9 and 7. I bet they work for D-War. Please go see yourself and you will conclude with the exact the same answer as mine. Expand
  9. DDKK
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Don't waste your money!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Camtron
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Hands down the worst movie I have seen to date. Dragon wars is worse than Bubble Boy, Biodome, and Corky Romano combined. The movie was a disaster on every end of the spectrum, horrible acting, special effects, writing ect. I was actually depressed walking out of the theatre because I wasted 90 minutes of my life. Because of Dragon Wars I will never intentionally see a bad movie ever Hands down the worst movie I have seen to date. Dragon wars is worse than Bubble Boy, Biodome, and Corky Romano combined. The movie was a disaster on every end of the spectrum, horrible acting, special effects, writing ect. I was actually depressed walking out of the theatre because I wasted 90 minutes of my life. Because of Dragon Wars I will never intentionally see a bad movie ever again. I would rather be punched in the face before watching D-Wars a second time. Save your life and listen to my review; I am not making this up. I do not know how this movie was released to the public, it should be buried like the E.T. video games in the desert. Expand
  11. JessM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    @Tobby S., don't be a racist. If this is your only introduction to Korean film, then you need to get out of your mother's basement. And yes this movie sucks.
  12. MichaelF.
    Sep 23, 2007
    0
    This movie was no doubt the worst this year! This movie wasted an hour and a half of my life and the only part in the movie you should watch are the last 15 minutes of it! HORRIBLE!!!
  13. NationalismX
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    Those people here claiming a ten are clearly South Koreans. If you look at my IP address, you will notice that I am in Korea. Those are the only people that support this film, truly, it is the worst film I have ever seen in a long long time. Seriously, even the audience here laughed when the movie was trying to be serious. I don't know how this director can have a job.
  14. J
    Jan 20, 2008
    3
    The CG's were impressive but the horrible script, acting, and direction just outweighs everything.
  15. Bob
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    I laughed about once in the whole movie...the rest was just a waste of my life.
  16. KenC.
    Feb 1, 2008
    2
    I like B Sci-Fi movies as a rule - but this was pretty sorry - The action makes it watchable - but the story (plot) and the inconsistencies make it bad.
  17. JohnL.
    Mar 4, 2008
    0
    WOW I knew it was going to be bad but usually when you expect the worst from a movie it tends to be better than you've heard...theres a reason the critic scores are nearly as bad as the users..this movie was AWFUL!!!!! after 10 minutes i watched it in fast forward just to get my rental moneys worth, I've never done that before so that should give you an idea of how bad this WOW I knew it was going to be bad but usually when you expect the worst from a movie it tends to be better than you've heard...theres a reason the critic scores are nearly as bad as the users..this movie was AWFUL!!!!! after 10 minutes i watched it in fast forward just to get my rental moneys worth, I've never done that before so that should give you an idea of how bad this really was..Korea should stick to making kias and lg products, not feature films . Expand
  18. VernelN.
    Apr 23, 2008
    1
    This movie Sucked. The plot was worthless and dumb. The cg was good, but didn't help much.
