Dreamgirls

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 244
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChipL.
    Jan 17, 2007
    5
    Watered down and middle of the road, with only Jennifer Hudson showing any true connection with the audience.
  2. TonyLC
    Mar 4, 2007
    5
    This movie was disappointing. The original music was poor. Why not spend money and use Supremes songs? I dislike the conversations that were done in song. Hudson was the biggest disappointment. Her singing was actually screaming. Very unpleasant.
  3. Spongeee
    Dec 30, 2006
    5
    Average film. Lots of info to tell but reallly never tells anything. Good songs, Hudson is strong, but overall, could have been better.
  4. MelissaM.
    Jan 13, 2007
    4
    I can't believe the hype. I thought the movie was slow and boring! Without Jennifer Hudson it would only have lasted a week in the thearter. I was watching my watch to see how much longer I had to suffer through the film.
  5. AquaBabe
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    Honestly..I went into this movie expecting to be swept off my feet, but that didn't happen. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves all the acclaim she's been getting and even more. The movie came alive with soul when she was on stage. Eddie Murphy was awesome. Jamie Foxx's lackluster performance definitely did not match Ray. Then the almighty Beyonce. Damnnnn the girl should Honestly..I went into this movie expecting to be swept off my feet, but that didn't happen. Jennifer Hudson definitely deserves all the acclaim she's been getting and even more. The movie came alive with soul when she was on stage. Eddie Murphy was awesome. Jamie Foxx's lackluster performance definitely did not match Ray. Then the almighty Beyonce. Damnnnn the girl should stick to singing, and by that I mean singing off screen. Her performance was painful...she was acting while trying to act. Jennifer Hudson definitely has stage presence...love love her now. Expand
  6. DonaldR.
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Jennifer Hudson has made her mark. Great. Eddie Murphy was terrific. Greater still. Beyonce Knowles channelled Diana Ross. Ho hum. The others did well and served their roles accordingly. But the film as a whole, despite being handsomely produced and attended, was bloated, full of wind and repitition, and the characters never really came to life. Some of it dazzled but after awhile all the Jennifer Hudson has made her mark. Great. Eddie Murphy was terrific. Greater still. Beyonce Knowles channelled Diana Ross. Ho hum. The others did well and served their roles accordingly. But the film as a whole, despite being handsomely produced and attended, was bloated, full of wind and repitition, and the characters never really came to life. Some of it dazzled but after awhile all the glizt proved to be boring. By the time Loretta Devine started singing, I wanted to scream at the screen "ENOUGH ALREADY...JUST LET THIS FILM END!" Really tedious. The stage version was quick, fast, riveting and after what Condon did with CHICAGO I expected more. A lot more. I was very disappointed. Expand
  7. ScottY.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    The film just does not live up to the hype. They've been calling this the film to beat at the Oscars and that just might be its downfall come February. Hudson is fantastic, however the music just didn't "sing".
  8. MollyH.
    Dec 5, 2006
    5
    Saw this at an early screening too and was mildly entertained, except when Jennifer Hudson was on screen---she was fantastic & easily steals the show. Our theater broke out in laughter (unintended) everytime Jaime Fox or the other dude started singing---they were terrible. Or, I should say the transition into singing was terrible. Also, it ran very long when I saw it (esp at the end) Saw this at an early screening too and was mildly entertained, except when Jennifer Hudson was on screen---she was fantastic & easily steals the show. Our theater broke out in laughter (unintended) everytime Jaime Fox or the other dude started singing---they were terrible. Or, I should say the transition into singing was terrible. Also, it ran very long when I saw it (esp at the end) though I'd bet it's been edited down a bit since (and hopefully they cut the guy songs out entirely). Beyonce (as diana ross) was completely upstaged by Jennifer Hudson--both as actors and as the parts were written. I agree with Brian in that Jaime Fox's barrie gordy role was also quite thin. Kudos to Jennifer Hudson---even with this uneven production, she really shines through. The overhype with Jaime Fox and Beyonce is going to be a bit of a disappointment to many. Expand
  9. Enrique
    Jan 12, 2007
    4
    Good performances and the movie has its moments, but becomes quite tedious after awhile. A real disappointment.
  10. KathleenO.
    Jan 15, 2007
    4
    I saw the cast on Oprah and it was not made clear to me that this was a musical. I don't like musicals and the movie was ruined for me when they sang when I really, really believed the words should have been said.
