Dream House

Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Some say that all houses have memories. For one man, his home is the place he would kill to forget. Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz and Naomi Watts star in "Dream House," a suspense thriller about a family that unknowingly moves into a home where several grisly murders were committed...only toSome say that all houses have memories. For one man, his home is the place he would kill to forget. Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz and Naomi Watts star in "Dream House," a suspense thriller about a family that unknowingly moves into a home where several grisly murders were committed...only to find themselves the killer's next target. Successful publisher Will Atenton quit a job in New York City to relocate his wife, Libby, and two girls to a quaint New England town. But as they settle into their new life, they discover their perfect home was the murder scene of a mother and her children. And the entire city believes it was at the hands of the husband who survived. When Will investigates the tragedy, his only lead comes from Ann Paterson, a neighbor who was close to the family that died. Will and Ann piece together the disturbing puzzle. (Universal Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Sep 30, 2011
    75
    It's painful to watch a movie like Dream House - well-acted, beautifully shot and directed with extraordinary care and attention to craft - only to realize that the story, the alleged backbone, is absurd.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 1, 2011
    50
    70 minutes into the 90-minute process, I was engaged. Then it all collapsed.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 1, 2011
    42
    This suburban gothic is a logy, convoluted mess.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    Dream House is the full magilla, with imaginary images, sanity questions, peek-a-boo startles and the usual are-they-real-or-not? characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 30, 2011
    40
    With its telegraphed twists and clunky pacing, the film would be unbearable were it not for the fine trio of Craig, Weisz and Naomi Watts, all more or less slumming.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Oct 1, 2011
    30
    The story unfolds briskly in the polished mode of a classic horror movie, then tanks after a plot twist at the midpoint alters the mood and slows the pace. Jim Sheridan (My Left Foot, In the Name of the Father) directed an ill-conceived screenplay that could have worked only as camp.
  7. 10
    The real problem is, when the film blindsides us with a mystery we didn't know existed, we're already too busy not caring about mystery we knew was there.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The fact that this movie tells you everything halfway makes it that much more compelling. It isn't a thriller in the sense of what is going toThe fact that this movie tells you everything halfway makes it that much more compelling. It isn't a thriller in the sense of what is going to happen to next but rather it allows you to believe that such a scenario could happen to anyone and they will have no clue. The character is the story. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I loved the movie, caught me since the beginning until the end of the movie. Don´t hear everything people will say. See forI loved the movie, caught me since the beginning until the end of the movie. Don´t hear everything people will say. See for yourself and make your own conclusions. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    Don't listen to the critics, it may be a bit predictable but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Not t he greatest movie out there, but it gives me hopeDon't listen to the critics, it may be a bit predictable but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Not t he greatest movie out there, but it gives me hope for good movies in the future. It's a bit similar to a title called "Shutter Island", which is a much better movie in my own opinion. Is it great? Not really. Should you watch it? Yes. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    I thought this film was gonna be good, but it was disappointing. It was boring and had no thrills or scares what so ever. It was good untilI thought this film was gonna be good, but it was disappointing. It was boring and had no thrills or scares what so ever. It was good until the "plot twist". Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    5
    The move is beautifully shot, carefully directed, and has some great actors in its cast. The movie seems to be going well, until about halfwayThe move is beautifully shot, carefully directed, and has some great actors in its cast. The movie seems to be going well, until about halfway through when everything seems to fall apart. From then on the movie turns into a dark, depressing, dreary psychological glimpse inside the mind of Daniel Craig's character. It becomes very hard to distinguish what is real and what is in his head. If the story hadn't been so arrogant and smug, thinking it was smarter than it was, the plot twist could've been unexpected and thrilling. Instead, the movie implodes into itself. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    The biggest mistake Dream House made was revealing itâ
  7. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    Not much in the way of redeeming qualities, Dream House is full of obvious plot twists, predictable dialogue, and miscast actors. I expectedNot much in the way of redeeming qualities, Dream House is full of obvious plot twists, predictable dialogue, and miscast actors. I expected so much more Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.