  19. JamesL
    Aug 3, 2008
    3
    The film was bad, i'm not gonna lie, but the visuals and action sequences were entertaining. The plot and acting are awful. As for the person who commented on how Korea should stick to making LGs and Kia's, this movie is not a fair representation of Korean cinema as there are many brilliant Korean films like Oldboy, 3-Iron, and The Host to name a few. Nevertheless, I had a good The film was bad, i'm not gonna lie, but the visuals and action sequences were entertaining. The plot and acting are awful. As for the person who commented on how Korea should stick to making LGs and Kia's, this movie is not a fair representation of Korean cinema as there are many brilliant Korean films like Oldboy, 3-Iron, and The Host to name a few. Nevertheless, I had a good time laughing at the dialogue. Expand
  20. DaveY
    Apr 21, 2009
    0
    Oh my god...you're kidding right? This is without a doubt the worst film ever made. I've watched it 3 times to try and find some good in it but every time I just found more stuff to get annoyed with! Eventually I got so angry I decided to leave this comment. This film should be burned along with the director and I really wonder if he's ever seen a film before, I could have Oh my god...you're kidding right? This is without a doubt the worst film ever made. I've watched it 3 times to try and find some good in it but every time I just found more stuff to get annoyed with! Eventually I got so angry I decided to leave this comment. This film should be burned along with the director and I really wonder if he's ever seen a film before, I could have made a better film with my grandma, and she doesn't have any arms or legs! The plot was outrageously stupid firstly using Korean names for things which just confused everything, then the teacher training his student to fight just jumped around him, then saying: 'Good, you'll be able to beat me soon'....he didn't fight you in the first place you idiot!!!!! Also, near the beginning, the girl checks herself into the hospital for having a bad dream and then gets locked up for it with guards watching her door and then starts flipping out against the door because 'something crazy is happening!' She also seems to think that her strategically placed Korean legends book which is written in Korean will save her if she puts the pictures on the walls and tells everyone she Expand
  21. MofM.
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Wow. I have to say, this movie was horrible. The whole thing reeked of cliched and used. AND the movie trips over itself so many times. All of this badness balls up, and you laugh your ass off at who bad it is. The name hints at Dragons fighting, but there is only one scene were Dragons fight. All the rest is running away from a giant Snake. That's about it. Go see it if you're Wow. I have to say, this movie was horrible. The whole thing reeked of cliched and used. AND the movie trips over itself so many times. All of this badness balls up, and you laugh your ass off at who bad it is. The name hints at Dragons fighting, but there is only one scene were Dragons fight. All the rest is running away from a giant Snake. That's about it. Go see it if you're really bored, or if your in need to see a bad movie. Otherwise steer clear of Dragon Wars Expand
  22. CJ.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    Since the movie was one of my favorite genres, I thought this would be a great movie. I was sadly mistaken. There is nothing positive to say about the disaster. The story line is disconnected, and the acting was non-existent.
  23. HeathL.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    This IS the worst movie I have ever, ever seen/ Horrible script, Horrendous acting, pathetic excuse for a plot, and the special effects were very poor.
  24. FrankM.
    Sep 15, 2007
    1
    The worst material I have ever witnessed in a theatre to date.
  25. HiroProtagonist
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    This is not even a movie for parents and kids. My guys hated it. We agreed that some of the FX were cool, but EVEN MY KIDS saw how horrible of a storyline this was. Lame
  26. JohnG.
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    What a horrible waste of time.
  27. FranklinH.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    If I can save one person from going to watch this debacle of a movie, I will have found my peace. Worst movie I've ever seen, down there with... probably Extreme Ops. How do they get away with putting this garbage on the big screen?
  28. MichaelY.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    I walked out of the theatre with my five year old daughter and two year old son mumbling to myself in disbelief at the total waste of time this movie was from start to finish! The guy behind me heard me and started laughing. Even the kids were in a trance! I have frequently logged on to metacritic to get an overall idea on what critics as well as the general public think of a particular I walked out of the theatre with my five year old daughter and two year old son mumbling to myself in disbelief at the total waste of time this movie was from start to finish! The guy behind me heard me and started laughing. Even the kids were in a trance! I have frequently logged on to metacritic to get an overall idea on what critics as well as the general public think of a particular movie so I can try and determine if a movie is worth my time and money. Unfortunately for me and the kids, on the day this was released I checked on Metacritic to read the reviews and there was not a single review posted. After watching this total piece of crap I can see why. No doubt this movie was never screened because the producers of this debacle must have known the film was going to get savaged by the critics and the general public alike. The only reason I took the time to write a review on this waste of celluloid was after reading others express that this was the worst film they had ever seen as well. Reading others write the very thing I was feeling was very therapeutic for me. Just knowing that others saw this movie as I did made me feel a little better. I guess misery does love company after all! The only good thing to be said about this piece of total crap was that the special effects were pretty amazing. That being said it still was not enough to raise my review above "zero"! You truly would have to have the I.Q. of a common house plant in order to enjoy this movie. Everyone else run for the hills on this one! Expand
  29. GaryH
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    Blew the entire budget on special effects, which were very good. The actors, and acting was bad and unconvincing to the point of fast forwarding between the action. Only a few few movies do I do that, and I have watched thousands. Hence 1 out of 10. Great movie if your 15, but sucks for adults.