  11. KimC.
    Jan 24, 2007
    5
    Too much pre-hype. Major let down. Hudson is great and deserves all the attention she is receiving. When she isn't on screen the film becomes long and boring.
  12. RyanF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    5
    It was way to long! The scenes where Hudson was belting here lungs out were too long, the love scenes were too long!! Long long long long long!!!!
  13. AngelydaCECE
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    I was so excited to finally be able to see the film today. I went to see it with an open mind even when I was doubtful with Beyonce in the cast. Beyonce has definitely improved with her acting, BUT and that is a big BUT..she still has a long long way to go. I just can't see her as the Diana Ross-like character..I kept seeing Beyonce and not Deena. Great actors can make you forget who I was so excited to finally be able to see the film today. I went to see it with an open mind even when I was doubtful with Beyonce in the cast. Beyonce has definitely improved with her acting, BUT and that is a big BUT..she still has a long long way to go. I just can't see her as the Diana Ross-like character..I kept seeing Beyonce and not Deena. Great actors can make you forget who they really are like Eddie Murphy, I forgot he was Eddie Murphy!! When she sings, it was Beyonce not the character Deena, who was supposed to have weak vocals that catered to white audiences but Beyonce was oversinging in some of the songs especially Listen. If it wasn't for Jennifer Hudson's I'm telling You I'm Not Going and One Night Only, I would've rated lower. Bad casting for Deena and Curtis character, not that Jamie was bad, it wasn't the right role for him. Everyone else was superb. And Jennifer Hudson is the lead character, not Beyonce, so why are they promoting the movie like she is lead????? Jennifer Hudson is supposed to be first on the flyers. I have to be honest, don't want to be mean, but Beyonce killed the movie for me, although I give her props for being able to give the spotlight to someone else for a change. Deena character was annoying in that the movie portrayed her as being so so nice with NO flaws and last time I checked, Divas aren't this nice. Lastly, Deena and the rest abandoned Effie, but when Deena and Effie finally met each other again after so many years, Effie was so so quick to forgive Deena. The director should've made this scene between the two a really dramatic one, but it didn't turn out that way. Expand
  14. scotts
    Jan 7, 2007
    4
    Stunningly mediocre.
  15. WilliamW.
    May 27, 2007
    4
    The music and acting were good but the plot, script writing was terrible. I feel like I just wasted two hours of my life.
  16. LenR.
    May 5, 2007
    6
    Great performances with otherwise mundane music.
  17. MichaelG.
    Dec 15, 2006
    6
    Nice, but AO Scott is right, the music ain't Motown and there's no fix for that. But judged on its own terms, it's pretty entertaining for a while, then starts to lose steam. Not the best of the year, but top twenty.
  18. JanJ
    Dec 22, 2006
    4
    Ugh - what a waste of time. Imagine your favourite R&B / soul / whatever processed for Broadway, then re-processed for Hollywood, mimicking the original stuff but of course never delivering it. If that wasn't irritating enough, every bit of dialogue is an opportunity for another round of overstrained singing, in the mode of Andrew Lloyd Weber productions. Avoid.
  19. JimG
    Dec 31, 2006
    6
    Very enjoyable film. Hudson's vocal performances are great, but her acting has been way overrated. And in here singing performance, her gestures seem forced and incongruous as she goes to dramatic too early. The orchestrations here unfortunately are overproduced, presumably to make the soundtrack sound unified, but it would have been nice to hear orchestrations appropriate to Very enjoyable film. Hudson's vocal performances are great, but her acting has been way overrated. And in here singing performance, her gestures seem forced and incongruous as she goes to dramatic too early. The orchestrations here unfortunately are overproduced, presumably to make the soundtrack sound unified, but it would have been nice to hear orchestrations appropriate to respective venues (how about the detroit theater sound in the detroit theater, rather than a full blast overproduced broadway sound). Expand
  20. BrianO.
    Dec 3, 2006
    6
    It's generally good (especially Jennifer Hudson), but people generally give the film more credit than it's due. The transition from stage songs to "sung dialogue" is awkward; Beyonce & Jamie Foxx are underwritten, and it seems to peak in the middle and loses some umph toward the end.
