Dragonball: Evolution Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Heroic Goku is a powerful warrior who protects the Earth from an endless stream of rogues bent on dominating the Universe and controlling the mystical objects, the Dragonball. As the Master Roshi guides Goku on the young man's epic quest to save the Earth from the forces of darknes, heHeroic Goku is a powerful warrior who protects the Earth from an endless stream of rogues bent on dominating the Universe and controlling the mystical objects, the Dragonball. As the Master Roshi guides Goku on the young man's epic quest to save the Earth from the forces of darknes, he encounters Bulma, a beautiful woman intent on retrieving the mystical Dragonballs for her own reasons and Chi Chi, a young martial artist who captures Goku's eye. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. 70
    May or may not appeal to fans of the Japanese fantasy franchise it is based on, but aficionados of apocalyptic teenybopper kung fu extravaganzas are in for a real treat.
  2. 70
    Far more entertaining than it deserves to be, unless you're a 10-year-old boy, in which case it's only the greatest movie ever made.
  3. 50
    A popular Japanese manga series gets a pleasing if paint-by-numbers live-action makeover in Dragonball Evolution, which half-heartedly tries to keep the faith for its pubescent male fanbase.
  4. 42
    The film is crammed with treats for old-school "Dragonball" fans, from the inclusion of all these characters (who don't actually do much) to the moment when spiky-haired Goku dons his orange gi. For everyone else, this amounts to another seen-it-before, probably-willing-to-see-it-again distraction.
  5. 40
    Director James Wong ("Final Destination") and writer Ben Ramsey are utterly blasé in their approach to the series' mythology and structure, cobbling together an 84-minute movie that seems to exist only to rile up fanboys. On that count -- and that count alone -- Dragonball Evolution triumphs.
  6. 40
    Bottom line: costumed Goku and Chi Chi cosplayers may argue the finer points of this adaptation, but it is fairly dazzling it its own overextended, futurist-teenpulp fashion, and Chow makes a vastly more entertaining Roshi than he did a King.
  7. Completely lacking in visual, narrative or stylistic coherence, the film also suffers from cheap-looking visual effects and poorly staged and edited action sequences that will not exactly please the fanboys.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 86
  2. Negative: 57 out of 86
  1. MikeH
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    I must say... i liked it. not so much because the movie itself was good (in any way), but because it evoked memories of the original dragon I must say... i liked it. not so much because the movie itself was good (in any way), but because it evoked memories of the original dragon ball (and dbz), which i LOVED. 10 for the memories, 0 for the movie... averages out to 10. Expand
  2. CharlieM
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    A great start of a series, but if theres a sequel, don't let James Wong direct, and make it a lot longer.
  3. RyanT.
    Apr 11, 2009
    6
    It was actually pretty good, and was better than I expected. I like the way they modernized the look of the Dragonball and its characters. It was actually pretty good, and was better than I expected. I like the way they modernized the look of the Dragonball and its characters. But it was just too short, just like this review. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2015
    1
    complete dumbass James Wong gives one giant finger to Japan, fans of Dragon Ball and anyone who loves cinema. The movie is a cloppy, overlongcomplete dumbass James Wong gives one giant finger to Japan, fans of Dragon Ball and anyone who loves cinema. The movie is a cloppy, overlong nonsensical stupid piece of cinema diarrhea. It's poorly done live action knockoff of possible the greatest anime of all time Dragon Ball Z. A pain from the beginning to the end Dragon Evolution is almost hilarious in it's failure, but it's ripping apart something from my childhood something I still still love today so it can burn in movie hell. it's not evolution it's a big step backwards Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    1
    I was one of the lucky ones that only saw one ad of the movie, but didn't have time to go to theaters to watch it. However, there was noI was one of the lucky ones that only saw one ad of the movie, but didn't have time to go to theaters to watch it. However, there was no escape when it was played as one of those movies they show on international airplane flights.

    I will tell this right now: This movie is not only the worst adaptation of all time, but it's also one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my life. The plot is a hacking piece of horsecrap. Nothing but stolen cliches, plotholes, and few characters (not to mention that these characters don't even try to be adapted from the original sorce, neither appearance or personality). But the action makes up for it, right? WRONG! The fighting scenes are boring and choreographed, and the "energy" effects are nothing more than re-colored wind-effects. They even call it "airbending" in order to cover their own incompetence. The acting is also terrible. I would elaborate, but merely writing this review is throwing me into a torrent of rage and hate. To think that something of THIS terrible quality can be released in THIS day and age is a complete insult to humanity, and only proves that 20th Century Fox only dwelves into making money by rehashing icons of previous generations. **** you, Hollywood. Just **** you. The only reason it even has a single point is because it actually accomplishes BEING A MOVIE! Of course, a half-point would definetely be more accurate.
    Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2016
    0
    This Piece of **** was a Complete **** You to The Fans of Dragon Ball. This is the Worst Movie I have ever seen Hands down and it ruined my Childhood.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    Never in my life have a once watched a movie that has ruined my childhood more than this movie, it's embarrasing enough that Chow Yun Fat andNever in my life have a once watched a movie that has ruined my childhood more than this movie, it's embarrasing enough that Chow Yun Fat and Ernie Hudson are in this abonation alone more than anything else. There needs to be an angry mob that goes into every store that sells DVD's an Blu-Rays and destroy all the copies of this film! Horrible piece of trash Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.