  30. JayL.
    Jan 18, 2008
    0
    I just rented this movie, I watched this movie, not only do I want my money back but the director, writers, producers of this Pure Crap! should refund every one who rented this their money back. The best acting was done by the dragon. I implore any and everyone Do Not waste your money on this. Rent Dragon Tales instead!!
  31. TheReviewer
    Feb 12, 2008
    3
    I am korean and this move was made there. Am I going to support it? No. This movie had the worst acting I have ever seen. Plot? Crap. Action? Meh... Well what to say. I'm giving it a 3 because I am korean. You are lucky D-War... if you were directed anywhere else I would have given you a 1.
  32. RichardH.
    Feb 17, 2008
    0
    This movie is rubbish. The story is radiculous and so is the dialogue. I have never seen such nonsense before. The basic idea of a dragon loose in LA is good, but the story is about a lot of spiritual nonsense and its really though to try to make some sense of the story while watching it.
  33. BrianC
    Feb 21, 2008
    2
    I'm a huge fan of dragons, but this movie bored the crap out of me. There are some cool special effects but the movie just doesn't "flow" right.
  34. CajunC.
    Jun 11, 2008
    1
    It's like watching a power rangers the movie.. it's totally boring and so fake!!
  35. BradA
    Jan 25, 2009
    0
    Imagine an after-school special on the sci-fi network. But much much much worse. I will choke down anything put in front of me in the hopes that things will get better. Boy was I wrong. I don't think I watched it for 20 minutes before I turned it off. This movie is as bad as everyone says it is. For once, believe the reviews...and then run. If you watch this movie you can never get Imagine an after-school special on the sci-fi network. But much much much worse. I will choke down anything put in front of me in the hopes that things will get better. Boy was I wrong. I don't think I watched it for 20 minutes before I turned it off. This movie is as bad as everyone says it is. For once, believe the reviews...and then run. If you watch this movie you can never get that time back and you will feel hollow inside. Expand
  36. DaveY
    Jul 22, 2009
    0
    Oh my god...you're kidding right? This is without a doubt the worst film ever made. I've watched it 3 times to try and find some good in it but every time I just found more stuff to get annoyed with! Eventually I got so angry I decided to leave this comment. This film should be burned along with the director and I really wonder if he's ever seen a film before, I could have Oh my god...you're kidding right? This is without a doubt the worst film ever made. I've watched it 3 times to try and find some good in it but every time I just found more stuff to get annoyed with! Eventually I got so angry I decided to leave this comment. This film should be burned along with the director and I really wonder if he's ever seen a film before, I could have made a better film with my grandma, and she doesn't have any arms or legs! The plot was outrageously stupid firstly using Korean names for things which just confused everything, then the teacher training his student to fight just jumped around him, then saying: 'Good, you'll be able to beat me soon'....he didn't fight you in the first place you idiot!!!!! Also, near the beginning, the girl checks herself into the hospital for having a bad dream and then gets locked up for it with guards watching her door and then starts flipping out against the door because 'something crazy is happening!' She also seems to think that her strategically placed Korean legends book which is written in Korean will save her if she puts the pictures on the walls and tells everyone she Expand