  21. NancyH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    6
    The razzle dazzle is all in the trailers, and the movie doesnt do that great a job with filling it in between. Jennifer Hudson is impressive for a new comer but sometimes she hesitates her 'divaness' and it seems like she falls out of character. Jaime Fox is terrible. Eddie Murphy is the real winner hear and well deserved Golden Globe honor. One thing that was jarring was a The razzle dazzle is all in the trailers, and the movie doesnt do that great a job with filling it in between. Jennifer Hudson is impressive for a new comer but sometimes she hesitates her 'divaness' and it seems like she falls out of character. Jaime Fox is terrible. Eddie Murphy is the real winner hear and well deserved Golden Globe honor. One thing that was jarring was a third into the movie, the individual actors break into song (up until then we heard the songs from stage performance settings), weird. Expand
  22. DanC.
    Feb 21, 2007
    6
    Some good performances, but the music is extremely weak. It's hard to buy into the emotion of the story when it's premised on the incredible power of the music of Motown, but fails utterly to capture that music. For more than a few numbers, I couldn't wait for the singing to stop. The story itself is not particularly compelling. Jennifer Hudson is certainly a standout, but Some good performances, but the music is extremely weak. It's hard to buy into the emotion of the story when it's premised on the incredible power of the music of Motown, but fails utterly to capture that music. For more than a few numbers, I couldn't wait for the singing to stop. The story itself is not particularly compelling. Jennifer Hudson is certainly a standout, but the movie itself is anything but. Expand
  23. RodgerH
    Dec 17, 2006
    4
    Say it ain't so! The hype...the critics (if you can really call them that). I was SO disappointed, as were other people in the group. If you saw the original play...this doesn't do it justice. Yes, Jennifer is excellent. But the movie tries too hard and tries to please everyone. Eddie Murphy is excellent...Beyonce is beautiful and is better in the second half. But sorry Say it ain't so! The hype...the critics (if you can really call them that). I was SO disappointed, as were other people in the group. If you saw the original play...this doesn't do it justice. Yes, Jennifer is excellent. But the movie tries too hard and tries to please everyone. Eddie Murphy is excellent...Beyonce is beautiful and is better in the second half. But sorry Dreamgirls fans....this doesn't cut it. Songs are too long and the story really never picks up. Big disappointment. Expand
  24. MaxS.
    Dec 27, 2006
    5
    Overhyped and characters lacked their star power.
  25. hollyc
    Dec 29, 2006
    5
    Wow, what a disappointment this movie was--overhyped to say the least. I've never seen the musical--or heard the soundtrack---but from the way the reviews here look, it seems fans of the broadway musical might like this film. But, to me-- as a film on its own merits, it's really sort of lost (and horribly long). The dialogue is terrible--and sort of awkward in a lot of Wow, what a disappointment this movie was--overhyped to say the least. I've never seen the musical--or heard the soundtrack---but from the way the reviews here look, it seems fans of the broadway musical might like this film. But, to me-- as a film on its own merits, it's really sort of lost (and horribly long). The dialogue is terrible--and sort of awkward in a lot of places--same as a good portion of the songs. From the pre-movie hype, I thought Jaime Fox & Beyonce were the main focus in the movie--but neither characters were really. Jennifer Hudson was easily the best part of the film--and the main focus (her character Effie). The "Oscar buzz" surrounding this movie is laughable at best--or just good marketing. Its really odd to see how much went into overhyping this movie given how shoddy it is. I hope at least Jennifer Hudson gets more work after it--she is really the only good thing about it. Wait for DVD, unless you loved the musical, Dreamgirls is (paola) overhype at its worst. Expand
  26. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    A very good film. A bit overrated in my opinion because 8 Academy Award nominations is very generous. However this film delivers on all levels. Great performances all around, drama, brilliant cinematography, fantastic music....it's good. The music is definitely the highlight of the film for me though, particularly because of Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson. They both give great performancesA very good film. A bit overrated in my opinion because 8 Academy Award nominations is very generous. However this film delivers on all levels. Great performances all around, drama, brilliant cinematography, fantastic music....it's good. The music is definitely the highlight of the film for me though, particularly because of Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson. They both give great performances musically and theatrically. A very good film. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 88
    This baby dazzles like nothing else anywhere.
  2. If there is a disappointment, it is this: The anticipation may have exceeded the realization. It's a damn good commercial movie, but it is not the film that will revive the musical or win over the world.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    90
    Finally. After "The Phantom of the Opera," "Rent" and "The Producers" botched the transfer from stage to screen, Dreamgirls gets it right. Bill Condon's adaptation of the 1981 show about a Motown trio's climb to crossover stardom pulls off the fundamental double-act those three musical pics all missed: It stays true to the source material while standing on its own as a fully reimagined movie.