  37. RandyN.
    Mar 29, 2010
    0
    I will pretty much sit through anything, and as this was a free netflix download I managed to watch it with one eye while doing other work on the computer. It's an amazing film, and I mean that in the worst possible way. The actions of the people in the film are so incomprehensible, every ten feet they stumble into another staggering coincidence, the dragon ALWAYS pauses before I will pretty much sit through anything, and as this was a free netflix download I managed to watch it with one eye while doing other work on the computer. It's an amazing film, and I mean that in the worst possible way. The actions of the people in the film are so incomprehensible, every ten feet they stumble into another staggering coincidence, the dragon ALWAYS pauses before eating the girl (alas! She got away again) the bad guys' motivation is... what? To end the world? And just why do they wish to do this? And how do they aim those howitzers mounted on the giant toads' backs? How could a dozen Abrams tanks not perforate more than one or two blubbery beasts walking towards them with about 3 minutes of fire time? And why do the bad guys walk towards the US soldiers, anyhow? Why not just go capture the girl? It's okay, the FBI has a very advanced mysticism unit (or something) so they know all about this legend. um. Okay, then. It may be worth it to watch this movie, just for the novelty of setting a new low for yourself. Just be sure to place sharp objects out of reach during the film, to prevent yourself from plunging them into your own eyes. Expand
  38. DaveG.
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    This is quite possibly the worst movie I've ever paid to see.
  39. YuesX.
    Sep 22, 2007
    0
    Oh my god!!! I was so happy when it came out!! I went around 2 in the afternoon to watch it, and wow after 1 whole hour and 20-30ish mins of actions, I came out a disappointed guy, this movie sucked! big time! To those who gave it 10 and 9s and 8s, you must not have studied or watch enough films. This totally sucked, Korean movies are awesome, I'll say that, but this director sucks. Oh my god!!! I was so happy when it came out!! I went around 2 in the afternoon to watch it, and wow after 1 whole hour and 20-30ish mins of actions, I came out a disappointed guy, this movie sucked! big time! To those who gave it 10 and 9s and 8s, you must not have studied or watch enough films. This totally sucked, Korean movies are awesome, I'll say that, but this director sucks. Korean reincarnated into white people?! what the heck? Why not just make it that the main characters accidentally picked up their powers... DUMB. And at last, the stupidest scene ever, the main character's friend gives him a gun just in case he needs it later on, what was the point of that?!! He didn't even use it once!!!!, the story just ended after dragons fought, where was he?! Korea? Mexico? Neveda?! sincerely dumb! Expand
  40. christopherb
    Sep 28, 2007
    1
    Please avoid at all cost...the loss of money and two hours of your life is not worth it at all.
  41. RichardJ
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    Horrible. Incomprehensible. Shoddy. It is extremely rare for me to not like at least a small part of any movie, but this one had no redeeming features whatsoever. Another reviewer said "If you want to share some unforgettable memories with your children, this will be an excellent choice." Absolutely true - any future rubbish movie you see with your children can be accompanied by "hey, at Horrible. Incomprehensible. Shoddy. It is extremely rare for me to not like at least a small part of any movie, but this one had no redeeming features whatsoever. Another reviewer said "If you want to share some unforgettable memories with your children, this will be an excellent choice." Absolutely true - any future rubbish movie you see with your children can be accompanied by "hey, at least it wasn't as bad as Dragon Wars." Pretty much all the actors (I use that term extremely loosely) seemed to have no idea what was going on, both in the movie, and in their own private lives that meant they were forced to accept a role in this film. The special effects were the best part of Dragon Wars, and even then they would not have looked out of place in an episode of Buck Rogers. Seriously. I literally have absolutely no idea what the point of this movie was. It made no sense whatsoever, and there was absolutely no attempt to get the audience to either like the good guys or hate the baddies. Whoever they were. Which, ultimately, means that pretty much everyone who watches this will hate pretty much everything about it. Expand
  42. Aug 13, 2011
    2
    When I got home after watching this movie, I went online to recheck the genre it was categorized in, it's so ridiculous I literally couldn't tell if it was a parody/comedy movie like the Scary Movie series or if it was being for real. For what it's worth, it was pretty looking.
  43. Jan 17, 2012
    2
    Completely stupid, and not even the self aware stupid that pokes fun at itself for being so stupid, it honestly tries to be this completely serious movie, but is hindered by bad acting and a crappy and predictable plot, the special effects also aren't that great either, it literally is one of the worst movies of all time, and honestly unless you just like boring yourself to tears watchingCompletely stupid, and not even the self aware stupid that pokes fun at itself for being so stupid, it honestly tries to be this completely serious movie, but is hindered by bad acting and a crappy and predictable plot, the special effects also aren't that great either, it literally is one of the worst movies of all time, and honestly unless you just like boring yourself to tears watching awful movies do yourself a favor and never even think about watching this piece of crap, it fails on all levels, a must avoid. Expand
  44. Jun 11, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dragon Wars
    A Review by Chris Camz of UnfashionablyLateReviews@Blogspot.com Dragon Wars was released to the unforgiving fangs of critics in the summer of 2007, but I only recently watched it via Netflix. The reason for this review is that the past few reviews have been generally solid titles. As a man with very limited resources, I try to filter through the oceans of crap released by companies and spend my hard-earned dollars on media I know I will enjoy. Dragon Wars was a free DVD, meaning I could sample it without damaging my checkbook, as well as take an unbiased look at a movie that has been universally hated, to see if I agreed. After seeing the movie, I can tell you that not only were the critics right, they were being soft on the producers. Dragon Wars is, without question, the most lopsided movie I have seen in years. I started the movie expecting that the majority of the budget would be spent on special effects; I did not, however, prepare myself for the level of crap that the movie would fling at me. From a broken storyline, to poorly executed scenes designed for character development, this movie was far and beyond what could be considered as a movie released for a quick buck. The story loosely follows a young girl in Korea some thousand years ago, who was cursed to be eaten by one of two dragons, one apparently being designated â
    Expand
  45. Oct 18, 2011
    1
    Just a Terrible movie over all no one should watch it a MAJOR waste of time i absolutely with no doubt I give it a 1/10 because of the giant dragon fights other than that its the worst movie in history!
  46. Oct 19, 2011
    2
    This movie is just retarded. There is no plot, the acting is bad, and so are the special effects. This is easily one of the stupidest movies I have seen. When I ordered it I had high hopes for but instead the movie is not good at all. Overall, the movie sucked. Do not watch it.
  47. Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Why I thought this film would be good still suprises me to this day. This is hands down one of the worst films I have ever seen. Do yourself a favor and dont bother wasting your time on it like I did.
  48. Nov 24, 2012
    1
    Tripe is a dish best served...to someone else. If I can spare but ONE person from wasting 90 minutes of their life, by keeping them from watching this unwatchable piece of trash, then my job here is done. Essentially, it's: Boy finds out about girl, boy finds girl, girl holds the mystical "Yu-Gi-Oh!" or whatever, boy and girl flee evil forces, girl eventually is sacrificed to the goodTripe is a dish best served...to someone else. If I can spare but ONE person from wasting 90 minutes of their life, by keeping them from watching this unwatchable piece of trash, then my job here is done. Essentially, it's: Boy finds out about girl, boy finds girl, girl holds the mystical "Yu-Gi-Oh!" or whatever, boy and girl flee evil forces, girl eventually is sacrificed to the good "Omura" (or whatever), boy stands alone (since the theater has since been emptied). First, I will say the opening started off with an old man faking a heart attack in front of a boy's father; sending the father off for 'help' as an excuse to explain to the boy that he's a re-incarnation of a 'protector' from 1507 a.d. Korea. Next was a pitched battle scene from that same era, and that actually fooled me into thinking this could be an interesting movie. How wrong I was. To me, it all went downhill from there. This film tries to invoke imagery from such classics as "The Neverending Story", "Dragonheart", and even "Raiders Of The Lost Ark". However, I'm left debating whether this was actually worse than "Reign Of Fire". From the moment I first saw the 'evil dragon', I had my doubts, and they were satisfied. Instead of wings on the side of it's head, there's a 'hood' similar to that which cobras exhibit. There are even mild attempts at comedy relief, and those failed miserably. Solid 1.0 rating material if I've even seen it (and trust me...I have). Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    50
    A feast of A-grade f/x married to a Z-grade, irony-free script.
  2. 30
    This one’s for connoisseurs of the “totally preposterous crap” school of fantasy cinema.
  3. Fluent in the laughable dialogue of a million bad fantasy flicks: